Powered by 100% agave

Yuu Baal Pechuga

Yuu Baal Pechuga gets its signature taste from the raw turkey breast that is hung in the still between the second and third distillation.

About this mezcal

Yuu Baal Pechuga is a traditional pechuga mezcal that is made with agave Espadin. Between the second and third distillation, a raw turkey breast is hung in the still and fresh fruits are added as well. This technique leaves this mezcal with a wide range of scents and tastes. It has a nose full of citrus, herbs, fruits, and spices, and tastes of orange, anis, pineapple, and mango. It’s velvety texture carries slight hints of turkey, cinnamon, and mango in the aftertaste.

Yuu Baal Mezcal

Mezcal Yuu Baal is a social enterprise that highlights the traditions of the native Oaxacan producers of mezcal. They pay close attention to detail on the complete process of production to ensure the mystical, the exotic, and the absolutely delightful taste is in every majestic drink. Grupo Yuu Baal is made up of producers in San Juan del Rio, San Luis del Rio Tlacolula and Miahuatlan, Oaxaca.

The quality of the maguey begins in the earth. This means that the complete cycle of production, including planting, cutting, and distillation are done manually, and all with absolute respect for the environment.

11 reviews

3.59 out of 5

Grexican

Grexican

5 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars1 week ago

I was excited for this pechuga but it was high in spice and lacked the unique flavors accustomed with pechugas. Seems like it was a cheap espadin that wasnt good that they tried to enhance.

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

369 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars5 months ago

LOT#: YJ21-20, Bottle#: 749/5100
Nose – Cinnamon apple. Blackberry. Clove. Heavy fragrance of fruits and spices but can’t pick up the turkey pechuga aspect. Very inviting nevertheless.

Palate – This doesn’t make good on the promise on the nose. A lot of pine. Fruits/spices are there but accompanied by soapy, ethanol flavors. The meat component isn’t there for me either. I really want to like this more. This is a mid-range priced mezcal but you’re better off committing extra money to move into a premium pechuga option (i.e. Cinco Sentidos).

LOT#: YJ21-20, Bottle#: 749/5100
Nose – Cinnamon apple. Blackberry. Clove. Heavy fragrance of fruits and spices but can’t pick up the turkey pechuga aspect. Very inviting nevertheless.
Palate – This doesn’t make good on the promise on the nose. A lot of pine. Fruits/spices are there but accompanied by soapy, ethanol flavors. The meat component isn’t there for me either. I really want to like this more. This is a mid-range priced mezcal but you’re better off c

Read more
TzotollineRaramuri

TzotollineRaramuri

75 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars7 months ago

Lote #YJ11-20
Bottle 1115/5100
?- clear
?- drying impact, light prickling.
Aromas of some VA, light leather, ham, meat, pepper, spice, wax, plastic, rubber.
Adequate aroma intensity, simple production.
Average length and ordinary character.
?- Astringent, and slight coating effect; smooth sufficient alcohol; medium body.
Primarily sour, sweet and bitter taste; buttery smoothness.
Flavors of wax, guava, floral honey, ginger spice, green peppers, lemon zest, quince and pear.
Concentrated flavor intensity, complex character, correct balance.
Straightforward and very long finish.
Very Good overall impression.

*VA blows off after some time, good balance, not extraordinary, but nice entry.

Learn more about organoleptic evaluation at the International Wine & Spirits Guild’s seminar in Fine Spirits,
or more on Agave Spirits certifications through the Agave Spirits Institute.

Lote #YJ11-20
Bottle 1115/5100
?- clear
?- drying impact, light prickling.
Aromas of some VA, light leather, ham, meat, pepper, spice, wax, plastic, rubber.
Adequate aroma intensity, simple production.
Average length and ordinary character.
?- Astringent, and slight coating effect; smooth sufficient alcohol; medium body.
Primarily sour, sweet and bitter taste; buttery smoothness.
Flavors of wax, guava, floral honey, ginger spice, green peppers, lemon zest, quince and pear.
Concentrated flavor in

Read more
HighWine

HighWine

61 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars8 months ago

Batch YJ 14-19, Bottle 158/900

I grabbed this bottle off the self as it was priced exactly the same as a newer batch that was 5100 bottles. I’ve enjoyed this one so much that I’ll probably go back for the other one, but I’m not sure a batch nearly six times the size of this one will be as good. Either way, I’m willing to try it because this has been quite a find.

Aroma of peach, pine forest, dried apricot, sandalwood, Anaheim pepper, and spearmint. Taste is sweet and fruity with heat. Orange creamsicle, raisins, cinnamon, dried lemon peel, coriander, white pepper, and wet terra cotta. Medium-high alcohol burn, full palate. I think this was < US$50 which makes it a ridiculously great value.

Batch YJ 14-19, Bottle 158/900
I grabbed this bottle off the self as it was priced exactly the same as a newer batch that was 5100 bottles. I’ve enjoyed this one so much that I’ll probably go back for the other one, but I’m not sure a batch nearly six times the size of this one will be as good. Either way, I’m willing to try it because this has been quite a find.
Aroma of peach, pine forest, dried apricot, sandalwood, Anaheim pepper, and spearmint. Taste is sweet and fruity with hea

Read more
Mezcaliente

Mezcaliente

14 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars9 months ago

Batch YJ11-20, Bottle 341/5100. First pechuga. Most unlike the other mezcals I have had. Sweet with light spice pepper, almost piney when combined. Bursting with flavor.

edgy4sure

edgy4sure

37 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars11 months ago

WOW – my first pechuga. I admit, I’m pretty generous on reviews here, and this being my 1st pechuga I was blown away. No smoke, very citrusy/spicy up front and a very clean finish. An amazing and different mezcal. The bottle immediately went to the back of the closet to be enjoyed only by me!

edit: ok, I crushed this bottle as I found it online as well as having my father in law secure me another in AZ. for the price point, it’s on point!

darrenaustin

darrenaustin

7 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Very nice expression. Minty flavor on the finish. Pleasant to drink.

K.C.

K.C.

1 review
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Batch YJ14-19, bottle 625/900.

Very pleasantly surprised. I have been trying random bottles that I can find on delivery apps during the pandemic lockdown, and this is perhaps my second favorite so far. My first sip tasted of gasoline. Once acclimated, I find it starts very smooth and light but with a peppery layer close behind and spice if you don’t let it rest on your tongue. I get notes of subtle fruit, black pepper, and sometimes vanilla at the beginning. At this price point I personally would use it as a sipper or for special cocktails for good friends. Its spice and pep may turn mezcal skeptics off a bit, but after the first sip I did not find it to be high on smoke.

I’ll be back for more.

Batch YJ14-19, bottle 625/900.
Very pleasantly surprised. I have been trying random bottles that I can find on delivery apps during the pandemic lockdown, and this is perhaps my second favorite so far. My first sip tasted of gasoline. Once acclimated, I find it starts very smooth and light but with a peppery layer close behind and spice if you don’t let it rest on your tongue. I get notes of subtle fruit, black pepper, and sometimes vanilla at the beginning. At this price point I personally w

Read more
GeorgePBurdell

GeorgePBurdell

41 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Batch YJ21-16
48%
Bright spiced fruit on the nose joined by cooked agave and earth on the palate

Tyler

Tyler

532 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Lots of nice spice on the nose. Very interesting and flavorful release from Yuu Baal. The flavors jump around from cinnamon to vanilla to peach to crack pepper. Not much meatiness here but this is a tasty pechuga nonetheless. Very reasonably priced too. Batch YJ18-16.

Jonny

Jonny

537 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Batch YJ18-16. Bottle 495/1440. Lots of spices on the nose. Strong aromas of anise and coriander. This is also spicy with high herbal notes on the palate. This is a nice pechuga. I’m a fan.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top