Powered by 100% agave

Casamigos Mezcal Joven

Casamigos Mezcal Joven is the first mezcal release from George Clooney’s renowned Tequila brand. They plan to release more mezcal at a later date.

Rating: (38 reviews)
Cost:$$
Brand:Casamigos Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O491X
Maguey:Espadin
Agave:Angustifolia
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Santiago Matatlan
ABV: 40%
Release year: 2018
Website: https://casamigostequila.com, opens in new window
Ownership:Diageo

About this mezcal

Casamigos Mezcal Joven is made with agave Espadin in Santiago Matatlán, Oaxaca. According to co-founder Rande Gerber, the “mezcal was brought to [them] by a family that has made it for five generations. It’s extremely smooth, small-batch, with the perfect smokiness and easy to drink.” He later stated, “When we found our mezcal of choice, we worked closely with [the family] to perfect it.” Casamigos Mezcal launched in United States, Australia, the U.K., and Canada on April 1, 2018.

Casamigos Mezcal

Casamigos Mezcal is the new spinoff of Casamigos Tequila. The brand is most noted for its founders, George Clooney, Rande Gerber, and Mike Meldman. In June 2017, Casamigos Tequila was sold for $1 Billion USD ($700 million upfront and $300 million based on future performance) to British beverage giant Diageo. Some of Diageo’s other liquor brands include Johnnie Walker, Crown Royal, Smirnoff, Ketel One, Guiness, and Captain Morgan. Though Clooney sold an undisclosed portion of his ownership stake, he remains active in the company’s Tequila and Mezcal ventures.

38 reviews

1.13 out of 5

DrSchvantz

DrSchvantz

1 review
Rated 0.5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Literally the worst thing I ever tasted in my life. Not just worst alcohol but worst anything. This was my first “mezcal” and I’m gonna wake up early to go buy some regular tequila to forget about this disaster. I just happened to pick this one off the shelf and I must have been cursed at the time. It tastes like burnt wood, paint thinner and jet fuel. I had to create this account just to post the awful review to save others souls. I’m gonna try to return it tomorrow because no one should be selling or consuming this. Run!!!!

Literally the worst thing I ever tasted in my life. Not just worst alcohol but worst anything. This was my first “mezcal” and I’m gonna wake up early to go buy some regular tequila to forget about this disaster. I just happened to pick this one off the shelf and I must have been cursed at the time. It tastes like burnt wood, paint thinner and jet fuel. I had to create this account just to post the awful review to save others souls. I’m gonna try to return it tomorrow because no one sh

Read more
AdrianM

AdrianM

17 reviews
Rated 1 out of 5 stars8 months ago

Not the best representation of the “commercial stereotype” of mezcal. Excessive smokiness, no depth, no complexity. For the price tag, you may find way more interesting juice out there. I would only suggest this for cocktails.

PedroDLHR

PedroDLHR

10 reviews
Rated 1.5 out of 5 stars8 months ago

I remember being very excited to try this mezcal since I really enjoy all of the other Casamigos tequila but it was a big disappointment. Honestly, I agree with all the reviews. It is not worth it, especially for the price.

Mace32212

Mace32212

1 review
Rated 1 out of 5 stars11 months ago

Tastes like it got in bed with a muffler. Tastes like they put a cigarette in the bottle instead of a worm.

TheAgaveFairy

TheAgaveFairy

167 reviews
Rated 1 out of 5 stars12 months ago

Nose: Thin, paint remover in spades. There’s some clay and basic agave underneath, smelling minty, with smoke that reminds me of cleaning my barbecue grill. Not as ashy and chemical and fake as the first time I tried this, which I guess is good? With enough air, papaya-like fruits, smells more like Matatlan but I can’t confirm this – OH WAIT I’m right, found it. I just can’t read.

Palate: Wet ashtray entry, thin, acidic, really thin, chemical cleaners, a decent amount of smoke on the finish (oh why did I swallow this… yikes). Wet ashtray.

Thoughts: I remember disliking it more which is like, how? How was it possible to make something much worse than this? This is insulting and believe me I wanted to hate it but WOW they didn’t have to make that so easy to do.

Conclusion and “t8ke” scale rating: 2/10. Maybe a 3, if it opens up better – the nose is becoming close to tolerable. My gosh, this shouldn’t exist at almost any price point.

Nose: Thin, paint remover in spades. There’s some clay and basic agave underneath, smelling minty, with smoke that reminds me of cleaning my barbecue grill. Not as ashy and chemical and fake as the first time I tried this, which I guess is good? With enough air, papaya-like fruits, smells more like Matatlan but I can’t confirm this – OH WAIT I’m right, found it. I just can’t read.
Palate: Wet ashtray entry, thin, acidic, really thin, chemical cleaners, a decent amount of smoke on the

Read more
Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

421 reviews
Rated 0.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

This isn’t me hating on a celebrity spirit (because I think Casamigos Anejo tequila is awesome) but this is a truly disgusting mezcal. I ordered it neat at a nice Mexican restaurant and after two or three sips I deemed it undrinkable on its own. I asked if they could make the rest (it was originally a 2 oz. pour) into a cocktail – a Oaxaca Old Fashioned. The ice diluting the already horrible mezcal made the concoction nearly undrinkable. I did choke it down but I cringed the entire time. How does Casamigos miss the mark this bad with their mezcal (when in my opinion their tequila line is pretty solid)?

This isn’t me hating on a celebrity spirit (because I think Casamigos Anejo tequila is awesome) but this is a truly disgusting mezcal. I ordered it neat at a nice Mexican restaurant and after two or three sips I deemed it undrinkable on its own. I asked if they could make the rest (it was originally a 2 oz. pour) into a cocktail – a Oaxaca Old Fashioned. The ice diluting the already horrible mezcal made the concoction nearly undrinkable. I did choke it down but I cringed the entire t

Read more
Hgonzalez315

Hgonzalez315

1 review
Rated 0.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

This is the worst mezcal I’ve ever tasted in my entire life it taste like a mix of diesel fuel and jet fuel. When I took my first sip all wanted to do was throw up. The worst. I purchased 2 bottles. What a waste of money and time.

Gregg T&T

Gregg T&T

100 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Muted. Anise and overtly sweet agave. Not a lot to report here. Surprisingly inoffensive but complete forgettable.

AspenJEM

AspenJEM

1 review
Rated 0.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Ummm- I thought there must have been a burnt batch, and found this site by looking under “Mezcal Casamigos Recalls”. So much money that will never be enjoyed. The FDA doesn’t allow Jet Fuel to be part of any type of drink, do they?

Now I’ll read the other reviews so we know what to buy, next time.

gcat911

gcat911

3 reviews
Rated 1.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

For the price tag – this is all hype – I am going to stick to their tequila which is still pretty enjoyable for me.

CBGriffith

CBGriffith

1 review
Rated 0.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Terrible! I agree with this review: “How this got bottled as a potable drink and passed US customs is beyond me. It’s a unique blend of smoke, ethanol, animal urine, and bilge water. And yes, it is also set off by a nice burnt tire aftertaste. Please save yourself, its too late for our $60…” its so bad.

ckuberkube

ckuberkube

1 review
Rated 1 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Wish I read the reviews before buying. Worst liquor I have ever had. Agree, not even worth keeping for mixed drinks. And fate laughing even further at the dumb purchase, George Clooney showed up in my mail box on the cover of AARP magazine while I still had the taste of his crap bottle on my tongue….

Franco

Franco

1 review
Rated 1 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Excited to try my first sip, I would have to flip a coin on whether I would take a 2nd sip or lick my dog’s butt. How this got bottled as a potable drink and passed US customs is beyond me. It’s a unique blend of smoke, ethanol, animal urine, and bilge water. And yes, it is also set off by a nice burnt tire aftertaste. Please save yourself, its too late for our $60…

Charlene

Charlene

1 review
Rated 0.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

My husband is a fan of Casamigos, he was very excited to try this Mezcal. His excitement was quickly destroyed when he almost spit out his first sip! There was a moment between swallowing and wretching. He chose to swallow, and regrets his decision. It smells like synthetic smoke and tastes like death. He promptly poured 60 dollars down the drain. George Clooney should come over and personally apologize for this atrocity.

Rated 1 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Nearly everything about this is offensive. The opaque bottle is actually somewhat clever, as I feel if you could actually see the liquid it would be staring back at you with both of it’s middle fingers up and a ugly grin…”Just robbed you, gringo”.

JJones

JJones

1 review
Rated 0.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

I thought I was going to die after one sip. I smelled it first, and the smell was horrible, but I said it can’t taste that bad, but I was turned off, so I decided to make a margarita out of it first, OMG!!! it smells and tastes like rubber tires that have been burned, I have the worst taste in my mouth. Poured it out, I’ll give the rest of the bottle to my worst enemy!

gratefullawyer

gratefullawyer

3 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 years ago

It was ok but overpriced

Georgeclooney

Georgeclooney

1 review
Rated 0.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Wish I would have read the reviews first. Thought with his name in the label it would be a good tequila for the price. Tastes like expired pine medicine. Horrible!

Alex500

Alex500

1 review
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

It’s ok for the first couple shots, but after that it starts smelling abs tasting like petroleum. Too expensive for what it is.

Miguel

Miguel

1 review
Rated 0.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

I joined this site for the sole purpose of reviewing this mezcal. I love all of the other Casamigos tequila but they need to ditch the mezcal. This tasted horrible. I am so angry I bought it before researching it. Ugh!! It’s that bad.

SjS10466

SjS10466

1 review
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Tasted ok, mild and not as special as I expected. I normally thrive on tequila/mezcal and I do not mix my drinks – however I was depressed for 3 days afterwards and my friend who never suffers a hangover had an unusual migraine the next day. Casa Amigo Anejo is better…

Wanderingspider

Wanderingspider

47 reviews
Rated 0.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Clooney is cool, his juice though…ain’t.
Mass produced, bland, lacking any sort of complexity and any flavour present is not great.
They’re are probably worse mezcals out there but can almost guarantee they’re not as expensive as this. Abysmal.

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

156 reviews
Rated 1 out of 5 stars2 years ago

I’m only rating this one star as I imagine there has to be some worse so-called mezcals out there. Watery is the first (and sadly close to only) taste at first sip. Small bite, with ethanol finish, which might appease any novice, uninitiated drinker out there. Slightly sweet on the nose. Would not recommend, nor would be hard pressed to even use this to make a cocktail. And at around $60 a bottle this is straight-up highway robbery (and for a 40% ABV espadin??). I feel bad for anyone who wants to get into mezcal, buys this bottle at costco or their local grocery store, and dismisses the whole spirit off of Mr. Clooney’s pursuit to never have to act again.

I’m only rating this one star as I imagine there has to be some worse so-called mezcals out there. Watery is the first (and sadly close to only) taste at first sip. Small bite, with ethanol finish, which might appease any novice, uninitiated drinker out there. Slightly sweet on the nose. Would not recommend, nor would be hard pressed to even use this to make a cocktail. And at around $60 a bottle this is straight-up highway robbery (and for a 40% ABV espadin??). I feel bad for anyone

Read more
POMBO

POMBO

5 reviews
Rated 0.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Don’t waste your time. Tastes like alcohol and sugar. Not worth the price for sure (or any price for that matter). Also as a side note, the bottle looks cool but I personally hate that chalkboard feeling and the touch of it.

chonchoparadise

chonchoparadise

4 reviews
Rated 1 out of 5 stars2 years ago

The most disappointing bottle of mezcal we’ve purchased so far this year. The problem in a nutshell is that there is no there there. It’s unbalanced, ethanol forward and has a taste like bootleg ferments that can be purchased at a quarter the price in Mexico. The ethanol rides above what tastes like a cheap tequila. There’s zero smoothness, zero subtlety. We tried making a margarita from it but the taste just ruins perfectly good limes. It’s gross and for the price it feels like a total ripoff. You’re paying for the bottle and the box. There’s no craft here.

The most disappointing bottle of mezcal we’ve purchased so far this year. The problem in a nutshell is that there is no there there. It’s unbalanced, ethanol forward and has a taste like bootleg ferments that can be purchased at a quarter the price in Mexico. The ethanol rides above what tastes like a cheap tequila. There’s zero smoothness, zero subtlety. We tried making a margarita from it but the taste just ruins perfectly good limes. It’s gross and for the price it fee

Read more
Spirit_Chaser

Spirit_Chaser

20 reviews
Rated 1.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Very watery, and a little sweet. Purely a mixer and prob not even that good of one at that. There are cheaper mixers on the market; a lot of them. Way too expensive for what it is. I see no reason to ever buy this.

Jdawson

Jdawson

1 review
Rated 0.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Smells and tastes like used tires. Vulcanized rubber. This was so incredibly disappointing! Love the blanco, resposado, and anejo, but this mezcal needs to be removed from the collection! Just gross! Makes me nauseous. Had to pour out the whole bottle. Ugh.

AgaveNerd101

AgaveNerd101

7 reviews
Rated 1 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Coming from the Mezcal capital, Santiago Matatlan, I was expecting so much more. Extremely light and thin, fading out and leaving me wanting something heavier. This brand is not using a traditional process either, no tahona stone milling- which is also disappointing. I would recommend this in a “crowd pleasing” cocktail, if any, where the smokiness can easily be hidden . The price is almost double of what most quality Espadin’s are coming in at.

Dracarys

Dracarys

3 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

It is what it is, a beginner Mezcal. Very soft with very little smoke. Having said that, it’s not a bad first step for someone who has never had Mezcal, as long as they don’t care about money AT ALL. This is double the price it should be.

Yolandaltng

Yolandaltng

1 review
Rated 1 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Taste like chemicals and water!!! Love the blanco so purchased this and it’s terrible!!! Dont waste your money!!!

cody_norris

cody_norris

1 review
Rated 1 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Once upon a time, Cody was sitting at his favorite local watering hole enjoying some delightful libations. As Cody was there earlier than he should be (it’s 8am somewhere,) one of the local slangers of drank came in to pitch this Mezcal to the bar owner. At the time, Cody considered him a friend, so he took a sample at his suggestion…

Backstory, Cody proudly served in the United States Army. One of the “highlights” of every soldier’s military experience in Basic Training is their time in the gas chamber. Participation in said event is intended to teach a young recruit the signs and symptoms of a chemical attack. It wasn’t neat. Back to George’s best…

About 1.32 seconds after putting this concoction in his mouth, Cody had mental flashbacks of his first house fire and subsequent smoke inhalation. Net – to say that this product has the “perfect smokiness” and is “easy to drink” is akin to saying that huffing a car’s tailpipe is the perfect way to inhale fresh air….. Cody is hopeful that Mr. Clooney will go back to the drawing board before releasing this supposedly small batch of tragedy to the masses.

Once upon a time, Cody was sitting at his favorite local watering hole enjoying some delightful libations. As Cody was there earlier than he should be (it’s 8am somewhere,) one of the local slangers of drank came in to pitch this Mezcal to the bar owner. At the time, Cody considered him a friend, so he took a sample at his suggestion…
Backstory, Cody proudly served in the United States Army. One of the “highlights” of every soldier’s military experience in Basic Tra

Read more
El_Cura

El_Cura

31 reviews
Rated 1 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Reminds me of Deep Purple…“Smoooooke on the water”… Entry level. Finish bottle first before buying anything else otherwise you’ll be wondering what to do with the rest. Probably good in cocktails if you’re into that sort of thing.

Youviewer

Youviewer

1 review
Rated 2 out of 5 stars4 years ago

I admit I am a mezcal novice…only ever have trying my first a few years back for my 45th birthday. I found myself at the local liquor store staring at this pretty bottle…”Casamigos”…learned later on of the George Clooney involvement. …took some weeks after buying the bottle to get around to finally trying it. I think it is “ok”…but not as big of a favorite as I recall my first taste of Sombra. The best I can describe as being an “off” taste with Casamigos is that it has a “plastic band-aid” aroma clinging to the smoke and after taste… I might try using this as a mixer instead of a sipping mezcal…perhaps as a bloody maria cocktail?

I admit I am a mezcal novice…only ever have trying my first a few years back for my 45th birthday. I found myself at the local liquor store staring at this pretty bottle…”Casamigos”…learned later on of the George Clooney involvement. …took some weeks after buying the bottle to get around to finally trying it. I think it is “ok”…but not as big of a favorite as I recall my first taste of Sombra. The best I can describe as being an “of

Read more
Kon-tiki

Kon-tiki

16 reviews
Rated 1 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Lot MJ18001. Gluten free! I’ve been looking for gluten free mezcal! Oh wait, isn’t ALL mezcal gluten free?! Yes. It is…. but really glad this brand pointed this out…. Upon opening the bottle, I sniffed the full bottle at its opening…It smelled completely empty…. I closed the cap, shook it up, and smelled again: still smelled empty…This has absolutely no scent at all….None….The palate?…. What palate?…. Each time I taste it, it gets worse….. It tastes like watered-down, sweaty, old gym socks…… The bottle is cool! But the mezcal is garbage and way overpriced…. If I could rate this less than 1 star, I would.

Lot MJ18001. Gluten free! I’ve been looking for gluten free mezcal! Oh wait, isn’t ALL mezcal gluten free?! Yes. It is…. but really glad this brand pointed this out…. Upon opening the bottle, I sniffed the full bottle at its opening…It smelled completely empty…. I closed the cap, shook it up, and smelled again: still smelled empty…This has absolutely no scent at all….None….The palate?…. What palate?…. Each time I taste it, it gets

Read more
victoriaeg369

victoriaeg369

2 reviews
Rated 1 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Theres a lot of an ethanol like smell on the nose masked by some sugar over agave. There is ALOT of water on the palatte. It tastes like someone asked for a good quality espadin shaken, the guest decided it wasn’t cold enough, so the bartender shook it again. Then the person forgot about the shot and let it sit on the bar top and then they decided to put that in a bottle. There are way better Espadin’s out there under the $60 price point.

razorbackmike

razorbackmike

134 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars4 years ago

this isnt bad.there is no harshness.it doent have the depth and complexity of other mezcals in this price range.this brings to mind the term near beer (or near mezcal).the smoke almost seems added.its semi sweet and easy to drink.it drinks like a tequila.if you are a mezcal purist,this is not your mezcal.i think 2 stars is being generous and the price should be around 35.00.it has a pleasant taste but lacks soul.

Jonny

Jonny

582 reviews
Rated 0.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Thinking about the storied acting career of George Clooney, I recall many great characters played by him: From Dr Doug Ross in ER, to movies like Out of Sight, Ocean’s Eleven, Oh Brother Where Art Thou, and Michael Clayton. Out of all of these characters, there’s one adjective that I could use to describe Clooney’s characters: smooth. The dude is smooth. He’s the smoothest of the smooth and that might unfortunately be the best way to describe his mezcal. As far as tasting is concerned, smooth is easy to drink and void of any outlandish and/or out-of-place character notes. Like George, Casamigos is smooth. It’s got some faint hints of cucumber and pollen on the palate, but it’s mostly just water and smoke. For those who only drink 40% tequila, perhaps this is a nice place to start in the world of mezcal. It’s easy to gulp and puts up very little fight on the way down. For those who have had and enjoy mezcal, this is an abomination. I’m talking like a 1997 Batman and Robin abomination (starring Arnold Schwarzenegger and of course Clooney as Bruce Wayne). Like Batman pretending to be a regular person (Bruce Wayne), this industrial tequila is pretending to be mezcal. It’s mostly just water and smoke. Not recommended.

Thinking about the storied acting career of George Clooney, I recall many great characters played by him: From Dr Doug Ross in ER, to movies like Out of Sight, Ocean’s Eleven, Oh Brother Where Art Thou, and Michael Clayton. Out of all of these characters, there’s one adjective that I could use to describe Clooney’s characters: smooth. The dude is smooth. He’s the smoothest of the smooth and that might unfortunately be the best way to describe his mezcal. As far as tasting

Read more
Tyler

Tyler

574 reviews
Rated 1.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Smells like a white rum on the nose. Aromas of sugar over agave. On the palate, the first thing you notice is water. There is a bit of lemon peel and vanilla. Not awful. Not great. The organic agave notes are faint. Watered down and not unique. Remember, the price is $60 USD for 750 mL.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top