Powered by 100% agave

Rey Campero Mexicano

Rey Campero's Mexicano is produced from maguey Mexicano that is harvested from high-altitude fields that often contain coniferous and hardwood trees.

About this mezcal

Rey Campero’s Mexicano is produced from maguey Mexicano. This mezcal tastes of smoked wood, dry grass, and cafe espresso. Romulo Sanchez Parada continues to hone his craft, and he seems to improve with every batch. This is traditionally produced and distilled in copper.

Rey Campero Mezcal

Rey Campero represents the culture, tradition and art of Candelaria Yegolé, a small town in the Southern Highlands of Oaxaca, with a fertile ground on its slopes and canyons. It represents a people dedicated to the production of artisanal Mezcal, so one of its principles is to help producers of maguey, by creating job opportunities, but especially in finding markets for the best Mezcal. Rey Campero, means “King of the Countryside” and it was founded by the maestro mezcalero Romulo Sanchez Parada. Romulo learned how to make mezcal from his father, and he worked in the palenque until age 20. He lived and worked for several years in North Carolina while in his 20s before returning to Oaxaca in 2003. Each lot may vary slightly, so check your bottle for specific details about ABV.

Member rating

3.54 out of 5

23 reviews

Jam

Jam

156 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars11 months ago

lote 5018-M, March 2020 production date, glass rested 31 months, 48.4% abv

Review #33: Grassy, lime, black pepper, fresh jalapeño, bell pepper, light fresh cream shows up for a moment, then some smoke, oregano, earthy, light minerality and a little dark chocolate on the end of the palate.

There’s a lot to this that I enjoy, but I just felt it wasn’t entirely cohesive. A bit rough around the edges but bold enough to make up for it. Not usually my cup of tea flavor wise, but I do appreciate this

lote 5018-M, March 2020 production date, glass rested 31 months, 48.4% abv
Review #33: Grassy, lime, black pepper, fresh jalapeño, bell pepper, light fresh cream shows up for a moment, then some smoke, oregano, earthy, light minerality and a little dark chocolate on the end of the palate.
There’s a lot to this that I enjoy, but I just felt it wasn’t entirely cohesive. A bit rough around the edges but bold enough to make up for it. Not usually my cup of tea flavor wise, but I do app

Read more
GMAD

GMAD

84 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars11 months ago

LOT: DS017A-m February 2020, 48.4%, BOTTLE No. 22/150

Nose – Sweet, funky, and fresh; tamarind, ginger, morning grass – and some cheesy funk; cojita cheese, Elmer’s glue.

Palate – Spicy, sour, and acidic. Cinnamon, ginger, Red Hots, with a splash of some hot citrus; unripe sour oranges.

Finish – A little dry; orange rind. Some funk and savoriness to it as well; oily pork, Slim Jims.

Good and enjoyable intro to higher-end Mezcales. I’m becoming a fan of Mexicanos, this is a great expression to try!

LOT: DS017A-m February 2020, 48.4%, BOTTLE No. 22/150
Nose – Sweet, funky, and fresh; tamarind, ginger, morning grass – and some cheesy funk; cojita cheese, Elmer’s glue.
Palate – Spicy, sour, and acidic. Cinnamon, ginger, Red Hots, with a splash of some hot citrus; unripe sour oranges.
Finish – A little dry; orange rind. Some funk and savoriness to it as well; oily pork, Slim Jims.
Good and enjoyable intro to higher-end Mezcales. I’m becoming a fan of Mexic

Read more
Forpowder

Forpowder

95 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

D5010-M 48.2% aroma out of the bottle arr watery almost seduce smoke and very little alcohol in the glass once again watered down acetone. Flavors had a lot of peppers Oriental spices some leather lots of alcohol finish is pretty nice though. Nice mouth coating oillyness in this on this one I enjoy that.

Imperium

Imperium

105 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

DS013-14 2018

Nose: white grapes, smoke, chocolate, roasted agave

Palate: Smoky and delicious. Grassy, orangey and briny. Hints of coffee, cacao and cola nut. Earthy like clay and cave rocks, that makes you think of the land and the soil that gave birth to this agave.

mezcalbbq

mezcalbbq

2 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Feb 2020

Smoke, vanilla, orange on the nose
Sweet spicy again heavy notes of vanilla on the palette.

Pretty good!

Ranger_Ryan

Ranger_Ryan

45 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars1 year ago

DS010-M
This is more of a middle of the road mezcal. It’s got smoke and fresh tennis balls. Hot and spicy on the finish. It’s not complex to me, but not boring either.

Mezcal Mike

Mezcal Mike

29 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Lot D5019-17, 509/573

Nothing wrong with this one, smoke on the nose translates nicely into a mellow sip, aloe, sweet tea, fades nicely but does not have fluidity I’d give 4 stars. I’ll re-taste as this is definitely a nice sip overall.

MezcalMack

MezcalMack

2 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

My first RC — DS013-14 — yummm, catch some front forward chocolate notes with a finely tuned medley of peppercorns back of tongue and a vanilla rum finish.

Jori

Jori

52 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

October ‘18 batch Bottle #636/664
Chocolate and vanilla, light smoke from toasted chipotle pepper, Creme Brûlée on the nose.
Flavors of vanilla and cream, dark chocolate and light cinnamon, a funkiness that reminds me of Port Salut (Québécois soft, washed rind cheese)
Preserved peach and pear sweetness.

Rakhal

Rakhal

421 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

DS010-M. This one’s all over the place! I’m tasting completely different flavors from one sip to the next. Orange pith, table salt, vanilla extract, cream soda, olive brine, cayenne pepper, and caramel. Interesting.

GCropsey

GCropsey

5 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lote: DS006-M. Mezcalero: Romulo Sanchez Parada.
Nose: Model Glue, Green Bananas, Light Leather.
Sip: Dry Spices, Sweet Red Licorice, Green/Yellow Peppers.
Finish: Numbing effect on the tongue, splashy finish.
Notes: A. rhodacantha is another species I tend to favor and this bottle was definitely surprising in several ways! Very enjoyable overall and I’ll definitely keep an eye out for other batches.

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

542 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Nose – Candied jalapeños. Root beer soda. Vanilla.

Palate – I dig the gradual build in heat. Long lasting sweetness. Mandarin orange peel. Oak campfire smoke. A dry champagne finish with lasting peppery heat throughout.

TzotollineRaramuri

TzotollineRaramuri

75 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Lote D5009-M; 200ml
?- clear
?- drying impact.
Aromas of VA/Acetone- clay, chalky minerality, plastics, light sour honey.
Adequate & simple production.
Average length and ordinary character.
?- astringent effect with some coating; sufficient smooth alcohol; medium body.
Primarily sour taste, with light sweet & bitter highlights; buttery smoothness.
Flavors of peppercorn, ginger, rosemary & pine, ripe melons, white peach, guava, ashy wood.
Concentrated flavor intensity, slightly complex, harmonious balance.
Pleasant and very long finish.
Very good overall impression.

*well balanced, fair complexity, thankfully the ethyl acetate disappears on the palate, which gains it points. The nose aromatics, and the in-mouth aroma/flavor profile are quite contrasting, very interesting character

Learn more about organoleptic evaluation at the International Wine & Spirits Guild’s seminar in Fine Spirits,
or more on Agave Spirits certifications through the Agave Spirits Institute.

Lote D5009-M; 200ml
?- clear
?- drying impact.
Aromas of VA/Acetone- clay, chalky minerality, plastics, light sour honey.
Adequate & simple production.
Average length and ordinary character.
?- astringent effect with some coating; sufficient smooth alcohol; medium body.
Primarily sour taste, with light sweet & bitter highlights; buttery smoothness.
Flavors of peppercorn, ginger, rosemary & pine, ripe melons, white peach, guava, ashy wood.
Concentrated flavor intensity, slightly compl

Read more
t8ke

t8ke

144 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Sweet and complex. Loaded with cream sweetness, fresh cracked pepper, light clay. No bitterness or astringency – something I was worried about from the nose. Lightly smoky, with a surprisingly rich mouth feel.

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

215 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Bit bright and sharp. Sweet notes on the nose and in the front taste. Tried this in a blind flight taste test with 5 other Rey Campero mezcals….came in at the bottom two (top two were the Tep. & Cuishe). Bit too much ethanol taste. Not bad by any means, but not really that great (especially compared to the others by R.C.). This is one of my first Mexicanos, so still getting that acquired taste to this specific agave (this reminds me of an espadin on initial taste). Lot: D5007-M, 48.2%.

Bit bright and sharp. Sweet notes on the nose and in the front taste. Tried this in a blind flight taste test with 5 other Rey Campero mezcals….came in at the bottom two (top two were the Tep. & Cuishe). Bit too much ethanol taste. Not bad by any means, but not really that great (especially compared to the others by R.C.). This is one of my first Mexicanos, so still getting that acquired taste to this specific agave (this reminds me of an espadin on initial taste). Lot: D5007-M, 48

Read more
rsidrys

rsidrys

50 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars5 years ago

I’ve had this one many times now and it remains a mystery to me as there are notes I can’t put my finger on. It’s very aromatic and almost like perfume. In the mouth, that can carryover as overly sweet floral oils.

There’s also bell peppers covered in chili pepper seasoning. Sometimes the strong sweetness comes across chemical, like caulk or paint? I’m on the fence with this one – unique to say the least.

D5003-M, Dec 2015

justsomedude

justsomedude

28 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Like most Rey Campero mezcals this one is a bit rough around the edges but overall quite good. Peppery spice on the nose along with lots of cooked agave and bell pepper. Palate is herbacious and vegetal with green bell pepper and white pepper spice. Mouthfeel is not thin but not particularly rich. Nice drying finish with minerality and white pepper. 80/100

Rorschach

Rorschach

43 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Lot DS005-M from August 2017. Bottle 1030/1518.
Really liking Mexicano. Not as smooth/sweet as my favorite.

Nic Hnastchenko

Nic Hnastchenko

108 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars6 years ago

Another at Todos Santos, don’t think i’ve had something from Rey Campero that i didn’t love.

SBP

SBP

6 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars6 years ago

I’ve had two different bottles of this over the years, the first was from 2013 (don’t recall the batch number), 3 stars. This one was fruit, almost like oranges in smell. The taste was sharp, peppery, with a finish of caramel.

The second was December 2015 Lot:D5003-M Bottle 362/800, 4 stars. This bottle was quite different, much more viscous in texture and really coated the tongue. Also a fruity nose, but with the taste being more herbaceous and briny than other Mexicanos I’ve had. You can really taste the salinity here and has the classic Mexicano pepper taste.

I’ve had two different bottles of this over the years, the first was from 2013 (don’t recall the batch number), 3 stars. This one was fruit, almost like oranges in smell. The taste was sharp, peppery, with a finish of caramel.
The second was December 2015 Lot:D5003-M Bottle 362/800, 4 stars. This bottle was quite different, much more viscous in texture and really coated the tongue. Also a fruity nose, but with the taste being more herbaceous and briny than other Mexicanos I’ve

Read more

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top