Powered by 100% agave

Del Maguey VIDA

Del Maguey VIDA is one of the most commonly used mezcals for cocktails. It can be sipped neat, but it’s typically a cocktail mixer.

Rating: (14 reviews)
Brand:Del Maguey Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O41X
Mezcalero:Marcos Cruz Mendez, Paciano Cruz Nolasco
Agave:Espadin
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:San Luis del Rio
ABV: 42%
Age of plant: 6-8 years
Website: http://delmaguey.com/vida/
About this mezcal

Del Maguey VIDA San Luis Del Rio is an artisanal, organic Mezcal. This Mezcal is sold at an entry-level price point and has broader availability. It launched in 2010, is highly mixable, and has gained much anticipated industry acceptance and high bartender demand. Hand crafted, it is twice distilled, very slowly in small wood-fired, copper stills to flavor specifications that underscore its versatility in cocktails.

Del Maguey Mezcal

Del Maguey (pronounced ma–gay), Single Village Mezcal was founded in 1995 by internationally renowned artist and Mezcal visionary, Ron Cooper. Ron introduced the world to previously unavailable 100% certified organic, artisanal Mezcal produced the original handcrafted way. Through deep cultural relationships with Zapotec Mexican Indian producers in the remote villages of Oaxaca, Mexico, Del Maguey harnesses ancient, original organic processes. Combining these methods with varying micro-climates and terroir gives each creation its own unique, rich, sweet and smoky character. Every product in their collection is made by individual family palenqueros (producers) in old-style villages. They are the first producer to credit each product after the village where our liquid is made. When you see their beautiful green bottles you know it’s Del Maguey. Most of Del Maguey's mezcals are distilled to proof, so the ABV will vary slightly between batches.

In June of 2017, international spirits company, Pernod Ricard, purchased majority stake in the company. Del Maguey is now part of their portfolio that includes Jameson Whiskey, Absolute Vodka, and Havana Club Rum.

14 reviews

2.8 of out 5 stars


Yggy45

Yggy45

6 reviews
2 months ago

The first mezcal bottle that I bought. For me, Vida is two things: smoke, and guava, on the nose and on the tongue. It was a nice intro to something with that agave alcohol taste, different than my Don Julio and intriguing, but ultimately my bottle has fallen to the wayside as I’ve explored better Mezcals. I still use this to mix margaritas with occasionally, it adds a nice smokey fruity twist to the drink.

Big downside though: Vida gives me hangovers. Good tequila doesn’t and most of the other mezcals I have don’t either.

The first mezcal bottle that I bought. For me, Vida is two things: smoke, and guava, on the nose and on the tongue. It was a nice intro to something with that agave alcohol taste, different than my Don Julio and intriguing, but ultimately my bottle has fallen to the wayside as I’ve explored better Mezcals. I still use this to mix margaritas with occasionally, it adds a nice smokey fruity twist to the drink.
Big downside though: Vida gives me hangovers. Good tequila doesn’t and

Read more
Dave

Dave

9 reviews
2 months ago

There is not a lot here and it is hard to be positive on this one.

Doesn’t work well for mixing or sipping. I am hesitant to try other Del Magueys after this one.

This is a well bottle for sure.

Cortes

Cortes

5 reviews
2 months ago

2 star sipper, 3 star mixer. Taste is mostly smokey and fits the mindset of what most new drinkers think mezcal is. Other than that, no wow factor. If you’re looking to make a cocktail, reach for Vida- it works great!

berryt798

berryt798

1 review
2 months ago

This is the first Mezcal that had what I was looking for in terms of smoke and complexity. Admittedly, I wanted a very smokey Mezcal to mix with, and after trying a few that were let downs in the smoke department, this did not disappoint. I could easily see how this wouldn’t please a palate on its own. I mix this with equal parts smokey-sweet bourbon & amaro, orange bitters, black walnut bitters, a jalapeno bitter, and occasionally a chocolate bitters as well. It smells like an ash tray and tastes like nothing you’ve ever had <3 <3 if you use it, please name it Bitter Middle Aged White Lady and attribute.

This is the first Mezcal that had what I was looking for in terms of smoke and complexity. Admittedly, I wanted a very smokey Mezcal to mix with, and after trying a few that were let downs in the smoke department, this did not disappoint. I could easily see how this wouldn’t please a palate on its own. I mix this with equal parts smokey-sweet bourbon & amaro, orange bitters, black walnut bitters, a jalapeno bitter, and occasionally a chocolate bitters as well. It smells like an ash tra

Read more
Nick

Nick

9 reviews
3 months ago

I find myself agreeing with the mixer sentiments of other reviewers, but as my daughter bought it for me… another half star. Del Maguey mezcals probably the earliest available in general liquor retailers in Australia so it’s an easy buy. Vida is a touch harsher than some of the others – making it interesting as a sipper, ice helps develop the flavour some. If it’s on the shelf and you need mezcal, buy it, then grab something else next time and keep this a backup or mixer.

I find myself agreeing with the mixer sentiments of other reviewers, but as my daughter bought it for me… another half star. Del Maguey mezcals probably the earliest available in general liquor retailers in Australia so it’s an easy buy. Vida is a touch harsher than some of the others – making it interesting as a sipper, ice helps develop the flavour some. If it’s on the shelf and you need mezcal, buy it, then grab something else next time and keep this a backup or mixer.

Read more
5 months ago

Smokiness in all aspects. Nose, mouth and length are all dedicated to it.
Which is fine, if that’s what you’re looking for. As a wine person to begin with, I’m always looking for different expressions depending on the terroir, you don’t get any of this in Vida.
It a decent mixing Mezcal, but I feel that lately the batches lack more and more in terms of pure sipping neat.

MezcalOneRock

MezcalOneRock

3 reviews
6 months ago

Easy to drink over ice, perfect for mixing with serrano, lime & simple for a mezRita.

NickSanford

NickSanford

10 reviews
6 months ago

The smokey flavor hits you before you even start drinking its so strong. It doesn’t bring much other flavors, but it works for mixing cocktails when you want to mix sime high smoke to an opposite flavor. Not a huge fan of this one from Del Maguey.

Mymic87

Mymic87

13 reviews
7 months ago

Nose: Very smokey muddy, and starchy, like eating a baked potato next to an autumn bonfire, Gherkins in brine, antiseptic cream and road tar.

Taste: Smoke, icing sugar, licorice, table salt, yellow pears.

Comments: Not the most complex, but a good starter mezcal, and very well priced. I like this stuff, this isn’t my first bottle of vida and it wont be my last.

Hörky Båmf

Hörky Båmf

16 reviews
9 months ago

Another Vida review is probably the last thing anyone needs, but here it is anyway. Not my first choice for sipping, as it’s somewhat brash and lacking in nuance and balance, or really anything very interesting. That said, it stands up surprisingly well in mixed drinks and brings the smoke. Gets along swimmingly with lime, grapefruit, and pineapple juices. As a sipper it’s barely a 2, but as a cocktail ingredient it’s a good 3+.

MatchaMezcal

MatchaMezcal

3 reviews
10 months ago

Basically an introductory mezcal, very common at your local backbar. The pricepoint is good for delving into the world of mezcals. As mentioned, goes well in cocktails if you like mezcal cocktails. Considering how much goes into the agave, I find mezcal cocktails to be kind of a waste? Just my opinion. I suppose if you have to mix something… mix an Espadin. Specifically, this Espadin.

2 years ago

People recommend this to start with. Don’t listen to them. It’s relatively cheap and probably fine in some cocktails. Possibly the quality has gone down as it’s popularity and demand have increased. Spend $5 more and you will find something almost twice as nice.

Gfunk

Gfunk

13 reviews
2 years ago

Smoky yet lacking any other qualities. Finish is almost immediate. It’s not unpleasant but also not memorable.

Tyler

Tyler

267 reviews
2 years ago

Not a great sipper. I see VIDA at a lot of bars and it’s mostly used for mixing cocktails, as it should be. There are notes vanilla and leather on the initial sip but it quickly becomes dominated by flavors of alcohol and generic smoke. The finish is strong and the lingering taste is slightly metallic. If you are new to mezcal and want to enjoy some Del Maguey neat, my recommendation is to start with the Chichicapa or Minero… or why not both! Del Maguey makes some of the best mezcal on earth, but this is not it. If you see it as an option for a cocktail mixer then go for it. Vida makes great margaritas because the strong smoke notes shine through nicely. Two stars as a sipper, four stars as a mixer.

Not a great sipper. I see VIDA at a lot of bars and it’s mostly used for mixing cocktails, as it should be. There are notes vanilla and leather on the initial sip but it quickly becomes dominated by flavors of alcohol and generic smoke. The finish is strong and the lingering taste is slightly metallic. If you are new to mezcal and want to enjoy some Del Maguey neat, my recommendation is to start with the Chichicapa or Minero… or why not both! Del Maguey makes some of the best mezcal

Read more
Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Follow @mezcalreviews