Powered by 100% agave

El Silencio Espadin

El Silencio Espadin is handmade in small batches, and is designed for high-end use in mixology. If you’re looking for a good mixer, this might be it.

About this mezcal

El Silencio Espadin is made with agave Espadin from master mezcalero Pedro Hernandez. It’s handmade in small batches, and is designed for high-end use in mixology. It’s ok as a sipping mezcal, but it’s really made to be used in mixed drinks. Interestingly, this mezcal’s black bottle is inspired by “Barro Negro” pottery. It’s made in 100% black glass with a matte finish to maintain the look and feel of the traditional pottery style from the original “black clay” of the Monte Alban period.

El Silencio Mezcal

El Silencio is a Los Angeles-based craft mezcal label whose product is produced in San Baltazar Guelavila, Oaxaca by Pedro Hernández, a ninth-generation Maestro Mezcalero. As an organic Mezcal, they use only the finest and carefully selected 10-12 year old Espadin agaves. Their products are handmade in small batches. Like other artisanal Mezcals, El Silencio’s production does not involve any additives or industrial processes.

In April 2019, Constellation Brands took a minority stake in El Silencio. Constellation Brands is one of the largest beer companies in the United States; the company also has a significant stake in Canopy Growth, a publicly traded cannabis company.

 

Black Magic – The Demon Bartender

12 reviews

2.83 out of 5


wBuchanan

wBuchanan

1 review
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 months ago

I prefer an Espadin Mezcal to be heavy on the smokiness – this has been my favorite to date. My palate has not included Mezcal above a $60 price point – so take my review with that in mind. I recently did a blind taste test with this and three other similarly priced Espadin Mezcal and this tasted worlds above the other two in smoothness.

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

99 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Lote: 2419
Nose: Smoky and light fruitiness.

Palate: Extremely smoky the whole ride – apple sweetness with it to start. Mouth feel is a tad slick. Vapory finish of smoldering brake pads and clay minerality.

It takes a few pulls to get used to the aggressive smoke but when you get there it’s better.

Samhain

Samhain

9 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Fruity and some smoke on the nose. Pretty oily, flavorless, quick bit of heat from the alcohol 43% beats 40, slightest smoke aftertaste builds up through the glass, after a few like I smoked all night. Low proof bland. Cheap and good distribution are the upsides here. Lot 2719 nom 630x

t8ke

t8ke

135 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars11 months ago

Not bad, but incredibly bland. I’m honestly a little surprised, and a hair impressed. That said, I can’t imagine this makes amazing cocktails, since it doesn’t have much character. Maybe that’s the point. Who knows.

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

93 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars11 months ago

One of the few .50 ml bottles out there, so easy and cheap to sample. Light buttery notes on the smell, as well as some tequila similarities. Sharp and bit of rubbing alcohol throughout taste. Definitely an espadin, and at the low price point this makes for a great mixer. Bit watery and reminded me of tequila if not for the smoke at the finish. Therefore giving an extra star for the price.

CasaDeGuero

CasaDeGuero

13 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars11 months ago

Has traditional Espadín mezcal flavors, with sweetness and relatively prominent smoke. Does feel a bit thinner/watery and has a slight tequila taste. For the price this is a straightforward tasting mezcal. Good.

Batch:

Harry

Harry

2 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Sooo smooth and delicious! The best introduction to mezcal, and perfect for my cocktail experiments. Beats any tequila-based margarita and with less ingredients! Also great on it’s own with a couple ice cubes.

justwager

justwager

4 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Nice

Rakhal

Rakhal

277 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lot 1818. Smelled more like a tequila but tasted fresh and minty with a light body and some caramel, pineapple, and river rocks. Short finish, not at all complex, and some alcohol burn despite the low abv.

TheAgaveFairy

TheAgaveFairy

137 reviews
Rated 1.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Big hit of clay and smoke under the sweetness – provides a great bottom end to mixed drinks. Agreed with others, great for mixing (especially with ginger, grilled pineapple, agave penicillin), but watery and weak on the palette. They use funds to invest in their farmers too, which is nice.

Jonny

Jonny

494 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars3 years ago

I’m more a fan of higher ABV mezcal, so this seemed a bit watery to me. It’s made mostly for cocktails, not sipping neat, so the lower ABV is understandable. That said, it has some muted notes of all spice and burnt orange peel that are pleasant. As a mixer, I’d say this is probably a good choice and would give it four stars for use in cocktails, but I don’t recommend this if you’re looking to sip mezcal neat.

Tyler

Tyler

460 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Very straightforward sweet and smoky espadin. I hear the batches can vary greatly in quality. The mezcal I sipped was enjoyable. Notes of sweet apple and caramel are prominent. From my limited tastings of the two El Silencio mezcals I enjoy this more than the joven ensamble.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top