Powered by 100% agave

El Jolgorio Jabali

El Jolgorio Jabali is an extremely rare and limited release. Consider yourself lucky if you have the opportunity to try this mezcal.

Rating: (21 reviews)
Cost:$$$$
Brand:El Jolgorio Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O98X
Mezcalero:Ignacio Parada
Maguey:Jabali
Agave:Convallis
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Santa Maria Zoquitlan
ABV: 50%
Age of plant: 16-18 years
Release year: 2015
Website: https://backbarproject.com/portfolio/casa-cortes/, opens in new window
About this mezcal

El Jolgorio Jabali is made with 100% wild maguey Jabali that is harvested at 16-18 years of age. This mezcal is extremely rare and it’s very limited in it’s release. A 2013 release of this mezcal had only 54 bottles, and future releases are likely to be equally as small. The 2013 release was made in Santa Maria Zoquitlan by Ignacio Parada. The ABV of each lot may vary slightly, but they are all around 50% ABV. Newer releases of this mezcal come in a black bottle.

El Jolgorio Mezcal

El Jolgorio translates to “the revelry”. Jolgorios are small festivals that occur in remote, mountain villages throughout Oaxaca, Mexico. They celebrate births, deaths, weddings and Saint’s days. For centuries, the lifeblood of these celebrations has been traditional mezcal. In 2010, the Cortés family began building a collective of top mezcal distillers from around Oaxaca. As of 2019, El Jolgorio represents sixteen different families, working in ten different regions of Oaxaca, Mexico, each with its own special story. Every bottle is hand-marked with the specific details of each batch, to truly connect the drinker with the family behind the expression.

In 2017, the team behind the brand realized that certain varieties of agave would be extremely limited and they would only be able to make them available once per year (if at all). They began packaging these rare editions in black bottles to set them apart from the other releases.

The artwork on the first 8 releases was created by Alejandro Peña (Espadin, Pechuga, Tobala, Cuixe, Madrecuixe, Tepeztate, Barril and Mexicano). The next 5 labels were created by Asis Cortes (Arroqueno, Jabalin, Coyote, Tobaxiche, and Cenizo) and the Sierrudo artwork was created by Alberto Almánza.

21 reviews

4.69 out of 5


Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

335 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 months ago

Edition 5 – 53% ABV
Nose – Carrot top greenery. Canned pears. Brand new leather gloves. Fresh pizza dough. Very interesting nose – tough to dial in – unique and enjoyable.

Palate – A mix of peppermint and white pepper heat throughout. Fruit cocktail cherry. Canned pear juice. Finish of wet tobacco leaf, a small bit of clay and a hint of dark chocolate. This stuff is great but definitely not an all-time mezcal. Possibly this 5th edition doesn’t hold up to the legend of its predecessors.

Edition 5 – 53% ABV
Nose – Carrot top greenery. Canned pears. Brand new leather gloves. Fresh pizza dough. Very interesting nose – tough to dial in – unique and enjoyable.
Palate – A mix of peppermint and white pepper heat throughout. Fruit cocktail cherry. Canned pear juice. Finish of wet tobacco leaf, a small bit of clay and a hint of dark chocolate. This stuff is great but definitely not an all-time mezcal. Possibly this 5th edition doesn’t hold up to the

Read more
El-Dawg

El-Dawg

128 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 months ago

Edition 5 – 2020 Harvest – 53% ABV
This is one of the current highest rated bottles – so no pressure…. However, I hate to be the lower of averages, but this one isn’t all that. Def. not worth the price tag, so glad I only got a 2oz sample. Unique & intriguing smell. Taste is a bit hot yet subdued. Not overly complex, which is why it stays at a four rating for me. Some notes of fruity pear, candied, chalky. Pleasant aftertaste that burns nicely.
Review #122

Edition 5 – 2020 Harvest – 53% ABV
This is one of the current highest rated bottles – so no pressure…. However, I hate to be the lower of averages, but this one isn’t all that. Def. not worth the price tag, so glad I only got a 2oz sample. Unique & intriguing smell. Taste is a bit hot yet subdued. Not overly complex, which is why it stays at a four rating for me. Some notes of fruity pear, candied, chalky. Pleasant aftertaste that burns nicely.
Review #122

Read more
UchidaT

UchidaT

5 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Edition 04, distilled by Ignacio Parada. 2018 Harvest. Bottle 238 of 280 (75cl).

Evocative of spring. Fragrant, very floral : jasmine, rose water, sakura-scented fabric softener. Stone fruits like peaches and apricots, but also white grapes, apples, pears, lychee. White tea, Marie-Antoinette tea, all kinds of flower-based teas. However, hints of nail polish remover, wet paint and cold cigarette ashes boldly remind us that this is serious business and, fortunately, not a box of macarons from Ladurée that you bought at the airport.

On the palate it’s crystal clear, like spring water. Everything is there. Elegant, refined, limpid, dry, quite reminiscent of a Daiginjo. Still quite floral, but the more pungent notes give way to lumber aromas like sandalwood, pine cones and some waxed exotic wood. It’s flavorful and complex, yet dangerously approachable. The finish is as if you chain-smoked a pack of Marlboro Red after stress-eating that expensive box of rose petal flavored macarons that was actually meant for your mom.

It’s round and perfectly balanced. One of the best sakes, sorry, mezcals I’ve ever had.

Edition 04, distilled by Ignacio Parada. 2018 Harvest. Bottle 238 of 280 (75cl).
Evocative of spring. Fragrant, very floral : jasmine, rose water, sakura-scented fabric softener. Stone fruits like peaches and apricots, but also white grapes, apples, pears, lychee. White tea, Marie-Antoinette tea, all kinds of flower-based teas. However, hints of nail polish remover, wet paint and cold cigarette ashes boldly remind us that this is serious business and, fortunately, not a box of macarons from Ladu

Read more
TzotollineRaramuri

TzotollineRaramuri

75 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Lote 081118EJ, Bottle 72/280 @ 2018
?- clear
?- pungent, drying & prickling impact.
Aromas of pear & apple, menthol, eucalyptus, horseradish, aloe vera, cedar wood, pepper, elderflower, honeysuckle, and leather.
Adequate & complex production.
Average length and ordinary character.
?- astringent effect with coating highlights; sufficient smooth alcohol; medium-full body.
Primarily sour & sweet taste, with bitter highlights; buttery smoothness.
Flavors of eucalyptus, menthol, ripe pear & apples, leather and wood.
Medium concentration flavor intensity, slight complex character, harmonious balance.
Pleasant and very long finish.
Very Good to excellent overall impression.

*It’s quite round, velvety and smooth, great balance, shows great craftmanship, nonetheless, not very complex. I expected so much more based on the hype surrounding these rare black Jolgorios…alas, will have to revisit. Hard toss between 4 and 4.5 for now.

Learn more about organoleptic evaluation at the International Wine & Spirits Guild’s seminar in Fine Spirits,
or more on Agave Spirits certifications through the Agave Spirits Institute.

Lote 081118EJ, Bottle 72/280 @ 2018
?- clear
?- pungent, drying & prickling impact.
Aromas of pear & apple, menthol, eucalyptus, horseradish, aloe vera, cedar wood, pepper, elderflower, honeysuckle, and leather.
Adequate & complex production.
Average length and ordinary character.
?- astringent effect with coating highlights; sufficient smooth alcohol; medium-full body.
Primarily sour & sweet taste, with bitter highlights; buttery smoothness.
Flavors of eucalyptus, menthol, ri

Read more
Gatekeeper

Gatekeeper

12 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars9 months ago

Edition 03, Ignacio Parada, 2018. Black Bottle 94/275, 50.3% ABV.

My desert island mezcal and probably the most complex I’ve ever tasted. I could smell this forever…like another reviewer said, the nose is like black pepper cologne in the best way possible. Full-bodied palate explodes with different flavors including black pepper, hatch chiles, dried pineapple, and sandalwood. Super complex and rich yet dangerously drinkable. Medium-long finish of black pepper and something that reminds me of pineapple upside-down cake. Incredible Jabali and my favorite of the EJ offerings.

Edition 03, Ignacio Parada, 2018. Black Bottle 94/275, 50.3% ABV.
My desert island mezcal and probably the most complex I’ve ever tasted. I could smell this forever…like another reviewer said, the nose is like black pepper cologne in the best way possible. Full-bodied palate explodes with different flavors including black pepper, hatch chiles, dried pineapple, and sandalwood. Super complex and rich yet dangerously drinkable. Medium-long finish of black pepper and something that remin

Read more
JJHenderson

JJHenderson

10 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Jolgorio is one of my favourite brands (along with Vago) and this, for my money, is their best bottle. Complex, rich, and very moreish. Love it

Wanderingspider

Wanderingspider

46 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Edition 4:

Again, very excited to sample this.
Initial nose screams peppermint as well as secondary notes of cinnamon and dried mild green chili.
The palate is extremely smooth with a long almost savoury mouthfeel. I’m still digging to sort out all the flavours.
I feel lucky today.

stigibeu

stigibeu

33 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Edition 3 from 2018, bottle 134. This is everything folks say below it is. Super floral on the nose, with accents of pepper and spice. I want this in a cologne. Unbelievably smooth on the pallet, with spearmint and wintergreen coming through for me. Stone fruit and roasted agave play complimentary roles like Pippen and Rodman. Finish is memorably restrained after the symphony that proceeded it. Top 3 bottle, worth every bit of trouble to get, and one I’ll savor for what I hope is a long time.

Edition 3 from 2018, bottle 134. This is everything folks say below it is. Super floral on the nose, with accents of pepper and spice. I want this in a cologne. Unbelievably smooth on the pallet, with spearmint and wintergreen coming through for me. Stone fruit and roasted agave play complimentary roles like Pippen and Rodman. Finish is memorably restrained after the symphony that proceeded it. Top 3 bottle, worth every bit of trouble to get, and one I’ll savor for what I hope is a long time.

Read more
darrenaustin

darrenaustin

7 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Whoa! First sniff is cigarette butts in a soup of warm beer. Let it sit for a bit and cigarettes magically turn to rose water. Add 2 drops of water and the rose transforms to orange blossom water. One of the most interesting spirits I’ve tasted. Best for a MENSA meeting.

ptperc

ptperc

10 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

What a treat! Black Bottle, Batch 3. Green chile and tropical fruit on the nose. Perfect balance between sweet and spicy on the palate. Beautiful, round, vanilla sweetness accompanied by ripe jalapeño. Long, lingering spicy finish that gets you going back for more. If you see it, don’t hesitate…..try it!

Rakhal

Rakhal

317 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Lot 03. Black bottle. Ignacio Parada. WOW. This is my kind of Mezcal. 10/10. Maybe even 100/100. With every sip it grew more and more complex. This stuff is magic in a bottle. Flowers, so many flowers! Jalapeño, cinnamon, clove, apple pie, volcanic rock, cardamom, pecans. Desert island bottle for me.

Squashplayer

Squashplayer

34 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Edition 3/2018/275 bottles/ 50.3%ABV. Wow! This is good. Nose full of hot Serrano peppers. Spicy on the palate also. Bold and forward, this one keeps on coming. Vanilla rounds out the finish. One of my favorite expressions of Jabali

Chris

Chris

40 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

2016 black bottle edition 2 209 / 250 50.5%. This is delicious, but so is the RC Jabali, August 2016 1199/1236 49.2%, which I’m comparing. Very similar, great flavor, but the finish on the El Jolgorio is superior.

COak

COak

153 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Black bottle, edition 3, 2018. This edition is more subtle that edition #2 which I think is superior. I get green peppers, mint and vanilla. Very delicious.

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

316 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Rey Campero and El Jolgorio… those are the only two Jabali’s ive had that have blown me away. Very even keeled and rounded out… everything seems in balance, apple, smoke, and candy corn. Yummy

Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Unfortunately I don’t have the specifics of the batch I’ve tried at a local restaurant. But this gave me the chills right away. Very fine Mezcal, love the apple tastes you get, the smoothness and length it has.
Probably the best version of a Jabali I’ve tried yet.

StevenR

StevenR

13 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Edition 3/ Harvest 2018/ 35-275 btls
When I first cracked this one I got BBQ Figs .. loads of charcoal and a sweet fig like aroma.. then the acetone blew off and led to a Madagascar vanilla mint hot toddy.. the texture is pure velvet .. damn good juice .. gotta break out some big guns prior to Mexico in a Bottle !

thamthong

thamthong

47 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

edition 2. 4.5 stars. ton going on here. not as mindful sipping this as i would’ve liked, as i was perhaps a little overly enthused about spotting this on the bar at the local mezcaleria. very delicious, but i will say there was a bitterness on the finish that i wouldn’t consider a virtue. glad to have tried it, especially after more or less giving up the search.

Tyler

Tyler

517 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Incredible stuff! Vanilla and mint on the nose. Flavors bounce around from lavender to mint to butterscotch to honeydew. There is a full range of flavors here that finish with tobacco, oak, and cinnamon. The mezcal coats the inside of your mouth and gives it a slight tingling sensation like a mild Sichuan button. Edition 2 in the black glass bottle. 50.5% ABV. Bottle 61/250.

Jonny

Jonny

537 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Edition 02. Harvested in 2016 and released in 2017. Bottle 85/250. Wow! This is absolutely incredible. I’ve never tasted a mezcal quite like this one. It’s viscous to the point of almost being sticky on the palate with a full and rich body. The nose has aromas of old books, spearmint, and fresh basil. Tasting notes are across the spectrum: butterscotch, green apples, green grapes, anise, and fresh cut mint. The finesse and body of this mezcal are otherworldly. This is truly a nectar of the gods!

Edition 02. Harvested in 2016 and released in 2017. Bottle 85/250. Wow! This is absolutely incredible. I’ve never tasted a mezcal quite like this one. It’s viscous to the point of almost being sticky on the palate with a full and rich body. The nose has aromas of old books, spearmint, and fresh basil. Tasting notes are across the spectrum: butterscotch, green apples, green grapes, anise, and fresh cut mint. The finesse and body of this mezcal are otherworldly. This is truly a nectar

Read more
marco

marco

14 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Down the rabbit hole!
With a scant 54 bottles produced in this batch, you might expect a degree of intensity but perhaps not this level of finesse. This rare jabali agave is richly extracted, lush and heady revving up at 100 proof. But for its entire vivid, immediate grip it flaunts also a structure of deft proportion; muscular and still finely balanced with a plush mouth-swirling viscosity. It is broodingly compact and concentrated yet quite smooth and with no hint of danger on the palate considering the weapons grade alcohol content. And there is just a delicate hint of the fire pit, dodging the obvious campfire perfumes apparent in many mezcals.
The bouquet is tight and closed with small hints of pear and dried herbs, straw, and then graphite, with an ominous backstage jiggle of seared fat.
On the palate, juicy celery rib gives way to an inherent salinity, and the white peppery piquancy of rocky hillside terroir. An oily bubble of sensual flavors, satisfying, mystical, and with a long simmering finish.

Down the rabbit hole!
With a scant 54 bottles produced in this batch, you might expect a degree of intensity but perhaps not this level of finesse. This rare jabali agave is richly extracted, lush and heady revving up at 100 proof. But for its entire vivid, immediate grip it flaunts also a structure of deft proportion; muscular and still finely balanced with a plush mouth-swirling viscosity. It is broodingly compact and concentrated yet quite smooth and with no hint of danger on the palate consi

Read more
Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top