Powered by 100% agave

Del Maguey Chichicapa

The Del Maguey Chichicapa is a classic release that may very well be one of the most well-known mezcals on the international market.

Rating: (86 reviews)
Cost:$$
Brand:Del Maguey Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O41X
Mezcalero:Faustino Garcia Vasquez
Maguey:Espadin
Agave:Angustifolia
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:San Baltazar Chichicapam
ABV: 46%
Website: http://delmaguey.com, opens in new window
Ownership:Pernod Ricard

About this mezcal

The Del Maguey Chichicapa has a relatively light nose, yet it is deep and sweet on the tongue with lots of citrus and a complex character. It has a long finish with developing smokiness and a hint of chocolate and mint at the end. The town of Chichicapa is dry and tropical, depending on the time of year, with banana trees, guava, and mangoes.

Del Maguey Mezcal

Del Maguey (pronounced ma–gay), Single Village Mezcal was founded in 1995 by internationally renowned artist and Mezcal visionary, Ron Cooper. Ron introduced the world to previously unavailable 100% certified organic, artisanal Mezcal produced the original handcrafted way. Through deep cultural relationships with Zapotec Mexican Indian producers in the remote villages of Oaxaca, Mexico, Del Maguey harnesses ancient, original organic processes. Combining these methods with varying micro-climates and terroir gives each creation its own unique, rich, sweet and smoky character. Every product in their collection is made by individual family palenqueros (producers) in old-style villages. They are the first producer to credit each product after the village where our liquid is made. When you see their beautiful green bottles you know it’s Del Maguey. Most of Del Maguey’s mezcals are distilled to proof, so the ABV will vary slightly between batches.

In June of 2017, international spirits company, Pernod Ricard, purchased majority stake in the company. Del Maguey is now part of their portfolio that includes Jameson Whiskey, Absolute Vodka, and Havana Club Rum.

Member rating

4.03 out of 5

86 reviews

Bryen

Bryen

61 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Had this a few times so figured it’s worth reviewing. A great starter mezcal and easily accessible in many parts of the US. Very Smokey, chocolatey, and easy to sip. DM gets a lot of hate for good reason but can’t hate on this one too much.

BlackBeard

BlackBeard

7 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Nice smoky smell, but the taste is so fruity and hard in one time. Nice!

Average José

Average José

54 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars6 months ago

Lote: CHI-208
ABV: 48%

The most reviewed Mezcal on the market for a reason. Nose is a mix of mandarin orange, peppercorn, sweet berries and vanilla. Pleasant and enjoyable.

Medium oil mouthful with an immediate forward of smoky barbecue followed by black cherry and that light hint of rubber ball at the end, overall quite nice considering its price point.

The finish is not that deep though and turns just a tiny bit sour before disappearing completely… Absolutely perfect for quality mixings, first time introductions and scratching the itch when you’re in a location with no other availability to the highest-quality expressions. A solid 3.75/5.

Lote: CHI-208
ABV: 48%
The most reviewed Mezcal on the market for a reason. Nose is a mix of mandarin orange, peppercorn, sweet berries and vanilla. Pleasant and enjoyable.
Medium oil mouthful with an immediate forward of smoky barbecue followed by black cherry and that light hint of rubber ball at the end, overall quite nice considering its price point.
The finish is not that deep though and turns just a tiny bit sour before disappearing completely… Absolutely perfect for quality mixings, fir

Read more
Bootlegger

Bootlegger

3 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars6 months ago

Smooth, simple, smokey, great

GMAD

GMAD

91 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars7 months ago

LOT CHI-215 2022/05/14, 48%

Nose – More spicy than your typical Espadin; cloves, pina colada, dill pickles, and a hint of citrus. Some funk and cheesiness in there as well; glue, Kraft singles.

Palate – Strong tangy flavor; tropical. Hawaiian barbecue, bananas, tamarind, pineapple, allspice.

Finish – It becomes bittersweet and dries out; grapefruit, orange rind.

Classic Del Maguey, classic Mezcal; this is always a staple. Elevate your cocktails, or simply a good all-rounder to sip on. Perfect for anyone at the surface level of Mezcal.

LOT CHI-215 2022/05/14, 48%
Nose – More spicy than your typical Espadin; cloves, pina colada, dill pickles, and a hint of citrus. Some funk and cheesiness in there as well; glue, Kraft singles.
Palate – Strong tangy flavor; tropical. Hawaiian barbecue, bananas, tamarind, pineapple, allspice.
Finish – It becomes bittersweet and dries out; grapefruit, orange rind.
Classic Del Maguey, classic Mezcal; this is always a staple. Elevate your cocktails, or simply a good all-rounder t

Read more
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars8 months ago

Lot CHI-212, very good for Espadín. I usually start people off with this one when trying mezcal for the first time. Sometimes a little too pricey.

gam0r

gam0r

1 review
Rated 4 out of 5 stars9 months ago

Lots of citrus and smoke, i liked it a lot

agave_papi

agave_papi

3 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars9 months ago

Terrific mezcal to be enjoyed neat

Rated 4 out of 5 stars12 months ago

Solid Espadin. Definitely the smokiest of the bunch. Notes of Citrus, herbal with a mint finish.

Jose M. Aguayo

Jose M. Aguayo

11 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

maguey cocido; Dulce; pineapple; Bacon

mt_rainyer

mt_rainyer

43 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars1 year ago

I haven’t tasted this in a few years, but have notes from two batches below (don’t have batch numbers unfortunately). Folks mention that this is a great intro bottle of Mezcal – I think there are better bottles out there as an intro for better prices, but do recognize availability makes this accessible.

2014 – On the smokier bbq side, with just a touch of sweetness and citrus at the tail end. Overall smoke is the primary note. Viscous and sticky in the glass.

2021 – First time trying in many years, this batch is significantly sweeter, lighter, and thinner. Tastier flavor profile as a whole.

I haven’t tasted this in a few years, but have notes from two batches below (don’t have batch numbers unfortunately). Folks mention that this is a great intro bottle of Mezcal – I think there are better bottles out there as an intro for better prices, but do recognize availability makes this accessible.
2014 – On the smokier bbq side, with just a touch of sweetness and citrus at the tail end. Overall smoke is the primary note. Viscous and sticky in the glass.
2021 –

Read more
Ranger_Ryan

Ranger_Ryan

47 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Lot CHI-215, 2022/05/17
Really awesome mezcal, the hype is real. Complex flavor, oily mouth feel, agave, pineapple. More fruit forward in aroma than smokey. A mainstay.

Forpowder

Forpowder

96 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Lot CHI-197 48% Aroma’s out of the bottle are mutued butterscotch and light Alcohol and smoke. Taste Follows The aroma with butterscott Prickly green flavors. No real fruit flavor dry and mineral. To me the smokest of the lineup. Probably one of my least favorite Del Maguey Mezcals. This one is hot.

bluImbibe

bluImbibe

40 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

LOT CHI-221
Light yet complex. Good introductory mezcal for folks who want to try a different, refreshing espadin expression. The first bottle of Chichicapa I’ve tried about a year ago left me blown away with the distinct butterscotch aroma and floral, fruit forward taste it left on my palate (think honeydew). This one is still light and refreshing, producing a very citric, lime aroma with a thin layer of smoke that dissolves into floral and slightly fruity.
Whenever I get someone in my bar who wants an introduction to complex mezcales, this one is always on the flight.

LOT CHI-221
Light yet complex. Good introductory mezcal for folks who want to try a different, refreshing espadin expression. The first bottle of Chichicapa I’ve tried about a year ago left me blown away with the distinct butterscotch aroma and floral, fruit forward taste it left on my palate (think honeydew). This one is still light and refreshing, producing a very citric, lime aroma with a thin layer of smoke that dissolves into floral and slightly fruity.
Whenever I get someone in my ba

Read more
flanger88

flanger88

3 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

This is not nearly as offensive as I thought it would be from reading the reviews. the “super smokey” attribute manifested more as a kind of polite petroly and well-rounded, smooth nectary sweetness. For lack of a better description, if you were ever at a gas station and enjoyed the smell of the fuel – this will probably satisfy you. I’m still exploring this one as it surely turns out to be a good purchase (CHI-192)

MezPal20

MezPal20

11 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Hints of sweet licorice on the nose with a very clean fresh vegetal note like snow peas underneath a layer of fine cold pine smoke. Smoked, slightly underripe pineapple and chilis waft in and out too. In time, queso fresco appears as well. The palate is sweet and smooth with quickly vanishing butterscotch notes, a pinch of cayenne pepper and lots of woodsmoke, a touch of licorice, and mineral. The body is soft and velvety, but not quite full bodied. It leaves a nice mist behind in the glass. On the finish it becomes much drier, with a lingering fruit sugar sweetness, perhaps yellow apple or pear, but much more vegetal and mineral like parsnips baked on hot slate over a rubber tire fire. A very enjoyable Mezcal to sip.

Hints of sweet licorice on the nose with a very clean fresh vegetal note like snow peas underneath a layer of fine cold pine smoke. Smoked, slightly underripe pineapple and chilis waft in and out too. In time, queso fresco appears as well. The palate is sweet and smooth with quickly vanishing butterscotch notes, a pinch of cayenne pepper and lots of woodsmoke, a touch of licorice, and mineral. The body is soft and velvety, but not quite full bodied. It leaves a nice mist behind in the glass. On

Read more
yoni

yoni

5 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

forgot the batch number but it doesnt matter this is the gateway drug for Mezal . Aromas of fruit and cheese, flavor bomb of cheese tropical fruit sweetness. apple, well rounded smoke. Full and meaty. Ticks all the boxes. a must try.

mhermalyn

mhermalyn

2 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Not as much smoke as I normally look for, but it’s such an enjoyable sipping drink. One of my favorites.

JDB

JDB

172 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Lot: CHI-205, 48% abv A bit of leather on the nose, sweet briefly up front, some fruit notes like pear and plum with a hint of bubblegum, and then lingering smoke in the finish. I also get a touch of anise and mint. The heat does last for a while. While this is the last of this bottle, it does still hold up well. I agree with others that there are better Espadins for the price (Vago and Cuish come to mind), and lots of competition from new brands and mezcaleras getting more distribution.

Lot: CHI-205, 48% abv A bit of leather on the nose, sweet briefly up front, some fruit notes like pear and plum with a hint of bubblegum, and then lingering smoke in the finish. I also get a touch of anise and mint. The heat does last for a while. While this is the last of this bottle, it does still hold up well. I agree with others that there are better Espadins for the price (Vago and Cuish come to mind), and lots of competition from new brands and mezcaleras getting more distribution.

Read more
Manning

Manning

24 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

This was my first bottle of mezcal, and it’s an excellent way to start. It’s got a nice citrus taste with a hint of basil and mint and a slight peppery kick at the end. It’s sweet, but not overly sweet – more like a kiss of honey on the finish. I also get a bit of tropical fruit, but mostly lime and grapefruit. Very good oily mouthfeel and only a hint of smoke – slightly charred pineapple with bacon. Goes down way too easy, and I keep going back for more. Overall 8/10.

This was my first bottle of mezcal, and it’s an excellent way to start. It’s got a nice citrus taste with a hint of basil and mint and a slight peppery kick at the end. It’s sweet, but not overly sweet – more like a kiss of honey on the finish. I also get a bit of tropical fruit, but mostly lime and grapefruit. Very good oily mouthfeel and only a hint of smoke – slightly charred pineapple with bacon. Goes down way too easy, and I keep going back for more. Overall

Read more

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top