Powered by 100% agave

Del Maguey Minero

Del Maguey Minero is produced in Santa Catarina Minas, which is renowned for it’s use of traditional clay pot distillation.

About this mezcal

The Del Maguey Minero from Santa Catarina Minas has a nose full of flower essence, vanilla, and figs with a burnt honey flavor and a bit of lemon. The Mezcal Minero is deep and warm, sweet all the way to the finish. The name Minero can be a bit confusing at first. It refers to a Mezcal from Santa Catarina Minas, and the name Minero is used by several brands that have production in the small town.

Del Maguey Mezcal

Del Maguey (pronounced ma–gay), Single Village Mezcal was founded in 1995 by internationally renowned artist and Mezcal visionary, Ron Cooper. Ron introduced the world to previously unavailable 100% certified organic, artisanal Mezcal produced the original handcrafted way. Through deep cultural relationships with Zapotec Mexican Indian producers in the remote villages of Oaxaca, Mexico, Del Maguey harnesses ancient, original organic processes. Combining these methods with varying micro-climates and terroir gives each creation its own unique, rich, sweet and smoky character. Every product in their collection is made by individual family palenqueros (producers) in old-style villages. They are the first producer to credit each product after the village where our liquid is made. When you see their beautiful green bottles you know it’s Del Maguey. Most of Del Maguey's mezcals are distilled to proof, so the ABV will vary slightly between batches.

In June of 2017, international spirits company, Pernod Ricard, purchased majority stake in the company. Del Maguey is now part of their portfolio that includes Jameson Whiskey, Absolute Vodka, and Havana Club Rum.

16 reviews

3.78 out of 5


Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

292 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 weeks ago

Nose – Fresh cut watermelon. Sweet Tarts candy dust. I get some of the Minas clay pot funk (and enjoy it!).

Palate – Welcoming viscosity (medium). Papaya (and a general tropical fruit sugary sweetness). The clay is present although not as much as I thought it would based on the nose. A bbq meatiness in the finish and aftertaste – charred, fire-grilled carne asada (seasoned generously with sea salt and white pepper). There is a lot to like here.

Gair_MezcalTalk

Gair_MezcalTalk

3 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 months ago

Enjoyable floral and mineral vibe. I wanted the clay to come through a bit more noticeable to me.

WagonTrain

WagonTrain

4 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 months ago

Lot: SCM-192; 100 Proof (which I like).

Initial opening and first on-the-nose-pour: slight acetone, followed by more acetone after a second or two, then slowly building and mixing onward together with a slight smoke scent…

When I dabbed a finger dip between my wrists (Yes, I dab onto my inside wrists, smack my wrists together a few times, and sniff), I could not help but to recognize a similar smell when testing a Le Labo Calogne (not too long ago). It didn’t come to me right away, but when it did, I distinctly smelled their ROSE 31 (not exactly the same smell, but more like a very close first cousin smell-alike); the scent lasted 3-4 minutes and then faded.

Ten second swish, swirl, and swallow was a little hot; maybe even spicy…

Second on-the-nose sniff: lighter acetone, mixed with some floral wood smell (again, similar to Le Labo ROSE 31), but I had to focus and fish for it…

First big Kiss (sip): a touch of sweet/mineral, and then smoothness followed by a nice stretch of heat for 10/15 seconds, with a touch of smoke – maybe…

Second Kiss: hmmmm, “do I like or really, really like this?”, were the thoughts… And, is it really an Espadin???? I even re-read the bottle to make sure…

No third sniff, just a finisher kiss: good and smooth; it opened up! Still had heat that lingered, but some sweetness came through… Maybe a touch of a Medjool Date like sweetness, but not lasting, nor nearly as sweet, and some light smoke, but, again, only if I listened carefully for it, as it whisked down into the abyss of my belly…

Moreover, this is a Homerun, for an Espadin, and it is a great sipper; the softness of the clay shines through here, and I am left wondering if that is simply the magic here. I would not want to MIX this with anything other than the glass I would be pouring it into and drinking from. I was excited to read from another reviewer that this might be a light introduction or something comparable (yet not as good) to their Chichicapa; which of course means I need to try that soon and compare… FWIW and for my own satisfaction, I would like to taste test this against my Real Minero Espadin, within a few weeks time and might add anything notable if and when I do… Otherwise, that’s a moot point.

On the down side: I deducted one star based on the $70 price tag… At $60-$63 or under, this would be a staple in my small collection; however, I am feeling that it just might be best to jump up to their chichicapa instead. But, don’t get me wrong: for a 100 proof Espadin, this is smooth and in a class above the rest. But, at $70… I’d stick with a $40 one liter of El Buho instead… Sure, maybe El Buho is a drop hotter and not as smooth… But, again, the cost keeps it from being a grand slam. I’d prefer to pay a drop extra for a grand slam (maybe the chichicapa; if it’s reasonably available and not a million bucks), rather than just a single run homerun. Why settle?

Lot: SCM-192; 100 Proof (which I like).
Initial opening and first on-the-nose-pour: slight acetone, followed by more acetone after a second or two, then slowly building and mixing onward together with a slight smoke scent…
When I dabbed a finger dip between my wrists (Yes, I dab onto my inside wrists, smack my wrists together a few times, and sniff), I could not help but to recognize a similar smell when testing a Le Labo Calogne (not too long ago). It didn’t come to me right away,

Read more
Tmwilliams

Tmwilliams

6 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Spicy and sweet to the nose, but it doesn’t last as long as I hoped. It has some complex aromas and a nice taste, although light on the lips. Herbal, sweet and fruity flavors form a nice combination. This is a complex mezcal with a subtle, but present smoke taste. Overall a really nice mezcal.

aarild

aarild

67 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Strange experience at first with unexpected aromas on the nose. A bit minerality but in the same way a young white Riesling white wine springs to life a few seconds after opening; it smells a bit herbal and chalky, with a hint of some undeveloped fruit. Onthe palate it is nearly creamy, smoke and alcohol are prominent but well integrated. It takes a couple of seconds in the mouth before the agave reveals itself. Medium aftertaste. Solid and faultless, perhaps lacking a bit complexity but feels sturdy and like something you can revisit over several years.

Strange experience at first with unexpected aromas on the nose. A bit minerality but in the same way a young white Riesling white wine springs to life a few seconds after opening; it smells a bit herbal and chalky, with a hint of some undeveloped fruit. Onthe palate it is nearly creamy, smoke and alcohol are prominent but well integrated. It takes a couple of seconds in the mouth before the agave reveals itself. Medium aftertaste. Solid and faultless, perhaps lacking a bit complexity but feels

Read more
Wanderingspider

Wanderingspider

46 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 months ago

This batch is 2015 or 2016. Similar to the Del Maguey chichicapa. A bit more smoke. Clay, leather and black olive.
Decent balance that’s good for mixed drinks but also definitely could be sipped.

SoloAgave

SoloAgave

84 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars11 months ago

A great opportunity to try a clay pot distilled mezcal from Santa Catarina Minas for less than $80/botle retail. Floral, sweet, smooth, vanilla, and that clay pot magic that has no substitute.

Roro08

Roro08

1 review
Rated 4 out of 5 stars11 months ago

First ever bottle of mezcal from a while back!

COak

COak

136 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Lot SCM-192. I’ve noticed this bottle has been harder to find and the price has gone way up which is unfortunate. The clay pots makes this a really good espadin. I like all of the mezcal from Santa Catarina Minas.

Mansson

Mansson

71 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

My first mezcal, bought probably ten years ago and opened only in the autumn of 2016. Although I’ve had some more Minero afterwards, this review is mostly from memory. It has quite a pronounced smoky character but it is so well integrated and balanced against the agave fruitiness and minerality. It is a very pleasant, easy drink – no wonder my friend and I finished the bottle in a few hours.

El_Cura

El_Cura

31 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Minero, almost, if not as good as Vago’s Espadin en Barro by Tío Rey.

Rorschach

Rorschach

37 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lot SCM-151
Mineraly with a bite. Smooths out after opening to air.

Rakhal

Rakhal

317 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Lot 183A. Creamy, earthy and mineral. Chalk, hemp, cardboard. Dry short finish with little complexity and a lot of alcohol burn.

JRB

JRB

13 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Del Maguey Joven Mezcal Minero / 98 proof
Hand milled, clay pot still. Hint of vanilla, heavy smoke and some agave. This was my second foray into a clay pot distilled mezcal. (Don’t ask about the first one I tried!) I’m not sure of the influence from the clay pot – did not detect anything in the nose or taste that I could tie to the clay pot. Nevertheless, this is a very good unique sipping mezcal. (Lot SCM-128)

Edit 2020 – Updating my rating as it is now my favorite Del Maguey mezcal. Only nit is for a Espadin mezcal it seems a bit expensive.

Del Maguey Joven Mezcal Minero / 98 proof
Hand milled, clay pot still. Hint of vanilla, heavy smoke and some agave. This was my second foray into a clay pot distilled mezcal. (Don’t ask about the first one I tried!) I’m not sure of the influence from the clay pot – did not detect anything in the nose or taste that I could tie to the clay pot. Nevertheless, this is a very good unique sipping mezcal. (Lot SCM-128)
Edit 2020 – Updating my rating as it is now my favorite Del

Read more
Jonny

Jonny

535 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Lot SCM 113. Found an old wax-top bottle of this and absolutely had to buy it. I buy all Del Maguey that I find with a wax top. The bottles look better and the mezcal has that additional age from being on the shelf so long. This one from 2011 is awesome! The age has done it well as I like it a lot more than some of the newer batches I’ve tasted. I’m really enjoying this a lot. If you like clay pot distilled mezcal, this is a must. It’s beautifully balanced. Aromas of wet clay and fermented herbs. The body has incredible finesse with notes of charcoal, fresh lime, and lemon zest. This is a really nice clay mezcal.

Lot SCM 113. Found an old wax-top bottle of this and absolutely had to buy it. I buy all Del Maguey that I find with a wax top. The bottles look better and the mezcal has that additional age from being on the shelf so long. This one from 2011 is awesome! The age has done it well as I like it a lot more than some of the newer batches I’ve tasted. I’m really enjoying this a lot. If you like clay pot distilled mezcal, this is a must. It’s beautifully balanced. Aromas of wet clay a

Read more
Tyler

Tyler

503 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 years ago

The Minero is one of the classic Del Maguey mezcals. It’s very tasty and reminds me a bit of their Chichicapa offering, except it has more of a straightforward “smoke” on the nose and palate. There is a hint of leathery caramel while sipping and it finishes with a bit of a bite. The Minero definitely stands out in the espadin category. It’s one I’d recommend to mezcal newbies who enjoy bourbon. One interesting note is that this was distilled in clay, however I get much of a clay taste here. Batch 12-8.

The Minero is one of the classic Del Maguey mezcals. It’s very tasty and reminds me a bit of their Chichicapa offering, except it has more of a straightforward “smoke” on the nose and palate. There is a hint of leathery caramel while sipping and it finishes with a bit of a bite. The Minero definitely stands out in the espadin category. It’s one I’d recommend to mezcal newbies who enjoy bourbon. One interesting note is that this was distilled in clay, however I get m

Read more
Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top