Powered by 100% agave

Del Maguey Wild Papalome

Del Maguey Wild Papalome is earthy, dark, and delicious. The palate is strong with leather, slate, a hint of black olive, and meatiness.

Rating: (15 reviews)
Brand:Del Maguey Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O41X
Mezcalero:Fernando Caballero Cruz
Maguey:Papalome, Tobala
Agave:Cupreata, Potatorum
Distillation:Clay Pot, Steel
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:San Pedro Teozacoalco
ABV: 48%
Age of plant: 10-12 years
Website: http://delmaguey.com
About this mezcal

Del Maguey Wild Papalome is made with maguey Papalome (agave Cupreata), but some batches also include agave Potatorum (maguey Tobala). This mezcal is earthy, dark, and delicious. The palate is strong with leather, slate, a hint of black olive, and meatiness. It has a medium long finish with slightly sweet notes of dark dried black cherries. This is part of the Vino de Mezcal series.

Del Maguey Mezcal

Del Maguey (pronounced ma–gay), Single Village Mezcal was founded in 1995 by internationally renowned artist and Mezcal visionary, Ron Cooper. Ron introduced the world to previously unavailable 100% certified organic, artisanal Mezcal produced the original handcrafted way. Through deep cultural relationships with Zapotec Mexican Indian producers in the remote villages of Oaxaca, Mexico, Del Maguey harnesses ancient, original organic processes. Combining these methods with varying micro-climates and terroir gives each creation its own unique, rich, sweet and smoky character. Every product in their collection is made by individual family palenqueros (producers) in old-style villages. They are the first producer to credit each product after the village where our liquid is made. When you see their beautiful green bottles you know it’s Del Maguey. Most of Del Maguey's mezcals are distilled to proof, so the ABV will vary slightly between batches.

In June of 2017, international spirits company, Pernod Ricard, purchased majority stake in the company. Del Maguey is now part of their portfolio that includes Jameson Whiskey, Absolute Vodka, and Havana Club Rum.

15 reviews

4 out of 5


Andy

Andy

38 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 weeks ago

An interesting alternative to most mezcals I’ve been tasting recently.
Leather, earth, clay, stone and smoke. Hint of black olive with agave. Dark and mysterious. Alluring.
45%

stigibeu

stigibeu

33 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars6 months ago

3.75/5. Lot Pap-181. Description on the bottle has the nose right–leather couch stored in the back of an antiques store; no detectable alcohol, distant whiff of fruit on the nose. Touch of sweetness on the first sip yields to an earth soil mid palate–reminds me of aerating the yard in the fall. Good fluidity, not too thin, not too thick. Earthy, mineral finish to my taste, along with some distant relative of soy sauce.

Very interesting offering that I’m glad to have on my shelf.

3.75/5. Lot Pap-181. Description on the bottle has the nose right–leather couch stored in the back of an antiques store; no detectable alcohol, distant whiff of fruit on the nose. Touch of sweetness on the first sip yields to an earth soil mid palate–reminds me of aerating the yard in the fall. Good fluidity, not too thin, not too thick. Earthy, mineral finish to my taste, along with some distant relative of soy sauce.
Very interesting offering that I’m glad to have on my

Read more
Mansson

Mansson

71 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars6 months ago

Lot PAP-142. Strong flavours of leather, tobacco and earth. And toasted agave. In fact, it’s unusually smoky for a high-quality mezcal. Notes of rosemary and olives. The roasted flavours dominate the aftertaste, which is rather dry and tarry. A good mezcal but a tad one-dimensional.

t8ke

t8ke

90 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars6 months ago

Thin to medium mouthfeel, no heat. Sweet cream, mildly smoky. Tobacco, soil, rhubarb, beets. Vibrant, effervescent fruitiness. Pear, mango, chili peppers.

This was very nice.

El_Cura

El_Cura

31 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Nothing like clay-distilled Mezcal. Lemon sweet and peppery. Liquid Ricola. Hotness aftertaste. Yum!

Spirit_Chaser

Spirit_Chaser

19 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Lot: PAP-171
Smells of musty leather with a hint of fruitiness trying to poke through. Taste is dark, earthy, and smoky. Complete opposite of most of the mezcales I have been sipping on lately. Leather, forest floor, black olives, portabello mushroom, sticks/dried leaves, tobacco, with notes of blueberries trying to balance out all them dark earthy flavors. Finishes with a lingering smokiness. Big, creamy mouthfeel on this one as well. I’m still trying to wrap my head around this one but I very much so dig it.

Lot: PAP-171
Smells of musty leather with a hint of fruitiness trying to poke through. Taste is dark, earthy, and smoky. Complete opposite of most of the mezcales I have been sipping on lately. Leather, forest floor, black olives, portabello mushroom, sticks/dried leaves, tobacco, with notes of blueberries trying to balance out all them dark earthy flavors. Finishes with a lingering smokiness. Big, creamy mouthfeel on this one as well. I’m still trying to wrap my head around this one

Read more
rsidrys

rsidrys

42 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Deep, dark, earthy, and sweet. Leather on the nose was a fun experience. This was delicious to the point that I bought a bottle for my collection.

Rakhal

Rakhal

198 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lot PAP-171. Very smoky. I haven’t had one this smoky in a while. Leather, menthol, and cherry cough syrup. Interesting finish. Good, but I wouldn’t buy it.

Gastrafetes

Gastrafetes

5 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Olive brine, Afghan hash, compost, ozone, Grilled beef tongue. The finish has a hint of wet dog that doesn’t really appeal to me. Try it with a sauté of chicory and garlic, or fresh fennel

Jonny

Jonny

445 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lot 16-1. Stellar aromas of fresh cotton, chick peas, and slate. The palate has more minerals and slate with a faint hint of cotton balls and flan. I also get a lot of leather and tanning hide flavors. “Elegant” is a good word for this mezcal. It’s clean cut and sophisticated in character and approach. Very, very good.

TheAgaveFairy

TheAgaveFairy

100 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

PAP-161.
Clay, smokey leather, baked texas style molasses beans, slow roasted oak bbq, black olive, dry charred pineapple, sweet cherry, dried lavender, bitter orange peel, dried cinnamon, incense, cooked bison, slow cooked pork oils, dark tobacco, black peppercorn, mexican vanilla, madagascar vanilla, hyssop, charred carrot, dried parsley, clove. Sour to sweet, dries out to a bitter and smokey finish.

SBP

SBP

6 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lot: PAP-173
This is the first cupreata mezcal I’ve had, but it is absolutely delicious. The nose is a tad bit like sour fruits mixed with smoke. The first taste to come out is both leathery and minerally – you can really taste the clay distillation here. After, there is a lingering sweetness, sour cherry mixed with Earth perhaps? This is a savory mezcal and one of my favorite Del Maguey releases.

LosMuertos

LosMuertos

32 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Very enjoyable.

Notes of smoke, leather, minerals and cucumber. Also a hint of sun screen which I’m not super fond of. Black olives on the palate yes.

Scent: 4/5
Mouthfeel: 4/5

razorbackmike

razorbackmike

113 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

this may be my number1!!!cotton candy and deep leather on the nose.entry is savory with mushroom and dark cherry/black berry.finish is a hint of dark chocolate and sweet agave.OMG!! would give it six stars if possible!

Tyler

Tyler

418 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Dried peach on the nose. Semisweet taste of flan and orange peel on the palate. Delicious cupreata from Del Maguey. Lot 15-1

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top