Powered by 100% agave

Ilegal Joven

Ilegal Joven is ideal for cocktails and perfect to be sipped on its own. It has deep agave aromas, and hints of green apple, citrus and white pepper.

Rating: (12 reviews)
Brand:Ilegal Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O01X
Mezcalero:Eric Hernandez
Agave:Espadin
Distillation:Copper, Steel
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Tlacolula
ABV: 40%
Website: http://www.ilegalmezcal.com/
About this mezcal

Ilegal Joven is unaged, which sets it apart from Ilegal reposado and Ilegal anejo which are aged. It has deep agave aromas, and hints of green apple, citrus and white pepper. There is a lingering heat and sweet agave feel. This Mezcal is ideal for cocktails and perfect to be sipped on its own.

Ilegal Mezcal

Ilegal Mezcal was founded by John Rexer, who began smuggling this product to his Bar, Cafe No Se, in Antigua, Guatemala. Ilegal Mezcal launched in 2005, and the brand has grown substantially in recent years. It had a very successful marketing campaign around the phrase "Donald eres un Pendejo" in 2016 for the US election, and Bacardi purchased an undisclosed amount of minority shares in the company in February of 2017. Ilegal Mezcal is 100% handcrafted using Agave Espadin that is roasted / baked using mesquite and eucalyptus wood. The cooked Agave is then finely crushed and fermented in oak vats. It is then double distilled in small copper stills. Though Eric Hernandez was originally involved in the distillation, most of the Ilegal in the US nowadays is made by Alvaro and Armando Hernandez. Eric is still involved in bottling. Their mezcal is distilled once in steel and then once in copper.

Review: Ilegal Mezcal on Drinkhacker

12 reviews

3.2 of out 5 stars


GreenspointTexas on Nov 8, 2018

34 reviews

  • Overall:

Meh.

Mateospirit on Aug 22, 2018

6 reviews

  • Overall:

This Mezcal is an exquisite spirit. If I could give half stars I would have rated this 4.5 if possible. Rough and refined at the same time. This is rock and roll to me smoke, energy, sweet vanilla creaminess. This one is great drinking neat at a bonfire with friends and fAmily under the stars and is also equally as good in a mixed drink. This one has a persona. Lite leather lite warming woods. CleAn with just a ghost of earthiness. 🤘

LosMuertos on Aug 10, 2018

30 reviews

  • Overall:

Not bad but nothing I would buy again. Nose is very perfumed/floral. Plus agave and mild smoke.

Scent: 2/5
Mouthfeel: 2/5

rsidrys on May 12, 2018

16 reviews

  • Overall:

This is the second mezcal I ever tried. There’s citrus, mild smoke, and eucalyptus on the nose. Taste has those qualities with the addition of vanilla, almost as though it was barrel aged. The finish fades rather quickly.

I really liked it when I first had it and would have probably given it a 4 at the time, but after experiencing more complex mezcal that lingers on the palate, this one is a bit too “shallow” and short for me. It’s a good option for those who are smoke-averse.

This is the second mezcal I ever tried. There’s citrus, mild smoke, and eucalyptus on the nose. Taste has those qualities with the addition of vanilla, almost as though it was barrel aged. The finish fades rather quickly.
I really liked it when I first had it and would have probably given it a 4 at the time, but after experiencing more complex mezcal that lingers on the palate, this one is a bit too “shallow” and short for me. It’s a good option for those who are smoke-a

Read more

JRB on Apr 10, 2018

11 reviews

  • Overall:

Ilegal Joven Mezcal / 80 proof
Tahona milled, copper still. Rather light agave in the front of the palate, then in the back of my throat I get heat and smoke aftertaste – strange finish that I have not noticed with any other mezcal. Not bad, but I really couldn’t get into it. (Lot 36, bottle 2126/7000)

namespayne on Jan 5, 2018

4 reviews

  • Overall:

Floral, dry fruit, light on smoke, fairly complex and long on the finish. Doesn’t smack you like a 45%-50% abv juice does, but it’s a gem for the price.

razorbackmike on Nov 16, 2017

87 reviews

  • Overall:

i agree with another review.the repo and anejo are great.this one is good.perfect for an evening opener.its best to have a fresh pallete to enjoy the subtle notes.the nose is mild with agave and baked sugar.the taste is vanilla,agave and mild green pepper.no smoke or deep flavor but is justified by price.nice flavor but is short.good quality and have no problem sipping.can be overshadowed by more complex (and expensive) mezcals.

SeattleMezcalLover on Jun 6, 2017

9 reviews

  • Overall:

Kind of boring. I bought a bottle of this because of good reviews. If smoky mezcals are your thing look elsewhere. This one is is light and at least initially a hair astringent. Also, quite floral but not especially sweet. If light and floral appeal to you it might be a good fit but at least my batch had an astringent quality that no one would desire.

Tyler on Dec 12, 2016

233 reviews

  • Overall:

This soft mezcal goes down easy at 40% ABV. Slightly floral on the nose. There are notes of vanilla and pepper. This is a good mezcal to give people new to the spirit who are also not used to drinking liquor neat. It tastes a bit watered down for my taste. Other mezcals do this but manage to retain more complex flavors. This is a decent mezcal to start the night with; if you drink a robust high-ABV mezcal and then return to this you will be disappointed.

Jonny on Dec 12, 2016

248 reviews

  • Overall:

Citrus and smoky on the nose. Tasting notes of apple and dates. There’s a good amount of fruit in this, but it doesn’t overpower the rich taste of cooked Agave. This mezcal would get three stars as a sipper, as I prefer to sip their Reposado and Anejo. But it gets four stars as a mixer.

3chainz on Dec 12, 2016

19 reviews

  • Overall:

Very neutral with a smooth finish. 4 stars on value

Sandy on Sep 19, 2016

11 reviews

  • Overall:

It burns so good. This full body mezcal definitely lingers in the best way possible.

Write a mezcal review

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Follow @mezcalreviews