Powered by 100% agave

El Jolgorio Tepeztate

El Jolgorio Tepeztate is vegetal, herbal, and earthy. Agave Tepeztate can be found hanging horizontally from mountain cliffs, making it difficult to harvest.

Rating: (7 reviews)
Brand:El Jolgorio Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O98X
Mezcalero:Gregorio Martinez Garcia, Ignacio Parada, Pedro Vasquez
Agave:Tepeztate
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:San Baltazar Guélavila, Santa Maria Zoquitlan
ABV: 47%
Website: http://www.eljolgoriomezcal.com/
About this mezcal

El Jolgorio Tepeztate is made with agave Tepeztate, which is one of the rarest agave. It takes a very long time for this agave to mature, sometimes upwards of 25-35 years. It is commonly found hanging horizontally from mountain cliffs, making it difficult to harvest. Tepeztate is truly a wild agave, however, due to the species’ increasing rarity and potential for endangerment, El Jolgorio’s producers are exploring the cultivation of Tepeztate seedlings in a nursery to be re-planted in the wild (i.e. semi-cultivated). This Mezcal is vegetal, herbal, and earthy.

El Jolgorio Mezcal

Traditional, artisanal Mezcal forms an important part of rituals, ceremonies and festivities - known as "Jolgorios" - in villages in Oaxaca, México. El Jolgorio Mezcals are made exclusively from different species and varieties of wild and semi-wild harvested agave by Maestro Mezcaleros in local villages in Oaxaca, and are twice distilled in copper pot stills. On every bottle is inscribed the species of agave, the age at harvest, the village of production, the name of the Maestro Mezcalero, and the batch and lot number so as to truly connect the drinker with the land, people, and plants at the heart and soul of our Mezcal. Each lot may have different information. Check your bottle for details.

7 reviews

4.7 of out 5 stars


Pedro on Jul 29, 2018

1 review

  • Overall:

2012 Edition 02 by Ignacio Parada, 47%. First nose is earthy and a little smoky. Mouth is so complex for me, start grassy then a lot of pepper and minerality. In the same time it is sweet and soft. I find myself chewing it sometimes.
When i try to pick a favourite spirit, this one always come back in the talk.

Chris on Apr 19, 2018

22 reviews

  • Overall:

2016 Edition 14 551 / 600. Reynaldo Altamirano Hernandez. Soft-driven, slow and mad, like some new language. Yeah I know, Texas radio and the big beat from the Doors, but that’s what popped into my head. Today is Tepextate comparison day and I cracked the Rey Campero Nov 2017 D5006A-T 14 / 790 first. Great too. Right up there with the RC Jabali, but obviously different. The Jolgorio though, bursting green pepper followed by, grass. A masterpiece.

razorbackmike on Apr 16, 2018

82 reviews

  • Overall:

this is very tasty!lots of green vegetables and green peppers.the initial taste is vegetal but it has many layers.its sweet with subtle smoke.the finish has fresh herbs and flowers.just one taste is not enough to get a full scope of how complex this tepeztate is.each taste seems to uncover different and new flavors.it does retain the vegetal sweetness.this is why mezcal lovers love mezcal.expensive but worth the price!

Squashplayer on Sep 4, 2017

17 reviews

  • Overall:

Edition 13 from 2016. Made by Ignacio Parado. Has a slight earthiness on the nose with a faint hint of peat. Goes down smooth but has a mild spicy taste with a peppery bite on the end. Overall, very good! Bottle 103/550. ABV:49.5

Joseph on Jan 25, 2017

15 reviews

  • Overall:

2014 Edition No. 9: Beautifully vegetal – a bright, green, herbaceous medley on the nose with a hint of roasty sweetness. Light bodied yet slightly silky mouthfeel. Taste is like a fresh, green garden much like the nose. Some lovely floral notes as well. Finish leaves me with some green pepper and a very mild bitterness. Tepeztates have been my favorite agave variety so far. Though I do prefer the thicker mouthfeel of the Vago and Marca Negra Tepeztates, the bright fresh complexity and smoothness of this one is quite special! – 4.5 stars

2014 Edition No. 9: Beautifully vegetal – a bright, green, herbaceous medley on the nose with a hint of roasty sweetness. Light bodied yet slightly silky mouthfeel. Taste is like a fresh, green garden much like the nose. Some lovely floral notes as well. Finish leaves me with some green pepper and a very mild bitterness. Tepeztates have been my favorite agave variety so far. Though I do prefer the thicker mouthfeel of the Vago and Marca Negra Tepeztates, the bright fresh complexity and smo

Read more

Tyler on Dec 1, 2016

210 reviews

  • Overall:

Peppery on the nose, this is a very complex and masterful tepextate mezcal. This is a very balanced mezcal where minerality meets sweet pepper and earthy cinnamon. The finish is incredibly smooth with sweet spice lingering. This review was for a 2014 edition 09 batch GMTE250216EJ from Gregorio Garcia.

Jonny on Dec 1, 2016

227 reviews

  • Overall:

Edition 09 from 2014. Made by Gregorio Garcia. Lots of green peppers on the nose. This is very fresh and clean smelling. The flavor is rich. It starts out spicy with notes of jalapeno and ash, but it smooths quickly in more vegetal and earthy tones. Good Tepeztate mezcals are hard to find, and this one is fantastic.

Write a mezcal review

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Follow @mezcalreviews