Powered by 100% agave

El Jolgorio Tepeztate

El Jolgorio Tepeztate is vegetal, herbal, and earthy. Agave Tepeztate can be found hanging horizontally from mountain cliffs, making it difficult to harvest.

Rating: (17 reviews)
Brand:El Jolgorio Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O98X
Mezcalero:Gregorio Martinez Garcia, Ignacio Parada, Pedro Vasquez, Rafael Méndez Cruz, Reynaldo Altamirano
Agave:Tepeztate
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Lachigui, San Baltazar Guélavila, San Luis del Rio, Santa Maria Zoquitlan
ABV: 47%
Website: http://www.eljolgoriomezcal.com/
About this mezcal

El Jolgorio Tepeztate is made with agave Tepeztate. It takes a very long time for this agave to mature, sometimes upwards of 25-35 years. It is commonly found hanging horizontally from mountain cliffs, making it difficult to harvest. Tepeztate is truly a wild agave, however, due to the species’ increasing rarity and potential for endangerment, El Jolgorio’s producers are exploring the cultivation of Tepeztate seedlings in a nursery to be re-planted in the wild (i.e. semi-cultivated). This Mezcal is vegetal, herbal, and earthy.

El Jolgorio Mezcal

Traditional, artisanal Mezcal forms an important part of rituals, ceremonies and festivities - known as "Jolgorios" - in villages in Oaxaca, México. El Jolgorio Mezcals are made exclusively from different species and varieties of wild and semi-wild harvested agave by Maestro Mezcaleros in local villages in Oaxaca, and are twice distilled in copper pot stills. On every bottle is inscribed the species of agave, the age at harvest, the village of production, the name of the Maestro Mezcalero, and the batch and lot number so as to truly connect the drinker with the land, people, and plants at the heart and soul of our Mezcal. Each lot may have different information. Check your bottle for details.

17 reviews

4.7 of out 5 stars


NickSanford

NickSanford

22 reviews
1 month ago

This one is an instant all time fav. It immediately hits you hard with a citrus jalapeno flavor that slides into notes of chocolate, caramel, and amber, and then it transforms through a dark wet forest of ginger, wintergreen flavors of wet leaves, old logs, spearmint while traveling through the season of fall. This is magic in a bottle where you are touching the drip from the old rain of the forest. The liquid itself is also very buttery making it tingle where you just want to chew this Mezcal. Definitely worth the price.

Harvest: 2017 Edition: 16 Bottle: 802 of 1,200

This one is an instant all time fav. It immediately hits you hard with a citrus jalapeno flavor that slides into notes of chocolate, caramel, and amber, and then it transforms through a dark wet forest of ginger, wintergreen flavors of wet leaves, old logs, spearmint while traveling through the season of fall. This is magic in a bottle where you are touching the drip from the old rain of the forest. The liquid itself is also very buttery making it tingle where you just want to chew this Mezcal.

Read more
Spirit_Chaser

Spirit_Chaser

19 reviews
4 months ago

Edition: 16, Harvest: 2017, 48%ABV
Rafael Mendez Cruz

Aromas of bubblegum, a bit earthy (bails of hay or dry leaves), VERY “green” of the likes of bell peppers, grilled asparagus, and poblano peppers. Some mango-like tropical notes are evident as well as some green herbal and floral notes. Lots going on here but it’s very harmonious.
Taste is loaded with bright green bell pepper and poblano peppers, very spicy, grassy, more green herbs, vanilla/cinnamon, just a touch of mint, and finishes with a nice earthy smokiness with that chili pepper spiciness still tingling on the tongue.
Awesome Tepeztate! I also have a bottle of the Edition 15/2016 from Ignacio Parada that I’m eager to compare to this one. If it’s anything like this, it’s worth the money.

Edition: 16, Harvest: 2017, 48%ABV
Rafael Mendez Cruz
Aromas of bubblegum, a bit earthy (bails of hay or dry leaves), VERY “green” of the likes of bell peppers, grilled asparagus, and poblano peppers. Some mango-like tropical notes are evident as well as some green herbal and floral notes. Lots going on here but it’s very harmonious.
Taste is loaded with bright green bell pepper and poblano peppers, very spicy, grassy, more green herbs, vanilla/cinnamon, just a touch of mint,

Read more
Rakhal

Rakhal

104 reviews
8 months ago

Edition 16. Rafael Mendez Cruz. Classic Tepextate. Fresh jalapeño, fresh green bell pepper, cacao nibs, and roses. I miss the old Don Goyo Tepextate but this one is very good.

Edition 11. Ignacio Parada. WOW! Fresh Jalepeño, bell pepper, caramel, mint, something earthy and vegetal like a warehouse of drying tobacco leaves. Burning incense, warm spices like clove and allspice. Another 5 stars for one of my favorite brands and Mezcaleros.

Yggy45

Yggy45

7 reviews
9 months ago

This was the 2017 harvest, 16th edition. Bottle 664/1200 purchased from my local liquor store.

Upon cracking open the bottle, the nose explodes with watermelon rind, cucumber peel, green pepper, maybe a little guava, some mint, maybe some lilac soap?, followed by some gentle ash – like from a dead campfire that burned out overnight, not the one you just dumped water on to put out – as well as some warm cedar wood, maybe some rose water.

Pouring it into the glass, you get some bubblegum and banana, cinnamon and the red cedar. Swirl it around and the ash gently rises up into the nose.

On the palate: sweet, some smoke, the cedar and cinnamon, with a slightly minty finish. A little heat from the alcohol, not the smoothest sip, but extremely well balanced and more grounded than the nose would imply.

An excellent bottling

This was the 2017 harvest, 16th edition. Bottle 664/1200 purchased from my local liquor store.
Upon cracking open the bottle, the nose explodes with watermelon rind, cucumber peel, green pepper, maybe a little guava, some mint, maybe some lilac soap?, followed by some gentle ash – like from a dead campfire that burned out overnight, not the one you just dumped water on to put out – as well as some warm cedar wood, maybe some rose water.
Pouring it into the glass, you get some bubble

Read more
PhilBrunski

PhilBrunski

19 reviews
9 months ago

Nose: sugar, green pepper, spearmint, too many herbs to dissect.

Palate: follows through with more green pepper, ginger, mint, hint of dark smoke and medicinal herbs.

Finish: long with more mint and herbs.

Thoughts: this is the 2017 edition 16 batch from Rafael Mendez Cruz. Excellent tepeztate and very different from previous editions but also similar in many ways. While in the past this had more of a green pepper and garden on a hot summer day vibe, this one has a different feel because of the mint and ginger. Ethereal is the word that comes to mind and I feel like I’m walking through a winter forest when I drink this. Excellent mezcal!

Nose: sugar, green pepper, spearmint, too many herbs to dissect.
Palate: follows through with more green pepper, ginger, mint, hint of dark smoke and medicinal herbs.
Finish: long with more mint and herbs.
Thoughts: this is the 2017 edition 16 batch from Rafael Mendez Cruz. Excellent tepeztate and very different from previous editions but also similar in many ways. While in the past this had more of a green pepper and garden on a hot summer day vibe, this one has a different feel because of the

Read more
Dave

Dave

9 reviews
9 months ago

15th edition, 2016 harvest, bottle 96 / 400, batch IPTE080416EJ.

Non descriptive nose. Smooth taste. Slightly peppery with dominant vegetal notes. In between green peppers and grass.

Not a lot of depth to the flavor. Very simple notes that do not last long or change.

Overall, good mezcal, extremely poor value ratio. Of the other El Jolgorios I have tried, this one was on the pricier side which ended up dissapointing me. Definitely would not buy again.

Cortez

Cortez

12 reviews
9 months ago

Broccolini, jalapeños, green bell peppers and unripe avocados. The light smokyness makes it feel like you’re eating grilled veggies. If you like vegetal and herbal mezcals then this is the one for you. This 25 year old agave truly makes it taste like a 25 year old garden, terroir and all. Believe the hype! Edition 16, 2017.

Gastrafetes

Gastrafetes

5 reviews
11 months ago

This is a good bottle! Green garden, cinnamon, sweet bell peppers. Very nice and easy to drink, could make a good introduction to mezcal as it’s a crowdpleaser. I wish I had more earth and stones going in my mouth for this one.

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

135 reviews
1 year ago

Sweet, in the best way. Light, wet hay nose that i wish i could make a candle out of. Taste is slight jalapeno and a lotta smoke and char. Finish is abrupt, but i cant stop sipping. Almost thirst quenching.

I want another bottle

1 year ago

High minerality on the nose (almost fooled me for a madrecuixe) with green pepper and hints of spice including cinnamon. Has some florality I find as well. Very pleasant/drinkable.

Pedro

Pedro

1 review
1 year ago

2012 Edition 02 by Ignacio Parada, 47%. First nose is earthy and a little smoky. Mouth is so complex for me, start grassy then a lot of pepper and minerality. In the same time it is sweet and soft. I find myself chewing it sometimes.
When i try to pick a favourite spirit, this one always come back in the talk.

Chris

Chris

36 reviews
2 years ago

2016 Edition 14 551 / 600. Reynaldo Altamirano Hernandez. Soft-driven, slow and mad, like some new language. Yeah I know, Texas radio and the big beat from the Doors, but that’s what popped into my head. Today is Tepextate comparison day and I cracked the Rey Campero Nov 2017 D5006A-T 14 / 790 first. Great too. Right up there with the RC Jabali, but obviously different. The Jolgorio though, bursting green pepper followed by, grass. A masterpiece.

Dec 2018 – No change in opinion, it’s incredible. Going to Oaxaca next month and this will be on the list. The best Tep I’ve ever had.

2016 Edition 14 551 / 600. Reynaldo Altamirano Hernandez. Soft-driven, slow and mad, like some new language. Yeah I know, Texas radio and the big beat from the Doors, but that’s what popped into my head. Today is Tepextate comparison day and I cracked the Rey Campero Nov 2017 D5006A-T 14 / 790 first. Great too. Right up there with the RC Jabali, but obviously different. The Jolgorio though, bursting green pepper followed by, grass. A masterpiece.
Dec 2018 – No change in opinion, it&#

Read more
razorbackmike

razorbackmike

96 reviews
2 years ago

this is very tasty!lots of green vegetables and green peppers.the initial taste is vegetal but it has many layers.its sweet with subtle smoke.the finish has fresh herbs and flowers.just one taste is not enough to get a full scope of how complex this tepeztate is.each taste seems to uncover different and new flavors.it does retain the vegetal sweetness.this is why mezcal lovers love mezcal.expensive but worth the price!

Squashplayer

Squashplayer

28 reviews
2 years ago

Edition 13 from 2016. Made by Ignacio Parado. Has a slight earthiness on the nose with a faint hint of peat. Goes down smooth but has a mild spicy taste with a peppery bite on the end. Overall, very good! Bottle 103/550. ABV:49.5

Joseph

Joseph

22 reviews
3 years ago

2014 Edition No. 9: Beautifully vegetal – a bright, green, herbaceous medley on the nose with a hint of roasty sweetness. Light bodied yet slightly silky mouthfeel. Taste is like a fresh, green garden much like the nose. Some lovely floral notes as well. Finish leaves me with some green pepper and a very mild bitterness. Tepeztates have been my favorite agave variety so far. Though I do prefer the thicker mouthfeel of the Vago and Marca Negra Tepeztates, the bright fresh complexity and smoothness of this one is quite special! – 4.5 stars

2014 Edition No. 9: Beautifully vegetal – a bright, green, herbaceous medley on the nose with a hint of roasty sweetness. Light bodied yet slightly silky mouthfeel. Taste is like a fresh, green garden much like the nose. Some lovely floral notes as well. Finish leaves me with some green pepper and a very mild bitterness. Tepeztates have been my favorite agave variety so far. Though I do prefer the thicker mouthfeel of the Vago and Marca Negra Tepeztates, the bright fresh complexity and smo

Read more
Tyler

Tyler

324 reviews
3 years ago

Peppery on the nose, this is a very complex and masterful tepextate mezcal. This is a very balanced mezcal where minerality meets sweet pepper and earthy cinnamon. The finish is incredibly smooth with sweet spice lingering. This review was for a 2014 edition 09 batch GMTE250216EJ from Gregorio Garcia.

Jonny

Jonny

341 reviews
3 years ago

Edition 09 from 2014. Made by Gregorio Garcia. Lots of green peppers on the nose. This is very fresh and clean smelling. The flavor is rich. It starts out spicy with notes of jalapeno and ash, but it smooths quickly in more vegetal and earthy tones. Good Tepeztate mezcals are hard to find, and this one is fantastic.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top