Powered by 100% agave

Rey Campero Jabali

Rey Campero Jabali is a high risk, high reward Mezcal. Some credit Maestro Romulo as the first in Oaxaca to truly harness the maguey Jabali.

About this mezcal

Rey Campero Jabali is made with maguey Jabali. The flavor of this mezcal has lots of tropical fruit and citrus. It is earthy with a hint of pepper. Its richly textured and the smoke frames the wild flavors of this special agave.  Part of what makes the Jabali so seldom used in Mezcal is its history of expanding and foaming during the fermentation and distillation process, which makes this a very high risk, high reward Mezcal.

Rey Campero Mezcal

Rey Campero represents the culture, tradition and art of Candelaria Yegolé, a small town in the Southern Highlands of Oaxaca, with a fertile ground on its slopes and canyons. It represents a people dedicated to the production of artisanal Mezcal, so one of its principles is to help producers of maguey, by creating job opportunities, but especially in finding markets for the best Mezcal. Rey Campero, means "King of the Countryside" and it was founded by the maestro mezcalero Romulo Sanchez Parada. Romulo learned how to make mezcal from his father, and he worked in the palenque until age 20. He lived and worked for several years in North Carolina while in his 20s before returning to Oaxaca in 2003. Each lot may vary slightly, so check your bottle for specific details about ABV.

38 reviews

4.26 out of 5


aarild

aarild

69 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 months ago

Lots of tarragon on the nose, tanned leather, a bit acetone and fried chicken.
A bit harsh at first, on opening the bottle, letting it rest in the glass for 15 minutes was necessary, but very effectful.
On the palate you’d think a pechuga for a second, but then it leans towards more barbecue sauce and guajilo chili. Also a fantastic layer of tropical fruit throughout, before the herbs come back towards the finish with tarragon, thyme and white pepper. Nice coating effect, medium mouthfeel but not oily.

As usual, I am excited to see what happens to the bottle in a few weeks.

DS013-J from September 2019.

Lots of tarragon on the nose, tanned leather, a bit acetone and fried chicken.
A bit harsh at first, on opening the bottle, letting it rest in the glass for 15 minutes was necessary, but very effectful.
On the palate you’d think a pechuga for a second, but then it leans towards more barbecue sauce and guajilo chili. Also a fantastic layer of tropical fruit throughout, before the herbs come back towards the finish with tarragon, thyme and white pepper. Nice coating effect, medium mouthfeel

Read more
Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

335 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Lote: DS015-J
Nose – Tropical papaya. Kiwi. Rotisserie chicken.

Palate – Subtle and subdued at first and then BOOM!… flame-grilled chicken lathered in a very smoky, ketjap manis (Indonesian sweet soy sauce). Worn, beaten down leather. Salt & pepper Kettle potato chips. The sweet, smoky and meaty aspect highlights a long finish and warm (semi-hot) aftertaste.

This is a heavyweight punchy mezcal, amazing stuff!

James

James

9 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Lote D5009A-J, 49.2%

My first jabali, and this certainly lives up to its reputation of having a bit of a wild profile. Nose reminds me of ketchup and spice, black pepper, a little leather, tropical fruit, sometimes dominated by acetone. Taste of fruit and spice, underlying green, vegetal flavor, or underripe fruit. Lacks the “funkiness” that I notice in a lot of mezcals; just bold, spicy, fruity nose and taste, with a medium body and creaminess. Like most of what I’ve tried from Rey Campero, this is hot and complex, but a little unrefined.

Lote D5009A-J, 49.2%
My first jabali, and this certainly lives up to its reputation of having a bit of a wild profile. Nose reminds me of ketchup and spice, black pepper, a little leather, tropical fruit, sometimes dominated by acetone. Taste of fruit and spice, underlying green, vegetal flavor, or underripe fruit. Lacks the “funkiness” that I notice in a lot of mezcals; just bold, spicy, fruity nose and taste, with a medium body and creaminess. Like most of what I’ve tried fro

Read more
Patrick

Patrick

43 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars5 months ago

2016
Batch : ds007-j
This was long overdue….
Nose : Juicy fruit up front, then cinnamon and pears. Vanilla and tropical fruits come in and out.
Taste : bubble gum, light smoke, fresh green peppers, fresh and summery.
Finish : dry, peaty and sweet.
I’ve heard many people raving about this bottle and now so will I..

James Christian

James Christian

17 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Lot DS016-J, Oct 2019

Revised to a 5 after going through a bootle and a half. I love this stuff!

Nose: I get mango and sugar corn pops with a little spicy pepper on the nose.

Palate: Super smooth and coating mouthfeel. Not a bit of burn anywhere. It just costs and makes the mouth watery.

Taste: Flavors are very slight mango with even slighter sugared bacon and almonds. Sometimes I get “Peppered Bacon Corn Pops” which makes me want that cereal to exist.

Cocido

Cocido

1 review
Rated 1 out of 5 stars6 months ago

The least enjoyable jabali i have had so far. Over $80/bottle and very disappointing. I do not doubt the quality of Rey Campero’s mezcales but this 2016 batch was just not right: very one-way, single layer, harsh and rather uneventful.

Nickwrobison

Nickwrobison

11 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars6 months ago

Lote: DS009A-J

White pepper on the nose.
Chalky green taste at first, changes to a soft sweetness.

Churchyard

Churchyard

4 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars7 months ago

Lot: D5014-J
Bottle No. 3381548

Beautiful expression: aromas of breakfast cereal (Corn Pops and hints of Cinnamon Toast Crunch). Sweet up front with a distinct palm sugar flavor, but moves into notes of almonds, leather, tobacco, and cocoa. Finishes rich and complex.

A fantastic bottle, and quickly becoming one of my favorites in the collection.

TzotollineRaramuri

TzotollineRaramuri

75 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars8 months ago

Lote D5009A-J; 200ml
?- clear
?- dryingimpact.
Aromas of caraway, peppercorn, chamomile, papaya, guava, quince, pineapple, mango, banana peel, mandarin, menthol, prickly pears.
Adequate & complex production.
Average length and fine character.
?- coating effect with some warming; sufficient smooth alcohol; medium-full body.
Primarily sour taste, with light sweet & bitter highlights; buttery smoothness.
Flavors of tamarind, mango, peach, guava, orange, papaya, chamomile, peppercorn, light chipotle, and wild honey.
Concentrated flavor intensity, complex character, harmonious balance.
Pleasant and very long finish.
Excellent overall impression.

*very unique profile, quite tropical without being ” too sweet” or over ripe. Nice complexity and craftmanship.

Learn more about organoleptic evaluation at the International Wine & Spirits Guild’s seminar in Fine Spirits,
or more on Agave Spirits certifications through the Agave Spirits Institute.

Lote D5009A-J; 200ml
?- clear
?- dryingimpact.
Aromas of caraway, peppercorn, chamomile, papaya, guava, quince, pineapple, mango, banana peel, mandarin, menthol, prickly pears.
Adequate & complex production.
Average length and fine character.
?- coating effect with some warming; sufficient smooth alcohol; medium-full body.
Primarily sour taste, with light sweet & bitter highlights; buttery smoothness.
Flavors of tamarind, mango, peach, guava, orange, papaya, chamomile, peppercorn, light

Read more
meserole

meserole

70 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars8 months ago

I was excited to try my first full jabali mezcal, based on its exotic reputation. This one had a really exciting nose, with a fruity aroma of papayas and bbq/smoke. Unfortunately the body was way more intense than I saw coming — super hot, with some of the leather taste that I’ve come to associate with Sierra Negra and Arroqueño magueys. A bit of the heat lets up near the end for a relatively creamy and nice finish. It’s a bold and fairly interesting mezcal, but not one that I’d want to own a full bottle of.

Tried at Origen restaurant in Oaxaca City, no bottle details unfortunately.

I was excited to try my first full jabali mezcal, based on its exotic reputation. This one had a really exciting nose, with a fruity aroma of papayas and bbq/smoke. Unfortunately the body was way more intense than I saw coming — super hot, with some of the leather taste that I’ve come to associate with Sierra Negra and Arroqueño magueys. A bit of the heat lets up near the end for a relatively creamy and nice finish. It’s a bold and fairly interesting mezcal, but not one that I

Read more
PhilBrunski

PhilBrunski

25 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars8 months ago

Nov 2015. So different. Gun powder, lays potato chips, cement. This is one that id always put in a tasting just to show how diverse the taste in different agaves can be. If you grab or try one Rey Campero bottle, this is the one.

spasta

spasta

22 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars10 months ago

Interesting. Strong Green bell pepper notes. Taste is contained and not long, but very beautiful. A great expression from Rey.

edgy4sure

edgy4sure

37 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars11 months ago

Wow, I love it! Just bought today – spendy but won’t be sharing with others! Def needs some air up front but it is very citrusy with big heat behind it. Will buy again and may double up or so as long as they’re in stock – local purchase too, so while it costs a bit more, it’s worth it since it doesn’t require a trip to MX.

Meady

Meady

53 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars11 months ago

Nose dominated by nail polish at first, but opens up with air with more fruit coming through.
Hints of sour and saltiness initially on the palate, which give way to more sweetness and vegetal tones.
Find it hard to depict all the flavours, seem to change with each visit to the bottle and each sip. That draws me back to the bottle.
I don’t get the sweet fruit notes that others have cited on this batch, but it’s light, bright and tasty all the same.

JoeyLee

JoeyLee

3 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars11 months ago

July 2016 D5006-J
Heavy nail polish remover on the nose but morphs into something sweeter which turns into straight funk. With the first sip, I get a subtle sweetness which leads to a funky fruit taste, much like papaya and mango. There’s almost a sour petrol taste to this near the end. Very complex and ever changing, with a lot of flavors that are hard to pick out.

Juriy

Juriy

23 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars12 months ago

Hmmm, might be one of my favorite mezcals from now on. Can’t believe how balanced it is. Immediately salty and sour but then you feel sweetness blend in with all the floral notes, followed by slight bitterness. It just hits all the notes at once in perfect proportions; I just don’t want to change anything about it! Pleasant dessert aftertaste, mild smokiness. Instant classic.

MezcAleman

MezcAleman

15 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Lot D5005-J – Sept 2015 Bottle 472/1072
Very Complex on the nose and palate, amazing all the way. Fruits (mostly Lime), green veggies, vanilla, smoke and a lot more, hard to describe but exceptional balanced and very clean. Nice smooth warm aftertaste.
One of the best mezcals I ever had

t8ke

t8ke

144 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Sweet, lots of creamy sweetness before a fruity boquet. Some hickory, some light smoke, mostly a bright, sweet fruit bomb. Kiwi, pear, mango, banana runts. Interesting, unique, complex. Lots going on, all of it good and also interesting. This Jabali is wild in the best way.

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

128 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

There is some good heat in here at a 49.2% ABV. It’s mixed well though with herbaceous notes and the right amount of smoke. This harmony of a ‘smack and a kiss’ creates a very balanced body and finish. First intro to Jabali, so definitely open to trying more of these rarely used agaves. Lote: DS009A-J.

CasaDeGuero

CasaDeGuero

13 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Very strong and vibrant sweetness and floral smell that bleeds a bit into an expo marker-ish smell. Very unique and EXTREMELY strong and wild flavors on the palate. Maybe even biscuits/yeasty, a bit funky. Overall is very smooth for 48.9%. This is the Mr. Toad’s Wild Ride of Mezcal. Definitely would drink again. Very good.

Batch: DSOOXB-J Nov. 2017

Mansson

Mansson

71 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lot DS002-J, distilled May 2013. There is a lot going on in this one: green bell peppers, mint, leather, vanilla, liquorice and more. Strong vegetal notes. Very complex and bold. It has a bit of a burn, but a pleasant, warming one. Close to five stars.

justsomedude

justsomedude

17 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Tropical fruit, cooked agave and nail polish on the nose. I often get a ‘nail polish’ note from A. Convallis but it is particularly strong with the Campero. That note is much more subdued on the palate which is dominated by tropical fruit, citrus and cooked pinapple, backed by strong vegetable notes. Mouthfeel is very viscous and heavy. Finish is more vegetal than fruit but fruit notes remain. Overall a heady and complex spirit but brash. 85/100

darrenaustin

darrenaustin

7 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Aromas of model airplane glue – like the stuff Jeff Spicoli from Fast Times would have rolling around in his van. Slightly bitter flavor; less pleasing than the smell. Add a drop of water and INSTANTLY it smells like fresh baked bread and bitterness mostly gone. Very interesting expression!!

Cortez

Cortez

12 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

This one basically started my love for jabali, and is still one of my go-to favorites. Slight oily texture, vanilla on the nose. Big burst of ripe tropical fruit and citrus. Love the floral qualities that follow- cherry blossom, jasmine, maybe even some oolong tea bitterness. Ends with a little kick of white pepper.

Rorschach

Rorschach

37 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Tastes like Jabali, I love this maguey. Just a rougher bite. There are some flavors that are not on the delicious side like other Jabali I’ve had at a better price.
Lot D5008BJ -can’t make out the handwriting, very cool
Bottle 907/1099
Production date Nov 2017

hungarianhurricane

hungarianhurricane

6 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Lot 85008A-J. Rey Campero Jabali. Acetone, Asian pear, and sweet perfume dominate this heavy hitting Jabali. I’d drink this all the time if I could afford it. Definitely not an evening-starter or a mezcal for first time drinkers, but if you work your way up to this…you’re in for a treat.

Rakhal

Rakhal

317 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars3 years ago

D5008B-J. Strong nail polish smell. Flavor more sweet and floral. Jasmine, orange blossom, bubble gum. Nowhere near as good as El Jolgorio or Del Maguey’s Jabali.

jgerdes

jgerdes

7 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Notes of bubble gum ,taffy, marshmallows, juicy fruit, Cherry Cola. A coupe of fruit notes I can’t quite put my finger on.

My only complaint is it is very light on the smoke (I prefer more).

4.5 Stars.

COak

COak

153 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

This is the best bottle RC makes. It has that wow factor. Reminds me of “special” cookies. One of the best Jabali bottles out, worth a taste.

Mezcalito

Mezcalito

6 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Rey Campero is a terrific brand, but their Jabali is the best there is! It’s complex and deep with notes of pepper and mandarins on the front of the mouth and a floral, leathery after taste! Do try!

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

317 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

May be the best ive had from RC. Worth the price tag/hunting down. Delicate, soft, with wisps of smoke and a few floral notes. Could drink a bottle of this in a few hours

thamthong

thamthong

47 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

lot D5008A-J, Oct ’17, bottle 722/1418. one of my favorites. smells of compost, caramel, permanent marker. add overripe tropical fruit and buzzy pepperiness to the party on the palate, with a round, deep, almost perfumed sweet undertone (reminiscent of poutpourri) that carries it all out and lingers into the finish. so interesting that it’s actively fun to imbibe, but goddamn delicious first.

DEEF

DEEF

5 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Soft nose. Sweet throughout. Light acidity. Dynamic flavors.
I forgot to bring home my tasting notes, but this was tied for first with The Kings of The Mountain’s Tepextate. Out of the full line up, my wife tolerated this one the best. Very smooth and sweet stand out. Romulo & Vicente are dialed in.

Chris

Chris

40 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

D5007-3 Aug 2016 1196 / 1256 49.2% ABV by Sanchez Parada. Why I haven’t reviewed this before escapes me. Big fan of Rey Campero in general. Consistently well made. It isn’t all about the agave species and its relative rarity, it’s about the people who make it. There are some bottles you open and then make sure to buy (at least) another one the next day before it disappears. This is one of those. No smoke here, but incredibly balanced flavors, great nose, great finish. Really close to clicking on the fifth star here.

D5007-3 Aug 2016 1196 / 1256 49.2% ABV by Sanchez Parada. Why I haven’t reviewed this before escapes me. Big fan of Rey Campero in general. Consistently well made. It isn’t all about the agave species and its relative rarity, it’s about the people who make it. There are some bottles you open and then make sure to buy (at least) another one the next day before it disappears. This is one of those. No smoke here, but incredibly balanced flavors, great nose, great finish. Really

Read more
razorbackmike

razorbackmike

126 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

this mezcal is rude and abrupt and i loved it!its a paradox and makes no apology.its like being slapped by a beautiful woman before she makes love to you (LOL)!the taste is strong and up front.very spicy with chilies and strong vegetal notes.this carries through mid way and finishes with agave sweetness.i agree with tyler.dont start the night with this one.it can wreck your sense of taste.very good!

Tyler

Tyler

517 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Mezcal from agave jabali is an immensely enjoyable type of mezcal; I’ve only tried this and the El Jolgorio Jabali. It’s flavor is very bold and it should not be the first drink of the night. There are delicious notes of jalapeno, tanned leather, vanilla, peat, and ash. It’s almost like an agave Americana meets a Karwinskii. Definitely give this a try if you see it.

Jonny

Jonny

537 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Lot DS005-J from September 2015. This mezcal is hyper-dynamic and one of the most complex spirits I’ve ever tried. There is a lot on the nose, with notes of freshly ground black pepper, sliced green pepper, papaya, lime, and sweet potato. The taste has a slight bite up front that gives way to more notes of fresh pepper, plantains, pineapple, lilac blossoms, and muddled mint leaves. The mouthfeel is very clean and less oily than some other Rey Campero mezcals I’ve tried. This hits every receptor in the mouth and yet remains incredibly balanced.

Lot DS005-J from September 2015. This mezcal is hyper-dynamic and one of the most complex spirits I’ve ever tried. There is a lot on the nose, with notes of freshly ground black pepper, sliced green pepper, papaya, lime, and sweet potato. The taste has a slight bite up front that gives way to more notes of fresh pepper, plantains, pineapple, lilac blossoms, and muddled mint leaves. The mouthfeel is very clean and less oily than some other Rey Campero mezcals I’ve tried. This hits eve

Read more
marco

marco

14 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Initial subtle, soft aromas of pear and a hint of fresh spicy mint leaf. There is an obvious lack of smokiness, but rather the sweet aroma of a well-worn leather jacket. With time, the aroma shifts to the pungency of geranium leaf and Chinese 5 Spice. Lovely floral notes persist as mineral shrouded spices emerge. I am reminded of an invigorating hot cup of atole in a chilly mountain top town in Chiapas, many years ago. There is a rich, comforting viscosity, fat and oily, but not revealing its 96.6 proof for an instant. The influence of terroir is apparent, dirt driven and deeply organic. Dried chile pods and rusty baked clay. The aroma of the back streets of Oaxaca. A spiraling mouth carnival where blinking dark shadows of over ripe guava and the decomposing corpse of banana skin swirl the tongue like a dirty turnip Tilt-o-Whirl on a Mexican midway. I’m going on this ride again. Right now.

Initial subtle, soft aromas of pear and a hint of fresh spicy mint leaf. There is an obvious lack of smokiness, but rather the sweet aroma of a well-worn leather jacket. With time, the aroma shifts to the pungency of geranium leaf and Chinese 5 Spice. Lovely floral notes persist as mineral shrouded spices emerge. I am reminded of an invigorating hot cup of atole in a chilly mountain top town in Chiapas, many years ago. There is a rich, comforting viscosity, fat and oily, but not revealing its 96

Read more
Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top