Powered by 100% agave

El Jolgorio Coyote

El Jolgorio Coyote was first released in 2017 as part of a set of wild agave mezcals that came in solid black bottles. It’s rare. If you see it, try it.

Rating: (11 reviews)
Cost:$$$$
Brand:El Jolgorio Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O98X
Mezcalero:Pedro Vasquez
Agave / Maguey:Coyote
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Lachigui
ABV:50%
Age of plant:16 years
Release year:2017
Website:https://backbarproject.com/portfolio/casa-cortes/
About this mezcal

El Jolgorio Coyote is made with semi-wild agave Coyote that was harvested by Tio Pedro and his family. Agave Coyote is an agave Americana that took 16 years to reach maturity. This mezcal is made by Tio Pedro Vasquez in Lachigui, El Palmar, Oaxaca. This elegant and vivacious mezcal was first released (Edition 1) in 2017, which was made from agave that was harvested in 2016. The first release had only 120 bottles. The first batch is 50.1% ABV.

El Jolgorio Mezcal

El Jolgorio translates to “the revelry”. Jolgorios are small festivals that occur in remote, mountain villages throughout Oaxaca, Mexico. They celebrate births, deaths, weddings and Saint’s days. For centuries, the lifeblood of these celebrations has been traditional mezcal. In 2010, the Cortés family began building a collective of top mezcal distillers from around Oaxaca. As of 2019, El Jolgorio represents sixteen different families, working in ten different regions of Oaxaca, Mexico, each with its own special story. Every bottle is hand-marked with the specific details of each batch, to truly connect the drinker with the family behind the expression.

In 2017, the team behind the brand realized that certain varieties of agave would be extremely limited and they would only be able to make them available once per year (if at all). They began packaging these rare editions in black bottles to set them apart from the other releases.

11 reviews

4.73 out of 5


El-Dawg

El-Dawg

30 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 weeks ago

Edition 3, 2018, 39/130
Man, I had high expectations for this one. Probably rightfully so based on prior reviews & price. However, I can’t give this one anything higher than a 4 star.
Juicy on the smell, with notes of pink bubblegum. Huge explosion on the taste, with more hints of bubblegum and fruitiness (some “grapeness” flavor in here as well). Full-mouth feel that lingers nicely. This one is very dark & deep, and surprisingly smooth & balanced considering the 50%+ ABV. I’ll also add that I haven’t tasted anything quite like this before.
However, it’s not as complex as I’d like (take that for what you will), as well as having some acetone smells and tastes throughout. It just doesn’t really blow me away. I always give a bump in a star rating for a lower priced bottle (ie espadin) that hits above it’s weight class, so the converse has to be true as well – I’m docking this rating due to the very high price tag and also (in my humble opinion) hitting a bit below the expected weight class. This is kinda like a 54 year old Mike Tyson trying to get back in the ring. E.J. is a great brand, but I’ll save my shekels next time for something a hundred dollars cheaper, and a bit better.

Edition 3, 2018, 39/130
Man, I had high expectations for this one. Probably rightfully so based on prior reviews & price. However, I can’t give this one anything higher than a 4 star.
Juicy on the smell, with notes of pink bubblegum. Huge explosion on the taste, with more hints of bubblegum and fruitiness (some “grapeness” flavor in here as well). Full-mouth feel that lingers nicely. This one is very dark & deep, and surprisingly smooth & balanced considering th

Read more
Wanderingspider

Wanderingspider

32 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars9 months ago

Edition 3:

So excited to try this.
On the nose, caramel, honey, ripe yellow apple. Perfectly incorporated smoke. Very very complex!
The palate carries through on the ripe yellow apple, almost stewed or saucy, slow-roasted pumpkin. I want this when it’s cold outside. Warm but well integrated alcohol.
Just insane, truly outstanding. I’m in heaven.

Rakhal

Rakhal

161 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Edition unknown. Delicious! I wish I could have had more of it but it was quite expensive for a small sample, hopefully next time we go to Mezcalogia in Oaxaca they will have a bottle. I got some tasty sweet and savory notes of roasted yams, brown butter, and bubblegum. 4.5 stars

Edition 03, 2018, Pedro Vasquez, Black bottle. Tasted at Mezcalogia in Oaxaca. Fresh jalapeño, whipped cream, coconut milk, cream cheese, briny capers. Delicious. 5 stars.

TheAgaveFairy

TheAgaveFairy

86 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Was fortunate enough to do a side by side of batches 1 and 2. 1 was full of acidic tart cherry, and 2 was quote earthy with notes of fresh tobacco. Good sweetness, and dry finishes as excpted of Vasquez. They were quite different, but overall I feel deserving of a 5* rating. 1 was quite unique, but 2 was no slouch.

thamthong

thamthong

47 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

edition 2. very good and my first coyote mezcal. dark, earthy/leathery, just paled a bit in comparison to everything else i was drinking. (real minero ensamble, a couple almamezcalera bottlings)

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

184 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

4.75/5 really. Not complex enough to warrant five stars. However, finish is the smoothest ive ever has from any mezcal, ever. I get a lot of sweetness and flowers up front, but not too much happens after that. Its a fantastic mezcal, but still not sure its worthy of the hype

Squashplayer

Squashplayer

33 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Edition 2, 2017, bottle 41/150. Complex and deep. Fresh soft leather on the nose with earthy undertones. Take your time with this one…. it deserves it. A must try , if you can find it.

COak

COak

93 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Edition 1. This mezcal is really special, nothing else is like this. The smell is of lemon and limes. There is a taste of pickle juice and clementines. If you see it try it! 5 stars.

12/29/2018. Edition 2 bottle 34/150 This edition isn’t quite as good as edition 1 but it’s still extremely enjoyable. It has different earthy notes. Nutty! 4 stars.

StevenR

StevenR

13 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Edition 2/ Harvest 2017/ 8-150 btls
Can’t believe how soft this Coyote is right out da gate ! Kettle caramel cornbread..yep, cornbread topped with clover honey butter ..I give this one 6 stars! Pedro Vasques is a wizard!!

Tyler

Tyler

386 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

So much going on here. Very complex flavors that are hard to put into words. There are notes of roasted lime on the nose. On the palate, spicy fruit bursting with notes of cologne and stained leather. Unique and vivacious mezcal that is not hot considering the ABV. It finishes with lemon zest. Don’t miss a chance to try this. Edition 1.

Jonny

Jonny

415 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Edition 1. Bottle 6/120. The nose of this mezcal is exquisite. Deep, complex aromas fill the air around this mezcal. I find myself walking up to my mezcal shelf randomly throughout the day just to uncork and smell this delicious mezcal. It’s truly intoxicating! The nose has rich aromas of fresh peaches, limes, and cream. It almost reminds me of smelling a freshly made key lime pie. It’s equally as enchanting on the palate, with a full blend of creamy oranges, mangos, and freshly cut green vegetables. It’s wild and lively, bouncing all over the taste buds. I don’t give out 5-star reviews often, but this mezcal is absolutely incredible!

Edition 1. Bottle 6/120. The nose of this mezcal is exquisite. Deep, complex aromas fill the air around this mezcal. I find myself walking up to my mezcal shelf randomly throughout the day just to uncork and smell this delicious mezcal. It’s truly intoxicating! The nose has rich aromas of fresh peaches, limes, and cream. It almost reminds me of smelling a freshly made key lime pie. It’s equally as enchanting on the palate, with a full blend of creamy oranges, mangos, and freshly cut

Read more
Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top