Powered by 100% agave

El Jolgorio Tepeztate

El Jolgorio Tepeztate is vegetal, herbal, and earthy. Agave Tepeztate can be found hanging horizontally from mountain cliffs, making it difficult to harvest.

About this mezcal

El Jolgorio Tepeztate is made with agave Tepeztate. It takes a very long time for this agave to mature, sometimes upwards of 25-35 years. It is commonly found hanging horizontally from mountain cliffs, making it difficult to harvest. Tepeztate is truly a wild agave, however, due to the species’ increasing rarity and potential for endangerment, El Jolgorio’s producers are exploring the cultivation of Tepeztate seedlings in a nursery to be re-planted in the wild (i.e. semi-cultivated). This Mezcal is vegetal, herbal, and earthy.

Learn more about this mezcal:

El Jolgorio Mezcal

El Jolgorio translates to “the revelry”. Jolgorios are small festivals that occur in remote, mountain villages throughout Oaxaca, Mexico. They celebrate births, deaths, weddings and Saint’s days. For centuries, the lifeblood of these celebrations has been traditional mezcal. In 2010, the Cortés family began building a collective of top mezcal distillers from around Oaxaca. As of 2019, El Jolgorio represents sixteen different families, working in ten different regions of Oaxaca, Mexico, each with its own special story. Every bottle is hand-marked with the specific details of each batch, to truly connect the drinker with the family behind the expression.

In 2017, the team behind the brand realized that certain varieties of agave would be extremely limited and they would only be able to make them available once per year (if at all). They began packaging these rare editions in black bottles to set them apart from the other releases.

The artwork on the first 8 releases was created by Alejandro Peña (Espadin, Pechuga, Tobala, Cuixe, Madrecuixe, Tepeztate, Barril and Mexicano). The next 5 labels were created by Asis Cortes (Arroqueno, Jabalin, Coyote, Tobaxiche, and Cenizo) and the Sierrudo artwork was created by Alberto Almánza.

Member rating

4.43 out of 5

38 reviews

bpCLT

bpCLT

87 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 months ago

2017 Batch 16. 48%

Nose: Lime, briney earth, some
Frosting

Palate and Finish : honeyed peppers, lime, cilantro, grilled carrots, little mint as we move into the finish. Plenty of grapefruit.

Overall a really approachable and well integrated Tep. EJ just works for me

GMAD

GMAD

59 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars9 months ago

Edition 28 2018, 48%, Bottle #335/880, Rafael Méndez Cruz

Nose – Earthy and natural; wet earth, fresh cut grass, morning dew, and wet dog. And a bit woody, like pencil shavings.

Palate – Fruity, but on the bitter and dry end. Like chewing on passion fruit gum after fifteen minutes when all the flavor is gone. Reminiscent of bitter citrus like orange rinds and grapefruits, with some unripe mango thrown in.

Finish – Bitter and dry citrus; think orange rind or grapefruit.

Great Mezcal; really smooth and easily digestible. Accessible and a great intro into the more ‘high-end’ producers.

Edition 28 2018, 48%, Bottle #335/880, Rafael Méndez Cruz
Nose – Earthy and natural; wet earth, fresh cut grass, morning dew, and wet dog. And a bit woody, like pencil shavings.
Palate – Fruity, but on the bitter and dry end. Like chewing on passion fruit gum after fifteen minutes when all the flavor is gone. Reminiscent of bitter citrus like orange rinds and grapefruits, with some unripe mango thrown in.
Finish – Bitter and dry citrus; think orange rind or grapefruit.
Great

Read more
Imperium

Imperium

92 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars10 months ago

One of the most aromatic mezcals I’ve had. The nose is extremely floral, with aromas new to my brain that will cement the smell of tepeztate.

The palate is bursting with flavor – candied jalapeno ice cream, flowers, minerality, and green banana. This is a masterpiece and quintessential tepeztate, viscous and oily on the tongue.

Edition 26 / 2017 / 328/790 by Pedro Vasquez Ogario

mt_rainyer

mt_rainyer

43 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars10 months ago

Star count is an aggregate
Edition 15 by Ignacio Parada
Absolutely delicious (like all Parada bottles I’ve tried). everything that you want in a tep: big, bold green flavors of mowed lawn/rain on road complemented with a sweet tang of a pepper. It got more vegetal as it sat on the shelf and 2 years later was even more delicious.
4.5 stars

Edition 16 (2017) by Pedro Vazquez
Smokier, less vegetal overall. Even after opening up more on the white pepper/ginger side with just a touch of green flavor. Not very well balanced all things considered and the slight acetone flavor, even after sitting on the shelf for a few years, brings it down. Get a different batch if you can.
3.5 stars

Star count is an aggregate
Edition 15 by Ignacio Parada
Absolutely delicious (like all Parada bottles I’ve tried). everything that you want in a tep: big, bold green flavors of mowed lawn/rain on road complemented with a sweet tang of a pepper. It got more vegetal as it sat on the shelf and 2 years later was even more delicious.
4.5 stars
Edition 16 (2017) by Pedro Vazquez
Smokier, less vegetal overall. Even after opening up more on the white pepper/ginger side with just a touch of green f

Read more
betweentwotobalas

betweentwotobalas

22 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Edition 21. Harvest 2017. Bottle 525/580. 48% ABV.

This was my first bottle of El Jolgorio and it rocked. On the nose, baked custard, green pepper and aloe vera. On the palate, banana cream pie, rose water and Dutch(ed) cocoa. The finish is sweet and salty with lingering jalapeño, black pepper and floral undertones. My sister-in-law suggested Thrills gum (O-Pee-Chee) which I remember as being both spicy and floral. A lovely aromatic bouquet from Pedro Vasquez Ogarrio.

SoloAgave

SoloAgave

86 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

2018-Rafael Medez Cruz (25 years). When I think of what makes Tepeztate so sought after – this is what I think of. Just covers ever bit of ground that makes Mezcal so unique (light sweet, wet stone, vegetal, compelx, clean, spice, green, mild ash).

aarild

aarild

152 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

002-TEP of 2012. Funky and briny jalapeños tingling the nose. Tastes of green Madagascar peppercorns, chayote and carambole, a little bit of toffee. Good structure.

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

542 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Nose – Green bell pepper. Sweet cake batter.

Palate – Next level smooth. Ultra soft mouth feel, the texture is something else. Great finish, a nice, quick punchy heat and a tobacco leaf and cake icing aftertaste.

Munit

Munit

1 review
Rated 1.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Very disappointed in this after reading all the reviews on this site. Very very intense alcohol smell, minimal subtle notes. Did a blind tasting and this one landed on the bottom way below some sub $30 bottles….

elchino

elchino

2 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

A little too dry for me. I was hoping for something sweeter when it comes to tepeztate

UchidaT

UchidaT

5 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Edition 23, distilled by Rafael Mendez Cruz. 2018 Harvest. Bottle 155 of 670 (50cl).

It’s a little bit hot on new rubber, nail polish and wet paint on first impression. Then strong on aniseed and liquorice followed by more typical aromas of lemon zest, citronella and rosemary. All in all, quite a botanical nose, topped off by a hint of smoke and cooked agave.

The palate is coherent with the nose. The aniseed and liquorice expand into aromatics like dill, fennel and green peppercorns. Star anise fills and coats the mouth, leaving a slightly bitter and mentholated feeling.

The finish is my favorite part : long on smoke, agave sweetness and a light bitterness.

This Tepeztate grew on me quite a lot. I disliked it on my first taste. Even though I love a certain funkiness in my spirits, I found it unbalanced and leaning too heavily on certain aromatics. We ended up getting along quite well, though, and I find myself reaching for it more often than I would have thought. It’s a fun one to dissect, but I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone unwilling to give it the attention it demands.

Edition 23, distilled by Rafael Mendez Cruz. 2018 Harvest. Bottle 155 of 670 (50cl).
It’s a little bit hot on new rubber, nail polish and wet paint on first impression. Then strong on aniseed and liquorice followed by more typical aromas of lemon zest, citronella and rosemary. All in all, quite a botanical nose, topped off by a hint of smoke and cooked agave.
The palate is coherent with the nose. The aniseed and liquorice expand into aromatics like dill, fennel and green peppercorns. Star

Read more
Bastiaan

Bastiaan

10 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Rafael Méndez Cruz 23 2018 – bottle 181/670
Very interesting and strong nose – funky like a salmiana, grassy, clean and rubbery (in a good way)
Such rich flavor. For a mezcal with such outspoken flavors, it’s hard for me to describe. Slightly earthy, but not overwhelmingly. Sort of fruity, like papaya. Oily mouthfeel. Also has a bit of that clean rubberiness from the nose.
Finish is slightly bitter and savory, I guess that’s what people might mean when they say vegetal?
This flavor of this mezcal has been harder to pinpoint than in other mezcals. One thing is clear, however, which is that this mezcal is delicious. Super good stuff.

Rafael Méndez Cruz 23 2018 – bottle 181/670
Very interesting and strong nose – funky like a salmiana, grassy, clean and rubbery (in a good way)
Such rich flavor. For a mezcal with such outspoken flavors, it’s hard for me to describe. Slightly earthy, but not overwhelmingly. Sort of fruity, like papaya. Oily mouthfeel. Also has a bit of that clean rubberiness from the nose.
Finish is slightly bitter and savory, I guess that’s what people might mean when they say vegetal?

Read more
meserole

meserole

73 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

JoeyLee hit the nail on the head with all the flavors, and I would add a peppery nasturtium flower to that list. The green peppers and mint is the primary profile and makes for a very easy, next-to-no-heat sipping experience. I also agree with the grapefruit/citrus pith aftertaste. It is hard for me to give 5 stars without there being a truly singular quality setting this apart from the other stellar Tepeztate and Karwinskii mezcals from this upper echelon of producers (it’s fairly close in flavor to Real Minero’s Largo) and given the high price.

Purchased in Mercado de Benito Juarez in Oaxaca City.
Lot 19-2017.

JoeyLee hit the nail on the head with all the flavors, and I would add a peppery nasturtium flower to that list. The green peppers and mint is the primary profile and makes for a very easy, next-to-no-heat sipping experience. I also agree with the grapefruit/citrus pith aftertaste. It is hard for me to give 5 stars without there being a truly singular quality setting this apart from the other stellar Tepeztate and Karwinskii mezcals from this upper echelon of producers (it’s fairly close

Read more
JoeyLee

JoeyLee

3 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Smooth smooth smoooooth, this one. Nose full of green pepper and fresh mint with little hints of citrus. Smell reminds me of a golf course. Mouthfeel is incredibly silky. Hits you first with green veggies, green tea and the earthiness everyone has previously mentioned. This one finishes with grapefruit peel for me. I could drink this all day.

Juriy

Juriy

23 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Just tried this today and it might be one of my all time favorite mezcals. Wow, so so good.

Incredibly smooth from the start, no alcohol taste whatsover, full bodied and that oily mouthful, slightly floral but more earthy and with this strange taste/flavor that I can’t quite describe. Almost reminds me of that smell you get when burning Copal (mayan resin). Later develops into nuttiness and lingers for quite a while.

Curiously, I’ve tasted this one together with Los Danzantes’ Pechuga which was much more alcohol forward but after sitting in a shot glass the 2 reversed roles. Pechuga has gotten softer while Tepextate retained strength and almost started feeling bitter.

Just tried this today and it might be one of my all time favorite mezcals. Wow, so so good.
Incredibly smooth from the start, no alcohol taste whatsover, full bodied and that oily mouthful, slightly floral but more earthy and with this strange taste/flavor that I can’t quite describe. Almost reminds me of that smell you get when burning Copal (mayan resin). Later develops into nuttiness and lingers for quite a while.
Curiously, I’ve tasted this one together with Los Danzantes’

Read more
Derekac7

Derekac7

19 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

I’ve read Jonny’s reviews about some Del Maguey Mezcals matching the art on the bottles, and that immediately came to mind when tasting this offering from El Jolgorio. The art on the bottle matches the psychedelic symphony on the pallet. Truly wonderful and a testament to the diversity of Mezcal.

CMWest

CMWest

4 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

An easy bottle to enjoy. Earthy with many layers of flavor. Damp slate, black pepper, and touches of candied ginger.

Mansson

Mansson

71 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Edition 17, distilled 2016 by Reynaldo Altamirano. This one starts out sweet but ends quite dry, with a long, slightly bitter aftertaste. Very herbaceous and vegetal with notes of jalapeños, bell peppers, citrus fruits and mint. Very fresh and tasty. A great mezcal!

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

205 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Wow! This mezcal powers you to notice it – strong notes of jalepeno on the nose. “Green” and herbaceous throughout the taste with notes of green bell peppers and some mint. Great balance of smoke and overall body. Complex and deep and damp and excellent! It could very well be worth the ~$150+ price tag. (I’ve been incorporating this in blind taste tests for friends/family, and hands down has been coming out the favorite…either it’s that good or I need better mezcals to compare 🙂 Harvest: 2017, Edition 19, Bottle 120/550.

Wow! This mezcal powers you to notice it – strong notes of jalepeno on the nose. “Green” and herbaceous throughout the taste with notes of green bell peppers and some mint. Great balance of smoke and overall body. Complex and deep and damp and excellent! It could very well be worth the ~$150+ price tag. (I’ve been incorporating this in blind taste tests for friends/family, and hands down has been coming out the favorite…either it’s that good or I need be

Read more
Brahh

Brahh

11 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

2016/17- Very Good. Minerality, minerality, minerality. Vegetal.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top