Powered by 100% agave

El Jolgorio Tobala

El Jolgorio Tobala is made by Gregorio Martinez and Valentin Cortes, whose work is an artistry that is unsurpassed. This Mezcal is very fresh and aromatic.

Rating: (12 reviews)
Brand:El Jolgorio Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O98X
Mezcalero:Gregorio Hernandez, Gregorio Martinez Garcia, Valentin Cortes
Agave:Tobala
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:San Baltazar Guélavila, Santiago Matatlan
ABV: 47%
Website: http://www.eljolgoriomezcal.com/
About this mezcal

El Jolgorio Tobala is made from wild agave Tobala. Growing wildly in high altitudes, its relatively tiny size yields limited quantities of intensely aromatic Mezcal. Gregorio Martinez and Valentin Cortes make this delicious spirit with an artistry that is unsurpassed. This Mezcal is very fresh and aromatic with rich heavy fruits on the nose. The taste is of mango and roasted agave and it is pleasantly viscous.

El Jolgorio Mezcal

Traditional, artisanal Mezcal forms an important part of rituals, ceremonies and festivities - known as "Jolgorios" - in villages in Oaxaca, México. El Jolgorio Mezcals are made exclusively from different species and varieties of wild and semi-wild harvested agave by Maestro Mezcaleros in local villages in Oaxaca, and are twice distilled in copper pot stills. On every bottle is inscribed the species of agave, the age at harvest, the village of production, the name of the Maestro Mezcalero, and the batch and lot number so as to truly connect the drinker with the land, people, and plants at the heart and soul of our Mezcal. Each lot may have different information. Check your bottle for details.

12 reviews

4.4 of out 5 stars


Mansson

Mansson

10 reviews
2 weeks ago

Edition 14, distilled 2016. Beautifully balanced between fruit. light smoke and mineral notes. Floral, with tropical fruits. Orange marmalade. Very rounded and easy to drink. Silky mouthfeel.

Rakhal

Rakhal

100 reviews
5 months ago

Edition 15 from Don Goyo!! Gregorio Martínez Garcia. Tried this at the excellent Cultura restaurant and Mezcaleria in Carmel California. Complex mix of sweet, vegetal, and earthy. Banana, bubblegum, leather, tobacco, and fresh serrano pepper. I’ve heard he no longer works for EJ so you’ll probably have to stop by his palenque in San Baltazar Guelavila to get some. Pick up some of his Tepextate while you’re at it.

Nick

Nick

14 reviews
6 months ago

Sweet and fruit on the nose, syrup and a nice feel on the tongue. Touch of agave at the start, some green, then honeycomb with a nod to pineapple and pepper. Letting this sit in the glass for a moment a slight smokiness and leather wander back in as you finish. The sweetness is very enjoyable and certainly shows off the Tobala agave. Would it be rude to call it a dessert mezcal? Tasted at a new restaurant here in Australia where mezcal is enjoying its place in the sun.

Dave

Dave

9 reviews
6 months ago

Edition 14, 2016 harvest, bottle 676 / 800, batch GMGTB230617EJ.

Pale nose, the only thing that comes to mind is orange pez, pollen, and or honey.

Silky flavor. Once it hits your tongue, the taste keeps developing into more depth. Fruity, orange, tropical.

Very pleasing. This was one of the first premium mezcals I bought. At 100 a bottle, I would definitely buy again.

jgerdes

jgerdes

7 reviews
7 months ago

Lots of fruit – Pineapple, Mango, Lemon. Light ash finish.

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

129 reviews
10 months ago

Wish I could give this one 3.5 stars. Closer to 4 stars if you take out the price, 3 stars for the price. I personally prefer Del Magueys Tobala and others to this one, especially at $160, but this is ok. Kind of a funky, cheese taste that I have yet to find in other Tobala’s. If you were to blindfold me, I would have thought this was a Raicilla.

thamthong

thamthong

47 reviews
11 months ago

edition 9, 2015, 47.8% abv, gregorio martinez g. fruit forward nose with a lightly ferment-y twang, baking spices. anonymous fruitiness leads the palate followed by that jolgorio clean agave greenness, pink peppercorn. the finish is like walking by a bath & body works store. obviously a high quality product but lacking in anything truly exceptional.

razorbackmike

razorbackmike

92 reviews
1 year ago

i really enjoyed this tobala.a great combo of black pepper and cinnamon.some tropical fruit notes.clean and sweet from start to finish.too easy to drink!

Chris

Chris

36 reviews
1 year ago

Edicion 09 2015 bottle 745 / 800 by Gregorio Garcia. This was the Tobala winner last night going up against the Del Maguey over at a friends’s house. More floral and complex. The Del Maguey was very good, but just a bit flatter all around. The bad news this morning is I’ve got a lot less left in my bottle than he has in his bottle. He also had a Cuishe Tobala, which was a distant third. Cuishe here refers to a brand rather than the underlying agave and has numerous other agaves in addition to the Tobala. Our local merchant said this is more of a cooperative of smaller producers in Oaxaca, just as good as the more well-known brands at a much better price since there is not much in the way of marketing cost. So far, this has not proven to be the case with either their Tobala or Tobaziche.

Edicion 09 2015 bottle 745 / 800 by Gregorio Garcia. This was the Tobala winner last night going up against the Del Maguey over at a friends’s house. More floral and complex. The Del Maguey was very good, but just a bit flatter all around. The bad news this morning is I’ve got a lot less left in my bottle than he has in his bottle. He also had a Cuishe Tobala, which was a distant third. Cuishe here refers to a brand rather than the underlying agave and has numerous other agaves in ad

Read more
COak

COak

58 reviews
2 years ago

Bought a bottle of edition #9 2015. This is excellent. A bit peppery on the nose. Taste is fruity was a finish of spice. It very smooth and easy to drink. My sources told me it is one of Steph Curry’s favorite Mezcals.

Tyler

Tyler

311 reviews
3 years ago

Sharp nose. Light on the tongue. Sweet fruit. Slight caramel and ash. Balanced sweetness and acetone finish. Very tasty and flavorful tobala. This review is based on a 2013 edition 8.

Jonny

Jonny

327 reviews
3 years ago

Batch 002TOGMJ13. This is one of my favorite mezcals made with agave Tobala. The taste has notes of banana, papaya, and apple. It is very fruity but not overwhelmingly so. The initial taste is a little hot, but that gives way to a very round and viscous mouth feel. The flavor is very distinct and cuts off as soon as the liquor is gone, making it very easy to keep drinking lots of this one. My taste was from Edition #08 from 2013, which was a small batch of just 265 bottles.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top