Powered by 100% agave

Del Maguey Santo Domingo Albarradas

Del Maguey Santa Domingo Albarradas is by the mezcalero, Espiridion Morales Luis, who has been making Mezcal here since the 1950s.

About this mezcal

Del Maguey Santo Domingo Albarradas has a high light nose with lots of citrus overtones. There’s a bit of roasted pear, and lots of tropical fruit on the tongue, spicy and woody with a clean dry finish.  The mezcalero, Espiridion Morales Luis, has been making Mezcal here since the 1950s. Together with his son Juan, he continues to produce by hand this mezcal.

Del Maguey Mezcal

Del Maguey (pronounced ma–gay), Single Village Mezcal was founded in 1995 by internationally renowned artist and Mezcal visionary, Ron Cooper. Ron introduced the world to previously unavailable 100% certified organic, artisanal Mezcal produced the original handcrafted way. Through deep cultural relationships with Zapotec Mexican Indian producers in the remote villages of Oaxaca, Mexico, Del Maguey harnesses ancient, original organic processes. Combining these methods with varying micro-climates and terroir gives each creation its own unique, rich, sweet and smoky character. Every product in their collection is made by individual family palenqueros (producers) in old-style villages. They are the first producer to credit each product after the village where our liquid is made. When you see their beautiful green bottles you know it’s Del Maguey. Most of Del Maguey’s mezcals are distilled to proof, so the ABV will vary slightly between batches.

In June of 2017, international spirits company, Pernod Ricard, purchased majority stake in the company. Del Maguey is now part of their portfolio that includes Jameson Whiskey, Absolute Vodka, and Havana Club Rum.

18 reviews

3.64 out of 5

yoni

yoni

5 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Nom o41x lot sda 201
Full bodied fresh sweet fruit on the nose. Tropical fruit sweetness. Strawberry guava. Some apple. Salinity.
Mouthfeel keeps many of those flavors and notes so. Nice and warm all the down. Takes a bit of a dry clay note toward the loong finish but keeps the fruity sweetness along with a well rounded smokiness. Wonderful and complex.

tecolotesweet

tecolotesweet

14 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

sda 202 – strong clay nose. corny/vegetal taste with mid-level smoke, some nice spice, and a hotter finish than i would particularly care for, but regardless, not a bad sipper. i think that overall, the flavor is more complex and carries more depth than my old standard del maguey vida, but the vida is a little more palatable so i’d honestly probably spring for that one instead.

JDB

JDB

54 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars6 months ago

Lot #SDA-191 Down to the last few sips of this bottle, and the flavors have concentrated. Sweet nose with faint smoke, tastes of pear and persimmon, lingering heat and a touch of minerality on the palate. Has great balance and flavor. I think Del Maguey stills stands up though not all of the offerings are equal. (some single villages are not created equal). Would buy this bottle again if I could find it under $70.

Americana Kyle

Americana Kyle

60 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars7 months ago

Lot SDA-191 / 48%

This one doesnt really resonate with me much. It’s really smokey on the nose and has a Metalic quality I’m not so fond of. I like the viscosity and mouthfeel of it. I use this one for cocktails.

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

421 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars9 months ago

Lot: SDA-191
Nose – A big hit of powdered sugar, white pen eraser (that never seemed to work anyways) and ethanol. This seems a tad more vapory than most.

Palate – Mouth feel is slick. More sugar and rubber. There is an ethanol bite to this at first. I had to let this open up for fifteen minutes and it smartened up a bit. Vanilla and over roasted hazelnut come through after, a nice sweetness and less rough. This is a decent espadin but not near as good as Chichicapa for the same price. 3.25 stars but rounding down for value.

Lot: SDA-191
Nose – A big hit of powdered sugar, white pen eraser (that never seemed to work anyways) and ethanol. This seems a tad more vapory than most.
Palate – Mouth feel is slick. More sugar and rubber. There is an ethanol bite to this at first. I had to let this open up for fifteen minutes and it smartened up a bit. Vanilla and over roasted hazelnut come through after, a nice sweetness and less rough. This is a decent espadin but not near as good as Chichicapa for the same pri

Read more
aarild

aarild

109 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars12 months ago

A bit rough nose, but after breathing a bit a strong aroma of apricot pits, old library shelves and slightly charred wood. Apricot and other fruits immediately in the mouth, white pepper, fresh peat smoke that for a split second could make you think it is a Glenmorangie whisky. Long, pleasant aftertaste. Quite viscous, all in all. Edit: I’ve had quite a few different batches of this through the years. After a while, the slightly sour harshness smoothes out and gives a really lovely taste of pastry cream, very pleasant, and special. It must be the most outstanding espadin ever.

A bit rough nose, but after breathing a bit a strong aroma of apricot pits, old library shelves and slightly charred wood. Apricot and other fruits immediately in the mouth, white pepper, fresh peat smoke that for a split second could make you think it is a Glenmorangie whisky. Long, pleasant aftertaste. Quite viscous, all in all. Edit: I’ve had quite a few different batches of this through the years. After a while, the slightly sour harshness smoothes out and gives a really lovely taste of pa

Read more
GeorgePBurdell

GeorgePBurdell

45 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lot SDA-191
Nose: leather and spice
Palate: sharp with not much sweetness
Finish: mildly bitter and astringent
Not an easy drinker but interesting

Patrick

Patrick

47 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Lot : SDA – 182
ABV – 48%
NOSE : Tropical with overripe bananas and Strawberries. Also detecting some leather and shoe polish on a bed of hay.
TASTE : fruity and sticky, with tons of salt.
FINISH : sweet, oily and salty
Easy drinking mezcal with an Extremely fragrant nose.

Wanderingspider

Wanderingspider

47 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Lot: SDA-182 (first two in the sequence have been rubbed off almost completely)
This isn’t my favourite Del Maguey. Alcoholic and mineral nose. Touch of spice and brine. Red pepper and underlying fruit on the palate. Some smoke. Very dry almost eraser rubbery on the finish.

thamthong

thamthong

47 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars4 years ago

smells like a scented candle shop. musky sandalwood, apples, dried flowers, plastic-y synthetic tinge to everything. vague hints of warm baking spices and a dusting of cocoa powder.

TheAgaveFairy

TheAgaveFairy

167 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Copyright extends to 2011 on bottle, wax top, lot SDA-121.
No water added, good seal on the cork though the last drop in the old bottle.

Nutty, citrus, dried spices, light, medium smoke for a DM espadin, herbs throughout. Lighter friuit with soft mouthfeel – strawberry, raspberry direction to the fruits, diffuse medium citrus on the lemony side, toasted nuts. Sweet agave, small drop of thick TX bbq sauce. Sweet and salty entrance to a large body of spicy nut and citrus, drying out to spices and oak character and lingering leather. Some light mouthfeel of rosewater.

Copyright extends to 2011 on bottle, wax top, lot SDA-121.
No water added, good seal on the cork though the last drop in the old bottle.
Nutty, citrus, dried spices, light, medium smoke for a DM espadin, herbs throughout. Lighter friuit with soft mouthfeel – strawberry, raspberry direction to the fruits, diffuse medium citrus on the lemony side, toasted nuts. Sweet agave, small drop of thick TX bbq sauce. Sweet and salty entrance to a large body of spicy nut and citrus, drying out to spice

Read more
Chris

Chris

40 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

SDA-122 Prefer this to the Chichicapa. It’s got some leather / wood which makes it more like drinking a cognac. Wax top – subsequently bought the last remaining bottle on the shelf for backup.

razorbackmike

razorbackmike

134 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

very tasty.there is strong oak and spice up front.mid way the agave sweetness comes through.the finish has some serious heat but it all ties together nicely.love the boldness of the wood and spice.dry profile.might not be for everyone but i think its great!

COak

COak

194 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

One of my favorite Del Maguey espadins. Fruity and soft.

PhilBrunski

PhilBrunski

25 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Loads of poblano and bok choy. Sweeter than I was expecting but also with a light hill top airiness to it . My favorite Espadin from Del Maguey.

Jonny

Jonny

582 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Lot SDA-144. Aromas of apples and hard mangos. This is really nice. Fresh fruity notes on the palate. Some Del Maguey Mezcals really match the art on the bottles and this one is one of them! It’s wild and free like birds flying over the village. This is tasty and easy to drink.

Joseph

Joseph

26 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Lot 122 – 2011: This one has a sharp, dry, almost powdery spiciness – as in spices in your pantry. I think chili powder and a hint of cumin. The spice note for me was very distinct and made the flavor profile seem somewhat one-dimensional. As the bottle aerated over the weeks, the spice note mellowed a bit and I began noticing more sweetness, leather, and some fruitiness. I wasn’t particularly fond of this one for awhile, but as of lately I’ve been enjoying it quite a bit. I’m very curious to try a newer batch of this stuff.

Lot 122 – 2011: This one has a sharp, dry, almost powdery spiciness – as in spices in your pantry. I think chili powder and a hint of cumin. The spice note for me was very distinct and made the flavor profile seem somewhat one-dimensional. As the bottle aerated over the weeks, the spice note mellowed a bit and I began noticing more sweetness, leather, and some fruitiness. I wasn’t particularly fond of this one for awhile, but as of lately I’ve been enjoying it quite a bit

Read more
Tyler

Tyler

574 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars6 years ago

Rich nose of leather and fruit. Oily mouthfeel. Delicious full-bodied espadin. Robust flavors of citrus, peppermint, and caramel sea salt. Lot 14/4

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top