Powered by 100% agave

Del Maguey Tobala

Del Maguey Tobala is made with maguey Tobala and has a sweet, fruity nose, with a mango and cinnamon taste and extra smooth finish.

About this mezcal

Del Maguey Tobala has a sweet, fruity nose, with a mango and cinnamon taste and long, extra smooth finish. The town where this is produced is surrounded by a mountainous, tropical micro-climate.

Del Maguey Mezcal

Del Maguey (pronounced ma–gay), Single Village Mezcal was founded in 1995 by internationally renowned artist and Mezcal visionary, Ron Cooper. Ron introduced the world to previously unavailable 100% certified organic, artisanal Mezcal produced the original handcrafted way. Through deep cultural relationships with Zapotec Mexican Indian producers in the remote villages of Oaxaca, Mexico, Del Maguey harnesses ancient, original organic processes. Combining these methods with varying micro-climates and terroir gives each creation its own unique, rich, sweet and smoky character. Every product in their collection is made by individual family palenqueros (producers) in old-style villages. They are the first producer to credit each product after the village where our liquid is made. When you see their beautiful green bottles you know it’s Del Maguey. Most of Del Maguey’s mezcals are distilled to proof, so the ABV will vary slightly between batches.

In June of 2017, international spirits company, Pernod Ricard, purchased majority stake in the company. Del Maguey is now part of their portfolio that includes Jameson Whiskey, Absolute Vodka, and Havana Club Rum.

Member rating

3.92 out of 5

31 reviews

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

214 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 weeks ago

Lote: TOB-201
Sweet and floral nose. Light butter. Key lime pie.
Taste is woody and dry (like a tobala). Pleasantly sweet as well with light cream. Maybe tastes a bit hot for 45%? All around solid. I know DM gets a lot of flack but I’m consistently surprised by the quality that can still be found with their large lineup.
Review #212

mt_rainyer

mt_rainyer

43 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

TOP-151 (review from going through a bottle in 2017)
A relatively well balanced/smooth tobala. While tasty, no flavor in particular sticks out (has the requisite fruitiness, a bit of an oak/lactic taste, a touch of mineral, etc…). It is solid and well balanced, but there is a lot of excellent stuff in the ~110-120 price range. If slightly cheaper it would be a 4 star bottle.

HighWine

HighWine

76 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Reviewing this as half of a two ounce pour from last night that’s been sitting open overnight. Mildly smoky aroma. Taste is sweet and reminds me of the house sake at my neighborhood sushi place. Faint mint and parsley that are well blended. Medium palate and low burn.

Stenzilla

Stenzilla

2 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Batch TOB-181
Nose- soft, floral, fruits
Palate- light, mineral, hint of smoke
Finish- smooth slightly ethanol which quickly dissipates
Overall- easy sipper that allows you to hunt for flavors

MTL_reviewer

MTL_reviewer

5 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

TOB-201 (2021)

46 down to 45% compared to previous years.

Nose : cheese and fruits
Mouth : sweet and salty notes, buttery and warm pastry
Finish : medium lenght
A solid and accessible batch overall. I’ve seen more complex but it’s a good Tobala.

Sverhage

Sverhage

7 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Good not great

Matthew

Matthew

9 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lot TOB-141, 2015?

1/25/22: The nose is fairly light, fruity, with ripe peaches and some cinnamon. Mango, plums, apples, lots of fruit here. The palette is a touch hot, but the finish is smooth and leathery with some smokiness.

While this is not as much of a floral fruit bomb as some other tobalas, I am really drawn to the balance of the fruit with some of the more earthy, smoky qualities.

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

542 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Nose – Papaya. Cinnamon.

Palate – Dried tropical fruit. Sharp flavor. A nice mezcal although some ethanol burn on the back end knocked it down a peg.

jmehrk35

jmehrk35

42 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

LOT: TOB 161. 45% ABV
(Inkjet stamp on bottle is illegible)
Warm and drying initial nasal impact. The aroma opens with ripe mango and heavy cinnamon. A definite nice smoked lactic cheesy funk hits as well, really nice. Honeysuckle rounds out the nose. So far I’m all in. I definitely notice lots of boxes mentally being checked off on the aroma of this tobala. Definitely coating with some astringency (nice heat on the tongue) as the first impression on the mouth feel. A nice balance of sweet and sour, with a generous alcohol impact. There is a drying smoothness on the tongue. Ripe mango, cinnamon, honey and cooked agave lead the flavor profile. Some ripe banana, olive brine and some spearmint appear with some minerality sharpness. Crisp (not oily) fried green tomatoes, especially on the retro nasal. This is a complex tobala, as it keeps developing the more you sip it. There is a certain “sambuca component” that shows some ankle on the back end. Some of your neighbors fire pit provides a touch of smoke. The flavor keeps evolving on the finish while the heat dissepates off the tongue (although it never disappears). A nice long finish. A really good tobala

LOT: TOB 161. 45% ABV
(Inkjet stamp on bottle is illegible)
Warm and drying initial nasal impact. The aroma opens with ripe mango and heavy cinnamon. A definite nice smoked lactic cheesy funk hits as well, really nice. Honeysuckle rounds out the nose. So far I’m all in. I definitely notice lots of boxes mentally being checked off on the aroma of this tobala. Definitely coating with some astringency (nice heat on the tongue) as the first impression on the mouth feel. A nice balance of sweet

Read more
Lasirenaahumada

Lasirenaahumada

9 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

I took a break from Mezcal for a few months. And today I just had this amazing Tobala. I’m transported to a simpler life that tastes musky, sweet, cinnamonie, and seductive. Drinking in the traditional neat way. Lovely…

meserole

meserole

73 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Love seeing how variable the reviews are — I should’ve taken note of the bottle and lot info. Found a pour of this at an unassuming taco shop in Brooklyn that had a surprising array of mezcal bottles that I saw from the street.

Wet stone, clay, rocks, banana, vanilla. I would absolutely by a bottle of this. One of the best offerings from Del Maguey that I’ve sampled.

aarild

aarild

153 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Tob-181, first sip from the bottle.
Immediately exposing a stronger nose than expected, it smells of ephemeral fruit, varnish and antique bookshop. Quince, lime, light smoke, vanilla and cassia cinnamon.

Edit: I’ve tried several batches, consistently very, very nice all of them. Mezcals from the three Albarradas villages I’ve tried have all been viscous, fruity, and well balanced. Top notch.

Samhain

Samhain

9 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

There is something sweet on the nose but I mostly pick up that blue cheese funk, not overpowering but prominent, some leather hiding in there. Taste is really similar rich, sweet, funky, the ashy char comes in late and finishes a little plasticy. Very interesting, in no way similar to the lesser priced tobalas I’ve had. At the price it will be a while to bring another home. Lot looks like tob-181, 2018 copyright

Joe

Joe

27 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Near the end of the bottle. Tried at Mayahuel. Light, mild flavor. Remarkably sweet, with an almost honey-like earthiness, maybe peach. Mild tanginess. Really tasty, easy drinking. Working on it a little more, the clay taste is more distinct, with a vaguely rubbery taste, but not in a gross way. Maybe more like the flavor of gum after the real flavor is chewed out.

Mansson

Mansson

71 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Lot TOB-131, presumably distilled in 2013. Smells like pine. Flavour-wise it’s very balanced but, for my taste, it’s too soft and dull. There is a bit of agave sweetness, some fruity/sour notes and a whiff of wood and smoke, but nothing really stands out. A good mezcal, but I had hoped for something more interesting.

t8ke

t8ke

144 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Sweet, earthy. Rubber, fresh baked dough, sweet and savory vinegar. Light earth, not too chemical forward. Bit of agave stank/funk. The complexity is astounding.

Firesidesipper

Firesidesipper

39 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

This is my favorite Mezcal to date. Wonderfully ripe and smooth. Tropical fruits and spice on the nose with decadent mango and grilled pineapple on the palate. Wet earth/clay on a lingering finish. I love this. Can’t wait to try the El Jolgorio Tobala and compare the two.

TheAuditor

TheAuditor

38 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Nose: Red Berries, Mango, Earthy and minerals, vanilla, Brine, baking spice.

Palate: Medium mouthfeel, red berries, earth, minerals, mangos, slight smoke, baking spice.

Finish: Medium length, smoke, earth, berries, brine, vanilla.

This is a tasty, fruity, powerful mezcal, the nose on this is the best part, but the flavor and finish hold it up as well. This is one of the tastiest 90 proof spirits I have ever had.

NickSanford

NickSanford

23 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars5 years ago

I didn’t find to much flavor in this Tobala. It was good, but it had just a little bit of the Floral flavors that were hitting and a pretty earthy smokiness to it. Gave it 3 Stars due to the high price attached to it. Tobala is one of my favorite agaves so I hold a pretty high standard for any Tobala.

SpencerS

SpencerS

13 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Lot TOB – 16
A Mezcal I enjoy more and more with each sipping. Rogelio Martinez Cruz’s signature “dry fermenting” gives this mezcal a unique funk that is unlike any other tobala’s I’ve tried.

Nose: sweet burnt sugar with a beautiful blue cheese undertone that keeps it from veering on too sweet. As I smell the mezcal I picture mold growing on the roasted agave before fermentation, contributing the mango & banana fruitiness underneath. Not necessarily one I would describe as “clean” but rather a nose to get lost in the complexity of.

palate: overripe fruit and roasted agave. Also a fair amount of toasted almonds and leather compliment the distinct funky sweetness.

Finish: This is where most of the “smoke” lies. Long, woody, somewhat ashy but overall smooth and easy to drink too much of.

All in all, this one of my favorite mezcals and always the one I’m most inclined to pour from my collection of bottles. Also, one of the more expensive mezcals I (currently) own but worth the price. While similar, I prefer this to the Cruz’s Tepextate. There’s still much to uncover from this amazing spirit.

Lot TOB – 16
A Mezcal I enjoy more and more with each sipping. Rogelio Martinez Cruz’s signature “dry fermenting” gives this mezcal a unique funk that is unlike any other tobala’s I’ve tried.
Nose: sweet burnt sugar with a beautiful blue cheese undertone that keeps it from veering on too sweet. As I smell the mezcal I picture mold growing on the roasted agave before fermentation, contributing the mango & banana fruitiness underneath. Not necessarily one

Read more

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top