Powered by 100% agave

Casamigos Mezcal Joven

Casamigos Mezcal Joven is the first mezcal release from George Clooney’s renowned Tequila brand. They plan to release more mezcal at a later date.

About this mezcal

Casamigos Mezcal Joven is made with agave Espadin in Santiago Matatlán, Oaxaca. According to co-founder Rande Gerber, the “mezcal was brought to [them] by a family that has made it for five generations. It’s extremely smooth, small-batch, with the perfect smokiness and easy to drink.” He later stated, “When we found our mezcal of choice, we worked closely with [the family] to perfect it.” Casamigos Mezcal launched in United States, Australia, the U.K., and Canada on April 1, 2018.

Casamigos Mezcal

Casamigos Mezcal is the new spinoff of Casamigos Tequila. The brand is most noted for its founders, George Clooney, Rande Gerber, and Mike Meldman. In June 2017, Casamigos Tequila was sold for $1 Billion USD ($700 million upfront and $300 million based on future performance) to British beverage giant Diageo. Some of Diageo’s other liquor brands include Johnnie Walker, Crown Royal, Smirnoff, Ketel One, Guiness, and Captain Morgan. Though Clooney sold an undisclosed portion of his ownership stake, he remains active in the company’s Tequila and Mezcal ventures.

Member rating

1.2 out of 5

51 reviews

Gregg T&T

Gregg T&T

100 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Muted. Anise and overtly sweet agave. Not a lot to report here. Surprisingly inoffensive but complete forgettable.

AspenJEM

AspenJEM

1 review
Rated 0.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Ummm- I thought there must have been a burnt batch, and found this site by looking under “Mezcal Casamigos Recalls”. So much money that will never be enjoyed. The FDA doesn’t allow Jet Fuel to be part of any type of drink, do they?

Now I’ll read the other reviews so we know what to buy, next time.

gcat911

gcat911

3 reviews
Rated 1.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

For the price tag – this is all hype – I am going to stick to their tequila which is still pretty enjoyable for me.

CBGriffith

CBGriffith

1 review
Rated 0.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Terrible! I agree with this review: “How this got bottled as a potable drink and passed US customs is beyond me. It’s a unique blend of smoke, ethanol, animal urine, and bilge water. And yes, it is also set off by a nice burnt tire aftertaste. Please save yourself, its too late for our $60…” its so bad.

ckuberkube

ckuberkube

1 review
Rated 1 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Wish I read the reviews before buying. Worst liquor I have ever had. Agree, not even worth keeping for mixed drinks. And fate laughing even further at the dumb purchase, George Clooney showed up in my mail box on the cover of AARP magazine while I still had the taste of his crap bottle on my tongue….

Franco

Franco

1 review
Rated 1 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Excited to try my first sip, I would have to flip a coin on whether I would take a 2nd sip or lick my dog’s butt. How this got bottled as a potable drink and passed US customs is beyond me. It’s a unique blend of smoke, ethanol, animal urine, and bilge water. And yes, it is also set off by a nice burnt tire aftertaste. Please save yourself, its too late for our $60…

Charlene

Charlene

1 review
Rated 0.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

My husband is a fan of Casamigos, he was very excited to try this Mezcal. His excitement was quickly destroyed when he almost spit out his first sip! There was a moment between swallowing and wretching. He chose to swallow, and regrets his decision. It smells like synthetic smoke and tastes like death. He promptly poured 60 dollars down the drain. George Clooney should come over and personally apologize for this atrocity.

Rated 1 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Nearly everything about this is offensive. The opaque bottle is actually somewhat clever, as I feel if you could actually see the liquid it would be staring back at you with both of it’s middle fingers up and a ugly grin…”Just robbed you, gringo”.

JJones

JJones

1 review
Rated 0.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

I thought I was going to die after one sip. I smelled it first, and the smell was horrible, but I said it can’t taste that bad, but I was turned off, so I decided to make a margarita out of it first, OMG!!! it smells and tastes like rubber tires that have been burned, I have the worst taste in my mouth. Poured it out, I’ll give the rest of the bottle to my worst enemy!

gratefullawyer

gratefullawyer

3 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars4 years ago

It was ok but overpriced

Georgeclooney

Georgeclooney

1 review
Rated 0.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Wish I would have read the reviews first. Thought with his name in the label it would be a good tequila for the price. Tastes like expired pine medicine. Horrible!

Alex500

Alex500

1 review
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

It’s ok for the first couple shots, but after that it starts smelling abs tasting like petroleum. Too expensive for what it is.

Miguel

Miguel

1 review
Rated 0.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

I joined this site for the sole purpose of reviewing this mezcal. I love all of the other Casamigos tequila but they need to ditch the mezcal. This tasted horrible. I am so angry I bought it before researching it. Ugh!! It’s that bad.

SjS10466

SjS10466

1 review
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Tasted ok, mild and not as special as I expected. I normally thrive on tequila/mezcal and I do not mix my drinks – however I was depressed for 3 days afterwards and my friend who never suffers a hangover had an unusual migraine the next day. Casa Amigo Anejo is better…

Wanderingspider

Wanderingspider

55 reviews
Rated 0.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Clooney is cool, his juice though…ain’t.
Mass produced, bland, lacking any sort of complexity and any flavour present is not great.
They’re are probably worse mezcals out there but can almost guarantee they’re not as expensive as this. Abysmal.

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

215 reviews
Rated 1 out of 5 stars4 years ago

I’m only rating this one star as I imagine there has to be some worse so-called mezcals out there. Watery is the first (and sadly close to only) taste at first sip. Small bite, with ethanol finish, which might appease any novice, uninitiated drinker out there. Slightly sweet on the nose. Would not recommend, nor would be hard pressed to even use this to make a cocktail. And at around $60 a bottle this is straight-up highway robbery (and for a 40% ABV espadin??). I feel bad for anyone who wants to get into mezcal, buys this bottle at costco or their local grocery store, and dismisses the whole spirit off of Mr. Clooney’s pursuit to never have to act again.

I’m only rating this one star as I imagine there has to be some worse so-called mezcals out there. Watery is the first (and sadly close to only) taste at first sip. Small bite, with ethanol finish, which might appease any novice, uninitiated drinker out there. Slightly sweet on the nose. Would not recommend, nor would be hard pressed to even use this to make a cocktail. And at around $60 a bottle this is straight-up highway robbery (and for a 40% ABV espadin??). I feel bad for anyone

Read more
POMBO

POMBO

5 reviews
Rated 0.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Don’t waste your time. Tastes like alcohol and sugar. Not worth the price for sure (or any price for that matter). Also as a side note, the bottle looks cool but I personally hate that chalkboard feeling and the touch of it.

chonchoparadise

chonchoparadise

4 reviews
Rated 1 out of 5 stars4 years ago

The most disappointing bottle of mezcal we’ve purchased so far this year. The problem in a nutshell is that there is no there there. It’s unbalanced, ethanol forward and has a taste like bootleg ferments that can be purchased at a quarter the price in Mexico. The ethanol rides above what tastes like a cheap tequila. There’s zero smoothness, zero subtlety. We tried making a margarita from it but the taste just ruins perfectly good limes. It’s gross and for the price it feels like a total ripoff. You’re paying for the bottle and the box. There’s no craft here.

The most disappointing bottle of mezcal we’ve purchased so far this year. The problem in a nutshell is that there is no there there. It’s unbalanced, ethanol forward and has a taste like bootleg ferments that can be purchased at a quarter the price in Mexico. The ethanol rides above what tastes like a cheap tequila. There’s zero smoothness, zero subtlety. We tried making a margarita from it but the taste just ruins perfectly good limes. It’s gross and for the price it fee

Read more
Spirit_Chaser

Spirit_Chaser

20 reviews
Rated 1.5 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Very watery, and a little sweet. Purely a mixer and prob not even that good of one at that. There are cheaper mixers on the market; a lot of them. Way too expensive for what it is. I see no reason to ever buy this.

Jdawson

Jdawson

1 review
Rated 0.5 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Smells and tastes like used tires. Vulcanized rubber. This was so incredibly disappointing! Love the blanco, resposado, and anejo, but this mezcal needs to be removed from the collection! Just gross! Makes me nauseous. Had to pour out the whole bottle. Ugh.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top