Powered by 100% agave

El Jolgorio Tobala

El Jolgorio Tobala is made by Gregorio Martinez and Valentin Cortes, whose work is an artistry that is unsurpassed. This Mezcal is very fresh and aromatic.

About this mezcal

El Jolgorio Tobala is made from wild agave Tobala. Growing wildly in high altitudes, its relatively tiny size yields limited quantities of intensely aromatic Mezcal. Gregorio Martinez and Valentin Cortes make this delicious spirit with an artistry that is unsurpassed. This Mezcal is very fresh and aromatic with rich heavy fruits on the nose. The taste is of mango and roasted agave and it is pleasantly viscous.

El Jolgorio Mezcal

El Jolgorio translates to “the revelry”. Jolgorios are small festivals that occur in remote, mountain villages throughout Oaxaca, Mexico. They celebrate births, deaths, weddings and Saint’s days. For centuries, the lifeblood of these celebrations has been traditional mezcal. In 2010, the Cortés family began building a collective of top mezcal distillers from around Oaxaca. As of 2019, El Jolgorio represents sixteen different families, working in ten different regions of Oaxaca, Mexico, each with its own special story. Every bottle is hand-marked with the specific details of each batch, to truly connect the drinker with the family behind the expression.

In 2017, the team behind the brand realized that certain varieties of agave would be extremely limited and they would only be able to make them available once per year (if at all). They began packaging these rare editions in black bottles to set them apart from the other releases.

18 reviews

4.42 out of 5


TheAgaveFairy

TheAgaveFairy

99 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars4 weeks ago

Pedro Vasquez batch from 2014: full of perfumed bright berries, and Runtz character. mineral, delicious! 8/10 on the t8ke scale I’d think, sadly not really around any more.

Gregorio Martinez Ed 15 47%: tasted blind, I didn’t think this could be a copper distilled tobala. More green and earthy than anticipated, with good structural balance. 7/10.

Check your producer info on each bottle!

MezcAleman

MezcAleman

11 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Edition: 17 – Harvest: 2016 – Bottle 395/980
Very good!c On the first poor after opening the bottle I had pine on the nose with sweetness, a little smoke and tropical fruit. When you let it sit in the glas for some time the pine goes away.
Smooth mouths feel with great taste and finish.
Spicy and complex. Less sweetness than expected. Besides the tropical fruits some green.
Best Tobala I had so far!

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

44 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Harvest 2016, Edition 16, Bottle 857
Sweet on nose, and throughout, but with lots of green. Reminds me of a Tep… Notes of some clay, minerality, and with pink bubblegum on the finish. Deep, complex, and spicy, and not as sweet as other Tobalas. Brings some good heat as well. In general I’d love to try this again, and it tasted a lot more green and spicy and vegetal than expected. 4.25. (favorite EJ for me is still the Tepeztate…so far).

Brahh

Brahh

6 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars8 months ago

Edition 16 from 2016 by Gregorio M. Garcia. Bottle 613/1050, 47% ABV.
Top. Fruits, sweetnes, slight smokiness. Great finish.

Gatekeeper

Gatekeeper

8 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars11 months ago

Edition 16 from 2016 by Gregorio M. Garcia. Bottle 412/1050, 47% ABV.

Favorite Tobala I’ve tried to date. Highly aromatic nose with notes of ripe fruit, pine sap, honey, and pollen. Palate is sweet and delicate with more ripe fruit and honey without any of the funkiness you sometimes find in Tobala, Pleasantly viscous mouthfeel for 47%. Highly enjoyable medium length finish of flowers and honey with a slight soapy note. Complex and dangerously easy to drink.

Patrick

Patrick

30 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

This one is from Pedro Vasquez at 47.3%.
Edition 6 2014
Nose : Dusty, vegetal with spices and bananas
Taste : strange… this taste more like a Tepextate.? Cooked agave, leather, vegetal. Very complex. Love it!
Finish : sticky, long and slightly smokey.

Mansson

Mansson

71 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Edition 14, distilled 2016. Beautifully balanced between fruit. light smoke and mineral notes. Floral, with tropical fruits. Orange marmalade. Very rounded and easy to drink. Silky mouthfeel.

Rakhal

Rakhal

182 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Edition 15 from Don Goyo!! Gregorio Martínez Garcia. Tried this at the excellent Cultura restaurant and Mezcaleria in Carmel California. Complex mix of sweet, vegetal, and earthy. Banana, bubblegum, leather, tobacco, and fresh serrano pepper. I’ve heard he no longer works for EJ so you’ll probably have to stop by his palenque in San Baltazar Guelavila to get some. Pick up some of his Tepextate while you’re at it.

Nick

Nick

23 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Sweet and fruit on the nose, syrup and a nice feel on the tongue. Touch of agave at the start, some green, then honeycomb with a nod to pineapple and pepper. Letting this sit in the glass for a moment a slight smokiness and leather wander back in as you finish. The sweetness is very enjoyable and certainly shows off the Tobala agave. Would it be rude to call it a dessert mezcal? Tasted at a new restaurant here in Australia where mezcal is enjoying its place in the sun.

Dave

Dave

12 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Edition 14, 2016 harvest, bottle 676 / 800, batch GMGTB230617EJ.

Pale nose, the only thing that comes to mind is orange pez, pollen, and or honey.

Silky flavor. Once it hits your tongue, the taste keeps developing into more depth. Fruity, orange, tropical.

Very pleasing. This was one of the first premium mezcals I bought. At 100 a bottle, I would definitely buy again.

jgerdes

jgerdes

7 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lots of fruit – Pineapple, Mango, Lemon. Light ash finish.

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

200 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Wish I could give this one 3.5 stars. Closer to 4 stars if you take out the price, 3 stars for the price. I personally prefer Del Magueys Tobala and others to this one, especially at $160, but this is ok. Kind of a funky, cheese taste that I have yet to find in other Tobala’s. If you were to blindfold me, I would have thought this was a Raicilla.

thamthong

thamthong

47 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

edition 9, 2015, 47.8% abv, gregorio martinez g. fruit forward nose with a lightly ferment-y twang, baking spices. anonymous fruitiness leads the palate followed by that jolgorio clean agave greenness, pink peppercorn. the finish is like walking by a bath & body works store. obviously a high quality product but lacking in anything truly exceptional.

razorbackmike

razorbackmike

113 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

i really enjoyed this tobala.a great combo of black pepper and cinnamon.some tropical fruit notes.clean and sweet from start to finish.too easy to drink!

Chris

Chris

40 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Edicion 09 2015 bottle 745 / 800 by Gregorio Garcia. This was the Tobala winner last night going up against the Del Maguey over at a friends’s house. More floral and complex. The Del Maguey was very good, but just a bit flatter all around. The bad news this morning is I’ve got a lot less left in my bottle than he has in his bottle. He also had a Cuishe Tobala, which was a distant third. Cuishe here refers to a brand rather than the underlying agave and has numerous other agaves in addition to the Tobala. Our local merchant said this is more of a cooperative of smaller producers in Oaxaca, just as good as the more well-known brands at a much better price since there is not much in the way of marketing cost. So far, this has not proven to be the case with either their Tobala or Tobaziche.

Edicion 09 2015 bottle 745 / 800 by Gregorio Garcia. This was the Tobala winner last night going up against the Del Maguey over at a friends’s house. More floral and complex. The Del Maguey was very good, but just a bit flatter all around. The bad news this morning is I’ve got a lot less left in my bottle than he has in his bottle. He also had a Cuishe Tobala, which was a distant third. Cuishe here refers to a brand rather than the underlying agave and has numerous other agaves in ad

Read more
COak

COak

96 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Bought a bottle of edition #9 2015. This is excellent. A bit peppery on the nose. Taste is fruity was a finish of spice. It very smooth and easy to drink. My sources told me it is one of Steph Curry’s favorite Mezcals.

Tyler

Tyler

404 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Sharp nose. Light on the tongue. Sweet fruit. Slight caramel and ash. Balanced sweetness and acetone finish. Very tasty and flavorful tobala. This review is based on a 2013 edition 8.

Jonny

Jonny

436 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Batch 002TOGMJ13. This is one of my favorite mezcals made with agave Tobala. The taste has notes of banana, papaya, and apple. It is very fruity but not overwhelmingly so. The initial taste is a little hot, but that gives way to a very round and viscous mouth feel. The flavor is very distinct and cuts off as soon as the liquor is gone, making it very easy to keep drinking lots of this one. My taste was from Edition #08 from 2013, which was a small batch of just 265 bottles.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top