Powered by 100% agave

Del Maguey Chichicapa

The Del Maguey Chichicapa is a classic release that may very well be one of the most well-known mezcals on the international market.

Rating: (86 reviews)
Cost:$$
Brand:Del Maguey Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O41X
Mezcalero:Faustino Garcia Vasquez
Maguey:Espadin
Agave:Angustifolia
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:San Baltazar Chichicapam
ABV: 46%
Website: http://delmaguey.com, opens in new window
Ownership:Pernod Ricard

About this mezcal

The Del Maguey Chichicapa has a relatively light nose, yet it is deep and sweet on the tongue with lots of citrus and a complex character. It has a long finish with developing smokiness and a hint of chocolate and mint at the end. The town of Chichicapa is dry and tropical, depending on the time of year, with banana trees, guava, and mangoes.

Del Maguey Mezcal

Del Maguey (pronounced ma–gay), Single Village Mezcal was founded in 1995 by internationally renowned artist and Mezcal visionary, Ron Cooper. Ron introduced the world to previously unavailable 100% certified organic, artisanal Mezcal produced the original handcrafted way. Through deep cultural relationships with Zapotec Mexican Indian producers in the remote villages of Oaxaca, Mexico, Del Maguey harnesses ancient, original organic processes. Combining these methods with varying micro-climates and terroir gives each creation its own unique, rich, sweet and smoky character. Every product in their collection is made by individual family palenqueros (producers) in old-style villages. They are the first producer to credit each product after the village where our liquid is made. When you see their beautiful green bottles you know it’s Del Maguey. Most of Del Maguey’s mezcals are distilled to proof, so the ABV will vary slightly between batches.

In June of 2017, international spirits company, Pernod Ricard, purchased majority stake in the company. Del Maguey is now part of their portfolio that includes Jameson Whiskey, Absolute Vodka, and Havana Club Rum.

Member rating

4.03 out of 5

86 reviews

Americana Kyle

Americana Kyle

60 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

I can’t remember how many times I’ve had Chichicapa. It’s a good pour for a good price that is usually easy to locate. Also a very good expression for individuals looking to get into the world of agave distillates.

Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Tried this in a restaurant. My first mezcal ever. I’m a bourbon enthusiast but we were at a high-Mexican place at the beach and on a whim I bought the table a round of this because the server said “the guys in the kitchen say this is the best.” I made 5 good friends that night lol. I don’t know the notes for mezcal but this stuff is FIRE. Sweet and pungent and BIG on the tongue but smooth and oily. I immediately wanted more. Ordered a couple bottles online and now I haven’t drank bourbon in months

Tried this in a restaurant. My first mezcal ever. I’m a bourbon enthusiast but we were at a high-Mexican place at the beach and on a whim I bought the table a round of this because the server said “the guys in the kitchen say this is the best.” I made 5 good friends that night lol. I don’t know the notes for mezcal but this stuff is FIRE. Sweet and pungent and BIG on the tongue but smooth and oily. I immediately wanted more. Ordered a couple bottles online and now I haven’t dra

Read more
SoloAgave

SoloAgave

86 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Easy to find, priced reasonably, and a great product all around. Subtle and balanced – plenty of more in depth reviews but just an approachable standard that every mezcal lover should try along the way.

Tuco_Salamanca

Tuco_Salamanca

2 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

If you are choosing one Mezcal to start your collection, this is a great place to start. Very smooth Mezcal with a balanced taste…..

tdhdk

tdhdk

6 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Lot CHI-192. Really great and definitely a step up from the other Mezcal that I have tasted. Smoky, Lemon and citrus notes, pepper and a whiff of engine oil. Really great. Creamy mouthfeel and quiet long smoky and oily aftertaste. I like it a lot. The best I have had yet.

Mezcaliente

Mezcaliente

14 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

CHI – 203. Dry and spicy with decent smoke and some citrus. Came out slightly above middle of the pack in a blind taste test (just ahead of Vida, which is less than half the price!). Very solid, but was expecting a bit more for the price.

TheMezcalSpectrum

TheMezcalSpectrum

4 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Juicy!! Big fan of this one – fruit flavors on prominent and on point. I like it… a lot.

aarild

aarild

153 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

A bit of grass on the nose, oily mouthfeel, baked pear, complex fruitiness and toffee. Medium to long aftertaste, subdued smoke. This is really a great espadin.
For some strange reason it cost more than USD100 in my country so I won’t keep it as a staple. But when I still award it four stars that is on quality alone.

themezcalpadawan

themezcalpadawan

6 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Lot chi-192/48% ALC

A delightful surprise as I had almost begun to assume that the best expressions of maguey espadin are in the Nuestro Elsoledad range. A delightful citrus note on the palette, with slight floral and peppery notes in the lingering finish, very comparable to San Luis Del Rio espadin expressions (a touch more vibrant than Del Maguey Vida in my opinion). The nose does not give up much beyond an oily component behind the smoke. I felt like I was getting a hint of overcooked olive oil somewhere.An excellent and relatively inexpensive bottle that should be considered in the list of “gateway” Mezcal for those new to this spirit.

Let it in ya,get it up ya!

The Mezcal Padawan

Lot chi-192/48% ALC
A delightful surprise as I had almost begun to assume that the best expressions of maguey espadin are in the Nuestro Elsoledad range. A delightful citrus note on the palette, with slight floral and peppery notes in the lingering finish, very comparable to San Luis Del Rio espadin expressions (a touch more vibrant than Del Maguey Vida in my opinion). The nose does not give up much beyond an oily component behind the smoke. I felt like I was getting a hint of overcooked olive o

Read more
TzotollineRaramuri

TzotollineRaramuri

75 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

CHI-1958
?- clear
?- drying/warning impact.
Aromas of suede, faux leather, sawdust, animal sweat, pepper, cooked aloe vera, lemon, caraway, nutmeg.
Adequate, slightly complex production.
Average length and ordinary to fine character.
?-warming slight astringency, sufficiently to generous/smooth to rough alcohol; medium body.
Primarily sour taste with light bitterness; buttery smoothness.
Flavors of lemon and lime zest, white pepper, nutmeg, spice, apricot, guava, quince.
Concentrated flavor intensity, complex, bold and harmonious balance.
Straightforwardly pleasant and very long finish.
Very good to excellent impression.

Learn more about organoleptic evaluation at the International Wine & Spirits Guild’s seminar in Fine Spirits,
or more on Agave Spirits certifications through the Agave Spirits Institute.

CHI-1958
?- clear
?- drying/warning impact.
Aromas of suede, faux leather, sawdust, animal sweat, pepper, cooked aloe vera, lemon, caraway, nutmeg.
Adequate, slightly complex production.
Average length and ordinary to fine character.
?-warming slight astringency, sufficiently to generous/smooth to rough alcohol; medium body.
Primarily sour taste with light bitterness; buttery smoothness.
Flavors of lemon and lime zest, white pepper, nutmeg, spice, apricot, guava, quince.
Concentrated flavor inte

Read more
namespayne

namespayne

9 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Delicate ball of smoke and fire. Nose: fresh rubber, solvents, pepper, champagne. Taste: Kerosene fuel and sugar. Briny, rock salt minerality is borderline offensive. Pungent. that briny coal tar taste you find in peated whiskies. Viscous, full-bodied mouth feel bursts into a fiery, tingly numbness. Dry. Honestly the agave is quite buried. The alcohol is not. The smoke and rubber dominate with the sweetness and pepper not far behind. Overdone with smoke. Coal tar finish. Unbalanced. $62USD/750mL. Lot: CHI-201

Delicate ball of smoke and fire. Nose: fresh rubber, solvents, pepper, champagne. Taste: Kerosene fuel and sugar. Briny, rock salt minerality is borderline offensive. Pungent. that briny coal tar taste you find in peated whiskies. Viscous, full-bodied mouth feel bursts into a fiery, tingly numbness. Dry. Honestly the agave is quite buried. The alcohol is not. The smoke and rubber dominate with the sweetness and pepper not far behind. Overdone with smoke. Coal tar finish. Unbalanced.

Read more
spasta

spasta

22 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Strong, Smokey, solid performer. Another good introductory bottle with the right amount of punch but not too much complexity in my opinion. Enjoy.

MMalia

MMalia

1 review
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Juicy.

edgy4sure

edgy4sure

39 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Well, I was pumped to try this with so many good reviews, and while it did not disappoint, it didn’t thrill me either. Seems a bit understated and mild, if you will. It was not bad in any way but I’m not sure I’d buy again at this price point. Seemed a great starter mezcal.

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

542 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Lot: CHI-192
Nose: Pleasant, smooth smoke. Citrusy fruit with slight ethanol – but good.

Palate: Same as the nose at first – pleasant, very smooth smoky taste. Love the fruity sweetness. Some chocolate espresso bean notes in there. Nice mint and cigar finish.

meserole

meserole

73 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Others have described this one well, so I won’t get too creative, but co-sign the notes of roasted pineapple, honey, mild smoke, and brioche. Fairly full bodied. Pleasant.

I bought this because I thought at $68, it might be worth sipping but not wasted in a cocktail, and I basically still agree with that notion, but for the price think there are some better offerings to be had with Derrumbes or Mezcal Vago.

HighWine

HighWine

76 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Lot CHI-206

Having trouble picking up distinct aromas in this one. Cooked agave is too generic but it’s what I get. Roasty but not smoky on the nose. Sweet and boozy in the glass. Taste is caramel, booze, parsley, and mint. Medium-full body leaning toward full. Finish is hot, sweet, and leafy herbs. I find this simple but tasty.

Lasirenaahumada

Lasirenaahumada

9 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

For the price, this is a tropical vacation in the mouth. Exotic fruits. Easy to sip by the beach. Not that smokie, but very refreshing.

Meady

Meady

53 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Lot 191
Can see this long being a staple in the collection. Best Espadin I’ve tried so far. Easy sipper. Complex with lots of flavours. Smells delicious (definite hint of BBQ in there and what smells better than that!?)
Light sweetness, citrus, earthiness, nice smoke and more flavours it’ll take some time to get to grips with. Should have picked this one up sooner.
Any recommendations for other Espadins which can compete I would welcome 🙂

t8ke

t8ke

144 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Honey, cereal, faint ash, sweet waffle cone. Light blueberry note. Faint frosting note. Sweet, lightly fruity, mildly ashy. Nice complexity.

Delightful and different. Lots of complexity here. Big fan. It’s commonly recommended for a reason.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top