Powered by 100% agave

El Jolgorio Jabali

El Jolgorio Jabali is an extremely rare and limited release. Consider yourself lucky if you have the opportunity to try this mezcal.

Rating: (30 reviews)
Cost:$$$$
Brand:El Jolgorio Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O98X
Mezcalero:Ignacio Parada
Maguey:Jabali
Agave:Convallis
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Santa Maria Zoquitlan
ABV: 50%
Age of plant: 16-18 years
Release year: 2015
Website: https://backbarproject.com/portfolio/casa-cortes/, opens in new window

About this mezcal

El Jolgorio Jabali is made with 100% wild maguey Jabali that is harvested at 16-18 years of age. This mezcal is extremely rare and it’s very limited in it’s release. A 2013 release of this mezcal had only 54 bottles, and future releases are likely to be equally as small. The 2013 release was made in Santa Maria Zoquitlan by Ignacio Parada. The ABV of each lot may vary slightly, but they are all around 50% ABV. Newer releases of this mezcal come in a black bottle.

El Jolgorio Mezcal

El Jolgorio translates to “the revelry”. Jolgorios are small festivals that occur in remote, mountain villages throughout Oaxaca, Mexico. They celebrate births, deaths, weddings and Saint’s days. For centuries, the lifeblood of these celebrations has been traditional mezcal. In 2010, the Cortés family began building a collective of top mezcal distillers from around Oaxaca. As of 2019, El Jolgorio represents sixteen different families, working in ten different regions of Oaxaca, Mexico, each with its own special story. Every bottle is hand-marked with the specific details of each batch, to truly connect the drinker with the family behind the expression.

In 2017, the team behind the brand realized that certain varieties of agave would be extremely limited and they would only be able to make them available once per year (if at all). They began packaging these rare editions in black bottles to set them apart from the other releases.

The artwork on the first 8 releases was created by Alejandro Peña (Espadin, Pechuga, Tobala, Cuixe, Madrecuixe, Tepeztate, Barril and Mexicano). The next 5 labels were created by Asis Cortes (Arroqueno, Jabalin, Coyote, Tobaxiche, and Cenizo) and the Sierrudo artwork was created by Alberto Almánza.

Member rating

4.62 out of 5

30 reviews

Ben P

Ben P

110 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Edition 9

Nose: Mint bubble gum, herbal lemonade, lime, after some time it gets a bit more earth to it, soil, mulch

Palate & Finish: ginger ale, kids peppermint toothpaste (trust me it taste different), starts to become fruitier with juicy fruit gum, figs, there’s a soft pear texture, pear texture, dark plums, cilantro, turmeric. This earthy peanut butter starts out the finish, cinnamon, then its herbal, sage, mineral elements like slate, refreshing mint

Thoughts: Damn, this Jabali is layered and complex. The first time I tried this it felt a little all over the place, but time in glass and trying it on a fresher palate really made the different elements pop. It’s got this unique combination of earthy, herbal, and confectionary fruit that I haven’t had a lot of. Really tasty stuff from Ignacio.

Edition 9
Nose: Mint bubble gum, herbal lemonade, lime, after some time it gets a bit more earth to it, soil, mulch
Palate & Finish: ginger ale, kids peppermint toothpaste (trust me it taste different), starts to become fruitier with juicy fruit gum, figs, there’s a soft pear texture, pear texture, dark plums, cilantro, turmeric. This earthy peanut butter starts out the finish, cinnamon, then its herbal, sage, mineral elements like slate, refreshing mint
Thoughts: Damn, this Jabali is

Read more
JDB

JDB

165 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars8 months ago

Sampled at Russell’s Tavern in Seattle. Batch #PMJB260121EJ, this one was very different from the Cuish Jabalí that I tried. This one was subdued but lots of floral and mineral undertones. It was the end of the night so my palate may have been a little blown out, but still a high quality mezcal. Will have to revisit.

Imperium

Imperium

99 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars11 months ago

Edicion 07 2022 bottle I bought in Oaxaca. Ignacio Parada.

This bottle has opened up and flavors have shifted and matured a few months after opening, unveiling an entirely new and altogether improved experience.

Nose: buttercream icing, funky agave/pineapple, earth and some sort of green vegetation. After a few months though, the funkiness goes away and it becomes spicy, a definite Tang (or what we called “Russian Tea” when I was growing up) spicy smell.

Palate: The essence that is Jabali agave. Pepper. A later tasting gets sweet cinnamon and gingerbread at Christmastime. TANG mix. Spicy earth and minerals. Delicous!

Edicion 07 2022 bottle I bought in Oaxaca. Ignacio Parada.
This bottle has opened up and flavors have shifted and matured a few months after opening, unveiling an entirely new and altogether improved experience.
Nose: buttercream icing, funky agave/pineapple, earth and some sort of green vegetation. After a few months though, the funkiness goes away and it becomes spicy, a definite Tang (or what we called “Russian Tea” when I was growing up) spicy smell.
Palate: The essence that is

Read more
little_agave

little_agave

34 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars12 months ago

2x different occasions. both times sort of blew me away with a case of the wow’s.
The one I got info on was Edition 2 , 2016, 154/250. 50.5%
One was a clear bottle and one was a dark black one.

mt_rainyer

mt_rainyer

43 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars12 months ago

Edition 3
An excellent bottle from Ignacio Parada. Oddly smelled very smoky when I first opened it. After letting it sit for a few months, changed into a beautiful floral bouquet. On the palette, all of the floral notes come through along with a touch of serrano pepper, vanilla, all-spice, and something similar to beachwood. Very complex and long finish, spicier than I would have thought given the initial taste. Delicious.

MezcAleman

MezcAleman

28 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Edition 6 – Harvest 2021 – 52% – Bottle 39/210
Green pepper, fresh, crispy and very smoth despite its 52 %. Awesome!

Victorconvallis

Victorconvallis

1 review
Rated 5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

The 2015 editions are the best I have tasted so far; if you can find a bottle don’t hesitate to buy it.
The new special editions of this agave are a little less high in alcoholic content but they preserve the scenic of a good boar, a slight lactic note, great body with an exquisite minerality typical of Zoqui, if you have the opportunity to try a tepeztate of Don Chucho don’t hesitate to do it either

aarild

aarild

152 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Incredible smell. Carrots braised with tarragon, butter and orange, charred chicken skin, wet slate.
Lots of liquorice on the palate, star anise, cloves, allspice, leather, tarragon, a bit lactic, umami funk of old Parmesan cheese. Nice viscosity and structure. It is just the alcohol burn that takes away the fifth star. This was a recently opened bottle of lot 6/2021, tasted at the Salmuera in Amsterdam. Could be improving with oxygen and time.

Dom

Dom

29 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Nose is sweet with notes of carrot, slight vanilla, & pepper. Palate is a burst of vegetal & leather. Light smoke and minerals on the backend

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

542 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Edition 5 – 53% ABV
Nose – Carrot top greenery. Canned pears. Brand new leather gloves. Fresh pizza dough. Very interesting nose – tough to dial in – unique and enjoyable.

Palate – A mix of peppermint and white pepper heat throughout. Fruit cocktail cherry. Canned pear juice. Finish of wet tobacco leaf, a small bit of clay and a hint of dark chocolate. This stuff is great but definitely not an all-time mezcal. Possibly this 5th edition doesn’t hold up to the legend of its predecessors.

Edition 5 – 53% ABV
Nose – Carrot top greenery. Canned pears. Brand new leather gloves. Fresh pizza dough. Very interesting nose – tough to dial in – unique and enjoyable.
Palate – A mix of peppermint and white pepper heat throughout. Fruit cocktail cherry. Canned pear juice. Finish of wet tobacco leaf, a small bit of clay and a hint of dark chocolate. This stuff is great but definitely not an all-time mezcal. Possibly this 5th edition doesn’t hold up to the

Read more
El-Dawg

El-Dawg

209 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Edition 5 – 2020 Harvest – 53% ABV
This is one of the current highest rated bottles – so no pressure…. However, I hate to be the lower of averages, but this one isn’t all that. Def. not worth the price tag, so glad I only got a 2oz sample. Unique & intriguing smell. Taste is a bit hot yet subdued. Not overly complex, which is why it stays at a four rating for me. Some notes of fruity pear, candied, chalky. Pleasant aftertaste that burns nicely.
Review #122

Edition 5 – 2020 Harvest – 53% ABV
This is one of the current highest rated bottles – so no pressure…. However, I hate to be the lower of averages, but this one isn’t all that. Def. not worth the price tag, so glad I only got a 2oz sample. Unique & intriguing smell. Taste is a bit hot yet subdued. Not overly complex, which is why it stays at a four rating for me. Some notes of fruity pear, candied, chalky. Pleasant aftertaste that burns nicely.
Review #122

Read more
UchidaT

UchidaT

5 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Edition 04, distilled by Ignacio Parada. 2018 Harvest. Bottle 238 of 280 (75cl).

Evocative of spring. Fragrant, very floral : jasmine, rose water, sakura-scented fabric softener. Stone fruits like peaches and apricots, but also white grapes, apples, pears, lychee. White tea, Marie-Antoinette tea, all kinds of flower-based teas. However, hints of nail polish remover, wet paint and cold cigarette ashes boldly remind us that this is serious business and, fortunately, not a box of macarons from Ladurée that you bought at the airport.

On the palate it’s crystal clear, like spring water. Everything is there. Elegant, refined, limpid, dry, quite reminiscent of a Daiginjo. Still quite floral, but the more pungent notes give way to lumber aromas like sandalwood, pine cones and some waxed exotic wood. It’s flavorful and complex, yet dangerously approachable. The finish is as if you chain-smoked a pack of Marlboro Red after stress-eating that expensive box of rose petal flavored macarons that was actually meant for your mom.

It’s round and perfectly balanced. One of the best sakes, sorry, mezcals I’ve ever had.

Edition 04, distilled by Ignacio Parada. 2018 Harvest. Bottle 238 of 280 (75cl).
Evocative of spring. Fragrant, very floral : jasmine, rose water, sakura-scented fabric softener. Stone fruits like peaches and apricots, but also white grapes, apples, pears, lychee. White tea, Marie-Antoinette tea, all kinds of flower-based teas. However, hints of nail polish remover, wet paint and cold cigarette ashes boldly remind us that this is serious business and, fortunately, not a box of macarons from Ladu

Read more
TzotollineRaramuri

TzotollineRaramuri

75 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Lote 081118EJ, Bottle 72/280 @ 2018
?- clear
?- pungent, drying & prickling impact.
Aromas of pear & apple, menthol, eucalyptus, horseradish, aloe vera, cedar wood, pepper, elderflower, honeysuckle, and leather.
Adequate & complex production.
Average length and ordinary character.
?- astringent effect with coating highlights; sufficient smooth alcohol; medium-full body.
Primarily sour & sweet taste, with bitter highlights; buttery smoothness.
Flavors of eucalyptus, menthol, ripe pear & apples, leather and wood.
Medium concentration flavor intensity, slight complex character, harmonious balance.
Pleasant and very long finish.
Very Good to excellent overall impression.

*It’s quite round, velvety and smooth, great balance, shows great craftmanship, nonetheless, not very complex. I expected so much more based on the hype surrounding these rare black Jolgorios…alas, will have to revisit. Hard toss between 4 and 4.5 for now.

Learn more about organoleptic evaluation at the International Wine & Spirits Guild’s seminar in Fine Spirits,
or more on Agave Spirits certifications through the Agave Spirits Institute.

Lote 081118EJ, Bottle 72/280 @ 2018
?- clear
?- pungent, drying & prickling impact.
Aromas of pear & apple, menthol, eucalyptus, horseradish, aloe vera, cedar wood, pepper, elderflower, honeysuckle, and leather.
Adequate & complex production.
Average length and ordinary character.
?- astringent effect with coating highlights; sufficient smooth alcohol; medium-full body.
Primarily sour & sweet taste, with bitter highlights; buttery smoothness.
Flavors of eucalyptus, menthol, ri

Read more
Gatekeeper

Gatekeeper

12 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Edition 03, Ignacio Parada, 2018. Black Bottle 94/275, 50.3% ABV.

My desert island mezcal and probably the most complex I’ve ever tasted. I could smell this forever…like another reviewer said, the nose is like black pepper cologne in the best way possible. Full-bodied palate explodes with different flavors including black pepper, hatch chiles, dried pineapple, and sandalwood. Super complex and rich yet dangerously drinkable. Medium-long finish of black pepper and something that reminds me of pineapple upside-down cake. Incredible Jabali and my favorite of the EJ offerings.

Edition 03, Ignacio Parada, 2018. Black Bottle 94/275, 50.3% ABV.
My desert island mezcal and probably the most complex I’ve ever tasted. I could smell this forever…like another reviewer said, the nose is like black pepper cologne in the best way possible. Full-bodied palate explodes with different flavors including black pepper, hatch chiles, dried pineapple, and sandalwood. Super complex and rich yet dangerously drinkable. Medium-long finish of black pepper and something that remin

Read more
JJHenderson

JJHenderson

10 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Jolgorio is one of my favourite brands (along with Vago) and this, for my money, is their best bottle. Complex, rich, and very moreish. Love it

Wanderingspider

Wanderingspider

53 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Edition 4:

Again, very excited to sample this.
Initial nose screams peppermint as well as secondary notes of cinnamon and dried mild green chili.
The palate is extremely smooth with a long almost savoury mouthfeel. I’m still digging to sort out all the flavours.
I feel lucky today.

stigibeu

stigibeu

33 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Edition 3 from 2018, bottle 134. This is everything folks say below it is. Super floral on the nose, with accents of pepper and spice. I want this in a cologne. Unbelievably smooth on the pallet, with spearmint and wintergreen coming through for me. Stone fruit and roasted agave play complimentary roles like Pippen and Rodman. Finish is memorably restrained after the symphony that proceeded it. Top 3 bottle, worth every bit of trouble to get, and one I’ll savor for what I hope is a long time.

Edition 3 from 2018, bottle 134. This is everything folks say below it is. Super floral on the nose, with accents of pepper and spice. I want this in a cologne. Unbelievably smooth on the pallet, with spearmint and wintergreen coming through for me. Stone fruit and roasted agave play complimentary roles like Pippen and Rodman. Finish is memorably restrained after the symphony that proceeded it. Top 3 bottle, worth every bit of trouble to get, and one I’ll savor for what I hope is a long time.

Read more
darrenaustin

darrenaustin

13 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Whoa! First sniff is cigarette butts in a soup of warm beer. Let it sit for a bit and cigarettes magically turn to rose water. Add 2 drops of water and the rose transforms to orange blossom water. One of the most interesting spirits I’ve tasted. Best for a MENSA meeting.

ptperc

ptperc

10 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars5 years ago

What a treat! Black Bottle, Batch 3. Green chile and tropical fruit on the nose. Perfect balance between sweet and spicy on the palate. Beautiful, round, vanilla sweetness accompanied by ripe jalapeño. Long, lingering spicy finish that gets you going back for more. If you see it, don’t hesitate…..try it!

Rakhal

Rakhal

421 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Lot 03. Black bottle. Ignacio Parada. WOW. This is my kind of Mezcal. 10/10. Maybe even 100/100. With every sip it grew more and more complex. This stuff is magic in a bottle. Flowers, so many flowers! Jalapeño, cinnamon, clove, apple pie, volcanic rock, cardamom, pecans. Desert island bottle for me.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top