Powered by 100% agave

Vago Mexicano

The varietal of agave used to make Vago Mexicano is native to not just the region or the valley, but to the actual hillside owned by the mezcalero.

Rating: (30 reviews)
Brand:Vago Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O188X
Mezcalero:Aquilino Garcia Lopez
Maguey:Mexicano
Agave:Rhodacantha
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Candelaria Yegole
ABV: 50%
Website: https://www.mezcalvago.com/, opens in new window
About this mezcal

Vago Mexicano has a nose of peaches and cinnamon, a silky body, a well-balanced palate of ocean breeze and hot desert rocks with a finish of toasted vanilla and caramel. The maguey Mexicano that Aquilino uses for this Mezcal is sourced from his and his neighbor’s farm in Candelaria Yegolé. This varietal is native to not just the region or the valley, but that actual hillside.

Vago Mezcal

Mezcal Vago began when co-founder Judah Kuper visited a hospital in Oaxaca, Mexico. He fell in love with the nurse who treated him. Her father, Aquilino Garcia, was a sustenance farmer who also produced mezcal. Judah and Aquilino, along with Judah's longtime friend Dylan Sloan, launched Mezcal Vago. In 2013, their first exported bottles arrived in Texas. Each of their mezcals is produced naturally in a traditional palenque with no additives. The brand aims to empower both the master craftsmen with a celebration of his art. Also the consumer by giving them the knowledge they need to find a great mezcal. The brand plants 3 agaves for each single agave they harvest. Their goal is to end the use wild agave by 2025 for most of their releases.

In 2017, Mezcal Vago began using different color labels for their different mezcaleros. Emigdio Jarquin (blue label) distills in copper with refrescador. Aquilino and Joel Barriga (tan and gold labels respectively) distill in copper. Tio Rey (red label) distills in clay pots. All their mezcaleros use different water sources and make different distillation cuts. In 2018, Mezcal Vago established an investment partnership with Samson and Surrey. With the new partnership, each Mezcal Vago mezcalero has a stake in Samson and Surrey.

Learn more Mezcal Vago:

30 reviews

4.37 out of 5


James Christian

James Christian

16 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 month ago

May 2019. Lot 6
The Mexicano from Aquilino is, as anyone who has ever tasted it would say, absolutely delicious. It’s complex with light citrus and honey that deepens as you settle into it. It has a little chili, nuts – it’s so balanced it’s hard to pick out one flavor profile.

However I can’t help think that I over romanticized the legend behind the bottle. I got caught up in the search for the last bottles from a master that we shall never see again. This has almost no finish compared to some others. It’s pretty thin, a bit nail polish on the nose, and I don’t think it’s the best expression of his craft.

May 2019. Lot 6
The Mexicano from Aquilino is, as anyone who has ever tasted it would say, absolutely delicious. It’s complex with light citrus and honey that deepens as you settle into it. It has a little chili, nuts – it’s so balanced it’s hard to pick out one flavor profile.
However I can’t help think that I over romanticized the legend behind the bottle. I got caught up in the search for the last bottles from a master that we shall never see again. This has almost no finish c

Read more
TzotollineRaramuri

TzotollineRaramuri

75 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 month ago

MM AGL (RIP); 509 Lts; May 2019.
👀- clear
👃- soft drying impact effect.
Aromas wet soil & clay, peanuts, walnuts, almonds, pine nuts, mint, white, yellow & green teas, lemon zest & juice, light honey & chili peppers.
Adequate & complex production.
Average length and very fine character.
👅- astringent & coating effect; sufficient smooth alcohol; medium-full body.
Primarily sweet, sour, bitter, piquant & savory taste; buttery smoothness.
Flavors of wood traces, spices, green chili, peppercorn, red/black tea, lime & lemon zest, nutshells, cured meats, savory truffles.
Concentrated flavor intensity, complex character, harmonious balance.
Pleasant and very long finish.
Excellent overall impression.

*Disconnect between nose and palate, nothing unpleasant, rather surprising, well balanced and great unique character.

Learn more about organoleptic evaluation at the International Wine & Spirits Guild’s seminar in Fine Spirits,
or more on Agave Spirits certifications through the Agave Spirits Institute.

MM AGL (RIP); 509 Lts; May 2019.
👀- clear
👃- soft drying impact effect.
Aromas wet soil & clay, peanuts, walnuts, almonds, pine nuts, mint, white, yellow & green teas, lemon zest & juice, light honey & chili peppers.
Adequate & complex production.
Average length and very fine character.
👅- astringent & coating effect; sufficient smooth alcohol; medium-full body.
Primarily sweet, sour, bitter, piquant & savory taste; buttery smoothness.
Flavors of wood traces,

Read more
Pablito

Pablito

4 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 months ago

LOT A-01-M-16 /Batch size 652 L/ Jan 2016. This mezcal is average on the nose and big on the palate. It’s creamy and SMOOTH, so smooth you just can’t believe it’s 52.1 % alcohol. It tickles your taste buds in a way that makes you want more and more. Great mezcal.

SoloAgave

SoloAgave

84 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 months ago

2019 batch. Sought this out after all the great reviews and it did not disappoint. I got some delicious sweet corn whiskey vibes and then it settled nicely with some round agave on the finish. Reminded me of a clay pot type profile and certainly worthy of all the hype.

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

290 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 months ago

One of the best mezcals I’ve ever had. I don’t remember the notes – I was having lunch in Matalan with Alvin Starkman who generously shared a 2 oz. pour of his 2013 stash of this Aquilino magic. A rare masterpiece.

efoster13

efoster13

3 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Lot A-06-M-19, May 2019. Glorious stuff from a master of masters (RIP). Roasted agave and earth on the nose; flavor is clean and direct, plenty sweet, some heat (51.4%); my wife gets nuts– caramelized walnuts. There’s a lot going on here, but as often is the case for me w/ Don Aquilino’s stuff, it’s hard to pick out elements. It just tastes like (really really good) mezcal. Long finish and a lasting feeling of happiness. It’s deeper and darker than a lot of copper distilled stuff…

Lot A-06-M-19, May 2019. Glorious stuff from a master of masters (RIP). Roasted agave and earth on the nose; flavor is clean and direct, plenty sweet, some heat (51.4%); my wife gets nuts– caramelized walnuts. There’s a lot going on here, but as often is the case for me w/ Don Aquilino’s stuff, it’s hard to pick out elements. It just tastes like (really really good) mezcal. Long finish and a lasting feeling of happiness. It’s deeper and darker than a lot of co

Read more
meserole

meserole

68 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars8 months ago

Definitely reminds me a bit of the Vago Elote, previously the only other variant I’d tried — a bit of sweet corn that actually reminds me of white whiskey on the nose. It’s pretty hot on the tongue, with a cinnamon-like heat and a somewhat metallic taste. No real aftertaste to speak to, but given that this was a bit hotter and boozier than I’d have liked, that’s OK with me. Can’t say this was a pleasant sipper for me — bit of a bummer since I paid $99 bucks for it.

Seems I was not as fortunate as those who tried the 10% Espadin/90% Mexicano blend. This one was 100% Mexicano as far as I can tell, a March 2020 batch Lot A2-02-M-20.

Definitely reminds me a bit of the Vago Elote, previously the only other variant I’d tried — a bit of sweet corn that actually reminds me of white whiskey on the nose. It’s pretty hot on the tongue, with a cinnamon-like heat and a somewhat metallic taste. No real aftertaste to speak to, but given that this was a bit hotter and boozier than I’d have liked, that’s OK with me. Can’t say this was a pleasant sipper for me — bit of a bummer since I paid $99 bu

Read more
JoeyLee

JoeyLee

3 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars10 months ago

Oct 2013 – This is my all time favorite thus far. Nose filled with grilled pineapple and smoked salt. Smells like the ocean, and taste like it too with a little bit of Swiss cheese funk to it. It’s as if Aquilino bottled up a midnight walk on the beach into liquid form. Amazing!

____mikey___

____mikey___

3 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Lot A-06-M-19, May 2019. ABV: 51.4%
Definitely on of my favorites, Aquilino did some magic with this juice, Rip maestro mezcalero.
Medium body for sure, floral notes, nice warmth coming through with every sip, and the slight hint of sweetness citrus and minerality in the finish.

JDB

JDB

29 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Lot A-09-M-19, May 2019. ABV: 51.4% Sad to hear of Aquilino’s passing, feel that his craft was matched by few mezcaleros/mezcaleras. Wanted to taste as many of his offerings as I could get my hands on. Very much hope his son can add to his legacy. Very green on the nose, floral notes as well. Warmth lingering long after sipping, that high ABV gets to me more that usual. Some sweet notes with light citrus and wet earth.

COak

COak

136 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

October 2014 90% Mexicano 10% Espadin. It’s been well documented, this batch is divine. So Complex! A bit fruity with stronger taste of molasses and fudge.

Derekac7

Derekac7

19 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Very well made Mexicano by master mezcalero Aquilino Garcia Lopez. Floral, earthy, and spicy with some heat, rich caramel, and a sweet finish. Complex and inviting.

JJHenderson

JJHenderson

10 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Another stunning liquid from Vago. Can’t get enough of the stuff.

Dylan

Dylan

7 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Lot A-06-M-19 May 2019, 700 liters. 51.4% ABV. My first Mexicano, and I’m very impressed. Fruity and spicy notes, sweet butter, roasted agave and a lingering finish.

Van G

Van G

5 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

August 2017 | Lot A-08-M-17

Only Mexicano I’ve had. Huge roasted agave nose, toasted sugar (almost like a Tequila Reposado despite being a Joven. . .crazy), molasses, and raisins.

Soars up through your palate into your nose – this packs a punch but still as “hot” as I’d expect from a 52%. In contrast to the nose, sipping starts an herbaceous crescendo with jalapeño, cloves, basil, celery salt, (among some others in my spice cabinet). Big lingering finish – flavor doesn’t change as it tapers off. Magnificent

August 2017 | Lot A-08-M-17
Only Mexicano I’ve had. Huge roasted agave nose, toasted sugar (almost like a Tequila Reposado despite being a Joven. . .crazy), molasses, and raisins.
Soars up through your palate into your nose – this packs a punch but still as “hot” as I’d expect from a 52%. In contrast to the nose, sipping starts an herbaceous crescendo with jalapeño, cloves, basil, celery salt, (among some others in my spice cabinet). Big lingering finish – fl

Read more
stigibeu

stigibeu

33 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Unexpectedly got to try this at Mexico in a Bottle D.C. Didn’t get the bottle details, but I know it was the famous 90/10. And it was fantastic. Even well into the second tasting hour of the event, this stood out for its earthy sweetness, which was unique as far as I’ve experienced. I think I even asked for a second pour. Now if only this was still on the shelf somewhere. 4.75.

Nic Hnastchenko

Nic Hnastchenko

108 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

I messed up and didn’t get a pic of this one. Was 51.9% from Aquilino Garcia. Didn’t taste too alcoholic and was a nice contrast to the Espadin + Mexicano en Barro I tried it next to.

BartFargo

BartFargo

21 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lot A-08-M-17 (August 2017), 51.9%
Nose: Smoky sweet – a bushel of fresh peaches drizzled in cream and peppery mesquite barbecue sauce. Aromatic herbs swirl above, including paprika, pine needles, bay leaf, eucalyptus, juniper berries and olive. Mulch and hot sand lend some earthiness. Quite alcoholic as well.

Palate: More barbecued peaches, now with an earthy roasted agave undertone and a surprising dollop of cream. Tangy-sweet pickled chiles then lead into lavender, paprika and pine needle. Medium-thin body.

Finish: Peach skins, sweet cream and smoke. Mesquite barbecue sauce returns in a bit, then comes an intensely herbaceous tail of bay leaf, cedar, pine, rosemary, anise and paprika. Medium-long length.

Never had a mezcal as powerfully herbaceous as this one. The profile brings to mind a bouquet garni or herbal barbecue rub more than a medicinal digestif, and the peaches and cream so dominant on the nose are more like sweeter counterpoints on the palate. Lacks a bit in development, but it makes up for that with staying power on the finish.

Lot A-08-M-17 (August 2017), 51.9%
Nose: Smoky sweet – a bushel of fresh peaches drizzled in cream and peppery mesquite barbecue sauce. Aromatic herbs swirl above, including paprika, pine needles, bay leaf, eucalyptus, juniper berries and olive. Mulch and hot sand lend some earthiness. Quite alcoholic as well.
Palate: More barbecued peaches, now with an earthy roasted agave undertone and a surprising dollop of cream. Tangy-sweet pickled chiles then lead into lavender, paprika and pine

Read more
OscarR

OscarR

4 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

The best Mexicano I’ve had. 2014 bottle. Complex and earthy with some serious viscosity.

Rorschach

Rorschach

37 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

My Mexicano’s have been buttery, kinda sweet, until this one. It has quite a bite with minimal mouthfeel. Gonna let it sit for a while. Overpriced, so not again.
Lot A-08-M-17
51.9% abv

rsidrys

rsidrys

50 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Complex! Ever evolving experience with each sip. On the nose, grass near an ocean, lemon zest, earthy nuttiness. In your mouth you get that high proof tingle followed by deep earth, roasted agave, flowers, sweet potato, and cypress/pine. Tons of heat on the finish fades into pepper, minerals, and caramel. 90/10 blend from October 2014.

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

298 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Nose of fusels and wet stone. Sweet grass, clay, and a short finish. Excellent for the abv 4.5/5

El_Cura

El_Cura

31 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

LOT A-11-DV-M-13, 90/10 blend, 49.4%, fermented in July 2013.
From Moreno’s Store in Chicago. Talk about a living mezcal. Got home in the afternoon and was anxious to try. Forgot I’d hardly eaten all day. Smelled like rubbing alcohol. What can go wrong, right? Within seconds, synapses started short-circuiting and the peripheral hallucinations got my attention. This mezcal scolded my arse for being careless. Barn funk, Oma’s armoire, wet dirt, minerals in the nose and taste the spiciness and fire roasting your tongue.
A lot more simpatico and forgiving after an offering of pastor tacos.

LOT A-11-DV-M-13, 90/10 blend, 49.4%, fermented in July 2013.
From Moreno’s Store in Chicago. Talk about a living mezcal. Got home in the afternoon and was anxious to try. Forgot I’d hardly eaten all day. Smelled like rubbing alcohol. What can go wrong, right? Within seconds, synapses started short-circuiting and the peripheral hallucinations got my attention. This mezcal scolded my arse for being careless. Barn funk, Oma’s armoire, wet dirt, minerals in the nose and taste the spiciness an

Read more
Chris

Chris

40 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

This too is the October 2014 90 / 10 batch A-37-M-14. Not a super strong nose. Melon comes to mind in the middle. I was tasting this along with the Marca Negra Dobadan, which for me is a notch higher, but has a much different taste. Same could be said of the Jolgorio Mexicano. I have about a half a bottle left of the 2014 and will have to compare it to one of the newer Vago Mexicano batches soon to take advantage of the new editing reviews function.

thamthong

thamthong

47 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

lot A-37-M-14, the legendary october ’14 90/10 blend. scoured the internet based on the reviews for this particular batch, and after much ado found a store that had it. initial impressions upon opening skewed towards underwhelmed but it’s settled into itself considerably. fragrant, sweet, and spicy. a touch thin on the palate and medicinal on the finish. 4 stars.

lot A-08-M-17. 100% mexicano. 51.9%. peaches and gingerbread, buttery undertone that gives this immense richness. gets a bit floral as it opens up. a hint of maple syrup kicks in during the long, sweet and earthy finish. radiant warmth as it goes down. very autumnal. mel torme singing “agave roasting on an open fire.” not particularly complex, just stupid delicious. 5 stars.

lot A-37-M-14, the legendary october ’14 90/10 blend. scoured the internet based on the reviews for this particular batch, and after much ado found a store that had it. initial impressions upon opening skewed towards underwhelmed but it’s settled into itself considerably. fragrant, sweet, and spicy. a touch thin on the palate and medicinal on the finish. 4 stars.
lot A-08-M-17. 100% mexicano. 51.9%. peaches and gingerbread, buttery undertone that gives this immense richness. gets

Read more
razorbackmike

razorbackmike

126 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

very deep and earthy.fresh garden produce with soil still on the veggies.this bottle was the 100 percent mexxicano.caramel with mild black pepper.some hint of banana and citrus.what amazed me was the very long finish.the taste just kept on going.would not start the night with this one unless the mezcals that follow are as good if not better.it can overshadow lesser spirits.lovely!

Jonny

Jonny

531 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars5 years ago

The 90/10 Mexicano/Espadin blend of this mezcal from October 2014 is some of the best mezcal I’ve ever had. It’s hot with some notes of lemon, pepper, and wildflowers. This Oct 2014 release is an easy 5-star. The 100% Mexicano from January 2016 is more of a 4 star mezcal. It’s still great. I don’t use the 4 star review lightly. At 52.1% ABV, this is quite laidback and relaxed. I’d like to try some of the other straight Mexicano releases that Aquilino has made to compare this one. For me, the 90/10 blend is a bit more complex and has more bite. Both lots are great and worth trying.

The 90/10 Mexicano/Espadin blend of this mezcal from October 2014 is some of the best mezcal I’ve ever had. It’s hot with some notes of lemon, pepper, and wildflowers. This Oct 2014 release is an easy 5-star. The 100% Mexicano from January 2016 is more of a 4 star mezcal. It’s still great. I don’t use the 4 star review lightly. At 52.1% ABV, this is quite laidback and relaxed. I’d like to try some of the other straight Mexicano releases that Aquilino has made to com

Read more
Keith

Keith

35 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Lot A-37-M-14, 50.2% ABV. Peaches, Canela picosa, Crema Catalana; HOT & sweet pleasures galore.

Tyler

Tyler

503 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars5 years ago

One of my all-time favorite mezcals, in particular the 90/10 blend of Mexicano and Espadin from Aquilino Garcia Lopez, distilled in October 2014. This is a hot mezcal at 50.2% ABV and it’s dangerously tasty. It’s very bright on the nose with floral notes and subtle earthiness. There are bursting flavors of roasted agave, vanilla bean, cotton candy, lemon, pepper, and sage. This was a fairly large batch (for mezcal) at 841 liters so there are quite a few bottles out there.

The other Mexicano I’ve had is 100% Mexicano from January 2016, lot A-01-M-16. This Mexicano is delicious but does not have the complexity of the aforementioned ensamble; it’s a 4 star for me. It’s soft with a finishing bite, floral with light fruit.

One of my all-time favorite mezcals, in particular the 90/10 blend of Mexicano and Espadin from Aquilino Garcia Lopez, distilled in October 2014. This is a hot mezcal at 50.2% ABV and it’s dangerously tasty. It’s very bright on the nose with floral notes and subtle earthiness. There are bursting flavors of roasted agave, vanilla bean, cotton candy, lemon, pepper, and sage. This was a fairly large batch (for mezcal) at 841 liters so there are quite a few bottles out there.
The other M

Read more
Sandy

Sandy

11 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 years ago

The rare agave brings a rare and enjoyable flavor. I tried a batch from October 2014 and was impressed by the complex flavors.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top