Powered by 100% agave

El Jolgorio Madrecuishe

El Jolgorio Madrecuishe is made with maguey Madrecuishe. Each batch can vary greatly so check your bottle for details.

About this mezcal

El Jolgorio Madrecuishe is made with maguey Madrecuishe, which is a member of the karwinksii agave family. Due to the agave’s dense core and relatively low water content, mezcal made from Madrecuishe often has the flavor of high minerality mixed with vegetal and floral notes. As with other El Jolgorio bottles, each release can vary greatly.  Check your bottle for more details.

El Jolgorio Mezcal

El Jolgorio translates to “the revelry”. Jolgorios are small festivals that occur in remote, mountain villages throughout Oaxaca, Mexico. They celebrate births, deaths, weddings and Saint’s days. For centuries, the lifeblood of these celebrations has been traditional mezcal. In 2010, the Cortés family began building a collective of top mezcal distillers from around Oaxaca. As of 2019, El Jolgorio represents sixteen different families, working in ten different regions of Oaxaca, Mexico, each with its own special story. Every bottle is hand-marked with the specific details of each batch, to truly connect the drinker with the family behind the expression.

In 2017, the team behind the brand realized that certain varieties of agave would be extremely limited and they would only be able to make them available once per year (if at all). They began packaging these rare editions in black bottles to set them apart from the other releases.

The artwork on the first 8 releases was created by Alejandro Peña (Espadin, Pechuga, Tobala, Cuixe, Madrecuixe, Tepeztate, Barril and Mexicano). The next 5 labels were created by Asis Cortes (Arroqueno, Jabalin, Coyote, Tobaxiche, and Cenizo) and the Sierrudo artwork was created by Alberto Almánza.

11 reviews

3.95 out of 5


James Christian

James Christian

16 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars1 month ago

Batch unknown.
Not sure why I didn’t respond to to this one.
I thought it had a really light menthol nose. Medicinal thin mouth feel, very little finish – flavor all in the upper nose rather than the tongue. Not a fan for the price, which surprised me.

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

290 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 months ago

Nose – Fresh garden pea pods. Wet soil. Vanilla. Carrot tops.

Palate – Rose water. Wet cobblestone. Heat is very balanced, a steady stream of minty heat well into the finish. Semi-sweet baking chocolate and a gentle smoke in the aftertaste.

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

124 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Edition 16: 2018 by Gregorio Jarquin
Stone, chalky, mineral, and complex. Sweet and satisfying. Seems like these bottles very widely by batch and producer, but can say that this one is really pretty good. Costco was carrying these up in NorCal as well, which is cool to see (Costco also had the Cuishe, which is not really as good as this one). 3.75
Review #99

Bastiaan

Bastiaan

10 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars7 months ago

Edition 13, 2018 bottle 69/450, by Gregorio Martinez Jarquin.

On the nose: petrichor, wet clay, almost no alcohol, dried hay
Some minerality on the palate, but not as strong as on the nose. A bit dry as well, but very smooth, reminding me of white chocolate. Outstanding, such amazing nose and taste, yet very balanced. I think this might be the best mezcal I’ve ever tasted. The finish is slightly bitter with just a hint of salinity. The combination of the nose and taste is just so amazing, reminding me of summer rain and the countryside. Could drink this every day.

Edition 13, 2018 bottle 69/450, by Gregorio Martinez Jarquin.
On the nose: petrichor, wet clay, almost no alcohol, dried hay
Some minerality on the palate, but not as strong as on the nose. A bit dry as well, but very smooth, reminding me of white chocolate. Outstanding, such amazing nose and taste, yet very balanced. I think this might be the best mezcal I’ve ever tasted. The finish is slightly bitter with just a hint of salinity. The combination of the nose and taste is just so amazing,

Read more
Rakhal

Rakhal

317 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Edición 15. Gregorio Martinez Jarquin. This is a really nice Madrecuishe! Very earthy and mineral. Like desert sand and granite rocks after a rain, with a faint hint of orange blossom and dried thyme. I had this at a restaurant and found it impossible to follow the conversation at the table, I kept getting lost in this Mezcal.

Spirit_Chaser

Spirit_Chaser

20 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Edition 07 from 2017, Bottle 309/800, Regulo Martinez Parada

Nose is initially of pine nuts, a bit floral, very mineral, with notes of roasted agave poking though but becoming more apparent with more air time. The taste is extremely mineral with flashes of baking chocolate and very slightly minty. Finishes with more mineral, wet cement, and dirt/soil which fades into a long dusty finish not unlike an old book.

Edit: Revisit…all them slightly off notes that were there upon opening the bottle are gone except a faint mustiness that isn’t unpleasant and replaced with pure mango (the flesh nearer the skin) and rose water. Up to 4 stars!

Edition 07 from 2017, Bottle 309/800, Regulo Martinez Parada
Nose is initially of pine nuts, a bit floral, very mineral, with notes of roasted agave poking though but becoming more apparent with more air time. The taste is extremely mineral with flashes of baking chocolate and very slightly minty. Finishes with more mineral, wet cement, and dirt/soil which fades into a long dusty finish not unlike an old book.
Edit: Revisit…all them slightly off notes that were there upon opening the bo

Read more
Nic Hnastchenko

Nic Hnastchenko

108 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lovely floral. Amazingly complex with the bite that I like. Maybe its the juice, maybe i’m a sucker for good bottle art, maybe I love Madrecuishe, but this was one of the more memorable tastings I had from Mexico in a Bottle.

COak

COak

136 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

3.5 stars. Edition 7 from 2015 by Ignacio Parada. Smells really nice of coffee and greens. Taste of dark chocolate and minerals. It starts out tasty but I don’t care for the finish. It doesn’t leave a lasting impression like the madrecuixe from Vago or Mezcalofera.

c_woodger

c_woodger

4 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Base on bottle 133/940 2014.

Lots of mineral on the nose, reminds me of wet clay but with some flora notes. On the palate, a pretty rounded Mezcal with the minerality turning into coco powder. I really like this Mezcal its not too challenging but has enough complexity to keep you interested.

Jonny

Jonny

531 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

I tasted two different batches of this at once:

Edition 8 from 2017. Bottle 387/1500 from Regulo Martinez Ramirez. Full of cascading floral aromas. Breezy with violet and lavender scents. taste of cherry and hard candy. It’s a bit hot and in your face, but rich and beautiful at the same time. A touch of spearmint on this. 5 stars.

Edition 7 from 2015. Bottle 422/700 by Ignacio Parada. Full rich aromas of coffee and green vegetables. Much lighter and softer than the other batch I tasted. This is easier to drink, but with less payout in complexity and character. 4 stars.

I tasted two different batches of this at once:
Edition 8 from 2017. Bottle 387/1500 from Regulo Martinez Ramirez. Full of cascading floral aromas. Breezy with violet and lavender scents. taste of cherry and hard candy. It’s a bit hot and in your face, but rich and beautiful at the same time. A touch of spearmint on this. 5 stars.
Edition 7 from 2015. Bottle 422/700 by Ignacio Parada. Full rich aromas of coffee and green vegetables. Much lighter and softer than the other batch I tasted. Th

Read more
Tyler

Tyler

503 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Enjoyed this at Half Step in Austin and did not catch the batch number. Mineral on the nose. Soft floral and vanilla on the palate. Fairly smooth overall. Good flavor for a madre cuishe but not as well-rounded as others. I’d definitely mark this as 3.5 stars. Give it as taste.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top