Powered by 100% agave

Del Maguey Chichicapa

The Del Maguey Chichicapa has a relatively light nose, yet it is deep and sweet on the tongue.

Rating: (14 reviews)
Brand:Del Maguey Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O41X
Mezcalero:Faustino Garcia Vasquez
Agave:Espadin
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:San Baltazar Chichicapam
ABV: 46%
Website: http://delmaguey.com
About this mezcal

The Del Maguey Chichicapa has a relatively light nose, yet it is deep and sweet on the tongue with lots of citrus and a very complex character. It has a long finish with developing smokiness and a hint of chocolate and mint at the end.  The pueblo where this Mezcal is made is at an elevation of about 7,000 feet. Chichicapa is separated from the valley of Oaxaca by a mountain range. The climate is desert and tropical, with banana trees, guava, and mangoes. Faustino Garcia Vasquez is the maker of Chichicapa.  His craft is very well developed and contains a lot of deep character.

Del Maguey Mezcal

Del Maguey (pronounced ma–gay), Single Village Mezcal was founded in 1995 by internationally renowned artist and Mezcal visionary, Ron Cooper. Ron introduced the world to previously unavailable 100% certified organic, artisanal Mezcal produced the original handcrafted way. Through deep cultural relationships with Zapotec Mexican Indian producers in the remote villages of Oaxaca, Mexico, Del Maguey harnesses ancient, original organic processes. Combining these methods with varying micro-climates and terroir gives each creation its own unique, rich, sweet and smoky character. Every product in their collection is made by individual family palenqueros (producers) in old-style villages. They are the first producer to credit each product after the village where our liquid is made. When you see their beautiful green bottles you know it’s Del Maguey. Most of Del Maguey's mezcals are distilled to proof, so the ABV will vary slightly between batches.

In June of 2017, international spirits company, Pernod Ricard, purchased majority stake in the company. Del Maguey is now part of their portfolio that includes Jameson Whiskey, Absolute Vodka, and Havana Club Rum.

14 reviews

4.3 of out 5 stars


MitchVortex on Jul 3, 2018

1 review

  • Overall:

This Mezcal is balls to the wall. It’s powerful with a luxurious sweetness at its foundation. For me it is best enjoyed neat. The fruity vanilla body coats your whole mouth and the finish is smooth. The alcohol does some subtle pummeling to your tongue, but it is most pleasurable. I highly recommend torching up a killer cigar and pouring a double of this. Crank up your favorite music and sit back and enjoy. Your senses will become aroused. Enjoy it with your lady friend. And if she doesn’t like it she should not be your lady friend.

This Mezcal is balls to the wall. It’s powerful with a luxurious sweetness at its foundation. For me it is best enjoyed neat. The fruity vanilla body coats your whole mouth and the finish is smooth. The alcohol does some subtle pummeling to your tongue, but it is most pleasurable. I highly recommend torching up a killer cigar and pouring a double of this. Crank up your favorite music and sit back and enjoy. Your senses will become aroused. Enjoy it with your lady friend. And if she doesn&#

Read more

Wanderingspider on May 3, 2018

8 reviews

  • Overall:

Very good. Notes of olive.

Chris on Apr 18, 2018

18 reviews

  • Overall:

CHI-121 Really solid in all respects. Great nose, flavors on the palate, finish. If any knock, a little too fruity. The Del Maguey Albarradas, in my case ALB-122, is a bit drier and Jolgorio espadin 04 2009 is a bit drier still.

JRB on Apr 10, 2018

11 reviews

  • Overall:

Del Maguey Joven Mezcal – Chichicapa / 92 proof
Tahona milled, copper still. Moderate smoke, with agave and prominent fruit / citrus. It’s kind of amazing how the makers of Chichicapa can take the humble Espadin agave and make such a unique mezcal out of it. After my first taste I was honestly thinking “what the heck is this?” But pretty soon I was hooked. I think this is a great mezcal for newbies and for those who want something off the beaten path. (Lot CHI-173)

Del Maguey Joven Mezcal – Chichicapa / 92 proof
Tahona milled, copper still. Moderate smoke, with agave and prominent fruit / citrus. It’s kind of amazing how the makers of Chichicapa can take the humble Espadin agave and make such a unique mezcal out of it. After my first taste I was honestly thinking “what the heck is this?” But pretty soon I was hooked. I think this is a great mezcal for newbies and for those who want something off the beaten path. (Lot CHI-173)

Read more

Jonny on Mar 21, 2018

214 reviews

  • Overall:

Lot CHI-114. For me, this is another Del Maguey that tastes identical to the painting on the label of the bottle. I’ve noticed this with a few of them so it must be somewhat intentional. The aromas of this mezcal are not strong. There’s actually nothing overpowering on the nose just some light hints of fresh flowers. The palate, however, is pungent and packed with flavor. I get some notes similar to Texas bbq. That includes notes of mesquite, Worcester sauce, mustard seeds, and sesame seeds. It’s really phenomenal and has a deep smokey nature that coats the mouth.

Lot CHI-114. For me, this is another Del Maguey that tastes identical to the painting on the label of the bottle. I’ve noticed this with a few of them so it must be somewhat intentional. The aromas of this mezcal are not strong. There’s actually nothing overpowering on the nose just some light hints of fresh flowers. The palate, however, is pungent and packed with flavor. I get some notes similar to Texas bbq. That includes notes of mesquite, Worcester sauce, mustard seeds, and sesam

Read more

c_woodger on Mar 18, 2018

4 reviews

  • Overall:

I had the pleasure of visiting this palenque 2 years ago and was able to meet Don Faustino and tell him how much I love his Mezcal. One of the finest expressions of Espadin as far as I’m concerned. Lots citrus and tropical fruit with herbal notes and subtle smoke as the back bone of this Mezcal. Que Rico!

PhilBrunski on Dec 30, 2017

13 reviews

  • Overall:

Its all been said already. This is one of the best, with notes of juicy fruit, mint, and smoked meat. It gives you a little bit of everything while tasting balanced from start to finish. Give this to people who have never had mezcal before and watch their reactions!

LittleArm on Aug 9, 2017

1 review

  • Overall:

Sweet and oh so citrussy! Very little heat in the beginning, smokiness builds slowly and pleasantly without overwhelming. Well worth a try

SeattleMezcalLover on Jun 6, 2017

9 reviews

  • Overall:

If you have the means buy this mezcal. A work of art that will continue to teach your palate new things with every sip.

razorbackmike on Apr 5, 2017

75 reviews

  • Overall:

all del magueys are great except the vida (its ok for mixing).all other reviewers mention the complexity of this fine mezcal.i totally agree.i have enjoyed this mezcal the last 10 years on a regular basis.i sometimes get new and different nuances with new bottles.the main basics i get everytime is mixtures of mint,cinnamon and chocolate.not always in that order and there is pepper kick swirling in the mix from start to finish.lovely!try the albarradas.its very good too.its very spicy and dry.

all del magueys are great except the vida (its ok for mixing).all other reviewers mention the complexity of this fine mezcal.i totally agree.i have enjoyed this mezcal the last 10 years on a regular basis.i sometimes get new and different nuances with new bottles.the main basics i get everytime is mixtures of mint,cinnamon and chocolate.not always in that order and there is pepper kick swirling in the mix from start to finish.lovely!try the albarradas.its very good too.its very spicy and dry.

Read more

rsidrys on Nov 2, 2016

16 reviews

  • Overall:

The first Mezcal I ever tried, and it got me hooked! Very smoky, but a clean and pleasant smoke with a hint of bacon. You can taste the agave earthiness, and tropical fruits on the mouth and finish along with citrus and mint. Highly recommend this to newbies as its easy to find in most markets.

Tyler on Nov 1, 2016

189 reviews

  • Overall:

The Del Maguey Chichicapa is one of my go-to mezcals. It’s gamey on the nose and has an oily mouthfeel (almost like a pechuga!). It has some bright citrus notes that open up a rich honey-vanilla sweetness and smooth finish.

I especially recommend this to mezcal newbies – it really shows you how unique mezcal from espadin agave can be depending on the mezcalero and palenque that involved crafting the spirit. Mezcalheads should add this one to their collection. While I’ve tasted this mezcal many times in multiple venues, this review was written while enjoying a 2015 Batch #4 bottle.

The Del Maguey Chichicapa is one of my go-to mezcals. It’s gamey on the nose and has an oily mouthfeel (almost like a pechuga!). It has some bright citrus notes that open up a rich honey-vanilla sweetness and smooth finish.
I especially recommend this to mezcal newbies – it really shows you how unique mezcal from espadin agave can be depending on the mezcalero and palenque that involved crafting the spirit. Mezcalheads should add this one to their collection. While I’ve tasted

Read more

Sandy on Sep 19, 2016

11 reviews

  • Overall:

More fruity than other mezcals with a very complex finish

3chainz on Sep 17, 2016

19 reviews

  • Overall:

Complex and fruity with an exceptional finish….dangerously easy to sip this one all night

Write a mezcal review

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Follow @mezcalreviews