Powered by 100% agave

Rey Campero Madre-Cuishe

Rey Campero Madre-Cuishe is velvety with a palate of white chocolate and ripe banana. Rómulo Sánchez Parada makes this in Candelaria Yegole, Oaxaca.

Rating: (8 reviews)
Brand:Rey Campero Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O185X
Mezcalero:Romulo Sanchez Parada
Agave:Madre-Cuishe
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Candelaria Yegole
ABV: 48%
Website: www.mezcalreycampero.com
About this mezcal

Rey Campero Madre-Cuishe uses agave that is grown at a range of 3,000-6,000 feet. Master mezcalero Rómulo Sánchez Parada is known for his artistry, and this Mezcal uses natural yeasts for open air fermentation, and it is distilled in copper.  It is velvety with a palate of white chocolate and ripe banana.

Rey Campero Mezcal

Rey Campero represents the culture, tradition and art of Candelaria Yegolé, a small town in the Southern Highlands of Oaxaca, with a fertile ground on its slopes and canyons. It represents a people dedicated to the production of artisanal Mezcal, so one of its principles is to help producers of maguey, by creating job opportunities, but especially in finding markets for the best Mezcal. Rey Campero, means "King of the Countryside" and it was founded by the maestro mezcalero Romulo Sanchez Parada. Romulo learned how to make mezcal from his father, and he worked in the palenque until age 20. He lived and worked for several years in North Carolina while in his 20s before returning to Oaxaca in 2003. Each lot may vary slightly, so check your bottle for specific details about ABV.

8 reviews

3.4 of out 5 stars


kozinnski

kozinnski

7 reviews
4 weeks ago

Lot DS008-MC, June 2015.

nose: pencil shavings, white pepper, wet stone, autumn detritus, menthol, and something slightly umami – mushrooms?

palate: medium mouthfeel. brown sugar, that white pepper, some pine, touch of bitterness. not too complex.

pretty quick finish. this is one of those bottles where the nose is perhaps more interesting than the taste.

4 months ago

Lot D5008-MC. Soft and secretive. This “mother” is not a loud and angry mother-in-law but rather a warm and quiet maternal figure that will tuck you in at night. Probably one of the least “in your face” karwinskiis I’ve had. I get colored pencil shavings, pepper, and jalapeno. It’s interesting but easily overshadowed by 4-5 of Campero’s other offerings. Like other reviewers, I’d start the night with this one and move onto something more memorable.

Lot D5008-MC. Soft and secretive. This “mother” is not a loud and angry mother-in-law but rather a warm and quiet maternal figure that will tuck you in at night. Probably one of the least “in your face” karwinskiis I’ve had. I get colored pencil shavings, pepper, and jalapeno. It’s interesting but easily overshadowed by 4-5 of Campero’s other offerings. Like other reviewers, I’d start the night with this one and move onto something more memorable.

Read more
DEEF

DEEF

5 reviews
1 year ago

Good mezcal, interesting and curious flavors on this experience. I had a difficult time identifying what was going on, so I came back to it considerably. Balanced. My third favorite Rey Campero. Some smoke and sweetness and interesting flavors. Good tongue feel with light acidity.

Tyler

Tyler

302 reviews
2 years ago

Madrecuishe was the first non-espadin mezcal I tried and really opened me up to the world of mezcal. I got this bottle on a whim because of my enjoyment of that agave. Unfortunately I don’t enjoy this much as other madrecuishe mezcals. Overall it’s a bit hot. There are flavors of black currant, kiwi, and molasses. The nose outperforms the taste. Lot DS002-MC from August 2014.

Jonny

Jonny

323 reviews
2 years ago

Lot DS002-MC from August 2014. Bottle 661/1759. Vegetal notes of cooked asparagus and fresh lettuce on the nose. Slightly oily in texture but not to an unpleasant extent. Overall this is balanced and tasty but it lacks any real WOW moments. It’s worth trying, but I don’t really need a bottle of this.

Sandy

Sandy

11 reviews
3 years ago

Less spice, very smooth, hint of vanilla. Great start for an evening of Mezcal tasting.

Mezcal_Mary

Mezcal_Mary

6 reviews
3 years ago

I normally like madre-cuishe mezcals, but this one is a little strong for me. I prefer Wahaka and Chango Loco’s madre-cuishe to the Rey Campero.

Avatar

Justin

3 years ago

Warm tingly feeling on the lips makes way for the cheery warm buzz. A+++

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top