Powered by 100% agave

Rey Campero Espadin

Rey Campero Espadin is a good option for both sipping neat or for using in cocktails that need a robust and strong profile.

Rating: (10 reviews)
Brand:Rey Campero Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O185X
Mezcalero:Romulo Sanchez Parada
Agave:Espadin
Distillation:Copper
Style:Aged in Glass
State:Oaxaca
Town:Candelaria Yegole
ABV: 48%
Website: www.mezcalreycampero.com
About this mezcal

Rey Campero Espadin uses agave Espadin that is fermented in open air with wild yeasts. In true Rey Campero fashion, only the highest quality agave are used in production. Many batches of Rey Campero Espadin are also aged in glass before bottling, which gives them a much softer feel. Make sure to check the release and bottling information on each bottle as different batches have different flavor notes.  Regardless of which release you’re tasting, many consider this to be one of the better Espadin Mezcals on the market.

Rey Campero Mezcal

Rey Campero represents the culture, tradition and art of Candelaria Yegolé, a small town in the Southern Highlands of Oaxaca, with a fertile ground on its slopes and canyons. It represents a people dedicated to the production of artisanal Mezcal, so one of its principles is to help producers of maguey, by creating job opportunities, but especially in finding markets for the best Mezcal. Rey Campero, means "King of the Countryside" and it was founded by the maestro mezcalero Romulo Sanchez Parada. Romulo learned how to make mezcal from his father, and he worked in the palenque until age 20. He lived and worked for several years in North Carolina while in his 20s before returning to Oaxaca in 2003. Each lot may vary slightly, so check your bottle for specific details about ABV.

10 reviews

4 of out 5 stars


Rorschach

Rorschach

16 reviews
1 month ago

My best espadin so far. Interesting because I have 3 open bottles and I can blind taste all three-
DS019-D 200ml
DS022-E
DS024-E
The lot is hand written so not 100% on the spelling.
The DS019 is by far the best, then the DS022, and the DS024 is more like firewater.
This was a good lesson on lot numbers and a new awareness of buying the same thing you sample.

rsidrys

rsidrys

36 reviews
2 months ago

A quintessential Espadin. Green and cooked agave, a good play between sweetness, smoke, minerals, earth, citrus, mint. Reminded me of a really good tequila. I docked it half a star because of alcohol that trailed all these notes – even after letting it sit for a while.

PDutton

PDutton

52 reviews
2 months ago

Tempted to go the 4.5*.

This is a benchmark espadin for me. Great typicity and balance of smoke, minerality, agave, and flavors. At 49% it’s surprsingly gentle (and gets similarly somehow lost in cocktails). Reminding me of a highlands tequila, there’s just great agave flavor with accents of citrus and pepper. Good complexity, good finish, touches of flowers on the backend. A great “daily drinker”.

Rakhal

Rakhal

95 reviews
4 months ago

Lot DS01S-E. May 2017. 53.9%. Ramiro Sánchez Altamirano. This was a special batch of Espadin made by the normal Mezcaleros father or grandfather, I forget the exact story. They have a bottle at Cultura Mezcaleria in Carmel California. This is something special. Rich, creamy, and smooth. Not at all hot, despite the high abv. Chocolate, cedar, sandalwood, and hazelnut. This is one of the best Espadins I’ve ever had.

COak

COak

57 reviews
9 months ago

D5015-E, May 2015, 53.9%, Ramiro Sanchez, Romulo’s father. This was a special release to Alamo Liquors in San Antonio. Very flavorful espadin. When I first opened it, it was a bit hot but has since simmered down really nicely. I prefer this to Romulo’s version.

DEEF

DEEF

5 reviews
1 year ago

A very good Espadin. Super banana nose! Very sweet banana smelling. Balanced graduation of flavors with light dryness and slightly sweet finish. Some smoke and acidity. Very well made for a large yielding agave. I preferred this over the Mexicano and Madre Cuishe.

Jonny

Jonny

324 reviews
1 year ago

Lot DS010-E from December 2015. This is a little hot up front and a little hot on the finish, but it’s strong in flavor and aroma as well. Notes of leather, licorice, and minerals. It’s dry and finite on the finish with a bit of metallic and citric notes. This is a solid mezcal at a solid price.

Chris

Chris

36 reviews
1 year ago

Lot D6012-E November 2016. Fruity green fresh nose. Sweet pungent agave in the mouth, not overly hot. Flavorful and drinkable. I bought this bottle on the same day as the Siembra Metl Cupreata, which I gave three stars, for basically the same price. About half of the Rey Campero Espadin remains, whereas I’m still in the curve at the top of the the Siembra Metl bottle. I plan to do a fuller espadin comparison and plan to do some comparisons with the other Rey Campero mezcals. I have very positive thoughts about their Jabali and the rarer Romulo Sanchez Parada Coyote that is put out under a Secretos de Yegole label is truly outstanding.

Lot D6012-E November 2016. Fruity green fresh nose. Sweet pungent agave in the mouth, not overly hot. Flavorful and drinkable. I bought this bottle on the same day as the Siembra Metl Cupreata, which I gave three stars, for basically the same price. About half of the Rey Campero Espadin remains, whereas I’m still in the curve at the top of the the Siembra Metl bottle. I plan to do a fuller espadin comparison and plan to do some comparisons with the other Rey Campero mezcals. I have very po

Read more
razorbackmike

razorbackmike

92 reviews
2 years ago

first time to try this brand.it was good/ok.the initi8al taste is strong agave and pepper.the finish is semi bitter with some mineral.not one of the better espadins.might have given a higher rating if the price was around 40.00 but it was closer to 60.00.slight let down but is very drinkable.

Tyler

Tyler

301 reviews
3 years ago

A robust, full-flavored espadin. Not surprised at all that this is wild agave and aged-in-glass as the agave taste is in full force. On the nose there is leather and earth. Very vegetal flavors, notes of sweet minerals, metallic, and citrus. Lot D5006-E from March 2014

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top