Powered by 100% agave

Ilegal Joven

Ilegal Joven is ideal for cocktails and perfect to be sipped on its own. It has deep agave aromas, and hints of green apple, citrus and white pepper.

About this mezcal

Ilegal Joven is unaged, which sets it apart from Ilegal reposado and Ilegal anejo which are aged. It has deep agave aromas, and hints of green apple, citrus and white pepper. There is a lingering heat and sweet agave feel. This Mezcal is ideal for cocktails and perfect to be sipped on its own.

Ilegal Mezcal

Ilegal Mezcal was founded by John Rexer, who began smuggling this product to his Bar, Cafe No Se, in Antigua, Guatemala. Ilegal Mezcal launched in 2005, and the brand has grown substantially in recent years. Though Eric Hernandez was originally involved in the distillation, Ilegal Mezcal was most recently produced by Alvaro and Armando Hernandez.

The company had a very successful marketing campaign around the phrase “Donald eres un Pendejo” in 2016 for the US election. Bacardi purchased an undisclosed amount of minority shares in the company in February of 2017. In September 2023, Bacardi took full ownership in Ilegal for an undisclosed sum.

Review: Ilegal Mezcal on Drinkhacker

Member rating

2.58 out of 5

59 reviews

Samhain

Samhain

9 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars3 years ago

It’s a fine sipper for price lately about $30, first bottle I picked up was $60, but at 30 I’ll have another. Decent balance, subtle citrus, little smoke, smoke finish lingers pretty well. A bit bland like most low proofs.

Chris-Banzhaf

Chris-Banzhaf

2 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Great bottle to start if your new to Mezcals, good smoke and palatable.

kurten33

kurten33

3 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Smoky flavor, enjoyable smell, it has a bit of a kick when it goes down and the burn lingers for a few minutes. Not my top choice, however I would not turn it down if offered. Way overpriced. Lot 127( 7352/14400)

Bety85

Bety85

2 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Very good smokey aroma. The taste was rough and it burns. I expected something more smooth. I would not recommend for sipping. (Lot 127, bottle 7352/14400)

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

542 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Lot: 100 (3191/5040)
Nose: Vanilla, citrus and smoke – all light but balanced.

Palate: Toffee sweet and white pepper heat. The lower ABV gives it a diluted feel across the board – feels like it would be better if the volume was turned up.

mezcalphd

mezcalphd

8 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Ilegal Joven is my go to for cocktails and I am happy to sip it too! It is bright, fresh and citrusy. Is it super complex? No. But nothing in this $40 price range is. So you have to know what you are getting. In this case a solid espadin that is flexible enough to work well in cocktails or be sipped as well.

SoloAgave

SoloAgave

86 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Whispy and light – easy to mix into cocktails and won’t overpower any of your senses. Nevertheless a cool brand with great marketing and works great as a well mezcal.

Lasirenaahumada

Lasirenaahumada

9 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars4 years ago

I enjoyed this with agave syrup, but not a neat sipper. The alcohol taste over rides the delight of a smokie return. I do recommend this for a mixer. The taste does come through in a cocktail and makes you wonder if the smoke is an illusion or a campfire outside your door.

edgy4sure

edgy4sure

39 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars4 years ago

living in OH, my mezcal choices are very few (yeah, it blows), so I grabbed a bottle and still have some lingering in my cabinet. it’s ok for the mid-western price point but it is nothing you would ever bring back from MX. will not buy again

matt19green

matt19green

1 review
Rated 5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

This is a great espadin!! A mouthful of agave and just a hint of smoke. Just how I love my Mezcal. Great for crushable cocktails as well.

lenathefree

lenathefree

2 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Yes, this was my first mezcal. …And I do not regret it. Smoke without ego. Easy alone, but still plays well with other flavors.

Arthurjakob21

Arthurjakob21

5 reviews
Rated 1 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Not worth buying if you are into Mezcal. Maybe okay as your first Mezcal.

tallchad

tallchad

108 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Cool bottle with waxed cork. Light smoke and wood on the aroma, good taste, finish is long, smooth and a little sweet.

JJHenderson

JJHenderson

10 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars4 years ago

An excellent cocktail mezcal, but with the prices in the UK that’s going to be a very expensive cocktail. As a sipper it falls flat – probably the low abv.

Harry

Harry

2 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars4 years ago

It was underwhelming at best. Was referred by a friend, but I wasn’t pleased and just gave it away after trying it. It goes down alright with some lime, but no real flavor, a whole lot of burn and is even lame in cocktails. Wouldn’t recommend.

El_Roberto

El_Roberto

23 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Meh. Bit of pepper and floral notes. A bit plain, nothing stands out too much

TheAuditor

TheAuditor

38 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Nose: Slight citrus sweetness, pepper, spice,

Palate: Thinnish mouthfeel, light smoke. Slight citrus sweetness, black pepper, slight spice, minerally.

Finish: Short, slight earthiness, light smoke, citrus, vanilla, mineraly.

Rating: 4/10

This proof on this one really hurts it. I can see there are good flavors underneath, but it all feels very muted. I like the citrus and peppery undertones here, they play well together with some of the agave-esque mineraliness that is here. But overall, I would spend a little more and grab a 50ish dollar espadin instead.

Nose: Slight citrus sweetness, pepper, spice,
Palate: Thinnish mouthfeel, light smoke. Slight citrus sweetness, black pepper, slight spice, minerally.
Finish: Short, slight earthiness, light smoke, citrus, vanilla, mineraly.
Rating: 4/10
This proof on this one really hurts it. I can see there are good flavors underneath, but it all feels very muted. I like the citrus and peppery undertones here, they play well together with some of the agave-esque mineraliness that is here. But overall, I would

Read more
GeorgePBurdell

GeorgePBurdell

49 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Mild and easy to drink. First impression on the tongue was sweet followed by gentle smoke. There is some subtle fruit but for me the lasting impression is sweet and light smoke.

Rorschach

Rorschach

43 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Good Espadin. The maguey wasn’t listed on the label but I knew it was Espadin just by sniffing from the bottle after opening. There are bottles of Espadin that come before this one regarding price, value, taste. The labeling is a little generic and has clever Spanish that seems to give a little wiggle room as to production.
Bottle 4692/5040
Lot 87

juandelouise

juandelouise

5 reviews
Rated 0.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Not my favorite well mezcal. A little overpriced and pretty generic tasting. I definitely prefer mezcal out of Ejutla vs Matatlan.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top