Powered by 100% agave

El Jolgorio Coyote

El Jolgorio Coyote was first released in 2017 as part of a set of wild agave mezcals that came in solid black bottles. It’s rare. If you see it, try it.

Rating: (8 reviews)
Brand:El Jolgorio Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O98X
Mezcalero:Pedro Vasquez
Agave:Coyote
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Lachigui
ABV: 50%
Age of plant: 16 years
Website: http://www.eljolgoriomezcal.com/
About this mezcal

El Jolgorio Coyote is made with semi-wild agave Coyote that was harvested by Tio Pedro and his family. Agave Coyote is an agave Americana that took 16 years to reach maturity. This mezcal is made by Tio Pedro Vasquez in Lachigui, El Palmar, Oaxaca. This elegant and vivacious mezcal was first released (Edition 1) in 2017, which was made from agave that was harvested in 2016. The first release had only 120 bottles. The first batch is 50.1% ABV.

El Jolgorio Mezcal

Traditional, artisanal Mezcal forms an important part of rituals, ceremonies and festivities - known as "Jolgorios" - in villages in Oaxaca, México. El Jolgorio Mezcals are made exclusively from different species and varieties of wild and semi-wild harvested agave by Maestro Mezcaleros in local villages in Oaxaca, and are twice distilled in copper pot stills. On every bottle is inscribed the species of agave, the age at harvest, the village of production, the name of the Maestro Mezcalero, and the batch and lot number so as to truly connect the drinker with the land, people, and plants at the heart and soul of our Mezcal. Each lot may have different information. Check your bottle for details.

8 reviews

4.9 of out 5 stars


PDutton on Feb 24, 2019

32 reviews

  • Overall:

Was fortunate enough to do a side by side of batches 1 and 2. 1 was full of acidic tart cherry, and 2 was quote earthy with notes of fresh tobacco. Good sweetness, and dry finishes as excpted of Vasquez. They were quite different, but overall I feel deserving of a 5* rating. 1 was quite unique, but 2 was no slouch.

thamthong on Jan 29, 2019

46 reviews

  • Overall:

edition 2. very good and my first coyote mezcal. dark, earthy/leathery, just paled a bit in comparison to everything else i was drinking. (real minero ensamble, a couple almamezcalera bottlings)

GreenspointTexas on Dec 28, 2018

92 reviews

  • Overall:

4.75/5 really. Not complex enough to warrant five stars. However, finish is the smoothest ive ever has from any mezcal, ever. I get a lot of sweetness and flowers up front, but not too much happens after that. Its a fantastic mezcal, but still not sure its worthy of the hype

Squashplayer on Dec 10, 2018

25 reviews

  • Overall:

Edition 2, 2017, bottle 41/150. Complex and deep. Fresh soft leather on the nose with earthy undertones. Take your time with this one…. it deserves it. A must try , if you can find it.

COak on Nov 13, 2018

51 reviews

  • Overall:

Edition 1. This mezcal is really special, nothing else is like this. The smell is of lemon and limes. There is a taste of pickle juice and clementines. If you see it try it!

12/29/2018. Edition 2 bottle 34/150 This edition isn’t quite as good as edition 1 but it’s still extremely enjoyable.

StevenR on Nov 9, 2018

13 reviews

  • Overall:

Edition 2/ Harvest 2017/ 8-150 btls
Can’t believe how soft this Coyote is right out da gate ! Kettle caramel cornbread..yep, cornbread topped with clover honey butter ..I give this one 6 stars! Pedro Vasques is a wizard!!

Tyler on Aug 12, 2017

256 reviews

  • Overall:

So much going on here. Very complex flavors that are hard to put into words. There are notes of roasted lime on the nose. On the palate, spicy fruit bursting with notes of cologne and stained leather. Unique and vivacious mezcal that is not hot considering the ABV. It finishes with lemon zest. Don’t miss a chance to try this. Edition 1.

Jonny on Jul 31, 2017

283 reviews

  • Overall:

Edition 1. Bottle 6/120. The nose of this mezcal is exquisite. Deep, complex aromas fill the air around this mezcal. I find myself walking up to my mezcal shelf randomly throughout the day just to uncork and smell this delicious mezcal. It’s truly intoxicating! The nose has rich aromas of fresh peaches, limes, and cream. It almost reminds me of smelling a freshly made key lime pie. It’s equally as enchanting on the palate, with a full blend of creamy oranges, mangos, and freshly cut green vegetables. It’s wild and lively, bouncing all over the taste buds. I don’t give out 5-star reviews often, but this mezcal is absolutely incredible!

Edition 1. Bottle 6/120. The nose of this mezcal is exquisite. Deep, complex aromas fill the air around this mezcal. I find myself walking up to my mezcal shelf randomly throughout the day just to uncork and smell this delicious mezcal. It’s truly intoxicating! The nose has rich aromas of fresh peaches, limes, and cream. It almost reminds me of smelling a freshly made key lime pie. It’s equally as enchanting on the palate, with a full blend of creamy oranges, mangos, and freshly cut

Read more
Write a mezcal review

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Follow @mezcalreviews