Powered by 100% agave

Del Maguey Tobala

Del Maguey Tobala is made with maguey Tobala and has a sweet, fruity nose, with a mango and cinnamon taste and extra smooth finish.

About this mezcal

Del Maguey Tobala has a sweet, fruity nose, with a mango and cinnamon taste and long, extra smooth finish. The town where this is produced is surrounded by a mountainous, tropical micro-climate.

Del Maguey Mezcal

Del Maguey (pronounced ma–gay), Single Village Mezcal was founded in 1995 by internationally renowned artist and Mezcal visionary, Ron Cooper. Ron introduced the world to previously unavailable 100% certified organic, artisanal Mezcal produced the original handcrafted way. Through deep cultural relationships with Zapotec Mexican Indian producers in the remote villages of Oaxaca, Mexico, Del Maguey harnesses ancient, original organic processes. Combining these methods with varying micro-climates and terroir gives each creation its own unique, rich, sweet and smoky character. Every product in their collection is made by individual family palenqueros (producers) in old-style villages. They are the first producer to credit each product after the village where our liquid is made. When you see their beautiful green bottles you know it’s Del Maguey. Most of Del Maguey’s mezcals are distilled to proof, so the ABV will vary slightly between batches.

In June of 2017, international spirits company, Pernod Ricard, purchased majority stake in the company. Del Maguey is now part of their portfolio that includes Jameson Whiskey, Absolute Vodka, and Havana Club Rum.

26 reviews

3.98 out of 5

Sverhage

Sverhage

4 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Good not great

Matthew

Matthew

7 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars8 months ago

Lot TOB-141, 2015?

1/25/22: The nose is fairly light, fruity, with ripe peaches and some cinnamon. Mango, plums, apples, lots of fruit here. The palette is a touch hot, but the finish is smooth and leathery with some smokiness.

While this is not as much of a floral fruit bomb as some other tobalas, I am really drawn to the balance of the fruit with some of the more earthy, smoky qualities.

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

471 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars11 months ago

Nose – Papaya. Cinnamon.

Palate – Dried tropical fruit. Sharp flavor. A nice mezcal although some ethanol burn on the back end knocked it down a peg.

jmehrk35

jmehrk35

35 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars11 months ago

LOT: TOB 161. 45% ABV
(Inkjet stamp on bottle is illegible)
Warm and drying initial nasal impact. The aroma opens with ripe mango and heavy cinnamon. A definite nice smoked lactic cheesy funk hits as well, really nice. Honeysuckle rounds out the nose. So far I’m all in. I definitely notice lots of boxes mentally being checked off on the aroma of this tobala. Definitely coating with some astringency (nice heat on the tongue) as the first impression on the mouth feel. A nice balance of sweet and sour, with a generous alcohol impact. There is a drying smoothness on the tongue. Ripe mango, cinnamon, honey and cooked agave lead the flavor profile. Some ripe banana, olive brine and some spearmint appear with some minerality sharpness. Crisp (not oily) fried green tomatoes, especially on the retro nasal. This is a complex tobala, as it keeps developing the more you sip it. There is a certain “sambuca component” that shows some ankle on the back end. Some of your neighbors fire pit provides a touch of smoke. The flavor keeps evolving on the finish while the heat dissepates off the tongue (although it never disappears). A nice long finish. A really good tobala

LOT: TOB 161. 45% ABV
(Inkjet stamp on bottle is illegible)
Warm and drying initial nasal impact. The aroma opens with ripe mango and heavy cinnamon. A definite nice smoked lactic cheesy funk hits as well, really nice. Honeysuckle rounds out the nose. So far I’m all in. I definitely notice lots of boxes mentally being checked off on the aroma of this tobala. Definitely coating with some astringency (nice heat on the tongue) as the first impression on the mouth feel. A nice balance of sweet

Read more
Lasirenaahumada

Lasirenaahumada

9 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

I took a break from Mezcal for a few months. And today I just had this amazing Tobala. I’m transported to a simpler life that tastes musky, sweet, cinnamonie, and seductive. Drinking in the traditional neat way. Lovely…

meserole

meserole

72 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Love seeing how variable the reviews are — I should’ve taken note of the bottle and lot info. Found a pour of this at an unassuming taco shop in Brooklyn that had a surprising array of mezcal bottles that I saw from the street.

Wet stone, clay, rocks, banana, vanilla. I would absolutely by a bottle of this. One of the best offerings from Del Maguey that I’ve sampled.

aarild

aarild

125 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Tob-181, first sip from the bottle.
Immediately exposing a stronger nose than expected, it smells of ephemeral fruit, varnish and antique bookshop. Quince, lime, light smoke, vanilla and cassia cinnamon.

Edit: I’ve tried several batches, consistently very, very nice all of them. Mezcals from the three Albarradas villages I’ve tried have all been viscous, fruity, and well balanced. Top notch.

Samhain

Samhain

9 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

There is something sweet on the nose but I mostly pick up that blue cheese funk, not overpowering but prominent, some leather hiding in there. Taste is really similar rich, sweet, funky, the ashy char comes in late and finishes a little plasticy. Very interesting, in no way similar to the lesser priced tobalas I’ve had. At the price it will be a while to bring another home. Lot looks like tob-181, 2018 copyright

Joe

Joe

27 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Near the end of the bottle. Tried at Mayahuel. Light, mild flavor. Remarkably sweet, with an almost honey-like earthiness, maybe peach. Mild tanginess. Really tasty, easy drinking. Working on it a little more, the clay taste is more distinct, with a vaguely rubbery taste, but not in a gross way. Maybe more like the flavor of gum after the real flavor is chewed out.

Mansson

Mansson

71 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lot TOB-131, presumably distilled in 2013. Smells like pine. Flavour-wise it’s very balanced but, for my taste, it’s too soft and dull. There is a bit of agave sweetness, some fruity/sour notes and a whiff of wood and smoke, but nothing really stands out. A good mezcal, but I had hoped for something more interesting.

t8ke

t8ke

144 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Sweet, earthy. Rubber, fresh baked dough, sweet and savory vinegar. Light earth, not too chemical forward. Bit of agave stank/funk. The complexity is astounding.

Firesidesipper

Firesidesipper

34 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

This is my favorite Mezcal to date. Wonderfully ripe and smooth. Tropical fruits and spice on the nose with decadent mango and grilled pineapple on the palate. Wet earth/clay on a lingering finish. I love this. Can’t wait to try the El Jolgorio Tobala and compare the two.

TheAuditor

TheAuditor

38 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Nose: Red Berries, Mango, Earthy and minerals, vanilla, Brine, baking spice.

Palate: Medium mouthfeel, red berries, earth, minerals, mangos, slight smoke, baking spice.

Finish: Medium length, smoke, earth, berries, brine, vanilla.

This is a tasty, fruity, powerful mezcal, the nose on this is the best part, but the flavor and finish hold it up as well. This is one of the tastiest 90 proof spirits I have ever had.

NickSanford

NickSanford

23 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars3 years ago

I didn’t find to much flavor in this Tobala. It was good, but it had just a little bit of the Floral flavors that were hitting and a pretty earthy smokiness to it. Gave it 3 Stars due to the high price attached to it. Tobala is one of my favorite agaves so I hold a pretty high standard for any Tobala.

SpencerS

SpencerS

13 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Lot TOB – 16
A Mezcal I enjoy more and more with each sipping. Rogelio Martinez Cruz’s signature “dry fermenting” gives this mezcal a unique funk that is unlike any other tobala’s I’ve tried.

Nose: sweet burnt sugar with a beautiful blue cheese undertone that keeps it from veering on too sweet. As I smell the mezcal I picture mold growing on the roasted agave before fermentation, contributing the mango & banana fruitiness underneath. Not necessarily one I would describe as “clean” but rather a nose to get lost in the complexity of.

palate: overripe fruit and roasted agave. Also a fair amount of toasted almonds and leather compliment the distinct funky sweetness.

Finish: This is where most of the “smoke” lies. Long, woody, somewhat ashy but overall smooth and easy to drink too much of.

All in all, this one of my favorite mezcals and always the one I’m most inclined to pour from my collection of bottles. Also, one of the more expensive mezcals I (currently) own but worth the price. While similar, I prefer this to the Cruz’s Tepextate. There’s still much to uncover from this amazing spirit.

Lot TOB – 16
A Mezcal I enjoy more and more with each sipping. Rogelio Martinez Cruz’s signature “dry fermenting” gives this mezcal a unique funk that is unlike any other tobala’s I’ve tried.
Nose: sweet burnt sugar with a beautiful blue cheese undertone that keeps it from veering on too sweet. As I smell the mezcal I picture mold growing on the roasted agave before fermentation, contributing the mango & banana fruitiness underneath. Not necessarily one

Read more
Tyler

Tyler

583 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Delightful charred peached notes. Key lime pie. Have had a few batches and usually find it very enjoyable. This was batch 14-1 at Terlingua in Portland, Maine.

Nick

Nick

25 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

The tropical tastes aplenty with this tobala – pineapple, mango and even a hint of burnt papaya at first taste. Fresh green scent and a slightly green taste behind the fruits. Feels good in the mouth with a little burn (45%) but then it sits nicely on the tongue before the reward of the back palette – a rich liqueur sensation followed by an agave stickiness and maybe a touch of mint that has you looking for more. TOB- 161.

Wanderingspider

Wanderingspider

47 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Lot: TOB-161

Dried pineapple and mango on the nose. On the palate, light smoked poblano with a subtle mineral finish. Definitely a good sip.

Rakhal

Rakhal

378 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Lot Tob-171. Sweet, woody, and herbal. Sawdust, banana, big league chew bubblegum, spearmint candy.

LittleArm

LittleArm

28 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

TOB-161
3.5 stars. But closer to 4 than 3. It’s good. Very smooth, easy drinker which is not surprising considering the fairly low ABV of 45%. Very disappointed that the strong fruity notes from previous reviews were basically nonexistent. Very smoky on the nose with no real heat to it. Like a camp fire the morning after. Strong minerality with a hint of citrus and a super clean finish. Definitely enjoyed it but wouldn’t pay a premium for it

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

362 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

One of my favorite mezcals. The standard to which I judge all other Tobala’s. Also, my favorite from DM

Mateospirit

Mateospirit

8 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Yet another unique personality from Del maguey. Strong Funky cheese opening. It’s like smoke, banana leaves, soft hickory, and burnt rubber mixed together. It is smooth on the finish. I get a leather that reminds me of and old dirty worn horse saddle. I get a strong burnt rubber taste That develops. The smoke is earthy and reminds me of a bonfire that has been burning for days. It has a sour bitterness on the finish. For me this is a great experience but not worth the extra price tag. I personally would rather stick with my favorite Chicicapa❤️

Yet another unique personality from Del maguey. Strong Funky cheese opening. It’s like smoke, banana leaves, soft hickory, and burnt rubber mixed together. It is smooth on the finish. I get a leather that reminds me of and old dirty worn horse saddle. I get a strong burnt rubber taste That develops. The smoke is earthy and reminds me of a bonfire that has been burning for days. It has a sour bitterness on the finish. For me this is a great experience but not worth the extra price tag. I person

Read more
TheAgaveFairy

TheAgaveFairy

168 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Copyright extends to 2015. TOP-151.

Oh, gosh. What an amazing dram! Full of all kinda of delicious fruit like mangoes and plums, white and yellow and purple flowers and vanilla, lightly caramelized sweetness, complex ashy smoke and intense minerality from such an amazing maguey. Some fun notes hiding of things like pineapple and pork, soy sauce, tumeric. The finish is possibly the best I’ve had of any spirit – it’s counted in minutes of oak smoke and agave lingering.

Copyright extends to 2015. TOP-151.
Oh, gosh. What an amazing dram! Full of all kinda of delicious fruit like mangoes and plums, white and yellow and purple flowers and vanilla, lightly caramelized sweetness, complex ashy smoke and intense minerality from such an amazing maguey. Some fun notes hiding of things like pineapple and pork, soy sauce, tumeric. The finish is possibly the best I’ve had of any spirit – it’s counted in minutes of oak smoke and agave lingering.

Read more
Chris

Chris

40 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Had this last night with the Jolgorio Tobala, which was the superior, albeit more expensive, juice. Less full-bodied and a bit more metallic. By itself or with some Espadins, maybe it stands out more and is four star, but not against the Jolgorio. I have the the Del Maguey Chicicapa and Santo Domingo Albarradas Espadins, so I’ll have to try the Del Maguey Tobala against them to see if it really shines and justifies double their price.

PhilBrunski

PhilBrunski

25 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Rich! Blue cheese funk on the nose that translates to the palate along with mango and some pretty strong cinnamon bite. Its really good but the only drawback is a sometimes bitter soapy finish that can take away from the other flavors. Solid Tobala overall.

Jonny

Jonny

603 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Lot TOB-114 from 2011. Found this old wax-top bottle randomly online and purchased it for cheaper than what a brand new DM Tobala would cost. Great deal! It has a good amount of cinnamon on the nose with hints of something slightly sour. It smells like it was distilled in clay pots. The taste and mouthfeel also are reminiscent of clay. Tasting notes are well balanced: not too sweet, not too sour. I get a bit of ripe banana and fresh mango. I’d like to try some other lots of this Tobala, but this older one is incredibly rich and savory.

Lot TOB-114 from 2011. Found this old wax-top bottle randomly online and purchased it for cheaper than what a brand new DM Tobala would cost. Great deal! It has a good amount of cinnamon on the nose with hints of something slightly sour. It smells like it was distilled in clay pots. The taste and mouthfeel also are reminiscent of clay. Tasting notes are well balanced: not too sweet, not too sour. I get a bit of ripe banana and fresh mango. I’d like to try some other lots of this Tobala, bu

Read more

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top