Powered by 100% agave

El Jolgorio Cuishe

El Jolgorio Cuishe has an earthy, robust scent, like wet clay. The taste is spicy and smoky but not in an overpowering way.

About this mezcal

El Jolgorio Cuixe is made with wild maguey Cuishe (agave Karwinskii). Like its relative agave Madrecuishe and Barril, this agave grows in a cylindrical, stalk-shaped piña, with leaves spreading at the top. It is often slightly smaller than Madrecuishe, but more dense. This Mezcal has an earthy scent, like wet clay. The taste is spicy with subtle hints of smooth smoke.

El Jolgorio Mezcal

El Jolgorio translates to “the revelry”. Jolgorios are small festivals that occur in remote, mountain villages throughout Oaxaca, Mexico. They celebrate births, deaths, weddings and Saint’s days. For centuries, the lifeblood of these celebrations has been traditional mezcal. In 2010, the Cortés family began building a collective of top mezcal distillers from around Oaxaca. As of 2019, El Jolgorio represents sixteen different families, working in ten different regions of Oaxaca, Mexico, each with its own special story. Every bottle is hand-marked with the specific details of each batch, to truly connect the drinker with the family behind the expression.

In 2017, the team behind the brand realized that certain varieties of agave would be extremely limited and they would only be able to make them available once per year (if at all). They began packaging these rare editions in black bottles to set them apart from the other releases.

The artwork on the first 8 releases was created by Alejandro Peña (Espadin, Pechuga, Tobala, Cuixe, Madrecuixe, Tepeztate, Barril and Mexicano). The next 5 labels were created by Asis Cortes (Arroqueno, Jabalin, Coyote, Tobaxiche, and Cenizo) and the Sierrudo artwork was created by Alberto Almánza.

14 reviews

3.57 out of 5

Americana Kyle

Americana Kyle

60 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 weeks ago

No lot number. As always from El Jolgorio the product was very well done, I just dont lean towards Cuishe on its own.

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

372 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Nose – Wet tobacco leaf. Gerbera Daisy. Nutrient rich soil.

Palate – Rose water – floral to the nines. Black licorice. A nice, subtle creaminess to it. Finish is greener and more bitter… like a flower stem. I enjoyed the smoke aspect but agree with some of the reviews that it is a “wet smoke” (for a lack of a better term). Overall it’s a very good sipper.

aarild

aarild

72 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Woody, peanut with the skin on, fresh agave fruitiness. I am still pondering whether I prefer Karwinskiis from clay or copper distillation. Solid and good, regardless, medium smoke.
Lot 14

Bastiaan

Bastiaan

10 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars9 months ago

Ignacio Parada 13 2016 – bottle 28/650
Earthy, smoky smell. Nice oily mouthfeel. Tastes a bit fruity with some minerality. Finish is fresh, with a slightly bitter note like orange peel. Compared to the madrecuishe it has less minerality and more smoke. I get why some reviews speak of wet ash, because of the combination of earth and smoke, but it works for me.

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

136 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars11 months ago

Edition 14 by Igancio Parada (btw, Costco in Nor Cal is carrying these now)!
Reviews seem to be all over the place on this one, but I don’t think it’s bad at all. Love the cuishe smell (sweet, slightly floral, & creamy. Taste is more of the same with some green & citrus fruit. Nothing pops, yet nothing is offensive. Soft mezcal & smoke seems to be in check. Ignacio has put out some bangers, but I don’t think this is his best by far.
Review #70

Edition 14 by Igancio Parada (btw, Costco in Nor Cal is carrying these now)!
Reviews seem to be all over the place on this one, but I don’t think it’s bad at all. Love the cuishe smell (sweet, slightly floral, & creamy. Taste is more of the same with some green & citrus fruit. Nothing pops, yet nothing is offensive. Soft mezcal & smoke seems to be in check. Ignacio has put out some bangers, but I don’t think this is his best by far.
Review #70

Read more
Patrick

Patrick

43 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Edition 13
Ignacio Parada 2016
Nose : Ashy, vegetal with cilantro being the dominant note. Also getting floral and a little cinnamon.
Taste : Very smokey, sweet and vegetal
Finish : smokey and medicinal.
As an Islay fan can appreciate the smoke. However this could of been a stellar bottle if the smoke was not at 11.

Dylan

Dylan

7 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Ignacio Parada, edition 10 from 2015. Bottle 258/450. Batch IPCUI081117EJ. My first time trying El Jolgorio. Sweet, dusty, flour and some spearmint with wet hay. All those notes carry through the finish. reminds me of Los Nahuales Método Antiguo

Wanderingspider

Wanderingspider

47 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Not sure of the vintage or lot but I always think of cuishe as earthy, as well as, on the more pronounced mineral side of agave, and a bit of funky/dankness. And this was definitely those things. Good to try, but not my favourite subspecies of karwinskii.

TheAgaveFairy

TheAgaveFairy

164 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Ignacio Parada 09 2015 47%

First pour of a fresh bottle. Good sweetness, with tinges of asparagus and bitter orange. Cilantro and cucumber too. The fruit component is papaya driven, with some chocolate and plantain. Finish is of good length, mild ash and pleasant minerality and flamed cinnamon.

Spirit_Chaser

Spirit_Chaser

20 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Edition: 13, Harvest 2016, 47%ABV
Ignacio Parada

Smells of ashtray and paint thinner with some subtle roasted vegetables trying to poke through but keeps being overtaken by alcohol fumes. Taste is a little better with earthy vegetable notes, subtle tropical fruits, and clay-like minerality but then the finish kills it again. Like Tyler said in a review below, it’s reminiscent of menthol cigarettes along with a harsh bitterness. This is by far the worst EJ bottle that I have had yet. For the money I laid down for it, I hope it gets better with time.

Edition: 13, Harvest 2016, 47%ABV
Ignacio Parada
Smells of ashtray and paint thinner with some subtle roasted vegetables trying to poke through but keeps being overtaken by alcohol fumes. Taste is a little better with earthy vegetable notes, subtle tropical fruits, and clay-like minerality but then the finish kills it again. Like Tyler said in a review below, it’s reminiscent of menthol cigarettes along with a harsh bitterness. This is by far the worst EJ bottle that I have had yet. Fo

Read more
Rakhal

Rakhal

317 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Lot 11. Ignacio Parada. Initial vegetal smell like raw broccoli. Creamy. Dusty leather, pear, honeydew melon, tarragon and mint. Very nice.

JorgeC

JorgeC

1 review
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Excelent Cuixe, one of my favourites in the El Jolgorio range. Sweetness on the noose that carries through in the palate.

Tyler

Tyler

532 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Weird mezcal. Earthy on the nose. Has a stale tea aspect. Almost like a soft agave Salmiana. Tastes kind of like the smell of an old suitcase. A different batch of this tastes like menthol cigarettes. I usually love mezcal from Ignacio Parada but not here. Regardless, I’m curious to try more batches of this. This one was Edition 6 from 2014.

Jonny

Jonny

537 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Lot 005-CUX from 2014. Produced by Ignacio Parada. Bottle 117/290. El Jolgorio is super high in my book of favorite mezcals. They bottle and release some of my all time favorites and Ignacio Parada specifically makes some of my favorite stuff. That said, this is the first one to really disappoint me. Perhaps I just tried an off batch? It smelled like a wet ash tray with some slight floral aromas, but mostly just old wet ash. The ash continued to the palate as well. It tasted like someone took a bottle of really good mezcal and put out a lit cigarette in it. Perhaps other batches of this are drastically different.

Lot 005-CUX from 2014. Produced by Ignacio Parada. Bottle 117/290. El Jolgorio is super high in my book of favorite mezcals. They bottle and release some of my all time favorites and Ignacio Parada specifically makes some of my favorite stuff. That said, this is the first one to really disappoint me. Perhaps I just tried an off batch? It smelled like a wet ash tray with some slight floral aromas, but mostly just old wet ash. The ash continued to the palate as well. It tasted like someone took a

Read more

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top