Powered by 100% agave

Del Maguey Arroqueno

The Del Maguey Arroqueno is a limited special edition made from giant semi-wild, maguey Arroqueño. The brand dedicated this Mezcal to Thor Heyerdahl.

About this mezcal

Del Maguey Arroqueno is a limited release that is dedicated to the famous biologist and explorer, Thor Heyerdahl.  He is most famous for his book Kon-Tiki, which chronicled his 1947 voyage across the Pacific Ocean on a wooden raft. This mezcal iss fermented with nothing but airborne yeasts, then twice-distilled very slowly in an ancient clay still with bamboo tubing. Del Maguey Arroqueño has notes of melon on the palate, like cantaloupe and a bit of baking chocolate in the background. It is very vegetal, reminiscent of fresh green beans, with savory medium to long finish.

Del Maguey Mezcal

Del Maguey (pronounced ma–gay), Single Village Mezcal was founded in 1995 by internationally renowned artist and Mezcal visionary, Ron Cooper. Ron introduced the world to previously unavailable 100% certified organic, artisanal Mezcal produced the original handcrafted way. Through deep cultural relationships with Zapotec Mexican Indian producers in the remote villages of Oaxaca, Mexico, Del Maguey harnesses ancient, original organic processes. Combining these methods with varying micro-climates and terroir gives each creation its own unique, rich, sweet and smoky character. Every product in their collection is made by individual family palenqueros (producers) in old-style villages. They are the first producer to credit each product after the village where our liquid is made. When you see their beautiful green bottles you know it’s Del Maguey. Most of Del Maguey’s mezcals are distilled to proof, so the ABV will vary slightly between batches.

In June of 2017, international spirits company, Pernod Ricard, purchased majority stake in the company. Del Maguey is now part of their portfolio that includes Jameson Whiskey, Absolute Vodka, and Havana Club Rum.

 

Arroqueno Travels on Mezcal PhD

 

Member rating

3.78 out of 5

18 reviews

Jake W

Jake W

10 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 month ago

Lot SCM-152

Insanely soft and tropical on the nose, sweet watermelon, cantaloupe, mango, snap peas, lemon zest and lime halves. I can’t help but keep coming back to specifically a Pecos cantaloupe on the palate with raw sugar and cinnamon. Soft clay and grapefruit bitterness. Smoke comes on about halfway through and lasts to the end, very mild with bits of dry hay

Bryen

Bryen

46 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 month ago

Was actually able to get this at a local liquor store for $80– usually retails for $119 so would definitely recommend at that price point. Would be 5 stars if that was the typical price point lol first pour was a bit muted and had a burn/nose/mouth similar to an Espadin but the more it opened up the more I really enjoyed this bottle, despite the brand. Ended up with a very melon/tropical forward flavor profile that balanced well with the standard Americana flavor profile from arroqueno that I’m used to. I don’t think my batch screamed that it was clay pot distilled from the flavor profile but added a nice texture. Solid

Was actually able to get this at a local liquor store for $80– usually retails for $119 so would definitely recommend at that price point. Would be 5 stars if that was the typical price point lol first pour was a bit muted and had a burn/nose/mouth similar to an Espadin but the more it opened up the more I really enjoyed this bottle, despite the brand. Ended up with a very melon/tropical forward flavor profile that balanced well with the standard Americana flavor profile from arroqueno that I�

Read more
mt_rainyer

mt_rainyer

43 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars12 months ago

SCM 141 (notes from 2019)
I must have had a very different bottle than is on here. While I generally don’t love arroqueño, the bottle I tried tasted like some balanced smokiness, a touch of fruit, but with a heavy taste of chemical/acetone. It wasn’t pleasant, and wasn’t typical for Del Maguey bottles I’ve tried by any means. Be careful with this batch number I suppose.

KarwinskiiKid

KarwinskiiKid

3 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 years ago

NOM-O41X

I bought this bottle maybe 5 years ago. Out of the gate it had a really intense banana diesel smell and hot on the nose and palate….really too hot and intense to enjoy. After letting this simmer down over a few years it still has the bananas on the nose and palate, some heat, light smoke, and heavy minerality on the aftertaste, which I enjoy. Leaves a slight grapefruit-esque taste/feel on the roof of the mouth which I don’t love. Between 3-3.5 stars.

MSGuzy

MSGuzy

1 review
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Very new to mezcal and first arroqueno. Herby and spicy with peppers

JDB

JDB

165 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

ABV: 49% Lot #: ARRO-8d1A (hard to make out lot # on bottle)
Last quarter of this bottle, generally have a harder time placing the flavor profile of Arroqueno compared to an espadin or other magueys. I have noticed some can be a little green and others pretty sweet and nuanced. This one has more of that sweet profile. This is sweet on the nose, poached fruit, and candy, not much smoke. The taste has some ginger and honeysuckle, a nice heat through the palate, and sharp, not unpleasant, aftertaste. Not much minerality or vegetal notes, but has some other undertones that I cannot place. More of a 3.75/5 stars for me.

ABV: 49% Lot #: ARRO-8d1A (hard to make out lot # on bottle)
Last quarter of this bottle, generally have a harder time placing the flavor profile of Arroqueno compared to an espadin or other magueys. I have noticed some can be a little green and others pretty sweet and nuanced. This one has more of that sweet profile. This is sweet on the nose, poached fruit, and candy, not much smoke. The taste has some ginger and honeysuckle, a nice heat through the palate, and sharp, not unpleasant, aft

Read more
SoloAgave

SoloAgave

86 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

My idea of a quintessential arroqueno/americana. 25 years in the ground is going to lend itself to crazy levels of complexity and although this bottle cost is sky high the product is unforgettable. Rich, bright, clay, earth, sweet, fruit gum, mild smoke, and just embodies that ancestral profile that is so approachable. Price hurts but the product is killer.

aarild

aarild

152 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Did not get the batch number. A bit dusty in the nose. Since sneezing is social suicide these days it needs to breathe for while, or use a copita. Mineral, spicy smell.

Clay, allspice and toasted cinnamon on the palate, galia melon, fruity mild chili — poblano perhaps. Smoke with a hint of burnt straw lingering.

Meady

Meady

53 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Easy on the palate.
Clay, honey, cherry with a touch of mineral on the tail. No heavy flavours.
Nice but the mellow flavours mean it’s not a memorable one for me.
49%

t8ke

t8ke

144 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Medium mouthfeel, sweet honey, sweet fruits and loads of floral essence. Fruit snacks, overripe citrus fruits, faint minerality.

This was super nice, and probably one of my favorites so far. Everything was so bold, yet well balanced.

El_Cura

El_Cura

31 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Lot SCM 141, a very special Arroqueño. 49% ABV, clay-distilled from Minas…simply marvelous. Someone correct me if I’m wrong but I believe this is the first batch from 2014.
Highly balanced, cinnamon, vanilla and sassafras in your nose, transforming into a Pechuga-like dark chocolate in the “paladar”. Strong hot burning finish.
Just what the doctor order for this holiday season.

Nic Hnastchenko

Nic Hnastchenko

108 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars5 years ago

I liked this one, not quite as rich and chocolatey as some of the other arroquenos I’ve had.

TheAgaveFairy

TheAgaveFairy

169 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Very “arroqueno”. Earthy, meaty, buttercream, spices. Massive hit of vanilla, some clove and allspice, peppercorn melange. Beef jerky touches (dry TX black pepper kind), some date or fig, Angostura bitters, and such a great sweetness. The smoke has a slightly menthol (cooling) aspect to it. Light lemon oil with some time.

More acidic than expected, wish it was a bit richer. Feels a touch hot. Disappointed, a bit. Finish has decent minerality and length with spices and some date juice. Getting a little better with oxygen, will of course revisit.

Great typicity, but a let down on the palette.

Very “arroqueno”. Earthy, meaty, buttercream, spices. Massive hit of vanilla, some clove and allspice, peppercorn melange. Beef jerky touches (dry TX black pepper kind), some date or fig, Angostura bitters, and such a great sweetness. The smoke has a slightly menthol (cooling) aspect to it. Light lemon oil with some time.
More acidic than expected, wish it was a bit richer. Feels a touch hot. Disappointed, a bit. Finish has decent minerality and length with spices and some date juice. Gettin

Read more
Rakhal

Rakhal

421 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 years ago

ARRO-171. Mint chocolate, guava, lemon peel, and cantaloupe. Fruity and delicious! Probably would have rated it a five if I hadn’t been trying it next to the San Pablo Ameyaltepec.

Patrick

Patrick

57 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Lot : SCM164
ABV : 49%
NOSE : dark fruits mostly cherry, clay, bright and vegetal, sugary bbq, soya sauce and some late funkyness.
MOUTH : candy, silky, fruity, vegetal, smooth yet complex
Finnish : clay, very light smoke, silky sweet and clean
Outstanding mezcal! 4.5

thamthong

thamthong

47 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars6 years ago

almost a 5, my favorite of the DM range. stewed fruit and burnt sugar on the nose. dark flavors reminiscent of heavily sherried single malt, complete with sulphurous char. burnt vanilla and blistered chilis. rich creamy finish. brooding and robust. a drink to end the night with.

Jonny

Jonny

708 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars6 years ago

SCM 141 at 49%. This tastes lovely. Clay on the nose. Lots of clay on the palate. Very mellow and balanced.

Tyler

Tyler

641 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars7 years ago

Honey and pepper. Papaya and cinnamon. Vanilla, clay, and jalapeño. This is a complex and flavorful mezcal that should be sought out and enjoyed. Lot 15/2

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top