Powered by 100% agave

Casamigos Mezcal Joven

Casamigos Mezcal Joven is the first mezcal release from George Clooney’s infamous Tequila brand. They plan to release more mezcal at a later date.

Rating: (9 reviews)
Brand:Casamigos Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O491X
Agave:Espadin
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Santiago Matatlan
ABV: 40%
Release year: 2018
Website: https://casamigostequila.com
About this mezcal

Casamigos Mezcal Joven is made with agave Espadin in Santiago Matatlán, Oaxaca. According to co-founder Rande Gerber, the “mezcal was brought to [them] by a family that has made it for five generations. It’s extremely smooth, small-batch, with the perfect smokiness and easy to drink.” He later stated, “When we found our mezcal of choice, we worked closely with [the family] to perfect it.” Casamigos Mezcal launched in United States, Australia, the U.K., and Canada on April 1, 2018.

Casamigos Mezcal

Casamigos Mezcal is the new spinoff of Casamigos Tequila. The brand is most noted for its founders, George Clooney, Rande Gerber, and Mike Meldman. In June 2017, Casamigos Tequila was sold for $1 Billion USD ($700 million upfront and $300 million based on future performance) to British beverage giant Diageo. Some of Diageo's other liquor brands include Johnnie Walker, Crown Royal, Smirnoff, Ketel One, Guiness, and Captain Morgan. Though Clooney sold an undisclosed portion of his ownership stake, he remains active in the company's Tequila and Mezcal ventures.

9 reviews

1.3 of out 5 stars


Yolandaltng on Mar 19, 2019

1 review

  • Overall:

Taste like chemicals and water!!! Love the blanco so purchased this and it’s terrible!!! Dont waste your money!!!

cody_norris on Feb 27, 2019

1 review

  • Overall:

Once upon a time, Cody was sitting at his favorite local watering hole enjoying some delightful libations. As Cody was there earlier than he should be (it’s 8am somewhere,) one of the local slangers of drank came in to pitch this Mezcal to the bar owner. At the time, Cody considered him a friend, so he took a sample at his suggestion…

Backstory, Cody proudly served in the United States Army. One of the “highlights” of every soldier’s military experience in Basic Training is their time in the gas chamber. Participation in said event is intended to teach a young recruit the signs and symptoms of a chemical attack. It wasn’t neat. Back to George’s best…

About 1.32 seconds after putting this concoction in his mouth, Cody had mental flashbacks of his first house fire and subsequent smoke inhalation. Net – to say that this product has the “perfect smokiness” and is “easy to drink” is akin to saying that huffing a car’s tailpipe is the perfect way to inhale fresh air….. Cody is hopeful that Mr. Clooney will go back to the drawing board before releasing this supposedly small batch of tragedy to the masses.

Once upon a time, Cody was sitting at his favorite local watering hole enjoying some delightful libations. As Cody was there earlier than he should be (it’s 8am somewhere,) one of the local slangers of drank came in to pitch this Mezcal to the bar owner. At the time, Cody considered him a friend, so he took a sample at his suggestion…
Backstory, Cody proudly served in the United States Army. One of the “highlights” of every soldier’s military experience in Basic Tra

Read more

El_Cura on Oct 29, 2018

9 reviews

  • Overall:

Reminds me of Deep Purple…“Smoooooke on the water”… Entry level. Finish bottle first before buying anything else otherwise you’ll be wondering what to do with the rest. Probably good in cocktails if you’re into that sort of thing.

Youviewer on Sep 5, 2018

1 review

  • Overall:

I admit I am a mezcal novice…only ever have trying my first a few years back for my 45th birthday. I found myself at the local liquor store staring at this pretty bottle…”Casamigos”…learned later on of the George Clooney involvement. …took some weeks after buying the bottle to get around to finally trying it. I think it is “ok”…but not as big of a favorite as I recall my first taste of Sombra. The best I can describe as being an “off” taste with Casamigos is that it has a “plastic band-aid” aroma clinging to the smoke and after taste… I might try using this as a mixer instead of a sipping mezcal…perhaps as a bloody maria cocktail?

I admit I am a mezcal novice…only ever have trying my first a few years back for my 45th birthday. I found myself at the local liquor store staring at this pretty bottle…”Casamigos”…learned later on of the George Clooney involvement. …took some weeks after buying the bottle to get around to finally trying it. I think it is “ok”…but not as big of a favorite as I recall my first taste of Sombra. The best I can describe as being an “of

Read more

Kon-tiki on Aug 29, 2018

11 reviews

  • Overall:

Lot MJ18001. Gluten free! I’ve been looking for gluten free mezcal! Oh wait, isn’t ALL mezcal gluten free?! Yes. It is…. but really glad this brand pointed this out…. Upon opening the bottle, I sniffed the full bottle at its opening…It smelled completely empty…. I closed the cap, shook it up, and smelled again: still smelled empty…This has absolutely no scent at all….None….The palate?…. What palate?…. Each time I taste it, it gets worse….. It tastes like watered-down, sweaty, old gym socks…… The bottle is cool! But the mezcal is garbage and way overpriced…. If I could rate this less than 1 star, I would.

Lot MJ18001. Gluten free! I’ve been looking for gluten free mezcal! Oh wait, isn’t ALL mezcal gluten free?! Yes. It is…. but really glad this brand pointed this out…. Upon opening the bottle, I sniffed the full bottle at its opening…It smelled completely empty…. I closed the cap, shook it up, and smelled again: still smelled empty…This has absolutely no scent at all….None….The palate?…. What palate?…. Each time I taste it, it gets

Read more

victoriaeg369 on Jun 18, 2018

1 review

  • Overall:

Theres a lot of an ethanol like smell on the nose masked by some sugar over agave. There is ALOT of water on the palatte. It tastes like someone asked for a good quality espadin shaken, the guest decided it wasn’t cold enough, so the bartender shook it again. Then the person forgot about the shot and let it sit on the bar top and then they decided to put that in a bottle. There are way better Espadin’s out there under the $60 price point.

razorbackmike on May 7, 2018

92 reviews

  • Overall:

this isnt bad.there is no harshness.it doent have the depth and complexity of other mezcals in this price range.this brings to mind the term near beer (or near mezcal).the smoke almost seems added.its semi sweet and easy to drink.it drinks like a tequila.if you are a mezcal purist,this is not your mezcal.i think 2 stars is being generous and the price should be around 35.00.it has a pleasant taste but lacks soul.

Jonny on Apr 23, 2018

283 reviews

  • Overall:

Thinking about the storied acting career of George Clooney, I recall many great characters played by him: From Dr Doug Ross in ER, to movies like Out of Sight, Ocean’s Eleven, Oh Brother Where Art Thou, and Michael Clayton. Out of all of these characters, there’s one adjective that I could use to describe Clooney’s characters: smooth. The dude is smooth. He’s the smoothest of the smooth and that might unfortunately be the best way to describe his mezcal. As far as tasting is concerned, smooth is easy to drink and void of any outlandish and/or out-of-place character notes. Like George, Casamigos is smooth. It’s got some faint hints of cucumber and pollen on the palate, but it’s mostly just water and smoke. For those who only drink 40% tequila, perhaps this is a nice place to start in the world of mezcal. It’s easy to gulp and puts up very little fight on the way down. For those who have had and enjoy mezcal, this is an abomination. I’m talking like a 1997 Batman and Robin abomination (starring Arnold Schwarzenegger and of course Clooney as Bruce Wayne). Like Batman pretending to be a regular person (Bruce Wayne), this industrial tequila is pretending to be mezcal. It’s mostly just water and smoke. Not recommended.

Thinking about the storied acting career of George Clooney, I recall many great characters played by him: From Dr Doug Ross in ER, to movies like Out of Sight, Ocean’s Eleven, Oh Brother Where Art Thou, and Michael Clayton. Out of all of these characters, there’s one adjective that I could use to describe Clooney’s characters: smooth. The dude is smooth. He’s the smoothest of the smooth and that might unfortunately be the best way to describe his mezcal. As far as tasting

Read more

Tyler on Apr 21, 2018

256 reviews

  • Overall:

Smells like a white rum on the nose. Aromas of sugar over agave. On the palate, the first thing you notice is water. There is a bit of lemon peel and vanilla. Not awful. Not great. The organic agave notes are faint. Watered down and not unique. 2 stars considering all of the above and given the price is $60 USD for 750 mL.

Write a mezcal review

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Follow @mezcalreviews