Powered by 100% agave

Casamigos Mezcal Joven

Casamigos Mezcal Joven is the first mezcal release from George Clooney’s renowned Tequila brand. They plan to release more mezcal at a later date.

About this mezcal

Casamigos Mezcal Joven is made with agave Espadin in Santiago Matatlán, Oaxaca. According to co-founder Rande Gerber, the “mezcal was brought to [them] by a family that has made it for five generations. It’s extremely smooth, small-batch, with the perfect smokiness and easy to drink.” He later stated, “When we found our mezcal of choice, we worked closely with [the family] to perfect it.” Casamigos Mezcal launched in United States, Australia, the U.K., and Canada on April 1, 2018.

Casamigos Mezcal

Casamigos Mezcal is the new spinoff of Casamigos Tequila. The brand is most noted for its founders, George Clooney, Rande Gerber, and Mike Meldman. In June 2017, Casamigos Tequila was sold for $1 Billion USD ($700 million upfront and $300 million based on future performance) to British beverage giant Diageo. Some of Diageo’s other liquor brands include Johnnie Walker, Crown Royal, Smirnoff, Ketel One, Guiness, and Captain Morgan. Though Clooney sold an undisclosed portion of his ownership stake, he remains active in the company’s Tequila and Mezcal ventures.

Member rating

1.18 out of 5

50 reviews

Ben P

Ben P

98 reviews
Rated 1 out of 5 stars2 weeks ago

Nose: bad yogurt, mint, anise

Palate: maybe some mango, maybe some papaya, maybe some tobacco and leather. Finish is short and peppery for 40 abv

This was a gift bottle and will go in cocktails going forward. Big sad

JDizzle9300

JDizzle9300

1 review
Rated 0.5 out of 5 stars1 month ago

This was so terrible that I made an account just to verify with other people how terrible it is. It tastes like if you could harvest the smell of a recently used grill and some rocks fresh out of the deepest crevices the earth has to offer and blended them into a drink… this would be it.

tipsyTurtle

tipsyTurtle

1 review
Rated 0.5 out of 5 stars2 months ago

The bottle has #24058 on it. This sh*t tastes ass. The taste is kind of tastes medicinal mixed with commercial cleaner. It’s hard to describe but I’m gagging just thinking of the taste and the aroma together. It’s like an expired liniment, mixed with turpentine with a couple pours of mineral spirits and a shot of wintergreen alcohol to round it out. I know this sounds like a delightfully delicious concoction but, surprisingly, it isn’t. The only way I could make it anywhere near palatable, was to mix 1oz with 4oz 1/2 oj & white grapefruit + 1oz Meyer lemon. It was still a tad gross but I figured out if I hold my nose the embalming fluid Odor along with the industrial elixir flavor was not as intense and vomit inducing. Cheers!

The bottle has #24058 on it. This sh*t tastes ass. The taste is kind of tastes medicinal mixed with commercial cleaner. It’s hard to describe but I’m gagging just thinking of the taste and the aroma together. It’s like an expired liniment, mixed with turpentine with a couple pours of mineral spirits and a shot of wintergreen alcohol to round it out. I know this sounds like a delightfully delicious concoction but, surprisingly, it isn’t. The only way I could make it anywhere near palatabl

Read more
Rated 1 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Just not good. Burnt, then ok, then just alcohol. And the price is awful. There are plenty of bottles that are half the cost that are much better sippers. It’s drinkable, so I’ll give it one star.

Bunntender

Bunntender

17 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Plain. Surprisingly expensive:(

nomore55

nomore55

1 review
Rated 0.5 out of 5 stars8 months ago

I’m so sorry I didn’t come here to read about Mezcal Joven before buying a bottle. I thought I’d treat myself to a good brand. Now I’m out $85 because this tastes so gross I can’t drink it. It tastes like burning rubber. 3 shots out of brand new bottle, wish I could return it. My son said it tastes like gasoline.
I’m honestly done with Cassamigos. This the second kind that I have not been happy with.

Devilspawn

Devilspawn

1 review
Rated 0.5 out of 5 stars9 months ago

As an Automotive Technician I work a lot with fuel and whatnot. As soon as you open this bottle you get the immediate smell of RAW 91 Octane Fuel, it also tastes like fuel. This bottle Costs me $55, and man that was a waste of money. Now I dont even want to drink this anymore. Do not buy unless you love fuel.

Jori

Jori

52 reviews
Rated 1 out of 5 stars1 year ago

I remember liking this one a lot more, in fact it intrigued me to the rabbit hole of Mezcal…
years later and….
Tasted it again and it’s just like a gringo party tequila and bad islay scotch mixed.
The George Clooney name is cool. I don’t mind that celebrity.
Extra point for nostalgia, -point for the price

bluImbibe

bluImbibe

40 reviews
Rated 0.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Numero: 24058
I would give this bottle a lower score if that were possible. This is commercial destilado for the American palate. So bad I cringe a little bit calling it mezcal.
The nose is flat and non existent. Kind of smells like metallic water. The palate offers a very thin layer of smoke but no complexity other than that. The only redeeming quality of this destilado is the fact that some would say it’s “smooth” but this mouthfeel just feels thin, as if they’d charcoal filtered it.
Overall terrible bottle. Tastes like steamed overly immature agave. Nothing really of note.
I would only give this to someone if I wanted to win a bet with a vodka drinker who says they won’t like agave spirits (still refuse to call this mezcal).

Numero: 24058
I would give this bottle a lower score if that were possible. This is commercial destilado for the American palate. So bad I cringe a little bit calling it mezcal.
The nose is flat and non existent. Kind of smells like metallic water. The palate offers a very thin layer of smoke but no complexity other than that. The only redeeming quality of this destilado is the fact that some would say it’s “smooth” but this mouthfeel just feels thin, as if they’d charcoa

Read more
Ashley2222

Ashley2222

1 review
Rated 0.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

I hate I even have half a star clicked bc this shit literally taste how DIP CANS full of spit smell!!!! Disgusting! I LOVE tequila and ts omg. So nasty. I don’t feel drunk nor tipsy but it has me feeling odd ash. Big thumbs down 😂😂

Dris

Dris

2 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Savoury and smoky. Moreish although not complex.

Coach T

Coach T

1 review
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Numero 24058
I enjoyed this mezcal with two friends sipping under the Georgia coastal summer moonlight. A little salt and lime on the side for sips not shots. We all ranked it very high. Subtle sweetness and smoky with a kiss of fruit flavor. These other reviewers must have been into a bad batch. For us it was great.

DrSchvantz

DrSchvantz

1 review
Rated 0.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Literally the worst thing I ever tasted in my life. Not just worst alcohol but worst anything. This was my first “mezcal” and I’m gonna wake up early to go buy some regular tequila to forget about this disaster. I just happened to pick this one off the shelf and I must have been cursed at the time. It tastes like burnt wood, paint thinner and jet fuel. I had to create this account just to post the awful review to save others souls. I’m gonna try to return it tomorrow because no one should be selling or consuming this. Run!!!!

Literally the worst thing I ever tasted in my life. Not just worst alcohol but worst anything. This was my first “mezcal” and I’m gonna wake up early to go buy some regular tequila to forget about this disaster. I just happened to pick this one off the shelf and I must have been cursed at the time. It tastes like burnt wood, paint thinner and jet fuel. I had to create this account just to post the awful review to save others souls. I’m gonna try to return it tomorrow because no one sh

Read more
AdrianM

AdrianM

19 reviews
Rated 1 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Not the best representation of the “commercial stereotype” of mezcal. Excessive smokiness, no depth, no complexity. For the price tag, you may find way more interesting juice out there. I would only suggest this for cocktails.

PedroDLHR

PedroDLHR

10 reviews
Rated 1.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

I remember being very excited to try this mezcal since I really enjoy all of the other Casamigos tequila but it was a big disappointment. Honestly, I agree with all the reviews. It is not worth it, especially for the price.

Mace32212

Mace32212

1 review
Rated 1 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Tastes like it got in bed with a muffler. Tastes like they put a cigarette in the bottle instead of a worm.

TheAgaveFairy

TheAgaveFairy

169 reviews
Rated 1 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Nose: Thin, paint remover in spades. There’s some clay and basic agave underneath, smelling minty, with smoke that reminds me of cleaning my barbecue grill. Not as ashy and chemical and fake as the first time I tried this, which I guess is good? With enough air, papaya-like fruits, smells more like Matatlan but I can’t confirm this – OH WAIT I’m right, found it. I just can’t read.

Palate: Wet ashtray entry, thin, acidic, really thin, chemical cleaners, a decent amount of smoke on the finish (oh why did I swallow this… yikes). Wet ashtray.

Thoughts: I remember disliking it more which is like, how? How was it possible to make something much worse than this? This is insulting and believe me I wanted to hate it but WOW they didn’t have to make that so easy to do.

Conclusion and “t8ke” scale rating: 2/10. Maybe a 3, if it opens up better – the nose is becoming close to tolerable. My gosh, this shouldn’t exist at almost any price point.

Nose: Thin, paint remover in spades. There’s some clay and basic agave underneath, smelling minty, with smoke that reminds me of cleaning my barbecue grill. Not as ashy and chemical and fake as the first time I tried this, which I guess is good? With enough air, papaya-like fruits, smells more like Matatlan but I can’t confirm this – OH WAIT I’m right, found it. I just can’t read.
Palate: Wet ashtray entry, thin, acidic, really thin, chemical cleaners, a decent amount of smoke on the

Read more
Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

542 reviews
Rated 0.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

This isn’t me hating on a celebrity spirit, this is simply a disgusting mezcal. I ordered it neat at a nice Mexican restaurant and after two or three sips I deemed it undrinkable on its own. I asked if they could make the rest (it was originally a 2 oz. pour) into a cocktail – a Oaxaca Old Fashioned. The ice diluting the already horrible mezcal made the concoction nearly undrinkable. I did choke it down but I cringed the entire time. So bad. Not to mention it’s sometimes upwards of $70 a bottle. Insane.

This isn’t me hating on a celebrity spirit, this is simply a disgusting mezcal. I ordered it neat at a nice Mexican restaurant and after two or three sips I deemed it undrinkable on its own. I asked if they could make the rest (it was originally a 2 oz. pour) into a cocktail – a Oaxaca Old Fashioned. The ice diluting the already horrible mezcal made the concoction nearly undrinkable. I did choke it down but I cringed the entire time. So bad. Not to mention it’s sometimes upward

Read more
Hgonzalez315

Hgonzalez315

1 review
Rated 0.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

This is the worst mezcal I’ve ever tasted in my entire life it taste like a mix of diesel fuel and jet fuel. When I took my first sip all wanted to do was throw up. The worst. I purchased 2 bottles. What a waste of money and time.

Gregg T&T

Gregg T&T

100 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Muted. Anise and overtly sweet agave. Not a lot to report here. Surprisingly inoffensive but complete forgettable.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top