Powered by 100% agave

Casamigos Mezcal Joven

Casamigos Mezcal Joven is the first mezcal release from George Clooney’s renowned Tequila brand. They plan to release more mezcal at a later date.

Rating: (13 reviews)
Cost:$$$$
Brand:Casamigos Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O491X
Agave:Espadin
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Santiago Matatlan
ABV:40%
Release year:2018
Website:https://casamigostequila.com
About this mezcal

Casamigos Mezcal Joven is made with agave Espadin in Santiago Matatlán, Oaxaca. According to co-founder Rande Gerber, the “mezcal was brought to [them] by a family that has made it for five generations. It’s extremely smooth, small-batch, with the perfect smokiness and easy to drink.” He later stated, “When we found our mezcal of choice, we worked closely with [the family] to perfect it.” Casamigos Mezcal launched in United States, Australia, the U.K., and Canada on April 1, 2018.

Casamigos Mezcal

Casamigos Mezcal is the new spinoff of Casamigos Tequila. The brand is most noted for its founders, George Clooney, Rande Gerber, and Mike Meldman. In June 2017, Casamigos Tequila was sold for $1 Billion USD ($700 million upfront and $300 million based on future performance) to British beverage giant Diageo. Some of Diageo's other liquor brands include Johnnie Walker, Crown Royal, Smirnoff, Ketel One, Guiness, and Captain Morgan. Though Clooney sold an undisclosed portion of his ownership stake, he remains active in the company's Tequila and Mezcal ventures.

13 reviews

1.3 of out 5 stars


Spirit_Chaser

Spirit_Chaser

19 reviews
6 months ago

Very watery, and a little sweet. Purely a mixer and prob not even that good of one at that. There are cheaper mixers on the market; a lot of them. Way too expensive for what it is. I see no reason to ever buy this.

Jdawson

Jdawson

1 review
6 months ago

Smells and tastes like used tires. Vulcanized rubber. This was so incredibly disappointing! Love the blanco, resposado, and anejo, but this mezcal needs to be removed from the collection! Just gross! Makes me nauseous. Had to pour out the whole bottle. Ugh.

7 months ago

Coming from the Mezcal capital, Santiago Matatlan, I was expecting so much more. Extremely light and thin, fading out and leaving me wanting something heavier. This brand is not using a traditional process either, no tahona stone milling- which is also disappointing. I would recommend this in a “crowd pleasing” cocktail, if any, where the smokiness can easily be hidden . The price is almost double of what most quality Espadin’s are coming in at.

Dracarys

Dracarys

3 reviews
8 months ago

It is what it is, a beginner Mezcal. Very soft with very little smoke. Having said that, it’s not a bad first step for someone who has never had Mezcal, as long as they don’t care about money AT ALL. This is double the price it should be.

9 months ago

Taste like chemicals and water!!! Love the blanco so purchased this and it’s terrible!!! Dont waste your money!!!

10 months ago

Once upon a time, Cody was sitting at his favorite local watering hole enjoying some delightful libations. As Cody was there earlier than he should be (it’s 8am somewhere,) one of the local slangers of drank came in to pitch this Mezcal to the bar owner. At the time, Cody considered him a friend, so he took a sample at his suggestion…

Backstory, Cody proudly served in the United States Army. One of the “highlights” of every soldier’s military experience in Basic Training is their time in the gas chamber. Participation in said event is intended to teach a young recruit the signs and symptoms of a chemical attack. It wasn’t neat. Back to George’s best…

About 1.32 seconds after putting this concoction in his mouth, Cody had mental flashbacks of his first house fire and subsequent smoke inhalation. Net – to say that this product has the “perfect smokiness” and is “easy to drink” is akin to saying that huffing a car’s tailpipe is the perfect way to inhale fresh air….. Cody is hopeful that Mr. Clooney will go back to the drawing board before releasing this supposedly small batch of tragedy to the masses.

Once upon a time, Cody was sitting at his favorite local watering hole enjoying some delightful libations. As Cody was there earlier than he should be (it’s 8am somewhere,) one of the local slangers of drank came in to pitch this Mezcal to the bar owner. At the time, Cody considered him a friend, so he took a sample at his suggestion…
Backstory, Cody proudly served in the United States Army. One of the “highlights” of every soldier’s military experience in Basic Tra

Read more
El_Cura

El_Cura

23 reviews
1 year ago

Reminds me of Deep Purple…“Smoooooke on the water”… Entry level. Finish bottle first before buying anything else otherwise you’ll be wondering what to do with the rest. Probably good in cocktails if you’re into that sort of thing.

Youviewer

Youviewer

1 review
1 year ago

I admit I am a mezcal novice…only ever have trying my first a few years back for my 45th birthday. I found myself at the local liquor store staring at this pretty bottle…”Casamigos”…learned later on of the George Clooney involvement. …took some weeks after buying the bottle to get around to finally trying it. I think it is “ok”…but not as big of a favorite as I recall my first taste of Sombra. The best I can describe as being an “off” taste with Casamigos is that it has a “plastic band-aid” aroma clinging to the smoke and after taste… I might try using this as a mixer instead of a sipping mezcal…perhaps as a bloody maria cocktail?

I admit I am a mezcal novice…only ever have trying my first a few years back for my 45th birthday. I found myself at the local liquor store staring at this pretty bottle…”Casamigos”…learned later on of the George Clooney involvement. …took some weeks after buying the bottle to get around to finally trying it. I think it is “ok”…but not as big of a favorite as I recall my first taste of Sombra. The best I can describe as being an “of

Read more
Kon-tiki

Kon-tiki

12 reviews
1 year ago

Lot MJ18001. Gluten free! I’ve been looking for gluten free mezcal! Oh wait, isn’t ALL mezcal gluten free?! Yes. It is…. but really glad this brand pointed this out…. Upon opening the bottle, I sniffed the full bottle at its opening…It smelled completely empty…. I closed the cap, shook it up, and smelled again: still smelled empty…This has absolutely no scent at all….None….The palate?…. What palate?…. Each time I taste it, it gets worse….. It tastes like watered-down, sweaty, old gym socks…… The bottle is cool! But the mezcal is garbage and way overpriced…. If I could rate this less than 1 star, I would.

Lot MJ18001. Gluten free! I’ve been looking for gluten free mezcal! Oh wait, isn’t ALL mezcal gluten free?! Yes. It is…. but really glad this brand pointed this out…. Upon opening the bottle, I sniffed the full bottle at its opening…It smelled completely empty…. I closed the cap, shook it up, and smelled again: still smelled empty…This has absolutely no scent at all….None….The palate?…. What palate?…. Each time I taste it, it gets

Read more
1 year ago

Theres a lot of an ethanol like smell on the nose masked by some sugar over agave. There is ALOT of water on the palatte. It tastes like someone asked for a good quality espadin shaken, the guest decided it wasn’t cold enough, so the bartender shook it again. Then the person forgot about the shot and let it sit on the bar top and then they decided to put that in a bottle. There are way better Espadin’s out there under the $60 price point.

razorbackmike

razorbackmike

96 reviews
2 years ago

this isnt bad.there is no harshness.it doent have the depth and complexity of other mezcals in this price range.this brings to mind the term near beer (or near mezcal).the smoke almost seems added.its semi sweet and easy to drink.it drinks like a tequila.if you are a mezcal purist,this is not your mezcal.i think 2 stars is being generous and the price should be around 35.00.it has a pleasant taste but lacks soul.

Jonny

Jonny

351 reviews
2 years ago

Thinking about the storied acting career of George Clooney, I recall many great characters played by him: From Dr Doug Ross in ER, to movies like Out of Sight, Ocean’s Eleven, Oh Brother Where Art Thou, and Michael Clayton. Out of all of these characters, there’s one adjective that I could use to describe Clooney’s characters: smooth. The dude is smooth. He’s the smoothest of the smooth and that might unfortunately be the best way to describe his mezcal. As far as tasting is concerned, smooth is easy to drink and void of any outlandish and/or out-of-place character notes. Like George, Casamigos is smooth. It’s got some faint hints of cucumber and pollen on the palate, but it’s mostly just water and smoke. For those who only drink 40% tequila, perhaps this is a nice place to start in the world of mezcal. It’s easy to gulp and puts up very little fight on the way down. For those who have had and enjoy mezcal, this is an abomination. I’m talking like a 1997 Batman and Robin abomination (starring Arnold Schwarzenegger and of course Clooney as Bruce Wayne). Like Batman pretending to be a regular person (Bruce Wayne), this industrial tequila is pretending to be mezcal. It’s mostly just water and smoke. Not recommended.

Thinking about the storied acting career of George Clooney, I recall many great characters played by him: From Dr Doug Ross in ER, to movies like Out of Sight, Ocean’s Eleven, Oh Brother Where Art Thou, and Michael Clayton. Out of all of these characters, there’s one adjective that I could use to describe Clooney’s characters: smooth. The dude is smooth. He’s the smoothest of the smooth and that might unfortunately be the best way to describe his mezcal. As far as tasting

Read more
Tyler

Tyler

336 reviews
2 years ago

Smells like a white rum on the nose. Aromas of sugar over agave. On the palate, the first thing you notice is water. There is a bit of lemon peel and vanilla. Not awful. Not great. The organic agave notes are faint. Watered down and not unique. Remember, the price is $60 USD for 750 mL.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top