Powered by 100% agave

Del Maguey Chichicapa

The Del Maguey Chichicapa is a classic release that may very well be one of the most well-known mezcals on the international market.

Rating: (30 reviews)
Brand:Del Maguey Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O41X
Mezcalero:Faustino Garcia Vasquez
Agave:Espadin
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:San Baltazar Chichicapam
ABV: 46%
Website: http://delmaguey.com
About this mezcal

The Del Maguey Chichicapa has a relatively light nose, yet it is deep and sweet on the tongue with lots of citrus and a complex character. It has a long finish with developing smokiness and a hint of chocolate and mint at the end. The town of Chichicapa is dry and tropical, depending on the time of year, with banana trees, guava, and mangoes.

Del Maguey Mezcal

Del Maguey (pronounced ma–gay), Single Village Mezcal was founded in 1995 by internationally renowned artist and Mezcal visionary, Ron Cooper. Ron introduced the world to previously unavailable 100% certified organic, artisanal Mezcal produced the original handcrafted way. Through deep cultural relationships with Zapotec Mexican Indian producers in the remote villages of Oaxaca, Mexico, Del Maguey harnesses ancient, original organic processes. Combining these methods with varying micro-climates and terroir gives each creation its own unique, rich, sweet and smoky character. Every product in their collection is made by individual family palenqueros (producers) in old-style villages. They are the first producer to credit each product after the village where our liquid is made. When you see their beautiful green bottles you know it’s Del Maguey. Most of Del Maguey's mezcals are distilled to proof, so the ABV will vary slightly between batches.

In June of 2017, international spirits company, Pernod Ricard, purchased majority stake in the company. Del Maguey is now part of their portfolio that includes Jameson Whiskey, Absolute Vodka, and Havana Club Rum.

30 reviews

4.2 of out 5 stars


BartFargo

BartFargo

11 reviews
3 weeks ago

Lot CHI-177, 46%

Nose: A formal garden in the summer – green hedges, juniper trees, gravel, chalky earth, and burning brush in the distance. There’s also fruity pineapple and meringue, plus a bit of cocktail onion and sour pickle.

Palate: Smoke is more potent, and it’s sweeter than the nose, with cooked agave, sugarcane syrup, lychee, apricot, citrus peel and roasted green bell peppers. Mouthfeel is creamy and full.

Finish: Grapefruit, cooked agave, rosewater, sparkling minerality and a late resurgence of ash and smoke. Medium-short length.

DM Chichicapa was my first experience with mezcal and this batch is still very appealing to me, particularly how the earthy, vegetal nose unfolds into a sweet, smoky and full-bodied palate. Doesn’t really pack any wow factors, but it’s benchmark espadin.

Lot CHI-177, 46%
Nose: A formal garden in the summer – green hedges, juniper trees, gravel, chalky earth, and burning brush in the distance. There’s also fruity pineapple and meringue, plus a bit of cocktail onion and sour pickle.
Palate: Smoke is more potent, and it’s sweeter than the nose, with cooked agave, sugarcane syrup, lychee, apricot, citrus peel and roasted green bell peppers. Mouthfeel is creamy and full.
Finish: Grapefruit, cooked agave, rosewater, sparkling minerality an

Read more
Spirit_Chaser

Spirit_Chaser

19 reviews
2 months ago

Subtle smoke on the nose along with earthy, dusty, and vegetal notes…nothing too big. The taste changes all that though. Fruity (lemon/lime), earthy, vegetal, minty (spearmint), and some smoke all in one balanced package. Peppery/piney finish with subtle notes of burnt rubber. A bit thin on the mouthfeel but it’s a classic for a reason.

Yggy45

Yggy45

7 reviews
6 months ago

Lot CHI-175.

Understated nose, a small amount of smoke, some eucalyptus and cedar wood, maybe a little vanilla.

Oak barrels, mint, eucalyptus, cotton candy and bitter herbs on the palate, in that order, with a long slightly smokey finish. Great sipping!

Rakhal

Rakhal

100 reviews
6 months ago

Lot 181. Smooth and creamy. I’ve heard that this one was smokey but to me there was only a light smoke. Vegetal notes, asparagus, granite rock, mildly spicy.

Icypu

Icypu

4 reviews
7 months ago

Long finish, smooth and wet mouth feel. Late secondary taste of smoke, and end pepper note of alcohol. Perfect to sip neat, great choice.

darrenaustin

darrenaustin

6 reviews
8 months ago

Best to taste this one in a cognac glass. Gentle aromas of agave and (strangely) a familiar plasticy smell from my childhood. Nicely sweet flavor and long finish. Fun expression to explore slowly over an evening.

9 months ago

Clean and green, eucalyptus, mint, citrus… and bubblegum

Gastrafetes

Gastrafetes

5 reviews
9 months ago

I just went through a bottle and loved every single sip. Neat: campfire smoke, fresh cut grass, roasted peppers, lime. Add a few drops of water and new vegetal flavors will open up to the palate! This is a hell of a mezcal.
Food pairing suggestion: sip this while eating grapefruit. It will go down like water. The acidity of the grapefruit will overpower the acidity of the mezcal, leaving only the sweet and herbal notes. It will be like sipping a juice. Dangerous

pallzley

pallzley

5 reviews
9 months ago

chi-176
cantaloupe, banana, clovers, campfire, rubber. in this order. smell and palate mimicking. reminds me of the similar palate as their tobala. aftertaste is short-medium: agave sweetness and butter. pleasant and balanced. nice experience. as someone who has had his share of mezcals, i want more finish. nothing bad about this mezcal, maybe a tad bold for teetotalers (but what isn’t bold for newcomers? lol)

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

129 reviews
10 months ago

The first mezcal I ever had. Solid for an espadin expression. Always good to have a bottle on hand

Tomixology

Tomixology

17 reviews
10 months ago

Easily my current favourite example of the range of Espadin, much more complex and lighter then others previously tasted.
A delicate nose of fresh flowers and tones alluring to sweeter notes such as honey. It is lightly smoked and short lived in the mouth. Leading to a slightly chalky mouth finish with those sweeter flavours coming through, fresh, a little minty with a touch of chocolate. Enjoyed in comparison test of Espadin with others by DM.

NickSanford

NickSanford

11 reviews
11 months ago

After sipping this one on the rocks I tasted a lot more flavors. It was like going through a garden of earthy tastes that transferred into a tunnel of mintiness. You get all types of hints of green peppers and piney flavors at certain moments. Some people prefer neat, but I get more out of this one on ice. Really interesting Mezcal. So much like into this one.

Mateospirit

Mateospirit

8 reviews
11 months ago

Man this one is a complex beast. I get a super old funk like I can actually taste the old stone that crushed the agave. It’s almost like a deep dark well. There are things growing in it, a little musty, a earthiness, time. It is very animalic, leather, wood, spice, smoke, clay, rubber on a hot day. All of this in the best way possible. Not for the faint of heart. Lov this juice~

PDutton

PDutton

55 reviews
11 months ago

CHI-164, copyright extends to 2016.

Very complex, intense smoke. Reminds me of better peated whiskies (good versions of younger Springbanks [10yr]) – oodles of complexity hiding under the complex waves of smoke and the agave sweetness that reminds me of lowlands blue weber agave. Complex citrus, nice floral notes, fruit driven, spice tingling throughout, punchy herbs, touches of savory notes. Shows the power and potential of a well made espadin. I’m glad this one is available.

CHI-164, copyright extends to 2016.
Very complex, intense smoke. Reminds me of better peated whiskies (good versions of younger Springbanks [10yr]) – oodles of complexity hiding under the complex waves of smoke and the agave sweetness that reminds me of lowlands blue weber agave. Complex citrus, nice floral notes, fruit driven, spice tingling throughout, punchy herbs, touches of savory notes. Shows the power and potential of a well made espadin. I’m glad this one is available.

Read more
Mymic87

Mymic87

13 reviews
11 months ago

Nose: Amazingly fruity, it’s like a smoked cantaloupe, lime juice, cooked apple, pineapple, pears, wood smoke, pine needles, rock salt, marzipan, with water, Tarte tatin, salted pastry, mashed apricot,

Taste: Initially dry and vegital then gets a little sweeter, Smoke, roast agave, BBQ asparagus, garden peas, candied lemon and lime peel, Yuzu, salted caramel.

Comments: Amazing stuff, it’s many peoples favorite mezcal for good reason, super high quality stuff.

bumble

bumble

1 review
1 year ago

My main mezcal! An easy sipper with great flavor. Citrus & some smoke. Only problem is how quick the bottles seem to empty on me 😉 lot chi-178

MitchVortex

MitchVortex

1 review
1 year ago

This Mezcal is balls to the wall. It’s powerful with a luxurious sweetness at its foundation. For me it is best enjoyed neat. The fruity vanilla body coats your whole mouth and the finish is smooth. The alcohol does some subtle pummeling to your tongue, but it is most pleasurable. I highly recommend torching up a killer cigar and pouring a double of this. Crank up your favorite music and sit back and enjoy. Your senses will become aroused. Enjoy it with your lady friend. And if she doesn’t like it she should not be your lady friend.

This Mezcal is balls to the wall. It’s powerful with a luxurious sweetness at its foundation. For me it is best enjoyed neat. The fruity vanilla body coats your whole mouth and the finish is smooth. The alcohol does some subtle pummeling to your tongue, but it is most pleasurable. I highly recommend torching up a killer cigar and pouring a double of this. Crank up your favorite music and sit back and enjoy. Your senses will become aroused. Enjoy it with your lady friend. And if she doesn&#

Read more
1 year ago

Very good. Notes of olive.

Chris

Chris

36 reviews
1 year ago

CHI-121 Really solid in all respects. Great nose, flavors on the palate, finish. If any knock, a little too fruity. The Del Maguey Albarradas, in my case ALB-122, is a bit drier and Jolgorio espadin 04 2009 is a bit drier still.

JRB

JRB

11 reviews
1 year ago

Del Maguey Joven Mezcal – Chichicapa / 92 proof
Tahona milled, copper still. Moderate smoke, with agave and prominent fruit / citrus. It’s kind of amazing how the makers of Chichicapa can take the humble Espadin agave and make such a unique mezcal out of it. After my first taste I was honestly thinking “what the heck is this?” But pretty soon I was hooked. I think this is a great mezcal for newbies and for those who want something off the beaten path. (Lot CHI-173)

Del Maguey Joven Mezcal – Chichicapa / 92 proof
Tahona milled, copper still. Moderate smoke, with agave and prominent fruit / citrus. It’s kind of amazing how the makers of Chichicapa can take the humble Espadin agave and make such a unique mezcal out of it. After my first taste I was honestly thinking “what the heck is this?” But pretty soon I was hooked. I think this is a great mezcal for newbies and for those who want something off the beaten path. (Lot CHI-173)

Read more
Jonny

Jonny

327 reviews
1 year ago

Lot CHI-114. For me, this is another Del Maguey that tastes identical to the painting on the label of the bottle. I’ve noticed this with a few of them so it must be somewhat intentional. The aromas of this mezcal are not strong. There’s actually nothing overpowering on the nose just some light hints of fresh flowers. The palate, however, is pungent and packed with flavor. I get some notes similar to Texas bbq. That includes notes of mesquite, Worcester sauce, mustard seeds, and sesame seeds. It’s really phenomenal and has a deep smokey nature that coats the mouth.

Lot CHI-114. For me, this is another Del Maguey that tastes identical to the painting on the label of the bottle. I’ve noticed this with a few of them so it must be somewhat intentional. The aromas of this mezcal are not strong. There’s actually nothing overpowering on the nose just some light hints of fresh flowers. The palate, however, is pungent and packed with flavor. I get some notes similar to Texas bbq. That includes notes of mesquite, Worcester sauce, mustard seeds, and sesam

Read more
c_woodger

c_woodger

4 reviews
1 year ago

I had the pleasure of visiting this palenque 2 years ago and was able to meet Don Faustino and tell him how much I love his Mezcal. One of the finest expressions of Espadin as far as I’m concerned. Lots citrus and tropical fruit with herbal notes and subtle smoke as the back bone of this Mezcal. Que Rico!

PhilBrunski

PhilBrunski

19 reviews
2 years ago

Its all been said already. This is one of the best, with notes of juicy fruit, mint, and smoked meat. It gives you a little bit of everything while tasting balanced from start to finish. Give this to people who have never had mezcal before and watch their reactions!

LittleArm

LittleArm

4 reviews
2 years ago

Sweet and oh so citrussy! Very little heat in the beginning, smokiness builds slowly and pleasantly without overwhelming. Well worth a try

2 years ago

If you have the means buy this mezcal. A work of art that will continue to teach your palate new things with every sip.

razorbackmike

razorbackmike

92 reviews
2 years ago

all del magueys are great except the vida (its ok for mixing).all other reviewers mention the complexity of this fine mezcal.i totally agree.i have enjoyed this mezcal the last 10 years on a regular basis.i sometimes get new and different nuances with new bottles.the main basics i get everytime is mixtures of mint,cinnamon and chocolate.not always in that order and there is pepper kick swirling in the mix from start to finish.lovely!try the albarradas.its very good too.its very spicy and dry.

all del magueys are great except the vida (its ok for mixing).all other reviewers mention the complexity of this fine mezcal.i totally agree.i have enjoyed this mezcal the last 10 years on a regular basis.i sometimes get new and different nuances with new bottles.the main basics i get everytime is mixtures of mint,cinnamon and chocolate.not always in that order and there is pepper kick swirling in the mix from start to finish.lovely!try the albarradas.its very good too.its very spicy and dry.

Read more
rsidrys

rsidrys

38 reviews
3 years ago

The first Mezcal I ever tried, and it got me hooked! Very smoky, but a clean and pleasant smoke with a hint of bacon. You can taste the agave earthiness, and tropical fruits on the mouth and finish along with citrus and mint. Highly recommend this to newbies as its easy to find in most markets.

Tyler

Tyler

311 reviews
3 years ago

The Del Maguey Chichicapa is one of my go-to mezcals. It’s gamey on the nose and has an oily mouthfeel (almost like a pechuga!). It has some bright citrus notes that open up a rich honey-vanilla sweetness and smooth finish.

I especially recommend this to mezcal newbies – it really shows you how unique mezcal from espadin agave can be depending on the mezcalero and palenque that involved crafting the spirit. Mezcalheads should add this one to their collection. While I’ve tasted this mezcal many times in multiple venues, this review was written while enjoying a 2015 Batch #4 bottle.

The Del Maguey Chichicapa is one of my go-to mezcals. It’s gamey on the nose and has an oily mouthfeel (almost like a pechuga!). It has some bright citrus notes that open up a rich honey-vanilla sweetness and smooth finish.
I especially recommend this to mezcal newbies – it really shows you how unique mezcal from espadin agave can be depending on the mezcalero and palenque that involved crafting the spirit. Mezcalheads should add this one to their collection. While I’ve tasted

Read more
Sandy

Sandy

11 reviews
3 years ago

More fruity than other mezcals with a very complex finish

3chainz

3chainz

19 reviews
3 years ago

Complex and fruity with an exceptional finish….dangerously easy to sip this one all night

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top