Powered by 100% agave

Fidencio Clasico

Fidencio Clasico has a delicate taste of wood smoke and green pepper scents. It has a flavor profile of tobacco, tar, and pine.

Rating: (10 reviews)
Brand:Fidencio Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O15X
Mezcalero:Enrique Jiménez
Maguey:Espadin
Agave:Angustifolia
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Santiago Matatlan
ABV: 45%
Age of plant: 12 years
Website: http://www.fidenciomezcal.com, opens in new window
About this mezcal
Fidencio Clásico is distilled twice in a traditional, wood fired, simple Alembic still. This still is very similar to the stills used in Cognac. This Mezcal is made by mezcalero Enrique Jimenez in Santiago Matatlán, Oaxaca. This Mezcal has a delicate taste of wood smoke and green pepper scents. It has a flavor profile of tobacco, tar, and pine.
Fidencio Mezcal

Fidencio Mezcal has four generations of knowledge and they use their own estate grown agave. Fabrica de Amigo del Mezcal is the name of the distillery/palenque that produces Fidencio Mezcal. Fidencio Jiménez, the namesake for Fidencio Mezcal, started making mezcal over 100 years ago when he moved to Santiago Matatlán, Oaxaca. He began to live the life of a Mezcalero, learning from peers and by trial-and-error. He worked closely with his son Enrique to perfect their craft and to pass down their knowledge to the next generation. In those days, even the equipment was from the land: clay pots for fermentation, distillation & storage and river reeds for tubing.

For more information on the Jimenez family, read The Story of Isaac Jimenez by Alvin Starkman (owner of Mezcal Educational Excursions of Oaxaca). Fidencio is made by the same family that produces El Buho. Due to the artisanal nature of their mezcal, the ABV may vary slightly between batches.

10 reviews

3.3 out of 5


Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

290 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Lot: C0220
Nose – Mesquite. Cottage cheese. Pan fried chicken breast. Vanilla – the nose is more savory than sweet.

Palate – A sweet, nutty almond note to start. Granulated sugar water dominating the middle. Felt pen. Hot finish of dandelion stems and smoky ethanol. Aftertaste is smoky, dry and bitter.

This peaks early and really stumbles at the finish.

nklein

nklein

3 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 months ago

I’m surprised by the low score for this. Fidencio Clasico, has been my mainstay for home bartending for years now. It has one of my favorite noses (nicely mineral and smoky without any funky cheese) and while the flavor is hot up front, I’ve found that bite fades pretty quickly. I may not recommend it as an introduction to Mezcal newbies looking for a straight sipper, but if you enjoy heat and/or are mixing I haven’t found a better alternative in the low-mid 30s.

My favorite Paloma recipe includes Fidencio Clasico topped with San Pellegrino’s Pompelmo soda.
Current bottle is Lot C0920, ABV is noted as 47.3%

I’m surprised by the low score for this. Fidencio Clasico, has been my mainstay for home bartending for years now. It has one of my favorite noses (nicely mineral and smoky without any funky cheese) and while the flavor is hot up front, I’ve found that bite fades pretty quickly. I may not recommend it as an introduction to Mezcal newbies looking for a straight sipper, but if you enjoy heat and/or are mixing I haven’t found a better alternative in the low-mid 30s.
My favorite Pa

Read more
Rorschach

Rorschach

37 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars9 months ago

Lot C0220
47.9%
Very nice mouthfeel, creamy. Do not detect the 47.9 at all.
Has flavor notes that are flat and off putting at the start of the bottle but it got really good as it went.
But it was inexpensive and sippable.

Really opened up after the bottle went down. Nice rich thick feeling on the tongue.
Nice traditional name Fidencio. The rest of the bottle label shows this as well.

Joe

Joe

27 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars12 months ago

Vegetal, cactus like nose. The agave flavor takes a prominent role where the toasted sweet taste you it normally get is supplanted by a little lightly sweet plant flavor. Not overly harsh, but tangy. Almost a bread like smooth flavor. A little smokiness, maybe a charcoal flavor. Great for the price.

Lisa

Lisa

2 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

This is drinkable but not smooth. I thought the flavors clashed a little bit and made it intense in a way that I didn’t particularly love (though it grew on me over time). Union does the job I think this is trying to do.

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

124 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Sweet notes with a green ethanol on finish. Notes of burnt bananas. Overall good amount of smoke & round body. Great ‘bang for your buck’ sipping mezcal. Also have had great experience using this as a mixology ingredient.

CampStars

CampStars

11 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Great value, amazing taste. If you know, you know about this mezcal and the high quality it represents. They’ve been around a while – super old school – before mezcal became trendy. Small family farmers who are making super small batch mezcals in the traditional way. Slow and easy. I can’t get enough of this bottle.

SeattleMezcalLover

SeattleMezcalLover

9 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Probably deserves 3 stars but you can do better. Fine in a cocktail but not very enjoyable for sipping. Spend the extra $5 to get something in the $40 range instead.

Tyler

Tyler

503 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Decent sipping espadin from Fidencio. I’m yet to be completely blown away by Fidencio mezcal. Overall their mezcals are decent for the price. Friends I’ve talked to really like their Tepextate. This Clasico has notes of vanilla, lemon, and peat. While this is a decent mezcal for the price, I’d prefer a Nuestra Soledad or Alipus over this Fidencio for a sipper in a similar price range.

Jonny

Jonny

531 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Lot C416. For big-batch mezcal, this is very good. This particular batch had 9,000 bottles in it, which is a ton! But the flavor is still fully intact and the quality doesn’t seem jeopardized in any way. The nose has aromas of vanilla and caramel. The taste is smooth with a bit of heat and a thick mouthfeel. This mezcal is very sweet but not fruity. It has tasting notes of honey, brown sugar, and a bit of sweet bell pepper.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top