Powered by 100% agave

Bruxo No. 3 Barril

Bruxo No. 3 is made with maguey Barril, which is a member of the Karwinskii agave family. It is tall and bulky and is often used to create living fences.

Rating: (11 reviews)
Brand:Bruxo Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O184X, NOM-O264X
Mezcalero:Candido Reyes
Maguey:Barril
Agave:Karwinskii
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:San Agustín Amatengo
ABV: 46%
Website: http://www.bruxomezcal.com/, opens in new window

About this mezcal

Bruxo No. 3 uses Barril maguey from San Agustin Amatengo. The mezcalero, Candido Reyes, AKA Tio Conejo (Uncle Rabbit), is well known in this community. The flavors of this mezcal are savory with notes of minerality. There are notes of flint that mesh with peppery herbs and dried leaves on a creamy and supple palate.

Bruxo Mezcal

Bruxo was created by a group of friends who love and honor the country of Mexico. They discovered the magic of mezcal, but above all, its people. Brujo is synonymous with shaman, wise, illuminated; and the "X " in Bruxo then refers to the pronunciation of their origin lands, Oaxaca and México. Each bottle of Bruxo may vary slightly from lot to lot, so make sure to check your bottle for details.

 

11 reviews

3.95 out of 5

Americana Kyle

Americana Kyle

60 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 week ago

I seem to really remember liking this one but it was near the end of a pretty heavy handed night. I would like to revisit take a detailed post.

aarild

aarild

71 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Distinct woody karwinskii aroma, smells a bit of Brazil nuts. Fruity, nutty and woody palate. This is the first copper distilled barril I’ve tried (I think). While barril is not my favourite karwinskii, this is a very good mezcal nonetheless.

ReeBarbill

ReeBarbill

6 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars10 months ago

Batch A0473
It’s nice, quite sweet. Smells very lightly smoky and burny. Not exactly spectacular, the x is better.

spasta

spasta

22 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars11 months ago

No fuss, excellent, mezcal. It’s $20 overpriced, but it’s my serious contention that this bottle should be used for mezcal cocktails at the bar. I really enjoyed it. Nothing complex but caramel and smoke. Not too long but really nice. This bottle will not disappoint

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

369 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Lote: I0992
Nose: Light smoke and sweetness. Fresh earthy smell, not overpowering. Vapors are well-balanced in intensity and inviting to taste.

Palate: Nice hit of spice and melon sweetness. Salt and clay in the middle. After taste is a bit bitter, slightly numbing. Beaucoup salt as it fades.

Overall: My first barril maguey – rock solid!

stepusin

stepusin

19 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

smells of agave and is nice and light. flavor is quite complex, a slight copperiness upfront but with a woody and sweet finish. a slight harshness, but overall a very interesting flavor profile that is very enjoyable.

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

323 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

3.75/5 really

Nose is wet grass and clay. Mouthfeel is soft and peppery. Palate and finish are slightly funky, in the best way.

Tomixology

Tomixology

17 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

First time drinking Barril and I thoroughly enjoyed it!

Really nice balance of stone fruits, toffee like sweetness with some salty minerals all combined with that mushy fresh Agave! A sweet nose and classic agbe flavour. Decent.

razorbackmike

razorbackmike

127 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars5 years ago

get this one if you can!this is one of the most pleasant mezcals i have consumed!excellent spice.sweet banana/fig and so very clean.the finish is quick and in a wisp.at least in my top 5.delicious!!

Jonny

Jonny

537 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Lot NO243C from Candido Reyes. This is a really nice Barril. There’s a salty minerality in the nose that doesn’t carry over the taste at all. The flavor is perfectly balanced, with notes of rich agave, almond, and black pepper. It has an elegant texture that is almost creamy through the finish. There aren’t too many straight Barril mezcals that I’ve seen, and so far none of them that I’ve tried have been as good as this one.

Tyler

Tyler

532 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 years ago

On the nose there is fruit and pepper. Like the Bruxo Tobala I’ve tried, the flavors here are so clean and defined. Notes of honey, vanilla, leather, pepper. On the palate there is oily sweetness. It finishes with lingering burnt peat. I’ve only had a few straight Barrils and enjoyed them immensely so I might be partial, but nonetheless this is an enjoyable mezcal and quite affordable at that.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top