Powered by 100% agave

El Jolgorio Tepeztate

El Jolgorio Tepeztate is vegetal, herbal, and earthy. Agave Tepeztate can be found hanging horizontally from mountain cliffs, making it difficult to harvest.

About this mezcal

El Jolgorio Tepeztate is made with agave Tepeztate. It takes a very long time for this agave to mature, sometimes upwards of 25-35 years. It is commonly found hanging horizontally from mountain cliffs, making it difficult to harvest. Tepeztate is truly a wild agave, however, due to the species’ increasing rarity and potential for endangerment, El Jolgorio’s producers are exploring the cultivation of Tepeztate seedlings in a nursery to be re-planted in the wild (i.e. semi-cultivated). This Mezcal is vegetal, herbal, and earthy.

El Jolgorio Mezcal

El Jolgorio translates to “the revelry”. Jolgorios are small festivals that occur in remote, mountain villages throughout Oaxaca, Mexico. They celebrate births, deaths, weddings and Saint’s days. For centuries, the lifeblood of these celebrations has been traditional mezcal. In 2010, the Cortés family began building a collective of top mezcal distillers from around Oaxaca. As of 2019, El Jolgorio represents sixteen different families, working in ten different regions of Oaxaca, Mexico, each with its own special story. Every bottle is hand-marked with the specific details of each batch, to truly connect the drinker with the family behind the expression.

In 2017, the team behind the brand realized that certain varieties of agave would be extremely limited and they would only be able to make them available once per year (if at all). They began packaging these rare editions in black bottles to set them apart from the other releases.

29 reviews

4.55 out of 5


elchino

elchino

2 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars3 weeks ago

A little too dry for me. I was hoping for something sweeter when it comes to tepeztate

UchidaT

UchidaT

3 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars4 weeks ago

Edition 23, distilled by Rafael Mendez Cruz. 2018 Harvest. Bottle 155 of 670 (50cl).

It’s a little bit hot on new rubber, nail polish and wet paint on first impression. Then strong on aniseed and liquorice followed by more typical aromas of lemon zest, citronella and rosemary. All in all, quite a botanical nose, topped off by a hint of smoke and cooked agave.

The palate is coherent with the nose. The aniseed and liquorice expand into aromatics like dill, fennel and green peppercorns. Star anise fills and coats the mouth, leaving a slightly bitter and mentholated feeling.

The finish is my favorite part : long on smoke, agave sweetness and a light bitterness.

This Tepeztate grew on me quite a lot. I disliked it on my first taste. Even though I love a certain funkiness in my spirits, I found it unbalanced and leaning too heavily on certain aromatics. We ended up getting along quite well, though, and I find myself reaching for it more often than I would have thought. It’s a fun one to dissect, but I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone unwilling to give it the attention it demands.

Edition 23, distilled by Rafael Mendez Cruz. 2018 Harvest. Bottle 155 of 670 (50cl).
It’s a little bit hot on new rubber, nail polish and wet paint on first impression. Then strong on aniseed and liquorice followed by more typical aromas of lemon zest, citronella and rosemary. All in all, quite a botanical nose, topped off by a hint of smoke and cooked agave.
The palate is coherent with the nose. The aniseed and liquorice expand into aromatics like dill, fennel and green peppercorns. Star

Read more
Bastiaan

Bastiaan

10 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Rafael Méndez Cruz 23 2018 – bottle 181/670
Very interesting and strong nose – funky like a salmiana, grassy, clean and rubbery (in a good way)
Such rich flavor. For a mezcal with such outspoken flavors, it’s hard for me to describe. Slightly earthy, but not overwhelmingly. Sort of fruity, like papaya. Oily mouthfeel. Also has a bit of that clean rubberiness from the nose.
Finish is slightly bitter and savory, I guess that’s what people might mean when they say vegetal?
This flavor of this mezcal has been harder to pinpoint than in other mezcals. One thing is clear, however, which is that this mezcal is delicious. Super good stuff.

Rafael Méndez Cruz 23 2018 – bottle 181/670
Very interesting and strong nose – funky like a salmiana, grassy, clean and rubbery (in a good way)
Such rich flavor. For a mezcal with such outspoken flavors, it’s hard for me to describe. Slightly earthy, but not overwhelmingly. Sort of fruity, like papaya. Oily mouthfeel. Also has a bit of that clean rubberiness from the nose.
Finish is slightly bitter and savory, I guess that’s what people might mean when they say vegetal?

Read more
meserole

meserole

62 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

JoeyLee hit the nail on the head with all the flavors, and I would add a peppery nasturtium flower to that list. The green peppers and mint is the primary profile and makes for a very easy, next-to-no-heat sipping experience. I also agree with the grapefruit/citrus pith aftertaste. It is hard for me to give 5 stars without there being a truly singular quality setting this apart from the other stellar Tepeztate and Karwinskii mezcals from this upper echelon of producers (it’s fairly close in flavor to Real Minero’s Largo) and given the high price.

Purchased in Mercado de Benito Juarez in Oaxaca City.
Lot 19-2017.

JoeyLee hit the nail on the head with all the flavors, and I would add a peppery nasturtium flower to that list. The green peppers and mint is the primary profile and makes for a very easy, next-to-no-heat sipping experience. I also agree with the grapefruit/citrus pith aftertaste. It is hard for me to give 5 stars without there being a truly singular quality setting this apart from the other stellar Tepeztate and Karwinskii mezcals from this upper echelon of producers (it’s fairly close

Read more
JoeyLee

JoeyLee

3 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars7 months ago

Smooth smooth smoooooth, this one. Nose full of green pepper and fresh mint with little hints of citrus. Smell reminds me of a golf course. Mouthfeel is incredibly silky. Hits you first with green veggies, green tea and the earthiness everyone has previously mentioned. This one finishes with grapefruit peel for me. I could drink this all day.

Juriy

Juriy

23 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars8 months ago

Just tried this today and it might be one of my all time favorite mezcals. Wow, so so good.

Incredibly smooth from the start, no alcohol taste whatsover, full bodied and that oily mouthful, slightly floral but more earthy and with this strange taste/flavor that I can’t quite describe. Almost reminds me of that smell you get when burning Copal (mayan resin). Later develops into nuttiness and lingers for quite a while.

Curiously, I’ve tasted this one together with Los Danzantes’ Pechuga which was much more alcohol forward but after sitting in a shot glass the 2 reversed roles. Pechuga has gotten softer while Tepextate retained strength and almost started feeling bitter.

Just tried this today and it might be one of my all time favorite mezcals. Wow, so so good.
Incredibly smooth from the start, no alcohol taste whatsover, full bodied and that oily mouthful, slightly floral but more earthy and with this strange taste/flavor that I can’t quite describe. Almost reminds me of that smell you get when burning Copal (mayan resin). Later develops into nuttiness and lingers for quite a while.
Curiously, I’ve tasted this one together with Los Danzantes’

Read more
Derekac7

Derekac7

19 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars11 months ago

I’ve read Jonny’s reviews about some Del Maguey Mezcals matching the art on the bottles, and that immediately came to mind when tasting this offering from El Jolgorio. The art on the bottle matches the psychedelic symphony on the pallet. Truly wonderful and a testament to the diversity of Mezcal.

CMWest

CMWest

4 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

An easy bottle to enjoy. Earthy with many layers of flavor. Damp slate, black pepper, and touches of candied ginger.

Mansson

Mansson

71 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Edition 17, distilled 2016 by Reynaldo Altamirano. This one starts out sweet but ends quite dry, with a long, slightly bitter aftertaste. Very herbaceous and vegetal with notes of jalapeños, bell peppers, citrus fruits and mint. Very fresh and tasty. A great mezcal!

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

110 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Wow! This mezcal powers you to notice it – strong notes of jalepeno on the nose. “Green” and herbaceous throughout the taste with notes of green bell peppers and some mint. Great balance of smoke and overall body. Complex and deep and damp and excellent! It could very well be worth the ~$150+ price tag. (I’ve been incorporating this in blind taste tests for friends/family, and hands down has been coming out the favorite…either it’s that good or I need better mezcals to compare 🙂 Harvest: 2017, Edition 19, Bottle 120/550.

Wow! This mezcal powers you to notice it – strong notes of jalepeno on the nose. “Green” and herbaceous throughout the taste with notes of green bell peppers and some mint. Great balance of smoke and overall body. Complex and deep and damp and excellent! It could very well be worth the ~$150+ price tag. (I’ve been incorporating this in blind taste tests for friends/family, and hands down has been coming out the favorite…either it’s that good or I need be

Read more
Brahh

Brahh

11 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

2016/17- Very Good. Minerality, minerality, minerality. Vegetal.

El_Roberto

El_Roberto

17 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

A really tasty and smooth mezcal with a delicious after taste that stays in your mouth long after drinking. Very complex sweet vegetables and peppers at the start with a bit of spice. Smoothes out to an earthy tone.

NickSanford

NickSanford

23 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

This one is an instant all time fav. It immediately hits you hard with a citrus jalapeno flavor that slides into notes of chocolate, caramel, and amber, and then it transforms through a dark wet forest of ginger, wintergreen flavors of wet leaves, old logs, spearmint while traveling through the season of fall. This is magic in a bottle where you are touching the drip from the old rain of the forest. The liquid itself is also very buttery making it tingle where you just want to chew this Mezcal. Definitely worth the price.

Harvest: 2017 Edition: 16 Bottle: 802 of 1,200

This one is an instant all time fav. It immediately hits you hard with a citrus jalapeno flavor that slides into notes of chocolate, caramel, and amber, and then it transforms through a dark wet forest of ginger, wintergreen flavors of wet leaves, old logs, spearmint while traveling through the season of fall. This is magic in a bottle where you are touching the drip from the old rain of the forest. The liquid itself is also very buttery making it tingle where you just want to chew this Mezcal.

Read more
Spirit_Chaser

Spirit_Chaser

20 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Edition: 16, Harvest: 2017, 48%ABV
Rafael Mendez Cruz

Aromas of bubblegum, a bit earthy (bails of hay or dry leaves), VERY “green” of the likes of bell peppers, grilled asparagus, and poblano peppers. Some mango-like tropical notes are evident as well as some green herbal and floral notes. Lots going on here but it’s very harmonious.
Taste is loaded with bright green bell pepper and poblano peppers, very spicy, grassy, more green herbs, vanilla/cinnamon, just a touch of mint, and finishes with a nice earthy smokiness with that chili pepper spiciness still tingling on the tongue.
Awesome Tepeztate! I also have a bottle of the Edition 15/2016 from Ignacio Parada that I’m eager to compare to this one. If it’s anything like this, it’s worth the money.

Edition: 16, Harvest: 2017, 48%ABV
Rafael Mendez Cruz
Aromas of bubblegum, a bit earthy (bails of hay or dry leaves), VERY “green” of the likes of bell peppers, grilled asparagus, and poblano peppers. Some mango-like tropical notes are evident as well as some green herbal and floral notes. Lots going on here but it’s very harmonious.
Taste is loaded with bright green bell pepper and poblano peppers, very spicy, grassy, more green herbs, vanilla/cinnamon, just a touch of mint,

Read more
Rakhal

Rakhal

307 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Edition 16. Rafael Mendez Cruz. Classic Tepextate. Fresh jalapeño, fresh green bell pepper, cacao nibs, and roses. I miss the old Don Goyo Tepextate but this one is very good.

Edition 11. Ignacio Parada. WOW! Fresh Jalepeño, bell pepper, caramel, mint, something earthy and vegetal like a warehouse of drying tobacco leaves. Burning incense, warm spices like clove and allspice. Another 5 stars for one of my favorite brands and Mezcaleros.

Yggy45

Yggy45

7 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

This was the 2017 harvest, 16th edition. Bottle 664/1200 purchased from my local liquor store.

Upon cracking open the bottle, the nose explodes with watermelon rind, cucumber peel, green pepper, maybe a little guava, some mint, maybe some lilac soap?, followed by some gentle ash – like from a dead campfire that burned out overnight, not the one you just dumped water on to put out – as well as some warm cedar wood, maybe some rose water.

Pouring it into the glass, you get some bubblegum and banana, cinnamon and the red cedar. Swirl it around and the ash gently rises up into the nose.

On the palate: sweet, some smoke, the cedar and cinnamon, with a slightly minty finish. A little heat from the alcohol, not the smoothest sip, but extremely well balanced and more grounded than the nose would imply.

An excellent bottling

This was the 2017 harvest, 16th edition. Bottle 664/1200 purchased from my local liquor store.
Upon cracking open the bottle, the nose explodes with watermelon rind, cucumber peel, green pepper, maybe a little guava, some mint, maybe some lilac soap?, followed by some gentle ash – like from a dead campfire that burned out overnight, not the one you just dumped water on to put out – as well as some warm cedar wood, maybe some rose water.
Pouring it into the glass, you get some bubble

Read more
PhilBrunski

PhilBrunski

25 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Nose: sugar, green pepper, spearmint, too many herbs to dissect.

Palate: follows through with more green pepper, ginger, mint, hint of dark smoke and medicinal herbs.

Finish: long with more mint and herbs.

Thoughts: this is the 2017 edition 16 batch from Rafael Mendez Cruz. Excellent tepeztate and very different from previous editions but also similar in many ways. While in the past this had more of a green pepper and garden on a hot summer day vibe, this one has a different feel because of the mint and ginger. Ethereal is the word that comes to mind and I feel like I’m walking through a winter forest when I drink this. Excellent mezcal!

Update:
2017 Batch 21 Pedro Vasquez
Another great tep that i would put at 4 stars. Watermelon, smoke, and citronella / deet flavors.

Nose: sugar, green pepper, spearmint, too many herbs to dissect.
Palate: follows through with more green pepper, ginger, mint, hint of dark smoke and medicinal herbs.
Finish: long with more mint and herbs.
Thoughts: this is the 2017 edition 16 batch from Rafael Mendez Cruz. Excellent tepeztate and very different from previous editions but also similar in many ways. While in the past this had more of a green pepper and garden on a hot summer day vibe, this one has a different feel because of the

Read more
Dave

Dave

12 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 years ago

15th edition, 2016 harvest, bottle 96 / 400, batch IPTE080416EJ.

Non descriptive nose. Smooth taste. Slightly peppery with dominant vegetal notes. In between green peppers and grass.

Not a lot of depth to the flavor. Very simple notes that do not last long or change.

Overall, good mezcal, extremely poor value ratio. Of the other El Jolgorios I have tried, this one was on the pricier side which ended up dissapointing me. Definitely would not buy again.

Cortez

Cortez

12 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Broccolini, jalapeños, green bell peppers and unripe avocados. The light smokyness makes it feel like you’re eating grilled veggies. If you like vegetal and herbal mezcals then this is the one for you. This 25 year old agave truly makes it taste like a 25 year old garden, terroir and all. Believe the hype! Edition 16, 2017.

Gastrafetes

Gastrafetes

5 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

This is a good bottle! Green garden, cinnamon, sweet bell peppers. Very nice and easy to drink, could make a good introduction to mezcal as it’s a crowdpleaser. I wish I had more earth and stones going in my mouth for this one.

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

264 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Sweet, in the best way. Light, wet hay nose that i wish i could make a candle out of. Taste is slight jalapeno and a lotta smoke and char. Finish is abrupt, but i cant stop sipping. Almost thirst quenching.

I want another bottle

Wanderingspider

Wanderingspider

42 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

High minerality on the nose (almost fooled me for a madrecuixe) with green pepper and hints of spice including cinnamon. Has some florality I find as well. Very pleasant/drinkable.

Pedro

Pedro

1 review
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

2012 Edition 02 by Ignacio Parada, 47%. First nose is earthy and a little smoky. Mouth is so complex for me, start grassy then a lot of pepper and minerality. In the same time it is sweet and soft. I find myself chewing it sometimes.
When i try to pick a favourite spirit, this one always come back in the talk.

Chris

Chris

40 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

2016 Edition 14 551 / 600. Reynaldo Altamirano Hernandez. Soft-driven, slow and mad, like some new language. Yeah I know, Texas radio and the big beat from the Doors, but that’s what popped into my head. Today is Tepextate comparison day and I cracked the Rey Campero Nov 2017 D5006A-T 14 / 790 first. Great too. Right up there with the RC Jabali, but obviously different. The Jolgorio though, bursting green pepper followed by, grass. A masterpiece.

Dec 2018 – No change in opinion, it’s incredible. Going to Oaxaca next month and this will be on the list. The best Tep I’ve ever had.

2016 Edition 14 551 / 600. Reynaldo Altamirano Hernandez. Soft-driven, slow and mad, like some new language. Yeah I know, Texas radio and the big beat from the Doors, but that’s what popped into my head. Today is Tepextate comparison day and I cracked the Rey Campero Nov 2017 D5006A-T 14 / 790 first. Great too. Right up there with the RC Jabali, but obviously different. The Jolgorio though, bursting green pepper followed by, grass. A masterpiece.
Dec 2018 – No change in opinion, it&#

Read more
razorbackmike

razorbackmike

123 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

this is very tasty!lots of green vegetables and green peppers.the initial taste is vegetal but it has many layers.its sweet with subtle smoke.the finish has fresh herbs and flowers.just one taste is not enough to get a full scope of how complex this tepeztate is.each taste seems to uncover different and new flavors.it does retain the vegetal sweetness.this is why mezcal lovers love mezcal.expensive but worth the price!

Squashplayer

Squashplayer

34 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Edition 13 from 2016. Made by Ignacio Parado. Has a slight earthiness on the nose with a faint hint of peat. Goes down smooth but has a mild spicy taste with a peppery bite on the end. Overall, very good! Bottle 103/550. ABV:49.5

Joseph

Joseph

22 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

2014 Edition No. 9: Beautifully vegetal – a bright, green, herbaceous medley on the nose with a hint of roasty sweetness. Light bodied yet slightly silky mouthfeel. Taste is like a fresh, green garden much like the nose. Some lovely floral notes as well. Finish leaves me with some green pepper and a very mild bitterness. Tepeztates have been my favorite agave variety so far. Though I do prefer the thicker mouthfeel of the Vago and Marca Negra Tepeztates, the bright fresh complexity and smoothness of this one is quite special! – 4.5 stars

2014 Edition No. 9: Beautifully vegetal – a bright, green, herbaceous medley on the nose with a hint of roasty sweetness. Light bodied yet slightly silky mouthfeel. Taste is like a fresh, green garden much like the nose. Some lovely floral notes as well. Finish leaves me with some green pepper and a very mild bitterness. Tepeztates have been my favorite agave variety so far. Though I do prefer the thicker mouthfeel of the Vago and Marca Negra Tepeztates, the bright fresh complexity and smo

Read more
Tyler

Tyler

469 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Peppery on the nose, this is a very complex and masterful tepextate mezcal. This is a very balanced mezcal where minerality meets sweet pepper and earthy cinnamon. The finish is incredibly smooth with sweet spice lingering. This review was for a 2014 edition 09 batch GMTE250216EJ from Gregorio Garcia.

Dec. 2020 Update —

I’ve grown less fond of the Gregorio M. Garcia batch. As it opens up it becomes a bit sour. 3.5 stars. After trying El Jolgorio Tepeztate from 5 different mezcaleros, my favorite is from Ignacio Parada. Edition 15 from 2016 is huge and green with complex sugars. 4.5 stars.

My rating represents the overall experience with five different batches.

Peppery on the nose, this is a very complex and masterful tepextate mezcal. This is a very balanced mezcal where minerality meets sweet pepper and earthy cinnamon. The finish is incredibly smooth with sweet spice lingering. This review was for a 2014 edition 09 batch GMTE250216EJ from Gregorio Garcia.
Dec. 2020 Update —
I’ve grown less fond of the Gregorio M. Garcia batch. As it opens up it becomes a bit sour. 3.5 stars. After trying El Jolgorio Tepeztate from 5 different mezcaleros,

Read more
Jonny

Jonny

506 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Edition 09 from 2014. Made by Gregorio Garcia. Lots of green peppers on the nose. This is very fresh and clean smelling. The flavor is rich. It starts out spicy with notes of jalapeno and ash, but it smooths quickly in more vegetal and earthy tones. Good Tepeztate mezcals are hard to find, and this one is fantastic.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top