Powered by 100% agave

El Jolgorio Cuixe

El Jolgorio Cuixe has an earthy, robust scent, like wet clay. The taste is spicy and smoky but not in an overpowering way.

Rating: (6 reviews)
Brand:El Jolgorio Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O98X
Mezcalero:Gregorio Hernandez, Ignacio Parada
Agave:Cuishe
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Santa Maria Zoquitlan, Santiago Matatlan
ABV: 47%
Website: http://www.eljolgoriomezcal.com/
About this mezcal

El Jolgorio Cuixe is made with wild agave Cuishe. Like its relatives agave Madrecuishe and Barril, this agave grows in a cylindrical, stalk-shaped piña, with leaves spreading at the top. It is often slightly smaller than Madrecuixe, but more dense. This Mezcal has an earthy scent, like wet clay. The taste is spicy with subtle hints of smooth smoke.

El Jolgorio Mezcal

Traditional, artisanal Mezcal forms an important part of rituals, ceremonies and festivities - known as "Jolgorios" - in villages in Oaxaca, México. El Jolgorio Mezcals are made exclusively from different species and varieties of wild and semi-wild harvested agave by Maestro Mezcaleros in local villages in Oaxaca, and are twice distilled in copper pot stills. On every bottle is inscribed the species of agave, the age at harvest, the village of production, the name of the Maestro Mezcalero, and the batch and lot number so as to truly connect the drinker with the land, people, and plants at the heart and soul of our Mezcal. Each lot may have different information. Check your bottle for details.

6 reviews

3.3 of out 5 stars


PDutton

PDutton

55 reviews
4 days ago

Ignacio Parada 09 2015 47%

First pour of a fresh bottle. Good sweetness, with tinges of asparagus and bitter orange. Cilantro and cucumber too. The fruit component is papaya driven, with some chocolate and plantain. Finish is of good length, mild ash and pleasant minerality and flamed cinnamon.

Spirit_Chaser

Spirit_Chaser

19 reviews
3 weeks ago

Edition: 13, Harvest 2016, 47%ABV
Ignacio Parada

Smells of ashtray and paint thinner with some subtle roasted vegetables trying to poke through but keeps being overtaken by alcohol fumes. Taste is a little better with earthy vegetable notes, subtle tropical fruits, and clay-like minerality but then the finish kills it again. Like Tyler said in a review below, it’s reminiscent of menthol cigarettes along with a harsh bitterness. This is by far the worst EJ bottle that I have had yet. For the money I laid down for it, I hope it gets better with time.

Edition: 13, Harvest 2016, 47%ABV
Ignacio Parada
Smells of ashtray and paint thinner with some subtle roasted vegetables trying to poke through but keeps being overtaken by alcohol fumes. Taste is a little better with earthy vegetable notes, subtle tropical fruits, and clay-like minerality but then the finish kills it again. Like Tyler said in a review below, it’s reminiscent of menthol cigarettes along with a harsh bitterness. This is by far the worst EJ bottle that I have had yet. Fo

Read more
Rakhal

Rakhal

100 reviews
5 months ago

Lot 11. Ignacio Parada. Initial vegetal smell like raw broccoli. Creamy. Dusty leather, pear, honeydew melon, tarragon and mint. Very nice.

JorgeC

JorgeC

1 review
5 months ago

Excelent Cuixe, one of my favourites in the El Jolgorio range. Sweetness on the noose that carries through in the palate.

Tyler

Tyler

311 reviews
12 months ago

Weird mezcal. Earthy on the nose. Has a stale tea aspect. Almost like a soft agave Salmiana. Tastes kind of like the smell of an old suitcase. A different batch of this tastes like menthol cigarettes. I usually love mezcal from Ignacio Parada but not here. Regardless, I’m curious to try more batches of this. This one was Edition 6 from 2014.

Jonny

Jonny

325 reviews
2 years ago

Lot 005-CUX from 2014. Produced by Ignacio Parada. Bottle 117/290. El Jolgorio is super high in my book of favorite mezcals. They bottle and release some of my all time favorites and Ignacio Parada specifically makes some of my favorite stuff. That said, this is the first one to really disappoint me. Perhaps I just tried an off batch? It smelled like a wet ash tray with some slight floral aromas, but mostly just old wet ash. The ash continued to the palate as well. It tasted like someone took a bottle of really good mezcal and put out a lit cigarette in it. Perhaps other batches of this are drastically different.

Lot 005-CUX from 2014. Produced by Ignacio Parada. Bottle 117/290. El Jolgorio is super high in my book of favorite mezcals. They bottle and release some of my all time favorites and Ignacio Parada specifically makes some of my favorite stuff. That said, this is the first one to really disappoint me. Perhaps I just tried an off batch? It smelled like a wet ash tray with some slight floral aromas, but mostly just old wet ash. The ash continued to the palate as well. It tasted like someone took a

Read more
Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top