Powered by 100% agave

Del Maguey Pechuga

The Del Maguey Pechuga has a nose of basil, lemon, ocean, and fruit. This is a wild, super-rare Mezcal, unlike anything else.

About this mezcal

The Del Maguey Pechuga has a nose of basil, lemon, ocean, and fruit. It is almost scotch-like in its smoky taste. The Pechuga production season is limited due to the special ingredients like wild mountain apples and plums that must be in season in order for them to be added to the distillate. This mezcal is triple-distilled and the third distillation requires the vapors to pass through a suspended, skinless chicken breast (“Pechuga” means ‘breast’ in Spanish) before it condenses to form the Mezcal one can drink.

Del Maguey Mezcal

Del Maguey (pronounced ma–gay), Single Village Mezcal was founded in 1995 by internationally renowned artist and Mezcal visionary, Ron Cooper. Ron introduced the world to previously unavailable 100% certified organic, artisanal Mezcal produced the original handcrafted way. Through deep cultural relationships with Zapotec Mexican Indian producers in the remote villages of Oaxaca, Mexico, Del Maguey harnesses ancient, original organic processes. Combining these methods with varying micro-climates and terroir gives each creation its own unique, rich, sweet and smoky character. Every product in their collection is made by individual family palenqueros (producers) in old-style villages. They are the first producer to credit each product after the village where our liquid is made. When you see their beautiful green bottles you know it’s Del Maguey. Most of Del Maguey's mezcals are distilled to proof, so the ABV will vary slightly between batches.

In June of 2017, international spirits company, Pernod Ricard, purchased majority stake in the company. Del Maguey is now part of their portfolio that includes Jameson Whiskey, Absolute Vodka, and Havana Club Rum.

16 reviews

4.16 out of 5


Tmwilliams

Tmwilliams

6 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

A very complex mezcal and dry to the nose, although the scent is strong and lasts long. It’s richer and smoother than the Minero, which isn’t a surprise since it’s made from a third distillation of the Del Maguey Minero mezcal. Flavors of black licorice/anise and cloves with hints of fruit and a nice smokiness. Scotch-like and a band-aidy. This left my tongue tingling. Many different flavors and notes in this one and yes, I do taste chicken. An excellent, complex and premium mezcal!

A very complex mezcal and dry to the nose, although the scent is strong and lasts long. It’s richer and smoother than the Minero, which isn’t a surprise since it’s made from a third distillation of the Del Maguey Minero mezcal. Flavors of black licorice/anise and cloves with hints of fruit and a nice smokiness. Scotch-like and a band-aidy. This left my tongue tingling. Many different flavors and notes in this one and yes, I do taste chicken. An excellent, complex and premium me

Read more
aarild

aarild

69 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Lovely nose, like opening a hot clay pot containing a stew of white meat, tarragon and basil. Subtle minerality. On the palate the same meaty mouthfeel I’ve had with other pechugas, hint of cured ham and reblochon cheese. Panettone cake, lychee and violets, then a subtle aftertaste of some hard cheese rind I cannot specify, lingering on forever under a veil of floral, saline aromas — like your lover’s summer dress at sundown after a day on the beach.

Lot PEC-131

HighWine

HighWine

58 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars6 months ago

Lot PEC-172
Label says Santa Catarina Minas. Not sure if the location changes by batch. Aroma is detectable at arms length. My mouth is watering with anticipation. Fragrance is sweet and smoky at a distance. Up close I get shelled raw Brazil nut, oven roasted turkey deli meat, parsley, fresh mint, and shelled raw sunflower seeds. Big in the mouth. Heat up front followed by prosciutto, pine nut, Parmesan cheese, and kale leaf. Full in the mouth with a saline finish. A real flavor bomb and I’m glad I finally pulled the trigger on this one.

Lot PEC-172
Label says Santa Catarina Minas. Not sure if the location changes by batch. Aroma is detectable at arms length. My mouth is watering with anticipation. Fragrance is sweet and smoky at a distance. Up close I get shelled raw Brazil nut, oven roasted turkey deli meat, parsley, fresh mint, and shelled raw sunflower seeds. Big in the mouth. Heat up front followed by prosciutto, pine nut, Parmesan cheese, and kale leaf. Full in the mouth with a saline finish. A real flavor bomb a

Read more
Rakhal

Rakhal

317 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars9 months ago

PEC 171. This is a particularly good Pechuga. Tons of interesting flavors but nothing overwhelms and the Agave flavor is still present. That’s something of a rarity in Pechugas I’ve tasted. Orange soda, vanilla bean, pineapple upside down cake, sweet and sour chicken, and fresh wet carnations. I don’t buy many Pechugas but if I see this batch for sale I’ll probably buy it.

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

128 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars10 months ago

PEC-171
This is a delicate pechuga, with soft, floral notes. The clay & smoke are well balanced in this 49%, although still carries some heat at the finish. Not as sweet as I’d thought it’d be – although I do get some red apples in there & maybe cranberries. Also slight meatiness as well, which I normally miss out on with other pechugas. Yes, I paid the high price for a bottle, but it was for Thanksgiving & great to share with the whole family.
Review#62

PEC-171
This is a delicate pechuga, with soft, floral notes. The clay & smoke are well balanced in this 49%, although still carries some heat at the finish. Not as sweet as I’d thought it’d be – although I do get some red apples in there & maybe cranberries. Also slight meatiness as well, which I normally miss out on with other pechugas. Yes, I paid the high price for a bottle, but it was for Thanksgiving & great to share with the whole family.
Review#62

Read more
Soxfan

Soxfan

17 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars12 months ago

I love a good Pechuga and this is a really great one. Smooth and harmonious on the palate and in the mind — as in unforgettable. Yes, it’s different — very different — but that’s the point. Open your mind before sipping and it just might blow your mind. So damn delicious! One-half star deduction for the preposterous price point but if you’re in the mood to splurge on a great bottle, don’t hesitate to grab this one. LOT PEC-171 49% ABV.

Derekac7

Derekac7

19 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Elegant and balanced from start to finish. Black pepper, tamed espadin, light smoke, and chicken meat. A real class act.

t8ke

t8ke

144 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Sweet, rich and creamy mouth feel. Ethanol in check. Blue cheese, funky and meaty. Pepper, clove, savory poultry. Sweet, funky.

Earthy and mineral forward. Delightful in every sense.

POMBO

POMBO

5 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Very unique! This came from a collaboration with famous chef Jose Andres and Ron Cooper / Del Maguey. They use iberico ham which is a twist on the traditional chicken breast.
This is very delicious and interesting you get the salt and smoke from the ham as well as the smoke from the mezcal itself! A must-try!!

El_Roberto

El_Roberto

17 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Savoury meat with cloves and smoke. Peppery alcohol finish you get from Del Maguey

TheAgaveFairy

TheAgaveFairy

164 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Chicken, cinnamon wax candle, almond, maguey. Burnt clove, cranberry, peppermint, cherries, touch of mixed berries, orange flesh, decent amount of smoke and minerality. Some nutmeg, light dairy (bleu goats cheese), more cherry and whatever a nice way to say “Red Hots” is.

Palate: Savory finish, a little thin, a bit acidic. Finish also has that burnt clove. Main sweetness is complex, with overall good balance and more orange oils coming through with white pepper.

Just so expensive for what it is, it’s a good middle of the road pechuga though.

Chicken, cinnamon wax candle, almond, maguey. Burnt clove, cranberry, peppermint, cherries, touch of mixed berries, orange flesh, decent amount of smoke and minerality. Some nutmeg, light dairy (bleu goats cheese), more cherry and whatever a nice way to say “Red Hots” is.
Palate: Savory finish, a little thin, a bit acidic. Finish also has that burnt clove. Main sweetness is complex, with overall good balance and more orange oils coming through with white pepper.
Just so expensive for what it

Read more
darrenaustin

darrenaustin

7 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Exceptional. Delicious flavors and an easy finish.

Tomixology

Tomixology

17 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

I was lucky to enough to come across this bottle in a bar. The barmen had little knowledge of the bottle and charged me £4.40 (~$5). Fair to say I’ve been back several times.

I found it had a an almost savoury nose and taste with some soy like, strong green tea with light smoke and heady nose. Mild vegatile flavours with the initial pepperiness disapting quickly, with stone fruits. A little sweet chocolate on the finish.
I really enjoyed it, super easy drinking!

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

316 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Very strong. Perfect balance of meat and smoke. Its $200 a bottle in Houston, so not sure its worth buying a full bottle over, but would absolutely try a pour if youve never had it

Jonny

Jonny

537 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Lot PEC 10-2 from 2010. Light aromas of wet clay, mud, and fresh flowers. The palate has a lot of anise, black pepper, curry, cloves, and dark citrus. Loved finding this old Del Maguey (in a brown bottle, not green) with the old wax cap. This is super complex and full.

razorbackmike

razorbackmike

126 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 years ago

this one is very strong!it is very up front and will take your breath.after the shock,there is alot of fruit,nut and spice.the finish is unique in that it reminds me of sweettart candy.very nice mezcal.would give it 5 stars if the alcohol was a little less dominating.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top