Powered by 100% agave

Monte Alban Mezcal Con Gusano

Everyone has seen Monte Alban on a liquor store shelf, and its what many people think of when they hear the word Mezcal. And yes, it has the worm.

Rating: (11 reviews)
Cost:$
Brand:Monte Alban
COMERCAM:0008B0776166A, opens in new window
Mezcalero:Destiladora Gonzalez
Maguey:Espadin
Agave:Angustifolia
Style:Abocado, Con Gusano, Reposado
State:Oaxaca
ABV: 40%

About this mezcal

Monte Alban has a long history of making Mezcal and their Reposado is the signature Mezcal made under the Monte Alban brand.

Monte Alban

Monte Alban is one of the most widespread Mezcals in the U.S. It is carried by many distributors and liquor stores, and (for better or worse) it is what many people associate with the word “Mezcal.”  Monte Alban has been making Mezcal and selling it in the U.S. for a long time.  They are well established in the market, and many have had the experience of “tasting the Mezcal worm” with their signature Reposado.

Member rating

1.27 out of 5

11 reviews

JerseyGenius

JerseyGenius

2 reviews
Rated 1 out of 5 stars7 months ago

I consider myself somewhat of a newbie when it comes to Mezcal. Just discovered it this past summer, really. I’ve had a few since then and I must say, this is by far the worst of the batch…by a mile. This reminds me of the cheap tequila that always made me sick as a teenager. And I can almost guarantee that if anyone has more than 2 drinks of this cheap stuff, they’ll inevitably lose their lunch. I can honestly say that I won’t drink this stuff again. Don’t waste your time or money on this.

I consider myself somewhat of a newbie when it comes to Mezcal. Just discovered it this past summer, really. I’ve had a few since then and I must say, this is by far the worst of the batch…by a mile. This reminds me of the cheap tequila that always made me sick as a teenager. And I can almost guarantee that if anyone has more than 2 drinks of this cheap stuff, they’ll inevitably lose their lunch. I can honestly say that I won’t drink this stuff again. Don’t w

Read more
Average José

Average José

54 reviews
Rated 1.5 out of 5 stars12 months ago

This is the juice that made me aware Mezcal was even a thing, I shot tons and tons of this stuff starting around 1994/95. Many fond memories of getting absolutely hammered with good friends and having great times but it tastes nothing like the quality Mezcals we all enjoy today.

Burnt oak and hydrogen peroxide are the main “notes” and the only effect from eating the worm I remember was a mild case of Bali belly. Overall a 1 star drink but an additional 1/2 star is awarded because of nostalgia. No way I would buy a bottle of it today but this old friend will definitely never be forgotten.

This is the juice that made me aware Mezcal was even a thing, I shot tons and tons of this stuff starting around 1994/95. Many fond memories of getting absolutely hammered with good friends and having great times but it tastes nothing like the quality Mezcals we all enjoy today.
Burnt oak and hydrogen peroxide are the main “notes” and the only effect from eating the worm I remember was a mild case of Bali belly. Overall a 1 star drink but an additional 1/2 star is awarded because of nostalg

Read more
Forpowder

Forpowder

95 reviews
Rated 1 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Aroma is of everything that gives me a headache acetone gasoline diesel fumes. Taste is just barely acceptable if you’re in a pinch. Needs a lot of mixers and juices to make it palatable. I don’t think it’s a good mixer at all.

Will

Will

13 reviews
Rated 0.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lot: 0012021
I didn’t mind the smell, nothing too insulting. The taste though, is not good at all. It did provide some perspective on just how much better every other mezcal I’ve tried has been. Not even worth it for cocktails.

LooseGasCap

LooseGasCap

1 review
Rated 1 out of 5 stars2 years ago

For adventure on a budget…
Odd to see an agave worm featured as an essential part of the experience… but it’s been there since forever. Sammy, is this what you sang about???

Notes of cola, maple, cinnamon, Old Spice deodorant, tar, turpentine, lighter fluid, and nail polish remover.

Not a positive experience.

jah6069

jah6069

3 reviews
Rated 1 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Although this industrial Mezcal is not something I would drink, it was responsible for introducing Americans to Mezcal. probably the first I ever tasted back in the 70s. No, I did not eat the worm, there were plenty of yahoos to fight over it. Mythical hallucinogenic effects.

Cy Bister

Cy Bister

26 reviews
Rated 0.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Aroma of cheap, sweet tequila. Taste is of cheap, sweet tequila, with strange prominent cinnamon roll notes, yet somehow managing to be watery and bland at the same time. And all of that with the funk of a cheap Jamaican pot rum. For those who are truly open to tasting and deciphering liquors of all styles and sources, it’s actually sort of an interesting little brew. I wouldn’t call it unpleasant, unless you foolishly overspent on it. But for those hoping for a budget mezcal you will be severely disappointed – this is just a cheap novelty tequila-flavored liquor of some sort – Jose Cuervo gold poured over cinnamon rolls. So rating it as a general liquor – 2 stars. As a mezcal, .5.

Aroma of cheap, sweet tequila. Taste is of cheap, sweet tequila, with strange prominent cinnamon roll notes, yet somehow managing to be watery and bland at the same time. And all of that with the funk of a cheap Jamaican pot rum. For those who are truly open to tasting and deciphering liquors of all styles and sources, it’s actually sort of an interesting little brew. I wouldn’t call it unpleasant, unless you foolishly overspent on it. But for those hoping for a budget mezcal you wil

Read more
euroferrer

euroferrer

2 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

It’s really good for it’s price. I like it’s smoky and earthy flavor. You can’t go wrong with this one either taking shots or making cocktails. It’s a good way to start mezcal

Zeus

Zeus

1 review
Rated 1 out of 5 stars5 years ago

This stuff is nasty! It’s a novelty item at best, in a tacky bottle with etched Mexican symbols, a screw ca, and a worm floating in colored, turpentine-flavored alcohol. It leaves a harsh aftertaste that lingers to the point of nausea. Don’t even taste it. Just walk away.

KaySmith

KaySmith

8 reviews
Rated 1 out of 5 stars6 years ago

Afraid this might be the reason that mezcal has a bad reputation in England… Most commonly found in shops and bars that don’t have an agave focus. It’s novelty because of the added worm which started as a marketing gimmick in the 50s. Tastes watered down and tastes industrially made, with no love for the agave/traditions.

Tyler

Tyler

648 reviews
Rated 0.5 out of 5 stars6 years ago

Smells like a rotten worm. Tastes like watery cola syrup, stale butterscotch, and the souls of mistreated agave plants. Avoid at all costs. There is no NOM on the label. This should not be considered a mezcal; it’s a crap novelty product.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top