Powered by 100% agave

Del Maguey Tobala

Del Maguey Tobala is made with agave Tobala and has a sweet, fruity nose, with a mango and cinnamon taste and extra smooth finish.

Rating: (13 reviews)
Brand:Del Maguey Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O41X
Mezcalero:Don Rogelio Martinez Cruz, Leopoldino Miranda
Agave:Tobala
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Santa Maria Albarradas
ABV: 46%
Website: http://delmaguey.com
About this mezcal

Del Maguey Tobala has a sweet, fruity nose, with a mango and cinnamon taste and long, extra smooth finish. The town where this is produced is surrounded by a mountainous, tropical micro-climate. They keep their production limited in an effort to not mess with nature and to continue with the traditional way of harvesting this wild “King of Agave.”

Del Maguey Mezcal

Del Maguey (pronounced ma–gay), Single Village Mezcal was founded in 1995 by internationally renowned artist and Mezcal visionary, Ron Cooper. Ron introduced the world to previously unavailable 100% certified organic, artisanal Mezcal produced the original handcrafted way. Through deep cultural relationships with Zapotec Mexican Indian producers in the remote villages of Oaxaca, Mexico, Del Maguey harnesses ancient, original organic processes. Combining these methods with varying micro-climates and terroir gives each creation its own unique, rich, sweet and smoky character. Every product in their collection is made by individual family palenqueros (producers) in old-style villages. They are the first producer to credit each product after the village where our liquid is made. When you see their beautiful green bottles you know it’s Del Maguey. Most of Del Maguey's mezcals are distilled to proof, so the ABV will vary slightly between batches.

In June of 2017, international spirits company, Pernod Ricard, purchased majority stake in the company. Del Maguey is now part of their portfolio that includes Jameson Whiskey, Absolute Vodka, and Havana Club Rum.

13 reviews

3.9 of out 5 stars


NickSanford

NickSanford

17 reviews
2 weeks ago

I didn’t find to much flavor in this Tobala. It was good, but it had just a little bit of the Floral flavors that were hitting and a pretty earthy smokiness to it. Gave it 3 Stars due to the high price attached to it. Tobala is one of my favorite agaves so I hold a pretty high standard for any Tobala.

SpencerS

SpencerS

3 reviews
3 weeks ago

Lot TOB – 16
A Mezcal I enjoy more and more with each sipping. Rogelio Martinez Cruz’s signature “dry fermenting” gives this mezcal a unique funk that is unlike any other tobala’s I’ve tried.

Nose: sweet burnt sugar with a beautiful blue cheese undertone that keeps it from veering on too sweet. As I smell the mezcal I picture mold growing on the roasted agave before fermentation, contributing the mango & banana fruitiness underneath. Not necessarily one I would describe as “clean” but rather a nose to get lost in the complexity of.

palate: overripe fruit and roasted agave. Also a fair amount of toasted almonds and leather compliment the distinct funky sweetness.

Finish: This is where most of the “smoke” lies. Long, woody, somewhat ashy but overall smooth and easy to drink too much of.

All in all, this one of my favorite mezcals and always the one I’m most inclined to pour from my collection of bottles. Also, one of the more expensive mezcals I (currently) own but worth the price. While similar, I prefer this to the Cruz’s Tepextate. There’s still much to uncover from this amazing spirit.

Lot TOB – 16
A Mezcal I enjoy more and more with each sipping. Rogelio Martinez Cruz’s signature “dry fermenting” gives this mezcal a unique funk that is unlike any other tobala’s I’ve tried.
Nose: sweet burnt sugar with a beautiful blue cheese undertone that keeps it from veering on too sweet. As I smell the mezcal I picture mold growing on the roasted agave before fermentation, contributing the mango & banana fruitiness underneath. Not necessarily one

Read more
Tyler

Tyler

316 reviews
2 months ago

Delightful charred peached notes. Key lime pie. Have had a few batches and usually find it very enjoyable. This was batch 14-1 at Terlingua in Portland, Maine.

Nick

Nick

14 reviews
2 months ago

The tropical tastes aplenty with this tobala – pineapple, mango and even a hint of burnt papaya at first taste. Fresh green scent and a slightly green taste behind the fruits. Feels good in the mouth with a little burn (45%) but then it sits nicely on the tongue before the reward of the back palette – a rich liqueur sensation followed by an agave stickiness and maybe a touch of mint that has you looking for more. TOB- 161.

5 months ago

Lot: TOB-161

Dried pineapple and mango on the nose. On the palate, light smoked poblano with a subtle mineral finish. Definitely a good sip.

Rakhal

Rakhal

104 reviews
7 months ago

Lot Tob-171. Sweet, woody, and herbal. Sawdust, banana, big league chew bubblegum, spearmint candy.

LittleArm

LittleArm

4 reviews
8 months ago

TOB-161
3.5 stars. But closer to 4 than 3. It’s good. Very smooth, easy drinker which is not surprising considering the fairly low ABV of 45%. Very disappointed that the strong fruity notes from previous reviews were basically nonexistent. Very smoky on the nose with no real heat to it. Like a camp fire the morning after. Strong minerality with a hint of citrus and a super clean finish. Definitely enjoyed it but wouldn’t pay a premium for it

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

134 reviews
12 months ago

One of my favorite mezcals. The standard to which I judge all other Tobala’s. Also, my favorite from DM

Mateospirit

Mateospirit

8 reviews
1 year ago

Yet another unique personality from Del maguey. Strong Funky cheese opening. It’s like smoke, banana leaves, soft hickory, and burnt rubber mixed together. It is smooth on the finish. I get a leather that reminds me of and old dirty worn horse saddle. I get a strong burnt rubber taste That develops. The smoke is earthy and reminds me of a bonfire that has been burning for days. It has a sour bitterness on the finish. For me this is a great experience but not worth the extra price tag. I personally would rather stick with my favorite Chicicapa❤️

Yet another unique personality from Del maguey. Strong Funky cheese opening. It’s like smoke, banana leaves, soft hickory, and burnt rubber mixed together. It is smooth on the finish. I get a leather that reminds me of and old dirty worn horse saddle. I get a strong burnt rubber taste That develops. The smoke is earthy and reminds me of a bonfire that has been burning for days. It has a sour bitterness on the finish. For me this is a great experience but not worth the extra price tag. I person

Read more
PDutton

PDutton

60 reviews
1 year ago

Copyright extends to 2015. TOP-151.

Oh, gosh. What an amazing dram! Full of all kinda of delicious fruit like mangoes and plums, white and yellow and purple flowers and vanilla, lightly caramelized sweetness, complex ashy smoke and intense minerality from such an amazing maguey. Some fun notes hiding of things like pineapple and pork, soy sauce, tumeric. The finish is possibly the best I’ve had of any spirit – it’s counted in minutes of oak smoke and agave lingering.

Copyright extends to 2015. TOP-151.
Oh, gosh. What an amazing dram! Full of all kinda of delicious fruit like mangoes and plums, white and yellow and purple flowers and vanilla, lightly caramelized sweetness, complex ashy smoke and intense minerality from such an amazing maguey. Some fun notes hiding of things like pineapple and pork, soy sauce, tumeric. The finish is possibly the best I’ve had of any spirit – it’s counted in minutes of oak smoke and agave lingering.

Read more
Chris

Chris

36 reviews
2 years ago

Had this last night with the Jolgorio Tobala, which was the superior, albeit more expensive, juice. Less full-bodied and a bit more metallic. By itself or with some Espadins, maybe it stands out more and is four star, but not against the Jolgorio. I have the the Del Maguey Chicicapa and Santo Domingo Albarradas Espadins, so I’ll have to try the Del Maguey Tobala against them to see if it really shines and justifies double their price.

PhilBrunski

PhilBrunski

19 reviews
2 years ago

Rich! Blue cheese funk on the nose that translates to the palate along with mango and some pretty strong cinnamon bite. Its really good but the only drawback is a sometimes bitter soapy finish that can take away from the other flavors. Solid Tobala overall.

Jonny

Jonny

334 reviews
2 years ago

Lot TOB-114 from 2011. Found this old wax-top bottle randomly online and purchased it for cheaper than what a brand new DM Tobala would cost. Great deal! It has a good amount of cinnamon on the nose with hints of something slightly sour. It smells like it was distilled in clay pots. The taste and mouthfeel also are reminiscent of clay. Tasting notes are well balanced: not too sweet, not too sour. I get a bit of ripe banana and fresh mango. I’d like to try some other lots of this Tobala, but this older one is incredibly rich and savory.

Lot TOB-114 from 2011. Found this old wax-top bottle randomly online and purchased it for cheaper than what a brand new DM Tobala would cost. Great deal! It has a good amount of cinnamon on the nose with hints of something slightly sour. It smells like it was distilled in clay pots. The taste and mouthfeel also are reminiscent of clay. Tasting notes are well balanced: not too sweet, not too sour. I get a bit of ripe banana and fresh mango. I’d like to try some other lots of this Tobala, bu

Read more
Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top