Powered by 100% agave

Rezpiral Tobasiche – Simeon & Apolonio

This Rezpiral Tobasiche is made by Simeon & Apolonio Ramirez in the community of San Agustin Amatengo, Oaxaca.

About this destilado de agave

This Rezpiral Tobasiche is made by Simeon & Apolonio Ramirez in the community of San Agustin Amatengo, Oaxaca. The ABV may vary by batch, so check your bottle for details.

2019, series #4, second release: six beautifully complex artisanal small batch agave spirits: A 77 liter batch of Mexicano & Tepextate ensamble crafted by Berta Vasquez, 150 liter batch of espadin crafted by Abel Martinez, a batch of Tequilana crafted by Reina Sanchez, a triple distilled Jabali created by Leo, a batch of Tobala with Frutas crafted by Aureliano Hernandez, and a batch of Tobaziche created by Simeon & Apolonio Ramirez.

2020, series #5, first release: seventeen complex artisanal small batch agave spirits. From Berta Vasquez of San Baltazar Chichicapam, 45 liters of Mexicano from a 150 liter batch, Tepextate, Espadin, Tobala/Tepextate ensamble (2/3 & 1/3), Cuish and a Cuish/Tobala/Tepextate ensamble. From Aureliano Hernandez of San Baltazar Guelevila a 130 liter batch of Pechuga de Café, a 400 liter batch of Arroqueño and 200 liter batch of Coyote. From Abel Martinez of Santo Domingo Albarradas, a 180 liter batch of Jabali/Mexicano, a 2019 180 liter batch of Tobala. From Simeon Ramirez of San Agustin Amatengo a 100 liter batch of Espadin & Piñuela, a 40 liter batch of Piñuela, a 100 liter batch of Mexicano & Tepeztate. From Reina Sanchez of San Luis Amatlan, a 200 liter 2018 batch of Tepextate, and Madrecuish. From Ignacio Antonio of San Vicente Coatlan, a 120 liter batch of Espadin.

Rezpiral

Rezpiral brings selections of high-quality traditional small-batch (non-certified) Mezcals into a handful of places in the USA. At the core of the project is the embrace of an ethos that aims to respect and support the multi-generational knowledge, independence, flavors, lands, and ways of each mezcalero family.

Rezpiral’s small scale allows for the advocacy of diversity on different levels, from supporting the autonomy of producers & their continued production of artisanal mezcals to the preservation of local land control. Rezpiral actively supports master artisan’s proactive planting and management of agave; recollecting and incubating seeds, transplanting and farming diverse species of endemic agave in sustainable ways. Rezpiral directs 10% of earnings back into supporting artisans farming.

Rezpiral has a regional greenhouse to support independent small scale mezcaleros in cultivating and reforesting their lands with local endangered wild agave varietals. They also are highly focused on a cultural and conservation residency program.

9 reviews

4.61 out of 5

danimal_xoxo

danimal_xoxo

9 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars12 months ago

100 Liters, February 2020
52.5%

Nose: definitely yes to tennis ball aromas. aloe vera. grassy. smells sweet. lime yes that’s the citrus smell. the idea of Tamarind big not quite.

Taste: silky mouthfeel. Enters your mouth with flavors of mesquite and light smoke, has a mineral punch. Undertone flavors of cardamom or white pepper and cloves. definitely notes of lemongrass hence the grassy citrus smell I mentioned earlier. it lingers and packs a punch but in a delicate delightful way. it tastes a little bit like salty or savory. it has the same impact of tamarind does to me. sour and sweet, something about contrasting flavors that just work well. you really get to taste the landscape of the highlands.

100 Liters, February 2020
52.5%
Nose: definitely yes to tennis ball aromas. aloe vera. grassy. smells sweet. lime yes that’s the citrus smell. the idea of Tamarind big not quite.
Taste: silky mouthfeel. Enters your mouth with flavors of mesquite and light smoke, has a mineral punch. Undertone flavors of cardamom or white pepper and cloves. definitely notes of lemongrass hence the grassy citrus smell I mentioned earlier. it lingers and packs a punch but in a delicate delightful way. it tastes

Read more
COak

COak

195 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars12 months ago

I was really excited to try this one, definitely one of the better Rezpirals. I tried this against two other batches of tobasiche from the same producers at higher abv %, I preferred those but I really like this. I get the fresh tennis balls aroma. This has medicinal qualities, mineral, lemongrass and very rich.

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

362 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

My favorite Rezpiral offering. Lime and tamarind. Great mouthfeel… closer to a xtabentun. Viscous. Topo Chico minerality present, as is a sharpness on the finish that is both pleasant and lingers. This is awesome

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

165 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Series 4
Light, green smell. Different series, but still get the new tennis ball scent others have mentioned. Coconut comes in and out on both smell & taste. Some rubber, but a good balance of bright sweetness & smoke. Well rounded tobasiche, but the ‘synthetic smell’ brings it down for me.
Review #90

Jonny

Jonny

603 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Series 5. The Gregg Time & Tequila review killed it with the tennis ball aroma. I also get aromas of fresh aloe, chalky minerals, cloves, and ground moringa. The palate is packed with minerals, fresh coconut shavings, lemon rind, and new sneakers. This is really fantastic. A friend gave me a dram sample of this and I wish I had a whole bottle to myself.

Gatekeeper

Gatekeeper

12 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Series 5 by Simeon & Apolonio Ramirez. 52.5% ABV.

Nose is rugged karwinskii: earth, minerals, and a bit of ash. once you get past a bit of upfront acetone, taste is sweeter, richer and juicier than expected with coconut/peanut, lime, an herbaceousness that’s hard to place, and clay and mineral flavor. minerality. Nice medium-long finish. This is an excellent rich and bold tobasiche.

meserole

meserole

72 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Really wanted a 100% tobasiche – my only experience thus far being at the Lalocura palenque – and saw this attractive little bottles at Astor Spirits in NYC ($99).

Nose was that familiar and predictable deep herbal grassiness with a bit of carmelized sugar. First sip came off a bit flat with pungent grass followed by acetone — only, I then remembered what Lalo had taught us about drinking mezcal properly, and on the second taste with my palette fully coated, I could appreciate a smooth body with notes of coconut cream, lemongrass, and citrus. Didn’t have any surprise aftertaste (something I love in my absolute favorites, like Neta’s espadin) but a clean finish, and something I could easily drink myself into oblivion with without hardly noticing. 😉

Really wanted a 100% tobasiche – my only experience thus far being at the Lalocura palenque – and saw this attractive little bottles at Astor Spirits in NYC ($99).
Nose was that familiar and predictable deep herbal grassiness with a bit of carmelized sugar. First sip came off a bit flat with pungent grass followed by acetone — only, I then remembered what Lalo had taught us about drinking mezcal properly, and on the second taste with my palette fully coated, I could appreciate a sm

Read more
Jordan

Jordan

11 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Now that I ordered a second bottle for my archives, I can tell you that this is a very special mezcal. Reminds me a lot of juju dhau, a sweet custard made in Nepal that is often made with cloves, cardamom, coconut and cashew. Very rich, enveloping and distinctive, this mezcal is extremely complex.

Gregg T&T

Gregg T&T

100 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Freshly opened can of tennis balls, eucalyptus and ginger root. Herbaceous with notes of clover and lemongrass. This one is big and bold and I love it. A standout Tobaziche.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top