Powered by 100% agave

Gracias a Dios Espadin

Gracias a Dios Espadin has a slight smokiness and spiced from the beginning, followed by a fruity flavor and a mild astringency with a dry and spiced finish.

Rating: (6 reviews)
Brand:Gracias a Dios Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O223X
Mezcalero:Oscar Hernandez
Maguey:Espadin
Agave:Angustifolia
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Santiago Matatlan
ABV: 45%
Age of plant: 8 years
Website: https://www.thankgad.com/, opens in new window
About this mezcal

The Gracias a Dios Espadin uses 8-year old cultivated agave Espadín, and two times distilled in copper. It has a slight smokiness and spiced from the beginning, followed by a fruity flavor and a mild astringency. Dry and spiced finish.

Gracias a Dios Mezcal

The team behind Gracias a Dios Mezcal opened a mezcalería in Querétaro, México in 2010. After two years of touring around Mexico in search of mezcal, they met mezcalero Oscar Hernández and were impressed by his mezcal. They decided to create a brand with Oscar and make him an equal partner. Oscar learned how to distill from his mother whose nickname is "La Jefa".

Aside from a few special releases, Gracias a Dios is made in Santiago Matatlan, Oaxaca. It is 100% artisanal, handmade with piñas from Espadín agave and other varieties, ground and fermented in their own palenque in Santiago Matatlán, and distilled in copper by maestro mezcalero Oscar Hernández Santiago. Their Karwinskii agaves are shredded mechanically, due to the toughness of their fibers, and then tahona-crushed afterwards. All other agave used at this palenque are crushed by horse-drawn tahona only.

6 reviews

3.25 out of 5


JorgeChavana

JorgeChavana

1 review
Rated 2 out of 5 stars1 month ago

I think I need to learn a little more about how to describe the types of Mexcals and taste but this one was shown to me as one of the best but I disagree with their opinion.

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

249 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars10 months ago

Fine. Great for mixing. Not sure on it being a sipper.

t8ke

t8ke

135 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars12 months ago

Lot 02E-19-2277

Medium mouth feel, lightly acidic, ethanol very much in check. Creamy sweetness, honey, pepper. Almost a dash of papaya in the fruit aisle. Ashy, earthy minerality creeps in with some woody smoke on the back palate.

This expression is a total rock star, especially when you consider where it can be found on the shelf. Price doesnt factor into ranking here, but this is a top espadin for me, and one I’ll happily ensure is always on my bar.

Rorschach

Rorschach

31 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

For the value, 5 stars. The flavor is toned down, but kept in balance. The deciding factor on buying the bottle was the picture of the Mezcalero on the bottle and the ubiquitous Mexican saying as the brand name.
Lot 04E 18 – 987
Lot 01E 18 – 2681 is a much better lot because its smooth, good mouthfeel, balanced with more agave notes.
Lot 07E 18-1230 is very similar to 01E 18 with more smoke.
Lot 03E 19-2768 has a more watery/thinner, alcoholic bite flavor.
Lot 01E 18 – 2824 Today 01/18/2020, just opened and still my favorite best value. After opening the first 01E, I went back and bought the rest of them a while back. It has a balance I really like.
Lot 06E 19, bottle 1480 Opened 2/1/2020. Steely and good depth/complexity. Blind tasting against my last 🙁 bottle of 01E is easy.

For the value, 5 stars. The flavor is toned down, but kept in balance. The deciding factor on buying the bottle was the picture of the Mezcalero on the bottle and the ubiquitous Mexican saying as the brand name.
Lot 04E 18 – 987
Lot 01E 18 – 2681 is a much better lot because its smooth, good mouthfeel, balanced with more agave notes.
Lot 07E 18-1230 is very similar to 01E 18 with more smoke.
Lot 03E 19-2768 has a more watery/thinner, alcoholic bite flavor.
Lot 01E 18 – 28

Read more
Rakhal

Rakhal

290 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lot 06E. First tried this Mezcal at Las Almas Rotas Mezcaleria in Dallas Texas, it’s their house Mezcal. To me it tastes like an apple toddy with flavors of rich nonalcoholic apple cider, clove, allspice, and cinnamon. It’s quite smoky. Probably a good cocktail Mezcal. For the price point it’s quite good.

Tyler

Tyler

465 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Decent espadin considering the low price. It has upfront smoke with a bit of sour apple. With one of my bottles I can’t help but notice a metallic and burnt rubber aftertaste here. Don’t go out of your way to get it for sipping; that said I have another bottle that is very tasty (it has the updated label artwork). Maybe their batches are inconsistent? Hopefully they are just making better mezcal every year and the older bottle I have is a one-off dud.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top