Powered by 100% agave

El Jolgorio Tobaziche

El Jolgorio Tobaziche is a somewhat rare release that carries deep notes of winter pine, fresh green bananas, and lime peel.

Rating: (14 reviews)
Cost:$$$$
Brand:El Jolgorio Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O98X
Holograms:0195A0019505A, opens in new window
Mezcalero:Pablo Vasquez Garcia, Pedro Vasquez
Maguey:Tobaziche
Agave:Karwinskii
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Agua del Espino, Lachigui
ABV: ~48%
Age of plant: 14 years
Release year: 2015
Website: https://backbarproject.com/portfolio/casa-cortes/, opens in new window
About this mezcal

El Jolgorio Tobaziche is made with maguey Tobaziche, which is a member of the agave Karwinskii family. This agave takes about 14 years to mature before it is ready for harvest. Master Mezcalero Pedro Vasquez is widely known for the incredible mezcal he creates, and this mezcal is no exception. It carries deep notes of pine, green bananas, lime peel, and a hint of tar that mixes with clean smoke. This mezcal is somewhat rare. If you see it, try it.

El Jolgorio Mezcal

El Jolgorio translates to “the revelry”. Jolgorios are small festivals that occur in remote, mountain villages throughout Oaxaca, Mexico. They celebrate births, deaths, weddings and Saint’s days. For centuries, the lifeblood of these celebrations has been traditional mezcal. In 2010, the Cortés family began building a collective of top mezcal distillers from around Oaxaca. As of 2019, El Jolgorio represents sixteen different families, working in ten different regions of Oaxaca, Mexico, each with its own special story. Every bottle is hand-marked with the specific details of each batch, to truly connect the drinker with the family behind the expression.

In 2017, the team behind the brand realized that certain varieties of agave would be extremely limited and they would only be able to make them available once per year (if at all). They began packaging these rare editions in black bottles to set them apart from the other releases.

14 reviews

4.18 out of 5


Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

218 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 months ago

Nose – Wet forest – a combo of moss and pine.

Palate – Heavy black licorice, semi sambuca initially then dissipates. Great complexity and tough to nail down. Pleasant heat. Very dry finish but the flavor goes on for days – an interesting smoky cherry ice cream note. A little bit underwhelming for the price point.

COak

COak

134 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Edition 7, 2016, 166/750. I love Pedro Vazquez black bottles, hard to go wrong. Really rich mezcal with a long enjoyable finish. Strong flavors of cherries and limes with earthiness.

bardle

bardle

4 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Edition 08; Harvest 2017; Pedro Vasquez.

Nose: Powerful, a mixture of floral and fruits with a touch of earth and spice, really pleasant and nice. No hint of alcohol.

Palette: Sweetness and citrus to start then some spice and earthiness round it out. Very well balanced and punchy.

Finish: Long; Powerful damp earth takes over, not much smoke at all here. Citrus and honeysuckle notes come back at the end and linger.

Really Really wonderful. My first black bottle and I do not regret the purchase at all. absolutely worth it if you can find one.

Edition 08; Harvest 2017; Pedro Vasquez.
Nose: Powerful, a mixture of floral and fruits with a touch of earth and spice, really pleasant and nice. No hint of alcohol.
Palette: Sweetness and citrus to start then some spice and earthiness round it out. Very well balanced and punchy.
Finish: Long; Powerful damp earth takes over, not much smoke at all here. Citrus and honeysuckle notes come back at the end and linger.
Really Really wonderful. My first black bottle and I do not regret the purcha

Read more
meserole

meserole

67 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Incredible nose – floral fruit bouquet. Then, a surprisingly musty and dusty flavor on the tongue, and hotter than you’d think. It is similar to their black bottle karwinskii (“Cenizo”), but I think I prefer that one. I might have rated it higher if not for the knowledge that these bottles cost $200+ in the US, and I just don’t think that price premium is worthwhile compared to El Jolgorio’s perfectly delicious normal range.

Edition 07-2016. Bottle 489/750. Tried at Mezcalogia in Oaxaca City.

Incredible nose – floral fruit bouquet. Then, a surprisingly musty and dusty flavor on the tongue, and hotter than you’d think. It is similar to their black bottle karwinskii (“Cenizo”), but I think I prefer that one. I might have rated it higher if not for the knowledge that these bottles cost $200+ in the US, and I just don’t think that price premium is worthwhile compared to El Jolgorio’s perfectly delicious normal range.
Edition 07-2016. Bottle 489/750.

Read more
Nic Hnastchenko

Nic Hnastchenko

108 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Black bottle. Always a treat, but I need to revisit this one. 48% Edition 05

Rakhal

Rakhal

317 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Edition 6, 2017, Black bottle. Pablo Vasquez in Ejutla NOT Pedro Vasquez. Is Pablo related to Pedro?? I did a double take on the Mezcalero name here because I am used to seeing Pedro Vasquez. Anyways, this one is nice and tropical with notes of caramelized pineapple, tamarind, and plumeria flower.

stigibeu

stigibeu

33 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Edition 1, 2014 harvest (clear bottle)

N: hay, weird peanut butter whiff (not in a bad way, just unexpected), nail polish fading to soft pine, very faint melon perhaps with chocolate banana accents
P: mossy pine, verdant, slight green pepper, smooth, saturated back end
F: pinecone crackle and detectable, pleasant heat
S: really enjoyable and my first el jolgorio offering. Won’t be my last. 8.87/10

Squashplayer

Squashplayer

34 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Edition 5/2017/350 bottles/48%ABV.
Just like previous editions of this mezcal, it is very grassy on the nose with hints of lime. Wet pine needles also comes through. A little hotter on the finish than I would have expected for 48%. Very enjoyable overall

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

277 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Whoah nelly! Balanced, tip toeing the line between sharp and sweet. Slight citrus, tons of earthiness… wonderful

TheAgaveFairy

TheAgaveFairy

161 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Black bottle (silvestre), ed. 4, harvest 2016 from Pedro Vasquez. Batch: PVOTZ201317EJ.

I’m sure I’ll come back to refine these notes – intense smell of the inside of a cave – wet gravel, must. Acorn squash, summer squash, pine needles and juniper indeed. An intense green heat but well balanced. On the palette, agave sweetness swells to an amazing body that’s much more approachable and enjoyable than the esoteric nose might imply. Entirely unique, engaging, drinkable – everything I look for in a spirit.

Black bottle (silvestre), ed. 4, harvest 2016 from Pedro Vasquez. Batch: PVOTZ201317EJ.
I’m sure I’ll come back to refine these notes – intense smell of the inside of a cave – wet gravel, must. Acorn squash, summer squash, pine needles and juniper indeed. An intense green heat but well balanced. On the palette, agave sweetness swells to an amazing body that’s much more approachable and enjoyable than the esoteric nose might imply. Entirely unique, engaging, drinkabl

Read more
LosMuertos

LosMuertos

33 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Very enjoyable though a bit pricey.
It smells of Christmas trees and pine cones, vanilla, tar, banana soap and cookies. Dark chocolate on the palate. Great personality/character.

Scent: 4/5
Mouthfeel: 3/5

Chris

Chris

40 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars3 years ago

This was series 02 2014 bottle 363/640 by Pedro Vasquez. Small production and quite expensive. Definitely grassy nose. Very hot on the mouth and a similarly hot finish. The flavors are there, but to keep within the Karwinskii family and the brand, I followed this up with the Jolgorio Barril 04 2014 1338/1640 by Ignacio Parada. Smoother, delightful smokiness, just seemed better made at a little over half the cost. 48.6 vs 48.2 ABV so that wasn’t really a factor.

Tyler

Tyler

481 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Very grassy and vegetal on the nose. Bursting with sweetness, honeyed agave, and zucchini. There is some nice pine and lime here with notes of dry wood. Delicious juice. Edition 1 from 2014. 47.8% ABV.

Jonny

Jonny

523 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

The nose on this thing is a bit crazy. It has some grassy vegetal aromas and notes of lemon zest, orange fruit, and fresh flowers. Very perfumed nose. The palate is balanced and complete. Great mezcal!

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top