Powered by 100% agave

Del Maguey Wild Tepextate

Del Maguey Wild Tepextate is made with the wild agave Tepextate, which offers a lighter body with notes of candied fruit, cinnamon, and honeysuckle.

Rating: (10 reviews)
Cost:$$$
Brand:Del Maguey Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O41X
Mezcalero:Leopoldino Miranda, Rogelio Martinez Cruz
Maguey:Tepeztate
Agave:Marmorata
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Santa Maria Albarradas
ABV: 45%
Age of plant: 15-25 years
Website: http://delmaguey.com, opens in new window
Ownership:Pernod Ricard

About this mezcal

Del Maguey Wild Tepextate is made by the same producer of the Del Maguey Tobala and the Del Maguey Espadin Especial. For a long time, Del Maguey would not release the name or the information of this famed mezcalero. This mezcal is made with the wild agave Tepextate, which offers a lighter body with notes of candied fruit, cinnamon, and honeysuckle. This is part of the Del Maguey Vino de Mezcal series.

Del Maguey Mezcal

Del Maguey (pronounced ma–gay), Single Village Mezcal was founded in 1995 by internationally renowned artist and Mezcal visionary, Ron Cooper. Ron introduced the world to previously unavailable 100% certified organic, artisanal Mezcal produced the original handcrafted way. Through deep cultural relationships with Zapotec Mexican Indian producers in the remote villages of Oaxaca, Mexico, Del Maguey harnesses ancient, original organic processes. Combining these methods with varying micro-climates and terroir gives each creation its own unique, rich, sweet and smoky character. Every product in their collection is made by individual family palenqueros (producers) in old-style villages. They are the first producer to credit each product after the village where our liquid is made. When you see their beautiful green bottles you know it’s Del Maguey. Most of Del Maguey’s mezcals are distilled to proof, so the ABV will vary slightly between batches.

In June of 2017, international spirits company, Pernod Ricard, purchased majority stake in the company. Del Maguey is now part of their portfolio that includes Jameson Whiskey, Absolute Vodka, and Havana Club Rum.

10 reviews

4 out of 5

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

508 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 weeks ago

Lot: TEP-171
Nose – Cherry candy. Rose petal. Slight nuttiness. A country road dustiness. Fantastic aromas, not the quintessential green, spicy, vegetal notes I usually find in tepeztate mezcales.

Palate – Celery leaf. Smoked chicken you’d find in a great, Texas bbq joint. Very light creaminess. A tiny flowery soap note but definitely not unpleasant. For 45% ABV this is absolutely full of flavor, IMO punches around 50% without the heat. This is one of the more unique tepeztates I’ve tried – a kick ass bottle! It seems there has been quite the variability in batches over the years (which I unfortunately have not tried) but this newer one rocks.

Lot: TEP-171
Nose – Cherry candy. Rose petal. Slight nuttiness. A country road dustiness. Fantastic aromas, not the quintessential green, spicy, vegetal notes I usually find in tepeztate mezcales.
Palate – Celery leaf. Smoked chicken you’d find in a great, Texas bbq joint. Very light creaminess. A tiny flowery soap note but definitely not unpleasant. For 45% ABV this is absolutely full of flavor, IMO punches around 50% without the heat. This is one of the more unique tepezta

Read more
Forpowder

Forpowder

18 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Lot TEP-151 45% Aromas out of the bottle are green Jolly Ranchers cinnamon and acetone. A lot of brown leather flavors with some sour green pepper. Finishes with a burnt orange peppery kind of Funk.

aarild

aarild

129 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Smells very mineral for being copper distilled, dusty, green chiles. Fresh cheese, jalapeño, boiled pears, toffee. Smokey finish. Very good mezcal I’d never refuse, ever.
Bottle from 2016 with illegible lot no.

Edit: Tasting from another unknown lot number I should add half a star. Very mineral nose still. More cinnamon spice than my last try, peppery. Structure is excellent: discreet but full mouthfeel with long pleasant aftertaste. There is a slight bitter tone many will enjoy but that to me seems misplaced and stops me from giving a full score.

Lot 161:
An even better batch, very well rounded tep, whilst keeping the distinct character of the maguey.

Smells very mineral for being copper distilled, dusty, green chiles. Fresh cheese, jalapeño, boiled pears, toffee. Smokey finish. Very good mezcal I’d never refuse, ever.
Bottle from 2016 with illegible lot no.
Edit: Tasting from another unknown lot number I should add half a star. Very mineral nose still. More cinnamon spice than my last try, peppery. Structure is excellent: discreet but full mouthfeel with long pleasant aftertaste. There is a slight bitter tone many will enjoy but that to m

Read more
Ambros

Ambros

8 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Lightly smoky, mature fruits, spicy, a little lactic. Easy drinking but was expecting a bigger punch.

Rakhal

Rakhal

389 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Lot Tep-151. Really disappointing. None of that green jalapeño smell and flavor that I associate with Tepextate. Really sour, vegetal, and bitter. Anise, crushed brick, and boiled arugula.

Nic Hnastchenko

Nic Hnastchenko

108 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Just read about this one in Holy Smoked! I love this, knowing the years this plant had to put in to make this juice makes it all the more special. Delicious, tropical fruit. Didn’t have a chance to check the batch.

Wanderingspider

Wanderingspider

49 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Lot- TEP 151.
Very pretty stuff. Nose has spices like cinnamon and smoked sweet paprika with just the right amount of smokiness overall.
Palate isn’t overly heavy or viscous but has the right amount of weight with a definitive fruity quality (cooked plantains maybe?). It also has a certain savouriness which makes this a delicious and hard bottle to put down.

Score – 4+/5

Keith

Keith

35 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars6 years ago

Lot TEP – 131, 45% ABV. The bottle’s descriptive notes mirror my tasting experience in many ways “…candied fruit nose of banana taffy and spun sugar… with floral notes of honeysuckle…”, to which I would add a little bit of smoke. The mouth feel is viscous & soft. Subtle spice is noticeable initially, but the body’s flavor is dominated by candy sweet tastes, with a meaty, smoky, mouth watering finish. This bottling is a sinfully easy drinker.

Lot TEP – 131, 45% ABV. The bottle’s descriptive notes mirror my tasting experience in many ways “…candied fruit nose of banana taffy and spun sugar… with floral notes of honeysuckle…”, to which I would add a little bit of smoke. The mouth feel is viscous & soft. Subtle spice is noticeable initially, but the body’s flavor is dominated by candy sweet tastes, with a meaty, smoky, mouth watering finish. This bottling is a sinfully easy drinke

Read more
Jonny

Jonny

615 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars6 years ago

Lot TEP15-1. This mezcal smells amazing. Aromas of toasted corn, burnt orange peel, and sweet onion. This walks the line. It’s even and balanced. I’m a big fan of Tepeztate and this one is fantastic.

Tyler

Tyler

593 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars6 years ago

A tepextate with notes of smoke and pepper on the nose. On the palate there are notes of sweet leather, jalapeño, and mild fruit. This tepextate is down the middle and a bit mild compared to other agave tepextate mezcals, however it is a decent introduction to one of the most delicious agaves. Lot 15-1

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top