Powered by 100% agave

5 Sentidos Pechuga de Mole Poblano

Cinco Sentidos Pechuga de Mole Poblano is a small batch mezcal made with the addition of chicken and mole during the final distillation.

Rating: (13 reviews)
Category:Destilado de Agave
Brand:5 Sentidos
Mezcalero:Marcelo Luna
Maguey:Espadin
Agave:Angustifolia
Distillation:Clay Pot, Copper
Style:Pechuga
State:Puebla
Town:Zoyatla
ABV: 48.3%
Website: https://www.drink5sentidos.com/
About this destilado de agave

Cinco Sentidos Pechuga de Mole Poblano is made with agave Espadin that are fermented in stone with well water. It’s distilled in a filipino hybrid still (clay-wood-clay-copper). Before the final distillation, chicken and mole poblano are added to create a unique flavor and mouthfeel. The mole that is used is made from chile ancho, chile mulato, chocolate, sesame seeds, almonds, peanuts, rosemary, and cumin. The first batch of this came to the US in 2017 and was just 193 bottles in size.

Notable batches:

  • MP01 – 145-liters
  • MP02 – 140-liters
  • MP03 – 195 liters
5 Sentidos

5 Sentidos is named after the five senses that their mezcaleros use to produce their agave spirits. The producers of this mezcal do not use any model machinery or tools, being guided only by their senses throughout the production process. The brand was launched by El Destilado restaurant in centro Oaxaca. The restaurant is known for it's creative menu, unique cocktails, and exception agave spirits. The brand is a curated tour of Mexico with a wide range of expressions that are made by some of the best mezcaleros in the region. Cinco Sentidos is uncertified mezcal and is labeled as "Destilado de Agave".

A note about the bottle shape: The short round bottles are the US release bottles. In other areas of distribution (e.g. Mexico, Canada, Japan) the bottles are the taller Bordelaise shape.

Learn more about 5 Sentidos:

13 reviews

4.38 out of 5


Bandoleroo

Bandoleroo

5 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars3 weeks ago

Thick, bitter. All I need is a bowl a rice to go with it perfectly.

SwatSaladin

SwatSaladin

18 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 months ago

The nose kicks off with sharp minerality, kind of like pickled mustard plant stem. There is a hint of tropical fruits. While this may not be a superlatively aromatic mezcal, it has an incredibly complex flavor profile. The standout note(s) are medicinal and remind me of TCM I’ve consumed in the past. There is a bitter element that comes through with the poblano pepper–kind of like powdered cacao. There is a certain coat-your-mouth creaminess to this mezcal, and a noticeable lactic influence that is very complementary of the body. What fruitiness is pleasant is at times masked by the heat and the spice notes. There is a funkiness to this that very much so reminds me of Phoenix Aroma baijiu. The finish is another standout feature–it’s quite long, and the warming sensation on the tongue is very pleasant. Initially, I get hints of elote and a bright earthy minerality, which dry down into a nice nuttiness. This is an excellent mezcal and certainly one to revisit, as I know I’ll need multiple sessions with it to really appreciate all that it’s got to offer.

The nose kicks off with sharp minerality, kind of like pickled mustard plant stem. There is a hint of tropical fruits. While this may not be a superlatively aromatic mezcal, it has an incredibly complex flavor profile. The standout note(s) are medicinal and remind me of TCM I’ve consumed in the past. There is a bitter element that comes through with the poblano pepper–kind of like powdered cacao. There is a certain coat-your-mouth creaminess to this mezcal, and a noticeable lactic in

Read more
Mansson

Mansson

71 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars6 months ago

Lot MP02, distilled August 2017. This is full of Christmas flavours: ginger snaps, allspice, chocolate. There is also a clay-like fattiness and a bit of smoke. Delicious!

Nick

Nick

23 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars9 months ago

While explaining Pechuga to a friend I remembered this bottle tasted in Austin in September 2019. The flavours are exciting, the mouth feel intense and… yes it’s chicken and mole! And yes it weirds people out some. If you have the chance taste it, savour it. The richness of flavour is complimented with the ABV (49.9%). It’s all there!

pallzley

pallzley

12 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars11 months ago

Didn’t get the batch number at the restaurant, but this was well integrated. Complex and interesting for a pechuga for sure. Hard to pick out notes. Aromas of brown sugar agave slightly savory notes of chicken gravy and black pepper. Taste is sweet like peaches, of stewed peppers, braised agave jam, orange blossom. Agree with razorbackmike that it is thick stuff. Pleasant lengthy finish with notes of agave and smokey peppers. Delicious. Persistently distracting me from the dinner.

Gregg T&T

Gregg T&T

57 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Batch MP05-18, 49.9% – Nose is not as strong as noted in other reviews or perhaps batches. This one is lighter with some citrus and nuanced earth notes and a noticeable roast. Upon entry, the mouthfeel is round and full, there’s a nuttiness and of course the chocolate. The finish is where this really made an impression on me – lingering and complex it goes on for what feels like days, ending with the poblano peppers.

NickSanford

NickSanford

23 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Best and most unique Pechuga I’ve gotten my hands on. Extremely unique due to it having such a strong smell on the nose and in the taste. It smells like a raw chicken splattered with mole with flavors of chocolate, nuts, and other spices but it really is like eating a mole dish through a liquid. It may not be everyone’s favorite due to it’s strength in flavors, but it will definitely stand out as a great novelty item at the very least.

El_Cura

El_Cura

30 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Ladies and Gentlemen, meet the winner, that’s if you get the first batch – MP01. I went through four bottles and it was consistently awesome. Right ratio of Mole spices to Chocolate. Last two bottles not so much (MP04-18 and MP05-18). More chocolate and less mole. I think I’ll stick with Asunción Matilde’s Mole Pechugas.

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

200 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Struggling to rate this. It absolutely nails a mole flavored pechuga. Still, i guess I just prefer regular espadilla. 4.5/5

razorbackmike

razorbackmike

113 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

absolute bliss!very few spirits are sublime but this one fits the desciption!. the nose is rich with coco,spice,fresh baked bread and poblano.the entry is sweet with strong agave and the taste expands to include the mole and savory chicken.the poblano stands out and on the finish are notes of molasses and cinnamon.each of the flavors really stand out but are all balanced.the texture is like syrup.it is silky and the finish is long.i would give it 6 stars if possible!one of the best i have tasted!

absolute bliss!very few spirits are sublime but this one fits the desciption!. the nose is rich with coco,spice,fresh baked bread and poblano.the entry is sweet with strong agave and the taste expands to include the mole and savory chicken.the poblano stands out and on the finish are notes of molasses and cinnamon.each of the flavors really stand out but are all balanced.the texture is like syrup.it is silky and the finish is long.i would give it 6 stars if possible!one of the best i have tasted

Read more
thamthong

thamthong

47 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

very good, probablh underrating this purely because the mole is a bit overwhelming. i was six mezcals deep though and palate fatigue may be a factor. agave flavor was pretty overwhelmed by the delicious flavor of the mole. too straightforward in that sense. i prefer the elusive mysteries and nuances in something like the real minero pechuga. glad i didnt blind buy a bottle.

Nic Hnastchenko

Nic Hnastchenko

102 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Had this at Todos Santos. Poblano and mole coming through nicely. Coming in at 53%

StevenR

StevenR

13 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

This is hands down the most flavorful Pechuga I’ve had the pleasure of tasting. The nose is savory sweet with notes of baking spices chocolate and ground peanuts, the palate gives way to a salty sweet decadent experience that goes for for minutes.The texture is oily and really complements everything going on here. This is #2 on my list after the Real Minero Pechuga!

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top