Powered by 100% agave

El Jolgorio Madrecuixe

El Jolgorio Madrecuixe is made with agave Madre-Cuishe. Each batch can vary greatly so check your bottle for details.

Rating: (7 reviews)
Brand:El Jolgorio Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O98X
Mezcalero:Gregorio Martinez Jarquin, Ignacio Parada, Pedro Vasquez, Regulo Parada
Agave:Madre-Cuishe
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Miahuatlan, Santa Maria Zoquitlan, Santiago Matatlan
ABV: 47%
Website: http://www.eljolgoriomezcal.com/
About this mezcal

El Jolgorio Madrecuixe is made with agave Madre-Cuishe, which is a member of the karwinksii agave family. Due to the agave’s dense core and relatively low water content, mezcal made from Madre-Cuishe often has the flavor of high minerality mixed with vegetal and floral notes. As with other El Jolgorio bottles, each release can vary greatly.  Check your bottle for more details.

El Jolgorio Mezcal

Traditional, artisanal Mezcal forms an important part of rituals, ceremonies and festivities - known as "Jolgorios" - in villages in Oaxaca, México. El Jolgorio Mezcals are made exclusively from different species and varieties of wild and semi-wild harvested agave by Maestro Mezcaleros in local villages in Oaxaca, and are twice distilled in copper pot stills. On every bottle is inscribed the species of agave, the age at harvest, the village of production, the name of the Maestro Mezcalero, and the batch and lot number so as to truly connect the drinker with the land, people, and plants at the heart and soul of our Mezcal. Each lot may have different information. Check your bottle for details.

7 reviews

4 of out 5 stars


Rakhal

Rakhal

100 reviews
4 weeks ago

Edición 15. Gregorio Martinez Jarquin. This is a really nice Madrecuishe! Very earthy and mineral. Like desert sand and granite rocks after a rain, with a faint hint of orange blossom and dried thyme. I had this at a restaurant and found it impossible to follow the conversation at the table, I kept getting lost in this Mezcal.

Spirit_Chaser

Spirit_Chaser

19 reviews
1 month ago

Edition 07 from 2017, Bottle 309/800, Regulo Martinez Parada

Nose is initially of pine nuts, a bit floral, very mineral, with notes of roasted agave poking though but becoming more apparent with more air time. The taste is extremely mineral with flashes of baking chocolate and very slightly minty. Finishes with more mineral, wet cement, and dirt/soil which fades into a long dusty finish not unlike an old book.

Edit: Revisit…all them slightly off notes that were there upon opening the bottle are gone except a faint mustiness that isn’t unpleasant and replaced with pure mango (the flesh nearer the skin) and rose water. Up to 4 stars!

Edition 07 from 2017, Bottle 309/800, Regulo Martinez Parada
Nose is initially of pine nuts, a bit floral, very mineral, with notes of roasted agave poking though but becoming more apparent with more air time. The taste is extremely mineral with flashes of baking chocolate and very slightly minty. Finishes with more mineral, wet cement, and dirt/soil which fades into a long dusty finish not unlike an old book.
Edit: Revisit…all them slightly off notes that were there upon opening the bo

Read more
4 months ago

Lovely floral. Amazingly complex with the bite that I like. Maybe its the juice, maybe i’m a sucker for good bottle art, maybe I love Madrecuishe, but this was one of the more memorable tastings I had from Mexico in a Bottle.

COak

COak

58 reviews
7 months ago

3.5 stars. Edition 7 from 2015 by Ignacio Parada. Smells really nice of coffee and greens. Taste of dark chocolate and minerals. It starts out tasty but I don’t care for the finish. It doesn’t leave a lasting impression like the madre cuixe from Vago or Mezcalofera.

c_woodger

c_woodger

4 reviews
1 year ago

Base on bottle 133/940 2014.

Lots of mineral on the nose, reminds me of wet clay but with some flora notes. On the palate, a pretty rounded Mezcal with the minerality turning into coco powder. I really like this Mezcal its not too challenging but has enough complexity to keep you interested.

Jonny

Jonny

325 reviews
1 year ago

I tasted two different batches of this at once:

Edition 8 from 2017. Bottle 387/1500 from Regulo Martinez Ramirez. Full of cascading floral aromas. Breezy with violet and lavender scents. taste of cherry and hard candy. It’s a bit hot and in your face, but rich and beautiful at the same time. A touch of spearmint on this. 5 stars.

Edition 7 from 2015. Bottle 422/700 by Ignacio Parada. Full rich aromas of coffee and green vegetables. Much lighter and softer than the other batch I tasted. This is easier to drink, but with less payout in complexity and character. 4 stars.

I tasted two different batches of this at once:
Edition 8 from 2017. Bottle 387/1500 from Regulo Martinez Ramirez. Full of cascading floral aromas. Breezy with violet and lavender scents. taste of cherry and hard candy. It’s a bit hot and in your face, but rich and beautiful at the same time. A touch of spearmint on this. 5 stars.
Edition 7 from 2015. Bottle 422/700 by Ignacio Parada. Full rich aromas of coffee and green vegetables. Much lighter and softer than the other batch I tasted. Th

Read more
Tyler

Tyler

311 reviews
3 years ago

Enjoyed this at Half Step in Austin and did not catch the batch number. Mineral on the nose. Soft floral and vanilla on the palate. Fairly smooth overall. Good flavor for a madre cuishe but not as well-rounded as others. I’d definitely mark this as 3.5 stars. Give it as taste.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top