Powered by 100% agave

Del Maguey VIDA

Del Maguey VIDA is one of the most commonly used mezcals for cocktails. It can be sipped neat, but it’s typically a cocktail mixer.

Rating: (40 reviews)
Cost:$$$$
Brand:Del Maguey Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O41X
Mezcalero:Marcos Cruz Mendez, Paciano Cruz Nolasco
Agave / Maguey:Angustifolia, Espadin
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:San Luis del Rio
ABV: 42%
Age of plant: 6-8 years
Website: http://delmaguey.com/vida/
About this mezcal

Del Maguey VIDA San Luis Del Rio is an artisanal, organic Mezcal. This Mezcal is sold at an entry-level price point and has broader availability. It launched in 2010, is highly mixable, and has gained much anticipated industry acceptance and high bartender demand. Hand crafted, it is twice distilled, very slowly in small wood-fired, copper stills to flavor specifications that underscore its versatility in cocktails.

Del Maguey Mezcal

Del Maguey (pronounced ma–gay), Single Village Mezcal was founded in 1995 by internationally renowned artist and Mezcal visionary, Ron Cooper. Ron introduced the world to previously unavailable 100% certified organic, artisanal Mezcal produced the original handcrafted way. Through deep cultural relationships with Zapotec Mexican Indian producers in the remote villages of Oaxaca, Mexico, Del Maguey harnesses ancient, original organic processes. Combining these methods with varying micro-climates and terroir gives each creation its own unique, rich, sweet and smoky character. Every product in their collection is made by individual family palenqueros (producers) in old-style villages. They are the first producer to credit each product after the village where our liquid is made. When you see their beautiful green bottles you know it’s Del Maguey. Most of Del Maguey's mezcals are distilled to proof, so the ABV will vary slightly between batches.

In June of 2017, international spirits company, Pernod Ricard, purchased majority stake in the company. Del Maguey is now part of their portfolio that includes Jameson Whiskey, Absolute Vodka, and Havana Club Rum.

40 reviews

2.66 out of 5


HighWine

HighWine

8 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars11 hours ago

Bottle Lot VID-193
This is the base mezcal for my version of a Oaxaca old fashioned cocktail in which it performs beautifully. This review is of a neat pour to evaluate this product on its merits without mixing.

Nose is magic marker, cactus, and faint strawberry.

Flavor is mint, tobacco, vinyl, and pepper.

Light palate but a better mouthfeel than I’ve found from alternatives at this price point.

Overall this is a satisfactory sipper and a great mixer. It’s a value pick to have as a versatile bottle in any home or commercial bar.

Bottle Lot VID-193
This is the base mezcal for my version of a Oaxaca old fashioned cocktail in which it performs beautifully. This review is of a neat pour to evaluate this product on its merits without mixing.
Nose is magic marker, cactus, and faint strawberry.
Flavor is mint, tobacco, vinyl, and pepper.
Light palate but a better mouthfeel than I’ve found from alternatives at this price point.
Overall this is a satisfactory sipper and a great mixer. It’s a value pick to have as a ve

Read more
jklitzke

jklitzke

5 reviews
Rated 1 out of 5 stars2 weeks ago

According to my star rating system, 1 star = couldn’t finish the bottle, and I poured mine out. It’s available seemingly everywhere and many cocktails recipes call for it specifically, but don’t let that popularity fool you. It’s far too metallic and sour for my taste, without any other redeeming qualities.

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

43 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars3 weeks ago

Only a matter of time before I got to this one. Overall pretty light, slightly smokey, and not a whole lot of complexities to speak of. Light ethanol. Not bad for a sipper, but a lot better for a good mix drink. The smell (slightly fruity) seems to be better than the actual taste. This one has done a lot for Del Maguey, but has to be the weakest link in their reputable chain of mezcals.

gratefullawyer

gratefullawyer

3 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 month ago

This has been my go to Mezcal. It is very available in Ohio. I enjoy sipping it. It has been part of my steps into the world of Mezcal

Beanbag

Beanbag

2 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 months ago

This was my first mezcal. Ordered a shot in NYC. I do enjoy Islay Scotch, so this was welcoming. I don’t know much else about it. But I liked it enough. 3/5

donpedro

donpedro

21 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars3 months ago

This is the go-to introductory bottle for many mezcal first timers (was for me as well), particularly because it works so well in cocktails. Great in cocktails, meh as a neat sipper.

Grace Andrea

Grace Andrea

1 review
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 months ago

This espadin is a great bottle for anyone who is trying to get into the beautiful world of mezcal. It’s great for cocktails and I enjoy sipping on it while cooking. Super approachable! Huele a miel and mamey ice cream. Tastes like copal smoke, té de canela, and bitter citrus oil when you first open an orange or mandarin. Leaves a smooth mouthfeel like you slowly and seductively licked a vanilla blossom. Yeah, I know. Sexy in a Negroni (sub the gin).

lenathefree

lenathefree

2 reviews
Rated 1 out of 5 stars3 months ago

I am new to mezcal reviews, so my language will not be technical. Vida overshoots smokey and jumps straight into medicinal. It tastes like the Campho-Phenique my grandma would put on a scrape when I was a kid. When it is mixed in a cocktail, by the time enough is added to actually taste the mezcal, the drink is overrun with the medicinal taste and leaves zero room for other flavors. Lot No. VID-196

Ravi

Ravi

5 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

This is by no means bad mezcal. It is not going to blow anyone’s mind, but nor is it trying to. I have tried this mezcal many times and it always tastes the same, but I feel that’s the point. Variability from batch-to-batch is part of the charm for dedicated mezcal heads, but not for bartenders mixing cocktails, which is what this is best suited to. The smoke is very pronounced, along with the sweetness of cooked agave and the heat of alcohol on the finish that perhaps makes it seems higher ABV than it is. There is a little earthiness and caramel, but it is not complex, making it work well with other ingredients while the smoke and heat shines through. The problem is that, at this price (currently £45 in the UK), there are much better mezcals to be had, such as Pensador and Burrito Fiestero. Don’t let this put you off other offerings in the Del Maguey range, some are truly outstanding!

This is by no means bad mezcal. It is not going to blow anyone’s mind, but nor is it trying to. I have tried this mezcal many times and it always tastes the same, but I feel that’s the point. Variability from batch-to-batch is part of the charm for dedicated mezcal heads, but not for bartenders mixing cocktails, which is what this is best suited to. The smoke is very pronounced, along with the sweetness of cooked agave and the heat of alcohol on the finish that perhaps makes it seems higher

Read more
Cy Bister

Cy Bister

13 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Earthy, herbal and slightly artificial on the nose – like an air freshener or hand sanitizer whose scent you just can’t quite nail down. Maybe a touch of new car upholstery in there. But upon tasting there’s some unidentified sweet fruits, vanilla, fresh bell pepper, and some peppery smoke in there. As for the rest of the not-so-flattering reviews here – clearly familiarity breeds contempt. This is downright pleasant, even if it isn’t outstanding.

Gerry Suazo

Gerry Suazo

7 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Best for mixing in cocktails, great mixed with orange cognac. Not great for sipping, Lacks depth.

CasaDeGuero

CasaDeGuero

11 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Lovely smoke and clay on the nose. Hot and bitter but some richness on the palate that gives way to a nice lingering richness. Not best sipper but not bad for the price.

Batch: VID-195

tjdittrich

tjdittrich

3 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars6 months ago

This mezcal fits perfectly into cocktails, but it is also easily the most bang for your buck as a sipper at around $38 a bottle; I think it holds its weight against any bottle under $50. Very nice smoke with a clean finish. Have one on hand for friends that are new to mezcal.

El_Roberto

El_Roberto

13 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars7 months ago

Basic flavour with a lot of smoke. Pretty widely available and the go to for a cocktail mixer with some extra smoke. Wouldn’t sip on it’s own though.

Arthurjakob21

Arthurjakob21

5 reviews
Rated 1.5 out of 5 stars8 months ago

Okay for mixing, but no depth or complexity you would expect from Mezcal.

GeorgePBurdell

GeorgePBurdell

25 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars8 months ago

Can’t add much to what’s already been said. Nice way to add some smoke to a cocktail. Neat it’s pretty one dimensional but still enjoyable.

Akduhig

Akduhig

2 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars8 months ago

Okay, easily available. Nice mixed with seltzer

Will

Will

1 review
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars8 months ago

Vida is my go to Tuesday mez. An economical choice you can find at many bars. Add a cut of orange or grapefruit rind to add citrus.

chonchoparadise

chonchoparadise

3 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars8 months ago

Nice middle of the road mezcal. We’ve sipped it but it’s probably better with as a drink. It’s your everyday table red of the mezcal world. Smooth, but not overly complex.

alpg

alpg

2 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars9 months ago

Mezcal for new drinkers, has become a bit mainstream. Smoky in nose and taste, strong finish but vanishes fast. Works definitely better as a mixer than as a sipper.

Ambros

Ambros

8 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Not too complex. Smoke, medicinal and slightly fruity. Introductory mezcal or mixer.

Gregg T&T

Gregg T&T

45 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

High roast on the nose, I hardly use the term but it is smokey. Also pick up light notes of citrus and honey. There’s some banana and cooked agave before finishing with pepper. Obviously intended as a mixer and that’s where it should live.

Lurch98

Lurch98

2 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

This mezcal hit me like a brick to the face. Introduction in a speak easy in a liquor forward selection. I remember smoke, fire, happiness. Almost overpowering smokiness, and a bit of tropical fruitiness. It’s affordable, it mixes well. I will forever be grateful to it for launching my mezcal obsession. May not be everyone’s cup of tea, but for the price is an excellent entry choice. Definitely a mixer, not really complex enough to stand alone.

rsidrys

rsidrys

38 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Smokey and fruity. Has a bit of a grungy bite from deep smoke notes along with a touch of rubber and gasoline. I was actually able to enjoy sipping on this when I first started with mezcal, but my palate has since been spoiled.

Thankin_Hank

Thankin_Hank

9 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Made for mixing and experimenting I believe it excels in it’s endeavor to introduce people to Mezcal. My first Mezcal cocktail included the Vida and it sparked an interest for me. Ron Cooper completed that journey when I read his book “Finding Mezcal”.

mark3914

mark3914

1 review
Rated 1 out of 5 stars1 year ago

I am not a big Mezcal drinker and am much more into good tequilas. That said, I have tried some very decent mezcals that I have enjoyed. This is certainly not one of them. The smell alone was enough to turn your stomach. And the taste was something that was so terrible that it has seared itself into my memory. I thought that maybe I could salvage some of the cost that I paid for this swill by mixing it with Margarita mix but the horrific smell and taste were still too overpowering to even remotely imagine enjoying my drink. A definite throw-away that was so bad that it inspired me to join this site so that I could slam it. What a waste that no one should waste their hard earned money on.

I am not a big Mezcal drinker and am much more into good tequilas. That said, I have tried some very decent mezcals that I have enjoyed. This is certainly not one of them. The smell alone was enough to turn your stomach. And the taste was something that was so terrible that it has seared itself into my memory. I thought that maybe I could salvage some of the cost that I paid for this swill by mixing it with Margarita mix but the horrific smell and taste were still too overpowering to even remote

Read more
Yggy45

Yggy45

7 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars2 years ago

The first mezcal bottle that I bought. For me, Vida is two things: smoke, and guava, on the nose and on the tongue. It was a nice intro to something with that agave alcohol taste, different than my Don Julio and intriguing, but ultimately my bottle has fallen to the wayside as I’ve explored better Mezcals. I still use this to mix margaritas with occasionally, it adds a nice smokey fruity twist to the drink.

Big downside though: Vida gives me hangovers. Good tequila doesn’t and most of the other mezcals I have don’t either.

The first mezcal bottle that I bought. For me, Vida is two things: smoke, and guava, on the nose and on the tongue. It was a nice intro to something with that agave alcohol taste, different than my Don Julio and intriguing, but ultimately my bottle has fallen to the wayside as I’ve explored better Mezcals. I still use this to mix margaritas with occasionally, it adds a nice smokey fruity twist to the drink.
Big downside though: Vida gives me hangovers. Good tequila doesn’t and

Read more
Dave

Dave

12 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars2 years ago

There is not a lot here and it is hard to be positive on this one.

Doesn’t work well for mixing or sipping. I am hesitant to try other Del Magueys after this one.

This is a well bottle for sure.

Cortez

Cortez

12 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 years ago

2 star sipper, 3 star mixer. Taste is mostly smokey and fits the mindset of what most new drinkers think mezcal is. Other than that, no wow factor. If you’re looking to make a cocktail, reach for Vida- it works great!

berryt798

berryt798

1 review
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

This is the first Mezcal that had what I was looking for in terms of smoke and complexity. Admittedly, I wanted a very smokey Mezcal to mix with, and after trying a few that were let downs in the smoke department, this did not disappoint. I could easily see how this wouldn’t please a palate on its own. I mix this with equal parts smokey-sweet bourbon & amaro, orange bitters, black walnut bitters, a jalapeno bitter, and occasionally a chocolate bitters as well. It smells like an ash tray and tastes like nothing you’ve ever had <3 <3 if you use it, please name it Bitter Middle Aged White Lady and attribute.

This is the first Mezcal that had what I was looking for in terms of smoke and complexity. Admittedly, I wanted a very smokey Mezcal to mix with, and after trying a few that were let downs in the smoke department, this did not disappoint. I could easily see how this wouldn’t please a palate on its own. I mix this with equal parts smokey-sweet bourbon & amaro, orange bitters, black walnut bitters, a jalapeno bitter, and occasionally a chocolate bitters as well. It smells like an ash tra

Read more
Nick

Nick

23 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 years ago

I find myself agreeing with the mixer sentiments of other reviewers, but as my daughter bought it for me… another half star. Del Maguey mezcals probably the earliest available in general liquor retailers in Australia so it’s an easy buy. Vida is a touch harsher than some of the others – making it interesting as a sipper, ice helps develop the flavour some. If it’s on the shelf and you need mezcal, buy it, then grab something else next time and keep this a backup or mixer.

I find myself agreeing with the mixer sentiments of other reviewers, but as my daughter bought it for me… another half star. Del Maguey mezcals probably the earliest available in general liquor retailers in Australia so it’s an easy buy. Vida is a touch harsher than some of the others – making it interesting as a sipper, ice helps develop the flavour some. If it’s on the shelf and you need mezcal, buy it, then grab something else next time and keep this a backup or mixer.

Read more
Rated 2 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Smokiness in all aspects. Nose, mouth and length are all dedicated to it.
Which is fine, if that’s what you’re looking for. As a wine person to begin with, I’m always looking for different expressions depending on the terroir, you don’t get any of this in Vida.
It a decent mixing Mezcal, but I feel that lately the batches lack more and more in terms of pure sipping neat.

MezcalOneRock

MezcalOneRock

3 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Easy to drink over ice, perfect for mixing with serrano, lime & simple for a mezRita.

NickSanford

NickSanford

23 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 years ago

The smokey flavor hits you before you even start drinking its so strong. It doesn’t bring much other flavors, but it works for mixing cocktails when you want to mix sime high smoke to an opposite flavor. Not a huge fan of this one from Del Maguey.

Mymic87

Mymic87

13 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Nose: Very smokey muddy, and starchy, like eating a baked potato next to an autumn bonfire, Gherkins in brine, antiseptic cream and road tar.

Taste: Smoke, icing sugar, licorice, table salt, yellow pears.

Comments: Not the most complex, but a good starter mezcal, and very well priced. I like this stuff, this isn’t my first bottle of vida and it wont be my last.

Hörky Båmf

Hörky Båmf

18 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Another Vida review is probably the last thing anyone needs, but here it is anyway. Not my first choice for sipping, as it’s somewhat brash and lacking in nuance and balance, or really anything very interesting. That said, it stands up surprisingly well in mixed drinks and brings the smoke. Gets along swimmingly with lime, grapefruit, and pineapple juices. As a sipper it’s barely a 2, but as a cocktail ingredient it’s a good 3+.

MatchaMezcal

MatchaMezcal

3 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Basically an introductory mezcal, very common at your local backbar. The pricepoint is good for delving into the world of mezcals. As mentioned, goes well in cocktails if you like mezcal cocktails. Considering how much goes into the agave, I find mezcal cocktails to be kind of a waste? Just my opinion. I suppose if you have to mix something… mix an Espadin. Specifically, this Espadin.

SeattleMezcalLover

SeattleMezcalLover

9 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars3 years ago

People recommend this to start with. Don’t listen to them. It’s relatively cheap and probably fine in some cocktails. Possibly the quality has gone down as it’s popularity and demand have increased. Spend $5 more and you will find something almost twice as nice.

Gfunk

Gfunk

14 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Smoky yet lacking any other qualities. Finish is almost immediate. It’s not unpleasant but also not memorable.

Tyler

Tyler

395 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Not a great sipper. I see VIDA at a lot of bars and it’s mostly used for mixing cocktails, as it should be. There are notes vanilla and leather on the initial sip but it quickly becomes dominated by flavors of alcohol and generic smoke. The finish is strong and the lingering taste is slightly metallic. If you are new to mezcal and want to enjoy some Del Maguey neat, my recommendation is to start with the Chichicapa or Minero… or why not both! Del Maguey has released some really great offerings over the years, but this is not it. If you see it as an option for a cocktail mixer then go for it. Vida makes great margaritas because the strong smoke notes shine through nicely. Two stars as a sipper, four stars as a mixer.

Not a great sipper. I see VIDA at a lot of bars and it’s mostly used for mixing cocktails, as it should be. There are notes vanilla and leather on the initial sip but it quickly becomes dominated by flavors of alcohol and generic smoke. The finish is strong and the lingering taste is slightly metallic. If you are new to mezcal and want to enjoy some Del Maguey neat, my recommendation is to start with the Chichicapa or Minero… or why not both! Del Maguey has released some really great

Read more
Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top