Powered by 100% agave

5 Sentidos Jabali

Cinco Sentidos Jabali is made by maestro mezcalero Alberto Martinez, whose palenque is lodged into the side of a mountain at about 6,500 ft above sea level.

Rating: (12 reviews)
Category:Destilado de Agave
Brand:5 Sentidos
Mezcalero:Alberto Martinez
Maguey:Jabali
Agave:Convallis
Grind:Hand
Distillation:Clay Pot
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Santa Catarina Albarradas
ABV: 47.1%
Age of plant: 12-18 years
Website: http://www.drink5sentidos.com/
About this destilado de agave

5 Sentidos Jabali is made in small batches of 20-90 liters. The 2nd batch of this in the US was distilled from 193 mature Jabali piñas that were wild-harvested from up to 10,000 feet above sea level in the mountains of Santa Catarina Albarradas, Oaxaca. The piñas were cooked together in an underground oven before being hand mashed by master distiller Alberto Martinez and his son in-law Reinaldo. After the mash, the cooked agave was left to ferment in stone tanks with spring water and ground “encino de agua,” a type of nitrogen-rich tree bark that helps stabilize the fermentation at such cold weather. The result is a decadent, complex spirit that channels flavors and aromas of the rocky cliff sides where these wild agave were harvested. There have been several Jabali batches imported and all are produced in a similar fashion. Read about our visit with maestro mezcalero Alberto Martinez in the blog post Cinco Sentidos and El Destilado

Notable batches:

  • JB01 – 84-liters
  • AV01 – 20-liters released to Chicago’s The Aviary.
5 Sentidos

5 Sentidos is named after the five senses that their mezcaleros use to produce their agave spirits. The producers of this mezcal do not use any model machinery or tools, being guided only by their senses throughout the production process. The brand was launched by El Destilado restaurant in centro Oaxaca. The restaurant is known for it's creative menu, unique cocktails, and exception agave spirits. The brand is a curated tour of Mexico with a wide range of expressions that are made by some of the best mezcaleros in the region. Cinco Sentidos is uncertified mezcal and is labeled as "Destilado de Agave".

A note about the bottle shape: The short round bottles are the US release bottles. In other areas of distribution (e.g. Mexico, Canada, Japan) the bottles are the taller Bordelaise shape.

Learn more about 5 Sentidos:

12 reviews

4.63 out of 5


Squashplayer

Squashplayer

34 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Batch 3, 2018. Beautiful aromas of papaya and ripe pears! I can enjoy the nose on this all day. Very nice mouthfeel with fresh fruit, new leather and a faint whisper of wet earth on the finish. Opens up nicely in the glass with some time. Has definitely improved since I first opened the bottle a number of months ago

razorbackmike

razorbackmike

113 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 months ago

very unique.after reading the reviews i couldnt wait to try this one.the nose was very sweet like candy but it outperformed the palate.dont get me wrong.this was very tasty but didnt blow my hair back (though i dont have much hair left these days).the texture was light and watery.the palate was VERY vegetal with pickle and prickly pear.slight agave sweetness and good smoke on the finish.the taste didnt match the nose but the unique quality was enough to earn 4 stars.perhaps time will bring out more flavors.

very unique.after reading the reviews i couldnt wait to try this one.the nose was very sweet like candy but it outperformed the palate.dont get me wrong.this was very tasty but didnt blow my hair back (though i dont have much hair left these days).the texture was light and watery.the palate was VERY vegetal with pickle and prickly pear.slight agave sweetness and good smoke on the finish.the taste didnt match the nose but the unique quality was enough to earn 4 stars.perhaps time will bring out m

Read more
TheAuditor

TheAuditor

33 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Batch: JA03-18

Nose: Fresh leather, green vegetalness, cumin, salt.

Palate: Lighter mouthfeel. Leather, salt, vegetables, mint, very faint clean smoke,

Finish: Medium length. Refreshing, salt, mint, leathery, vegetalness, clean smoke.

This feels pretty light in the mouth, but still managers to be full of flavor and refreshing. Savory vegetables and spices mix well with some light smoke and slight wood spice that make this a delicious drink. The leather that is present throughout makes this a very unique drink.

Batch: JA03-18
Nose: Fresh leather, green vegetalness, cumin, salt.
Palate: Lighter mouthfeel. Leather, salt, vegetables, mint, very faint clean smoke,
Finish: Medium length. Refreshing, salt, mint, leathery, vegetalness, clean smoke.
This feels pretty light in the mouth, but still managers to be full of flavor and refreshing. Savory vegetables and spices mix well with some light smoke and slight wood spice that make this a delicious drink. The leather that is present throughout makes this a ver

Read more
Tyler

Tyler

404 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars5 months ago

There is a lot of pressure to rate this one since it is currently the top-ranked “mezcal” on Mezcal Reviews. Have the admit though, this hits all the right notes. The nose is kind of starchy with lemon zest. On the palate, there is an interesting Fruit by the Foot note along with powdered sugar. The ABV (47.1%) hits this perfect level of tingling spice and balance. The flavors and aromas of this spirit remind me of my visit to Alberto’s palenque and watching the tree bark be chipped away by a group of family members to aid the fermentation. It is a unique Agave Jabali mezcal, but at the same time it has the familiar notes you’d expect, composed perfectly. Batch JB01, bottle 65/105.

There is a lot of pressure to rate this one since it is currently the top-ranked “mezcal” on Mezcal Reviews. Have the admit though, this hits all the right notes. The nose is kind of starchy with lemon zest. On the palate, there is an interesting Fruit by the Foot note along with powdered sugar. The ABV (47.1%) hits this perfect level of tingling spice and balance. The flavors and aromas of this spirit remind me of my visit to Alberto’s palenque and watching the tree bark be ch

Read more
DavidB

DavidB

5 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars7 months ago

Love this mezcal… JB03…. smooth, light, wet, fresh, clean… I would like to add more jabali to my collection after purchasing this bottle

OscarR

OscarR

4 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Short tropical notes of pineapple and guava. Great richness to the texture.

justsomedude

justsomedude

17 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Intense citrus and tropical fruit throughout. Has that nail polish note common to Jabali but totally inoffensive here. Perfectly balanced sweetness, acidity, fruit and agave flavor. Palate continues he citrus and tropical fruit plus habanero. A bit of burn but overall silky mouthfeel. Long finish of citrus rind and agave. 95/100

Cortez

Cortez

12 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

JB02. Tasted at El Destilado in Oaxaca. Effortlessly good. Fruit forward and creamy. I didn’t find it as intense in flavor as some of my favorite jabalis, which was a little disappointing. Very balanced though. Little short on the finish, but still really so good. Lacking a wow factor for me. For the price in Oaxaca (about $50 usd), it would be an amazing everyday sipper though. If you try it, you won’t regret it.

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

200 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Best jabali ive ever had. Lotta stone fruit, some bubblegum, and a nice light herbal/mint finish

Would bang again…. glad i bought a bottle

COak

COak

97 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Batch#2 Felt compelled to give this 5 stars. Agreed with the prior reviews, this has to be one of the best Jabali I’ve ever had. It’s light, nice spearmint flavor but creamy and complex. I’ll be in the look out for this bottle.

Purchased batch #3, not as impressive as batch #2. Not quiet as complex and creamy. This is a bit thinner but still delicious. This 4 stars.

Jonny

Jonny

439 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Batch JB01. Bottle 65/105. So good! Alberto has this signature taste and scent that are just incredible. This one really shines. Aromas of green apples, cherries, raspberries, and freshly cut collard greens. This mezcal transports. Wet and fresh. The palate is amazing. Notes of prunes, dates, black olives, asparagus, and artichoke hearts. This is not a “typical Jabali” but it’s amazing.

Rakhal

Rakhal

182 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

JB-01. If I had only had a small taste of this I would have ranked it a little lower, luckily I have a whole bottle. This is one of those magical Mezcals that keeps changing with every sip. There are a lot of layers to this one. It has a creamy mouthfeel and is sweet, fruity, floral, and woody. There is a strong wood flavor that to me resembles oak. I’m also tasting roasted pineapple, bubblegum, jasmine, and crushed granite rock. I really want to do a blind tasting along with the Rey Campero, El Jolgorio, and Del Maguey Jabali.

JB-01. If I had only had a small taste of this I would have ranked it a little lower, luckily I have a whole bottle. This is one of those magical Mezcals that keeps changing with every sip. There are a lot of layers to this one. It has a creamy mouthfeel and is sweet, fruity, floral, and woody. There is a strong wood flavor that to me resembles oak. I’m also tasting roasted pineapple, bubblegum, jasmine, and crushed granite rock. I really want to do a blind tasting along with the Rey Campero,

Read more
Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top