Powered by 100% agave

Derrumbes Durango

Derrumbes Durango is made by Urial Simental with maguey Cenizo. In this case maguey Cenizo is referring to agave Durangesis.

About this mezcal

Derrumbes Durango is made with maguey Cenizo (agave Durangesis) in Nombre de Dios, Durango. More and more mezcals continue to come out of Durango, and Nombre de Dios is establishing itself as a mezcal stronghold in the state. This mezcal was produced by maestro mezcalero Urial Simental, and it has a nice balance between sweet dark fruit flavors and minerality.

Derrumbes Mezcal

From Oaxaca to Michoacan and beyond, Derrumbes bottles many varieties of mezcal that are made using different agave and production methods. They have spirits from different states in Mexico, and they bottle some very small producers that are not available elsewhere.

18 reviews

4.17 out of 5

Americana Kyle

Americana Kyle

60 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 days ago

I like this! I like most offerings I’ve tried from Durango and Cenizo. It’s light smoke, medium funk, and quite a sweet fruitiness to it. This is not a complex offering, but that is a good thing sometimes. It’s an absolutely solid Cenizo offering at a decent price point.

aarild

aarild

71 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Another amazing bottle from the northernmost states certified for the mezcal label. It is not quite as idiosyncratic as Derrumbes’ San Luis Potosí and Tamaulipas, but still full of character and I imagine it is a specific fruitiness with the cenizo that I’d be able to recognize in other expressions.
Aromas of leather, freshly chalked blackboard, yellow marshland straws in the early autumn, honeysuckle and lilacs.
In the mouth, first a strike of cucumber-infused water turning into notes of bramble, black cherries and vanilla. If that sounds like a dessert it’s not meant to be, because it is somewhat astringent and dry, yet with sweet flavours in the way only a few, unaged spirits of good quality can bring about. On the aftertaste, leather and spice returns from the nostrils down to the palate. No regrets getting a whole bottle, and I suspect it will mellow even more over time.
Lot 9, January 2020.

Another amazing bottle from the northernmost states certified for the mezcal label. It is not quite as idiosyncratic as Derrumbes’ San Luis Potosí and Tamaulipas, but still full of character and I imagine it is a specific fruitiness with the cenizo that I’d be able to recognize in other expressions.
Aromas of leather, freshly chalked blackboard, yellow marshland straws in the early autumn, honeysuckle and lilacs.
In the mouth, first a strike of cucumber-infused water turning into no

Read more
Mezcaliente

Mezcaliente

14 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Excellent. Smooth and sweet with some dry pepper heat coming through. Low smokiness fits well.

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

369 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Lote: 6 Botella: 549/1450 (03/18)
Nose – Vanilla. Root beer.

Palate – Dried dark cherry forward. Fruit punch lingering in the background. I like the oaky smokiness and how in balance it is with the heat (a mix of peppermint and white pepper). Finish still holds that fruity sweetness and I pick up a nice clay note. This doesn’t have the funky aspect that comes with several Durangensis that I’ve tried. This mezcal goes down dangerously easy!

TzotollineRaramuri

TzotollineRaramuri

75 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars9 months ago

03/2019; Lot 7; Bot 158/2900
?- clear
?- drying impact.
Aromas of mango, guava, cooked quiote, mandarin, orange zest, lemon blossom, ginger, mamey, light coconut, pickled walnut.
Adequate & complex production.
Average length and ordinary character.
?- astringent and coating effect; sufficient smooth alcohol; medium body.
Primarily sour and bitter taste; buttery smoothness.
Flavors of ginger, mango, guava, quince, plantain, orange zest, light floral honey.
Medium concentrated flavor intensity, slightly complex, harmonious balance.
Pleasant and very long finish.
Very good to excellent overall impression.

*May lack a touch of agave profile on the palate, but nice character and balance, well crafted, yet nothing extraordinary.

Learn more about organoleptic evaluation at the International Wine & Spirits Guild’s seminar in Fine Spirits.
Our more on Agave Spirits certifications through the Agave Spirits Institute,

03/2019; Lot 7; Bot 158/2900
?- clear
?- drying impact.
Aromas of mango, guava, cooked quiote, mandarin, orange zest, lemon blossom, ginger, mamey, light coconut, pickled walnut.
Adequate & complex production.
Average length and ordinary character.
?- astringent and coating effect; sufficient smooth alcohol; medium body.
Primarily sour and bitter taste; buttery smoothness.
Flavors of ginger, mango, guava, quince, plantain, orange zest, light floral honey.
Medium concentrated flavor intensity

Read more
spasta

spasta

22 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars11 months ago

Solid but I did not find anything to complex in this bottle. I would expect more complexity for the price

Rakhal

Rakhal

317 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars12 months ago

Lot 6. Cherry jam! Big black cherry notes with this batch, also very floral. The other reviewer nailed it with the honeysuckle note. Also asparagus, gunpowder, and white pepper. Very nice.

NickSanford

NickSanford

23 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

I loved it. This is the 3rd one I’ve had from Durrumbes and I’ve loved each one as they were all so different. This one is heavy towards the smoked cantaloupe, papaya, carrots, citrus and ginger with a nice earthy vegetal finish. Not very smokey either. I felt like this Mezcal had a very distinctive profile of flavors that I don’t taste that often, so it made a really nice change up.

Ambros

Ambros

8 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

45.2% Nice aroma of fresh fruits, cherry, some cheese, hint of smoke and earthy. In mouth everything disappears, becoming simple and boring. Some minerality, a bit of grass, and medium dry finish.,

Lady_Lauren

Lady_Lauren

3 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

suuuper pretty mezcal. really floral and fruity. honeysuckle, grassy, white pepper.

a memorable one, considering I only had it once and am still thinking about it.

BartFargo

BartFargo

21 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lote 5, 46.8%
Nose: Floral and earthy – there’s pollen, cut flower stems, wet clay, papaya, maple syrup and bubblegum. A bit of parmesan cheese funk.
Palate: Turns to sweet and fruity, with mango, strawberry, wildflower honey, and a bit of minerality tying things together. Medium bodied.
Finish: Surge of cooked agave, with clay, beeswax, asparagus, white grapefruit, and a hint of ash. Medium length.

Fruit, earth and funk in sweet harmony. At first, the earthy pollen notes reminded me more of sotol than mezcal, but there’s nice progression through the palate and the agave asserts itself in full force on the finish. Delicate and well-balanced.

Lote 5, 46.8%
Nose: Floral and earthy – there’s pollen, cut flower stems, wet clay, papaya, maple syrup and bubblegum. A bit of parmesan cheese funk.
Palate: Turns to sweet and fruity, with mango, strawberry, wildflower honey, and a bit of minerality tying things together. Medium bodied.
Finish: Surge of cooked agave, with clay, beeswax, asparagus, white grapefruit, and a hint of ash. Medium length.
Fruit, earth and funk in sweet harmony. At first, the earthy pollen notes reminded me more

Read more
TheAgaveFairy

TheAgaveFairy

164 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

46.8% lot 5
Slowly beads fall. Stanky cenizo, a little smoke, white pepper, flowers, over a mango and papaya style fruit body. Lots of cara cara orange notes. Fennel touches, white cherry, good amount of vanilla, some cinnamon. Decent complexity and mostly huge pure agave. Clay, sunflower, ginger.

Such great sweetness, cara cara and vanilla and more gingery palate with papaya showing more than mango. Retronasal has cinnamon and orange blossom. Very approachable with just enough minerality for depth, very little smoke though some trickles on the finish.

I really like this region’s mezcal. Approachable fruit, clay, not too smokey. A clean and fun profile that’s versatile and engaging. This lot is a winner. More complexity and maybe less heat on the finish would bring it up. It’s a little dense on the palate too with regards to mouthfeel.

46.8% lot 5
Slowly beads fall. Stanky cenizo, a little smoke, white pepper, flowers, over a mango and papaya style fruit body. Lots of cara cara orange notes. Fennel touches, white cherry, good amount of vanilla, some cinnamon. Decent complexity and mostly huge pure agave. Clay, sunflower, ginger.
Such great sweetness, cara cara and vanilla and more gingery palate with papaya showing more than mango. Retronasal has cinnamon and orange blossom. Very approachable with just enough minerality for de

Read more
GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

323 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Strange, interesting, odd. Leaning closer to 3.5 stars. Nose is incredible, but mid palate and finish are nothing like it.

The more i drink, the less I like it. Cant quite pur my finger on what is going on here

stepusin

stepusin

19 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

smell is sweet (fruity) and subtle, taste is light up front with a strong but very tasty linger.

Jonny

Jonny

537 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Lot 5. Bottle 261/1600. 46.8%. Strong buttery and herbal aromas. The palate tastes almost like a sotol. It’s very grassy and barnyard-esque with hints of farm animals. Also lots of sweetness throughout the taste. Round on the palate with good viscosity. Very soft and delicate given the ABV. Highly enjoyable.

Tomixology

Tomixology

17 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

One of the most fruit forward Mezcals I’ve had the pleasure of drinking.

A clear tone of fruits and caramelised sweets on the nose. Tastes of honeysuckle and spicy dark chocolate, with cheap tobacco smoke. Silky smooth finish, which is very palatable, rolls over the tongue. Beut!
Lote1-407/800-11/16.

Note: My bottles label is in Orange, reading left to right up the bottle, with a differing details in the labelling both front & back.

adan21

adan21

1 review
Rated 5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

it has a sweet smell but its strong after you drink it best mezcal i have tried

razorbackmike

razorbackmike

127 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

very tasty!i give this one 4 and a half stars.the scent has hints of fruit and produce with an undertone of agave sweetness.the entry is very fruit forward (tropical) but in a very pleasant way.mid palate is sweet and floral.slight pepper and agave shines on the finish.silky with medium thickness.delicious!!!

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top