Powered by 100% agave

Del Maguey Chichicapa

The Del Maguey Chichicapa is a classic release that may very well be one of the most well-known mezcals on the international market.

Rating: (86 reviews)
Cost:$$
Brand:Del Maguey Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O41X
Mezcalero:Faustino Garcia Vasquez
Maguey:Espadin
Agave:Angustifolia
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:San Baltazar Chichicapam
ABV: 46%
Website: http://delmaguey.com, opens in new window
Ownership:Pernod Ricard

About this mezcal

The Del Maguey Chichicapa has a relatively light nose, yet it is deep and sweet on the tongue with lots of citrus and a complex character. It has a long finish with developing smokiness and a hint of chocolate and mint at the end. The town of Chichicapa is dry and tropical, depending on the time of year, with banana trees, guava, and mangoes.

Del Maguey Mezcal

Del Maguey (pronounced ma–gay), Single Village Mezcal was founded in 1995 by internationally renowned artist and Mezcal visionary, Ron Cooper. Ron introduced the world to previously unavailable 100% certified organic, artisanal Mezcal produced the original handcrafted way. Through deep cultural relationships with Zapotec Mexican Indian producers in the remote villages of Oaxaca, Mexico, Del Maguey harnesses ancient, original organic processes. Combining these methods with varying micro-climates and terroir gives each creation its own unique, rich, sweet and smoky character. Every product in their collection is made by individual family palenqueros (producers) in old-style villages. They are the first producer to credit each product after the village where our liquid is made. When you see their beautiful green bottles you know it’s Del Maguey. Most of Del Maguey’s mezcals are distilled to proof, so the ABV will vary slightly between batches.

In June of 2017, international spirits company, Pernod Ricard, purchased majority stake in the company. Del Maguey is now part of their portfolio that includes Jameson Whiskey, Absolute Vodka, and Havana Club Rum.

Member rating

4.03 out of 5

86 reviews

dutchy

dutchy

3 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Earthy, complex and citrusy…Possibly too complex for me. Packaging is not my best.

Derekac7

Derekac7

19 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Awesome! Citrus, bbq, smokey, hint of vanilla. A lot of heat for 46%, but the lack of smoothness is made up by its complexity.

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

215 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Great espadin! Strong nose (some BBQ in there) with sweet & complex finish. Notes of citrus & light berries throughout as well as something else I’m not able to place yet. All around solid sipping mezcal, and worth the ~$80 price tag. One of my first descriptions of sipping this one still rings true each time: “It punches you, then gives you a kiss”.
Lot: CHI-183

Spirit_Buff

Spirit_Buff

11 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Nose: Complex wood smoke, citrus peels, and something hard to pin down that I associate with agave spirits in general. I suppose some sort of roasted agave? Hard to say.

Taste: Barbecued mint cream cheese frosting. Which sounds wild but is very pleasant in practice. Toothpaste and charred wood. Sweet and sour.

Finish: Smoked thin mints. Weird, but again pleasant.

Notes: A lot of these tasting notes don’t really sound like they would play nicely together, but somehow it works. This is remarkably complex spirit that’s a little different each time I come back to it, impressive stuff. Wish I had been into Mezcal back before Del Maguey got bought out by Pernod, but this is still excellent.

Nose: Complex wood smoke, citrus peels, and something hard to pin down that I associate with agave spirits in general. I suppose some sort of roasted agave? Hard to say.
Taste: Barbecued mint cream cheese frosting. Which sounds wild but is very pleasant in practice. Toothpaste and charred wood. Sweet and sour.
Finish: Smoked thin mints. Weird, but again pleasant.
Notes: A lot of these tasting notes don’t really sound like they would play nicely together, but somehow it works. This is remarkabl

Read more
CasaDeGuero

CasaDeGuero

21 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

A bit thicker texture. Some rich mocha/coffee or chocolate notes in the after taste which is really nice. Tastes complex. Great.

Batch: CHI-199

El_Cura

El_Cura

31 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Chichicapa has to be the most reviewed mezcal on this site, and for a good reason. Del Maguey distributes it pretty much everywhere. Previous review from JJ was spot on. Indeed the Espadin benchmark.

JJHenderson

JJHenderson

10 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

THE benchmark of Oaxacan espadins. Never disappoints

DavidB

DavidB

6 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Earthy, fresh, grassy, clean…. I really enjoyed this mezcal

Stingray Evans

Stingray Evans

2 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Excellent Mezcal. Silky smooth with a touch of smoke and spice. I always keep a bottle of this at the house. It’s scary how quickly you can drink a bottle of this and make some great music videos jamming to Queens Of The Stone Age during this COVID-19 pandemic!

vandicla

vandicla

4 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

I am not a Del Maguey fan but this one really got me.
It starts on a citric, sichuan note and ends with chocolate, Jamaican Rum notes. Slightly sweet for my taste but still very rich.

Mansson

Mansson

71 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Lot CHI-142. Nothing in particular stands out in this espadín which may make you think it’s dull, but in reality this is a very well-balanced and pleasant drink. It’s more sweet than fruity with notes of almond paste and sugarcane and a creamy mouthfeel. Some paprika-like bitterness adds complexity. An earlier reviewer mentioned bacon and I agree with that. But it’s the fatty, rich taste of bacon rather than smoke. All in all, a great mezcal for the beginner – and the rest of us.

Lot CHI-142. Nothing in particular stands out in this espadín which may make you think it’s dull, but in reality this is a very well-balanced and pleasant drink. It’s more sweet than fruity with notes of almond paste and sugarcane and a creamy mouthfeel. Some paprika-like bitterness adds complexity. An earlier reviewer mentioned bacon and I agree with that. But it’s the fatty, rich taste of bacon rather than smoke. All in all, a great mezcal for the beginner – and the rest of us.

Read more
GeorgePBurdell

GeorgePBurdell

49 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Lot CHI-199
The nose is a bit shy with gentle smoke and earth. On the tongue it’s deep and sweet. Mouth coating, minty finish. Everything is well integrated and delicious

kevjo

kevjo

3 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

As a smokey whisky lover, my friends often ask me what whisky I’m loving at the moment. I tell them Chichicapa – and it’s not a whisky. It’s a mezcal. Chichicapa is an incredibly complex drink, like a lagavulin 17 or benriach septendecim, it’s smokey and medicinal and changes beautiful with touches of water and ice. It’s a clean and smooth drink but with undefinitive complexity ranging from pepper to smoke to subtle light citrus. If you can find it, buy it.

SpencerS

SpencerS

13 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

A great introductory bottle to more premium mezcals. The nose is a great balance of burnt rubber and sweet citrus and isn’t as overwhelming bright as some other espadins. The pallet is sweeter than expected with a smooth, creamy finish. This has become to staple bottle of Del Maguey and for good reason.

El_Roberto

El_Roberto

23 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Bit of chocolate mint and lime. You get the Del Maguey smoke, and thin and peppery finish.

nick82

nick82

1 review
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars5 years ago

complex, a bit harsh heat, but can definitely appreciate the quality. .. i think it’ll grow on me. Hey! this is my first ever review – i’ll get better at this. Lot: CHI-195

BartFargo

BartFargo

21 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Lot CHI-177, 46%

Nose: A formal garden in the summer – green hedges, juniper trees, gravel, chalky earth, and burning brush in the distance. There’s also fruity pineapple and meringue, plus a bit of cocktail onion and sour pickle.

Palate: Smoke is more potent, and it’s sweeter than the nose, with cooked agave, sugarcane syrup, lychee, apricot, citrus peel and roasted green bell peppers. Mouthfeel is creamy and full.

Finish: Grapefruit, cooked agave, rosewater, sparkling minerality and a late resurgence of ash and smoke. Medium-short length.

DM Chichicapa was my first experience with mezcal and this batch is still very appealing to me, particularly how the earthy, vegetal nose unfolds into a sweet, smoky and full-bodied palate. Doesn’t really pack any wow factors, but it’s benchmark espadin.

Lot CHI-177, 46%
Nose: A formal garden in the summer – green hedges, juniper trees, gravel, chalky earth, and burning brush in the distance. There’s also fruity pineapple and meringue, plus a bit of cocktail onion and sour pickle.
Palate: Smoke is more potent, and it’s sweeter than the nose, with cooked agave, sugarcane syrup, lychee, apricot, citrus peel and roasted green bell peppers. Mouthfeel is creamy and full.
Finish: Grapefruit, cooked agave, rosewater, sparkling minerality an

Read more
Spirit_Chaser

Spirit_Chaser

20 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Subtle smoke on the nose along with earthy, dusty, and vegetal notes…nothing too big. The taste changes all that though. Fruity (lemon/lime), earthy, vegetal, minty (spearmint), and some smoke all in one balanced package. Peppery/piney finish with subtle notes of burnt rubber. A bit thin on the mouthfeel but it’s a classic for a reason.

Yggy45

Yggy45

7 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Lot CHI-175.

Understated nose, a small amount of smoke, some eucalyptus and cedar wood, maybe a little vanilla.

Oak barrels, mint, eucalyptus, cotton candy and bitter herbs on the palate, in that order, with a long slightly smokey finish. Great sipping!

Rakhal

Rakhal

421 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Lot 181. Smooth and creamy. I’ve heard that this one was smokey but to me there was only a light smoke. Vegetal notes, asparagus, granite rock, mildly spicy.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top