Powered by 100% agave

Desert Door Original

Desert Door Texas Sotol Original is produced using sotol plants harvested in the Chihuahuan Desert of West Texas. This sotol is herbaceous, creamy, and the vegetal notes reflect it’s desert terroir.

Rating: (16 reviews)
Category:Sotol
Cost:$$
Brand:Desert Door Texas Sotol, Total Wine Spirits Direct
Dasylirion:Texanum
Grind:Shredder
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
Country:United States
ABV: 40%
Release year: 2017
Website: https://www.desertdoor.com, opens in new window

About this sotol

Desert Door Texas Sotol Original is produced using sotol plants harvested in the Chihuahuan Desert of West Texas. Dasylirion Texanum, or green desert spoon, has thinner leaves than Dasylirion Wheeleri. The plants are transported to the Desert Door distillery in Driftwood, Texas and cooked in a large custom steamer (similar to a pressure cooker). Next, the plants are machine-shredded and then fermented in stainless steel tanks for 5 days using an organic, proprietary yeast. The resulting mash is distilled in their custom-build still. The spirit is adjusted to 40% ABV using purified water before being bottled. This sotol is herbaceous, creamy, and the vegetal notes reflect it’s desert terroir.

Desert Door Texas Sotol

Desert Door Texas Sotol was founded by three US military veterans who met at the University of Texas Austin while pursuing MBAs. The idea for the company began in a class called “New Venture Creation”. A few years later Desert Door had produced it’s first batch of unaged sotol in their distillery in Driftwood, Texas using sotol plants harvested in the Chihuahuan Desert of West Texas.

Total Wine Spirits Direct

The US retailer Total Wine & More buys directly from distilleries for inventory at their many stores. These close relationships give them exclusive access to spirits at lower prices.

Learn more about Spirits Direct.

16 reviews

2.66 out of 5

AdrianM

AdrianM

17 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars4 months ago

The bottle tells you more than the juice. Wanted to like it, but fell flat among others. Slight sweetness that fades away quickly, burnt rubber taste, herbaceous, but distant in flavor compared with other sotol brands with similar abv.

Cy Bister

Cy Bister

26 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Very herbaceous, slightly sour, with asphalt. Taste is curiously underwhelming and almost nondescript other than it’s clearly a sotol. Not sure how they accomplished this! Definitely desert tires/tar, grass, with just a hint of sweetness. 80% doesnt cut it, in my opinion, and I’m not sure a higher ABV would improve this too greatly. I certainly wouldnt push a glass away if poured, but I wont be buying this again.

Firesidesipper

Firesidesipper

34 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Like other reviewers I could not resist grabbing a 50 ml bottle off the shelf. This sotol is very vegetal and grassy on the nose and creamy on the palate. At 80 proof it tastes a bit diluted; and lacks the distinctness and punch of south-of-the-border sotols.

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

156 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars6 months ago

It was finally time to knock this one out of my sotol list. It’s OK. Actually it doesn’t take much of the sotols I’ve had (and love). There is a creaminess to the taste, which might be the best thing it has going for it. Signs of ‘burnt rubber’ or uninteresting related notes, which come from the production.
50ml sample was a perfect purchase to try this one…and thus no lote number. I love sotol (this doesn’t taste like one), and as someone pointed out, it almost taste more like an industrial tequila.
Review #138

It was finally time to knock this one out of my sotol list. It’s OK. Actually it doesn’t take much of the sotols I’ve had (and love). There is a creaminess to the taste, which might be the best thing it has going for it. Signs of ‘burnt rubber’ or uninteresting related notes, which come from the production.
50ml sample was a perfect purchase to try this one…and thus no lote number. I love sotol (this doesn’t taste like one), and as someone pointed

Read more
Rated 0.5 out of 5 stars8 months ago

Disgusting.

Fancy lookin’ bottle you got there sir.

Tastes like bad gin.

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

418 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars8 months ago

Nose – Swampy. Raw sour dough – extra sour. Old flower water left in a vase.

Palate – Floral and medicinal sweetness. A minty heat in the finish. Even for 40% this is a tad weak/watery tasting although it has some viscosity to it. I’m usually not into sotol but this is better than others at the price point. 2.75 stars but I’ll bump it up. This was a 50mL bottle sample, no batch info.

meserole

meserole

72 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars12 months ago

I’m mildly interested in the politics of an American “sotol”, but don’t have any particular opinion on the issue. I was able to stop by the distillery after an Austin visit recently to taste a flight of their sotols, where the server proudly explained how the spirit was 6 times distilled (?!)… and, as expected, the result is a smooth and rather flavorless, tequila-adjacent beverage with a touch of honeyed sweetness.

It was ironic to me that the other offerings in the flight — and oak-aged sotol and a strawberry-basil infusion — were both more flavorful and interesting, because it seems they had the impulse to add back flavor that had been distilled out of existence in the original. Anyway, my cocktails were very tasty, and I’d be willing to give this place another shot in a few years — I’m sure they’re experimenting quickly with their production.

I’m mildly interested in the politics of an American “sotol”, but don’t have any particular opinion on the issue. I was able to stop by the distillery after an Austin visit recently to taste a flight of their sotols, where the server proudly explained how the spirit was 6 times distilled (?!)… and, as expected, the result is a smooth and rather flavorless, tequila-adjacent beverage with a touch of honeyed sweetness.
It was ironic to me that the other offerings in

Read more
brian.minnesota

brian.minnesota

2 reviews
Rated 0.5 out of 5 stars12 months ago

I’ve been curious about this American agave product for a little while now. I saw a tiny 50 ml bottle and bought it. Today my girlfriend and I tried a sip of this (among 4 other expressions new to us). This was undrinkable. The nose was sour, almost with a rotting scent to it. We both took a sip at the same time and (without discussion) we simultaneously stood up to spit it out in the sink. I won’t be sipping this, I won’t offer it to friends, I wouldn’t put it in a cocktail, I wouldn’t recommend you have anything to do with this.

I’ve been curious about this American agave product for a little while now. I saw a tiny 50 ml bottle and bought it. Today my girlfriend and I tried a sip of this (among 4 other expressions new to us). This was undrinkable. The nose was sour, almost with a rotting scent to it. We both took a sip at the same time and (without discussion) we simultaneously stood up to spit it out in the sink. I won’t be sipping this, I won’t offer it to friends, I wouldn’t put it in a cockt

Read more
JoplinHam

JoplinHam

1 review
Rated 5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Really approachable spirit if you are looking for something in the tequila, sotol, or mezcal category. Incredibly smooth, definitely earthy, but also pretty refreshing with citrus and minty notes. As a tequila drinker, I was recommended this as something different and it was almost a gateway to a more elevated category in full. Just so many layers to the flavor profile but really smooth. I drink it straight nowadays but like to use it as a replacement for tequila in my palomas.

TzotollineRaramuri

TzotollineRaramuri

75 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

?- Clear.
?- prickling and warming impact; aromas of raw under ripe pineapple, mandarin, caraway, aloe vera, menthol, hay, lemongrass, eucalyptus, terracotta, clay and ash.
Adequate & complex production, average length and ordinary character.
?-coting, warming and astringent effect; smooth sufficiently generous alcohol; medium body.
Primarily sweet/sour/bitter taste, buttery smoothness.
Flavors of tamarind, terracotta, clay, cooked aloe, roasted artichoke, orange zest, smoked almonds, black pepper.
Concentrated flavor intensity, complex, harmonious balance.
Pleasant very long finish.
Very good overall impression.

Learn more about organoleptic evaluation at the International Wine & Spirits Guild’s seminar in Fine Spirits,
or more on Agave Spirits certifications through the Agave Spirits Institute.

?- Clear.
?- prickling and warming impact; aromas of raw under ripe pineapple, mandarin, caraway, aloe vera, menthol, hay, lemongrass, eucalyptus, terracotta, clay and ash.
Adequate & complex production, average length and ordinary character.
?-coting, warming and astringent effect; smooth sufficiently generous alcohol; medium body.
Primarily sweet/sour/bitter taste, buttery smoothness.
Flavors of tamarind, terracotta, clay, cooked aloe, roasted artichoke, orange zest, smoked almonds, black

Read more
spasta

spasta

22 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Very mediocre but I would drink this over many tequilas.

WestTexasCowboy

WestTexasCowboy

1 review
Rated 2 out of 5 stars2 years ago

At an event March7th at the distillery, now my palate from growing up in West Texas and living on the Border(Laredo) for 5+ years and drinking my way from Brownsville/Matamoras to Eagle Pass/Piedras Negras. (Herradura Tequila, Mescal from the Mexican Moonshiners and more recently Hacienda de Chihuahua Sotol) with a Large fatty Liver to attest to the years of continual consumption.
I was way underwhelmed by the Desert Sotol spirit. Too close in taste to Tequila with a petroleum aftertaste. Has a ways to go in refinement. Sotol should not taste like mediocre Tequila.

At an event March7th at the distillery, now my palate from growing up in West Texas and living on the Border(Laredo) for 5+ years and drinking my way from Brownsville/Matamoras to Eagle Pass/Piedras Negras. (Herradura Tequila, Mescal from the Mexican Moonshiners and more recently Hacienda de Chihuahua Sotol) with a Large fatty Liver to attest to the years of continual consumption.
I was way underwhelmed by the Desert Sotol spirit. Too close in taste to Tequila with a petroleum aftertaste. Has

Read more
Rorschach

Rorschach

40 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Bought a bottle directly from the distillery in April 2019.
Grassy and a little thin, like maybe a low fat tepextate mezcal. To me this is a Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc if compared to wine. There is plenty of mezcal/sotol from Mexico for less money I’d buy every time before this.

Tyler

Tyler

574 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Tried a few different batches and they’ve all been a bit different. Enjoyed it most the first time when I toured the distillery right after they opened; it was really herbal, grassy, and soft. A later batch tasted like burnt tires. The one I’m tasting now (no batch number) is very mediocre – it is watery with some soft wood, sour white grapes, and vanilla custard. It’s about $50-$60 for a bottle which is a bit expensive for an “industrial” sotol. I’m looking forward to trying the aged version because it’s 50% ABV.

Tried a few different batches and they’ve all been a bit different. Enjoyed it most the first time when I toured the distillery right after they opened; it was really herbal, grassy, and soft. A later batch tasted like burnt tires. The one I’m tasting now (no batch number) is very mediocre – it is watery with some soft wood, sour white grapes, and vanilla custard. It’s about $50-$60 for a bottle which is a bit expensive for an “industrial” sotol. I’m looking forward to trying t

Read more
GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

358 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Excellent sotol, especially considering it’s the first commercially produced American Sotol. May be a little overly herbal, but other than that, no complaints.

TheAgaveFairy

TheAgaveFairy

167 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Unsure lot numbers, tried three batches.

Sweetish from afar, and more sour as the nose goes in. Quite sour, with peppermint and spearmints, mild pork, decently aromatic. Seems bigger so far than 40% would suggest. Sour limes, pink peppercorns, sage, hint of thyme, hyssop, toffee, tiny touch of minerality/ozone. More sour than I’d like on the midpallete, with a musty finish. Good toffee sweetness on the entry.

EDIT: Will update soon. Things have gotten better.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top