Powered by 100% agave

El Jolgorio Madrecuishe

El Jolgorio Madrecuishe is made with agave Madrecuishe. Each batch can vary greatly so check your bottle for details.

About this mezcal

El Jolgorio Madrecuishe is made with agave Madrecuishe, which is a member of the karwinksii agave family. Due to the agave’s dense core and relatively low water content, mezcal made from Madrecuishe often has the flavor of high minerality mixed with vegetal and floral notes. As with other El Jolgorio bottles, each release can vary greatly.  Check your bottle for more details.

El Jolgorio Mezcal

El Jolgorio translates to “the revelry”. Jolgorios are small festivals that occur in remote, mountain villages throughout Oaxaca, Mexico. They celebrate births, deaths, weddings and Saint’s days. For centuries, the lifeblood of these celebrations has been traditional mezcal. In 2010, the Cortés family began building a collective of top mezcal distillers from around Oaxaca. As of 2019, El Jolgorio represents sixteen different families, working in ten different regions of Oaxaca, Mexico, each with its own special story. Every bottle is hand-marked with the specific details of each batch, to truly connect the drinker with the family behind the expression.

In 2017, the team behind the brand realized that certain varieties of agave would be extremely limited and they would only be able to make them available once per year (if at all). They began packaging these rare editions in black bottles to set them apart from the other releases.

7 reviews

4 of out 5 stars


Rakhal

Rakhal

126 reviews
9 months ago

Edición 15. Gregorio Martinez Jarquin. This is a really nice Madrecuishe! Very earthy and mineral. Like desert sand and granite rocks after a rain, with a faint hint of orange blossom and dried thyme. I had this at a restaurant and found it impossible to follow the conversation at the table, I kept getting lost in this Mezcal.

Spirit_Chaser

Spirit_Chaser

19 reviews
9 months ago

Edition 07 from 2017, Bottle 309/800, Regulo Martinez Parada

Nose is initially of pine nuts, a bit floral, very mineral, with notes of roasted agave poking though but becoming more apparent with more air time. The taste is extremely mineral with flashes of baking chocolate and very slightly minty. Finishes with more mineral, wet cement, and dirt/soil which fades into a long dusty finish not unlike an old book.

Edit: Revisit…all them slightly off notes that were there upon opening the bottle are gone except a faint mustiness that isn’t unpleasant and replaced with pure mango (the flesh nearer the skin) and rose water. Up to 4 stars!

Edition 07 from 2017, Bottle 309/800, Regulo Martinez Parada
Nose is initially of pine nuts, a bit floral, very mineral, with notes of roasted agave poking though but becoming more apparent with more air time. The taste is extremely mineral with flashes of baking chocolate and very slightly minty. Finishes with more mineral, wet cement, and dirt/soil which fades into a long dusty finish not unlike an old book.
Edit: Revisit…all them slightly off notes that were there upon opening the bo

Read more
11 months ago

Lovely floral. Amazingly complex with the bite that I like. Maybe its the juice, maybe i’m a sucker for good bottle art, maybe I love Madrecuishe, but this was one of the more memorable tastings I had from Mexico in a Bottle.

COak

COak

73 reviews
1 year ago

3.5 stars. Edition 7 from 2015 by Ignacio Parada. Smells really nice of coffee and greens. Taste of dark chocolate and minerals. It starts out tasty but I don’t care for the finish. It doesn’t leave a lasting impression like the madre cuixe from Vago or Mezcalofera.

c_woodger

c_woodger

4 reviews
2 years ago

Base on bottle 133/940 2014.

Lots of mineral on the nose, reminds me of wet clay but with some flora notes. On the palate, a pretty rounded Mezcal with the minerality turning into coco powder. I really like this Mezcal its not too challenging but has enough complexity to keep you interested.

Jonny

Jonny

360 reviews
2 years ago

I tasted two different batches of this at once:

Edition 8 from 2017. Bottle 387/1500 from Regulo Martinez Ramirez. Full of cascading floral aromas. Breezy with violet and lavender scents. taste of cherry and hard candy. It’s a bit hot and in your face, but rich and beautiful at the same time. A touch of spearmint on this. 5 stars.

Edition 7 from 2015. Bottle 422/700 by Ignacio Parada. Full rich aromas of coffee and green vegetables. Much lighter and softer than the other batch I tasted. This is easier to drink, but with less payout in complexity and character. 4 stars.

I tasted two different batches of this at once:
Edition 8 from 2017. Bottle 387/1500 from Regulo Martinez Ramirez. Full of cascading floral aromas. Breezy with violet and lavender scents. taste of cherry and hard candy. It’s a bit hot and in your face, but rich and beautiful at the same time. A touch of spearmint on this. 5 stars.
Edition 7 from 2015. Bottle 422/700 by Ignacio Parada. Full rich aromas of coffee and green vegetables. Much lighter and softer than the other batch I tasted. Th

Read more
Tyler

Tyler

351 reviews
3 years ago

Enjoyed this at Half Step in Austin and did not catch the batch number. Mineral on the nose. Soft floral and vanilla on the palate. Fairly smooth overall. Good flavor for a madre cuishe but not as well-rounded as others. I’d definitely mark this as 3.5 stars. Give it as taste.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top