Powered by 100% agave

Del Maguey VIDA Clásico

Del Maguey VIDA is one of the most commonly used mezcals for cocktails. It can be sipped neat, but it’s typically a cocktail mixer.

Rating: (84 reviews)
Cost:$
Brand:Del Maguey Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O41X
COMERCAM:0051A1184134B, opens in new window
Mezcalero:Marcos Cruz Mendez, Paciano Cruz Nolasco
Maguey:Espadin
Agave:Angustifolia
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:San Luis del Rio
ABV: 42%
Age of plant: 6-8 years
Website: https://delmaguey.com/, opens in new window
Ownership:Pernod Ricard

About this mezcal

Del Maguey VIDA San Luis Del Rio is an artisanal, organic Mezcal. This Mezcal is sold at an entry-level price point and has broader availability. It launched in 2010, is highly mixable, and has gained much anticipated industry acceptance and high bartender demand. Hand crafted, it is twice distilled, very slowly in small wood-fired, copper stills to flavor specifications that underscore its versatility in cocktails.

This mezcal had a minor label change in 2023 as VIDA “Clásico” to differentiate it from VIDA Puebla.

Del Maguey Mezcal

Del Maguey (pronounced ma–gay), Single Village Mezcal was founded in 1995 by internationally renowned artist and Mezcal visionary, Ron Cooper. Ron introduced the world to previously unavailable 100% certified organic, artisanal Mezcal produced the original handcrafted way. Through deep cultural relationships with Zapotec Mexican Indian producers in the remote villages of Oaxaca, Mexico, Del Maguey harnesses ancient, original organic processes. Combining these methods with varying micro-climates and terroir gives each creation its own unique, rich, sweet and smoky character. Every product in their collection is made by individual family palenqueros (producers) in old-style villages. They are the first producer to credit each product after the village where our liquid is made. When you see their beautiful green bottles you know it’s Del Maguey. Most of Del Maguey’s mezcals are distilled to proof, so the ABV will vary slightly between batches.

In June of 2017, international spirits company, Pernod Ricard, purchased majority stake in the company. Del Maguey is now part of their portfolio that includes Jameson Whiskey, Absolute Vodka, and Havana Club Rum.

Member rating

2.76 out of 5

84 reviews

Bryen

Bryen

55 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 months ago

The quality on this is going down and I’ve never reviewed so also putting this review in to note the degradation. When I first got into mezcal, vida was a staple and quality was better. Now there’s plenty of other espadins I’d grab instead. Most recent bottle was full of vanilla and cinnamon flavor profile which was not what I’m used to from Vida. Look elsewhere.

La-vaca-lechera

La-vaca-lechera

8 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Beating a very dead horse here, but the start, mid, and finish is all a bit harsh. Not a good entry sipper. Better suited for cocktails. It’s full throttle, wide open smoke the whole way through.

Average José

Average José

54 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Lot: VID-221
ABV: 42%

This is standard well Espadin and it works nicely as a bulk mixer. Smokey with a small undertone of grilled pineapple but still not a sipper.

On par with or maybe even slightly better than the rest of the other current mass-market options but that’s as far as this dog walks.

Forpowder

Forpowder

96 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars7 months ago

Lot VID223 2023/05/04 42% Sampled on 12-5-2023 Aromas out of the bottle are light Smoke light alcohol and a definite mezcal green aroma. Flavors follow suit and is easy drinking. This would be a good mixer and in a pinch a acceptable sipper. Been drinking this for a couple nights now and it’s a decent sipper interesting flavors for the price.

Njtorres

Njtorres

5 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars7 months ago

It’s okay to sip, but I prefer it in a mango mezcal cocktail.
Salud!

MezPal20

MezPal20

11 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars7 months ago

Nice, clean and smoky nose that isn’t overwhelming or funky. Notes of sweet grass, anise, mint, charred pine wood, and even a hint of buttery chocolate cheesecake. On the tongue it’s peppery yet mild, sweet and herbal. Fresh cracked pepper, mild cooked agave, gobs of sugary sweetness, fresh fennel, and some verbena like citrus. The body is light to moderate in weight and viscosity. The finish is semi dry and has a mild minerality to it, as well as lingering sweetness, woodiness, and just a hint of mint. It’s pretty mild and may seem a little watered down to the seasoned mezcal drinker, but it would make a great jumping off point for someone new to the game or a beautiful base for some smoky margaritas or palomas.

Nice, clean and smoky nose that isn’t overwhelming or funky. Notes of sweet grass, anise, mint, charred pine wood, and even a hint of buttery chocolate cheesecake. On the tongue it’s peppery yet mild, sweet and herbal. Fresh cracked pepper, mild cooked agave, gobs of sugary sweetness, fresh fennel, and some verbena like citrus. The body is light to moderate in weight and viscosity. The finish is semi dry and has a mild minerality to it, as well as lingering sweetness, woodiness, and just a h

Read more
Rated 4 out of 5 stars8 months ago

Pretty heavy on the smoke, so not the best sipper especially for people just getting into Mezcal. Great for making Paloma’s thought. Add some fresh jalapeño and you’ve got a great drink. Four stars because it’s so inexpensive and easy to find.

agave_papi

agave_papi

3 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars9 months ago

Great mezcal to be enjoyed either neat or in a cocktail. My favorite is a spicy mezcal margarita with Del Maguey Vida!

MezcalBabe

MezcalBabe

63 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars10 months ago

Perfect for a clean but smoky cocktail

Rated 3 out of 5 stars11 months ago

This was my first mezcal. As a beginner, it felt like I was exhaling smoke after every sip. Tasted good and fun to drink. Pick this up to feel like a fire-breathing gringo.
Lot: VID-232
Date: 2023/03/09

Mezcalclara

Mezcalclara

6 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Smokey and consistent for cocktails, but the price is not the strongest pull factor with this one from Del Maguey.

mt_rainyer

mt_rainyer

43 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars1 year ago

As something to use in mixed drinks this is 3 stars (there are better things at this price point for mixed drinks, but this is so widely available that you can’t go wrong with it in that context). Obviously as a sipper, this would be much less, but that isn’t what it is meant for. Smoky, slight citrus, slight leather and than a smoke bomb. Great to pair with grapefruit in something like a paloma.

geralf75

geralf75

11 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Fruity mezcal but high acidity

Carluminatti

Carluminatti

3 reviews
Rated 1 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Tasted like a new car tire shop smells.

Bunntender

Bunntender

17 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Actually first mezcal I ever tried and liked, so always gonna have a soft spot for it. Great for mixing, Vida is good enough to take a sip neat, but also not extremely special. So I don’t feel guilty/ as if I was wasting it when I’m in the mood for a cocktail.

Ronco Sips

Ronco Sips

10 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Yo Everyone,

I’m totally new to Mezcals, this is my first review so please bear with me… it’s a steep learning curve. I became curious about mezcal after reading the novel “Under The Volcano” by Malcolm Lowry. If you have not yet read it, you should it’s a classic. At first I tried a couple mezcal margaritas, enjoyed them and decided I should investigate further.

I went to my local shop and picked up a bottle of Del Maguey Vida.

NOSE: Apple, Smoke, Alcohol, A Smoke seems to come and go, a more floral smell with the second sip.

PALATE: Lemon, Alcohol in the nose, Light Smoke

MOUTHFEEL: Light burn on back of the tongue

FINISH: Long after taste, Agave, smoke comes back, then a Metallic, end not the best.

All in all it’s not that bad, two and a half stars works. I would not say its complex, seems to get a bit better tasting after it sits in the glass for a while (Is that a thing?) It would be better if the notes of alcohol were not present.

I’ve made a video of this tasting at my youtube channel please join me there I would love to get some feedback and recommendations for a mezcal that will knock my socks off.
https://youtu.be/14osV1WQs0o

Cheers, your pal Ronco

Yo Everyone,
I’m totally new to Mezcals, this is my first review so please bear with me… it’s a steep learning curve. I became curious about mezcal after reading the novel “Under The Volcano” by Malcolm Lowry. If you have not yet read it, you should it’s a classic. At first I tried a couple mezcal margaritas, enjoyed them and decided I should investigate further.
I went to my local shop and picked up a bottle of Del Maguey Vida.
NOSE: Apple, Smoke, Alcoho

Read more
Azi

Azi

40 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Fruity smoke, harsher than usual burn. Good for what it is on every level! friend gifted a bottle and i’m a-ok with having it around

Threesunspots

Threesunspots

6 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

This was my entry to world of Mezcal. The smokey and complex aftertaste gave this full 5 stars like a rocket to the sky. When now later try another bottle it doesn’t realy leave the ground. Don’t know if thats because of manufacturing variations or me being more experienced? Still likeble and good entry to this spirit. Lot no: VID.197

Greg Mueller

Greg Mueller

4 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Entry Mezcal, smokey and high acidity.

KoalaCoelho

KoalaCoelho

8 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Pretty intense right out of the bottle. Big smoke, and some other flavors I couldn’t quite pin down. As a sipper I thought it was 3 stars, but after a few Tommy’s margaritas (just lime and agave syrup) I raise it to 4 stars.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top