Powered by 100% agave

Rey Campero Espadin

Rey Campero Espadin is a good option for both sipping neat or for using in cocktails that need a robust and strong profile.

Rating: (23 reviews)
Brand:Rey Campero Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O185X
Mezcalero:Romulo Sanchez Parada
Maguey:Espadin
Agave:Angustifolia
Distillation:Copper
Style:Aged in Glass
State:Oaxaca
Town:Candelaria Yegole
ABV: 48%
Website: https://www.mezcalreycampero.com/
About this mezcal

Rey Campero Espadin uses agave Espadin that is fermented in open air with wild yeasts. In true Rey Campero fashion, only the highest quality agave are used in production. Many batches of Rey Campero Espadin are also aged in glass before bottling, which gives them a much softer feel. Make sure to check the release and bottling information on each bottle as different batches have different flavor notes.  Regardless of which release you’re tasting, many consider this to be one of the better Espadin Mezcals on the market.

Rey Campero Mezcal

Rey Campero represents the culture, tradition and art of Candelaria Yegolé, a small town in the Southern Highlands of Oaxaca, with a fertile ground on its slopes and canyons. It represents a people dedicated to the production of artisanal Mezcal, so one of its principles is to help producers of maguey, by creating job opportunities, but especially in finding markets for the best Mezcal. Rey Campero, means "King of the Countryside" and it was founded by the maestro mezcalero Romulo Sanchez Parada. Romulo learned how to make mezcal from his father, and he worked in the palenque until age 20. He lived and worked for several years in North Carolina while in his 20s before returning to Oaxaca in 2003. Each lot may vary slightly, so check your bottle for specific details about ABV.

23 reviews

3.72 out of 5


spasta

spasta

22 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars4 weeks ago

Solid but Lacking in complexity, even for an espadin.

Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 month ago

I received a small vessel with-out a label and was really pleasantly surprised to pour out and sip what was inside. Then I learned it was Rey Campero Espadin! I’ve had this mezcal a great many times and yet would never have figured it was the same. Turns out its this certain batch, “029-E” is quite special and I’ve since collected several bottles. Generally wouldn’t weight a price point into a rating but find this impossible to resist.

It first tasted like a very, very good potatorum…not to knock the nobile angustifolia. Winter warmer.

I received a small vessel with-out a label and was really pleasantly surprised to pour out and sip what was inside. Then I learned it was Rey Campero Espadin! I’ve had this mezcal a great many times and yet would never have figured it was the same. Turns out its this certain batch, “029-E” is quite special and I’ve since collected several bottles. Generally wouldn’t weight a price point into a rating but find this impossible to resist.
It first tasted like a very,

Read more
Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

65 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars2 months ago

Lote: DSO30-E
Nose: Smoke, citrus.

Palate: Smokey, grassy, banana sweet. Vapory and aggressive in the midsection. Peppery, solvent aftertaste.

Kind of a blah espadin for the price point.

Joe

Joe

27 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Wow! Almost creamy, sweet, smooth, and delicious. Maybe something like an almond flavor here. The flavors seem well balanced and even, nothing jumps out, no harshness, but quite rich. Among my favorites, especially at the price.

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

229 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars7 months ago

3.75/5

Balanced, some nuance. Cream cheese and peaches. Solid. A go-to of the price was lower

tallchad

tallchad

23 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars7 months ago

Solid mezcal with medium smoke. From aroma to taste to finish–just good. Great all-around mezcal.

Wild Common

Wild Common

10 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars8 months ago

Wow. BANG right off the bat on the palate, full-bodied maguey goodness. Warm clean mid-palate with a long mellow finish. Hints of lactic on nose. This one is special Lote D5030-E __90

t8ke

t8ke

130 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars8 months ago

Rich and earthy. Lots of clay, pepper, minerality. Woody, lots of ash and smoked meats.

Nice stuff, but a little rough. The abundance of ash on the finish kind of detracts from the nose and palate for me. That said, I’d happily drink more of this.

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

70 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars8 months ago

In a blind taste test of 5 different R.C. mezcals, I had no idea this was the espadin (an agave I was sure I could figure out). Complex, and actually quite unlike anything I’ve tasted. Ton of ‘movie butter’ on the nose. I got a bit of oaky/woodiness as well on the front taste, and the smoke at the end is welcomed. However this uniqueness wasn’t a great thing for for me. Still came in towards the bottom of my R.C. blind taste (ahead of the Mexicano), but on 2nd tasting I still find this to be a solid espadin at 3.5 stars. I would say if I want to sip a daily espadin and not break the bank, it would be hard to go wrong here. If I had a bit more money to spend however, I’d go for something else.
Lote: D5030-E.

In a blind taste test of 5 different R.C. mezcals, I had no idea this was the espadin (an agave I was sure I could figure out). Complex, and actually quite unlike anything I’ve tasted. Ton of ‘movie butter’ on the nose. I got a bit of oaky/woodiness as well on the front taste, and the smoke at the end is welcomed. However this uniqueness wasn’t a great thing for for me. Still came in towards the bottom of my R.C. blind taste (ahead of the Mexicano), but on 2nd tastin

Read more
JDB

JDB

14 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars9 months ago

Rómulo Sánchez Parada, July 2019, Lot DSO28-E, a sweet nose that turns into a strong charred smell, a lot of herbal notes, bits of pepper and spice, a touch of earth. A good mezcal for the price.

Nic Hnastchenko

Nic Hnastchenko

108 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars12 months ago

Nice bite, and a little hot.

Eric_M

Eric_M

7 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

This is one of the better espadins I’ve tried and a it’s a great mezcal for the price. Full of flavor but not much alcohol bite. It has some peppery and citrus flavors with a little bit of sweetness. I’ll definitely buy this one again.

Gregg T&T

Gregg T&T

78 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Lot DS012-E Nov 2016. Bright floral and citrus nose. Big agave and warm pepper mouthfeels. Easy heat despite the 49.4% with a complex finish that lingers on the tongue.

Rorschach

Rorschach

29 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

My best espadin so far. Interesting because I have 3 open bottles and I can blind taste all three-
DS019-D 200ml
DS022-E
DS024-E
The lot is hand written so not 100% on the spelling.
The DS019 is by far the best, then the DS022, and the DS024 is more like firewater.
This was a good lesson on lot numbers and a new awareness of buying the same thing you sample.

rsidrys

rsidrys

43 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

A quintessential Espadin. Green and cooked agave, a good play between sweetness, smoke, minerals, earth, citrus, mint. Reminded me of a really good tequila. I docked it half a star because of alcohol that trailed all these notes – even after letting it sit for a while.

TheAgaveFairy

TheAgaveFairy

120 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Tempted to go the 4.5*.

This is a benchmark espadin for me. Great typicity and balance of smoke, minerality, agave, and flavors. At 49% it’s surprsingly gentle (and gets similarly somehow lost in cocktails). Reminding me of a highlands tequila, there’s just great agave flavor with accents of citrus and pepper. Good complexity, good finish, touches of flowers on the backend. A great “daily drinker”.

Rakhal

Rakhal

239 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lot DS01S-E. May 2017. 53.9%. Ramiro Sánchez Altamirano. This was a special batch of Espadin made by the normal Mezcaleros father or grandfather, I forget the exact story. They have a bottle at Cultura Mezcaleria in Carmel California. This is something special. Rich, creamy, and smooth. Not at all hot, despite the high abv. Chocolate, cedar, sandalwood, and hazelnut. This is one of the best Espadins I’ve ever had.

COak

COak

106 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

D5015-E, May 2015, 53.9%, Ramiro Sanchez, Romulo’s father. This was a special release to Alamo Liquors in San Antonio. Very flavorful espadin. When I first opened it, it was a bit hot but has since simmered down really nicely. I prefer this to Romulo’s version.

DEEF

DEEF

5 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

A very good Espadin. Super banana nose! Very sweet banana smelling. Balanced graduation of flavors with light dryness and slightly sweet finish. Some smoke and acidity. Very well made for a large yielding agave. I preferred this over the Mexicano and Madre Cuishe.

Jonny

Jonny

471 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Lot DS010-E from December 2015. This is a little hot up front and a little hot on the finish, but it’s strong in flavor and aroma as well. Notes of leather, licorice, and minerals. It’s dry and finite on the finish with a bit of metallic and citric notes. This is a solid mezcal at a solid price.

Chris

Chris

40 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Lot D6012-E November 2016. Fruity green fresh nose. Sweet pungent agave in the mouth, not overly hot. Flavorful and drinkable. I bought this bottle on the same day as the Siembra Metl Cupreata, which I gave three stars, for basically the same price. About half of the Rey Campero Espadin remains, whereas I’m still in the curve at the top of the the Siembra Metl bottle. I plan to do a fuller espadin comparison and plan to do some comparisons with the other Rey Campero mezcals. I have very positive thoughts about their Jabali and the rarer Romulo Sanchez Parada Coyote that is put out under a Secretos de Yegole label is truly outstanding.

Lot D6012-E November 2016. Fruity green fresh nose. Sweet pungent agave in the mouth, not overly hot. Flavorful and drinkable. I bought this bottle on the same day as the Siembra Metl Cupreata, which I gave three stars, for basically the same price. About half of the Rey Campero Espadin remains, whereas I’m still in the curve at the top of the the Siembra Metl bottle. I plan to do a fuller espadin comparison and plan to do some comparisons with the other Rey Campero mezcals. I have very po

Read more
razorbackmike

razorbackmike

116 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars3 years ago

first time to try this brand.it was good/ok.the initi8al taste is strong agave and pepper.the finish is semi bitter with some mineral.not one of the better espadins.might have given a higher rating if the price was around 40.00 but it was closer to 60.00.slight let down but is very drinkable.

Tyler

Tyler

428 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

A robust, full-flavored espadin. Not surprised at all that this is wild agave and aged-in-glass as the agave taste is in full force. On the nose there is leather and earth. Very vegetal flavors, notes of sweet minerals, metallic, and citrus. Lot D5006-E from March 2014

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top