Powered by 100% agave

La Luna Cupreata

La Luna Mezcal is made with agave Cupreata in the state of Michoacan, which is known for its rich agriculture and plant life.

Rating: (19 reviews)
Brand:La Luna Mezcal
NOM:NOM-M269C
Mezcalero:Isidro Perez Escot
Agave:Cupreata
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Michoacán
Town:Etucuaro
ABV: 49%
Age of plant: 8-10 years
Website: https://www.lalunamezcal.com/, opens in new window
About this mezcal

La Luna Mezcal is made with agave Cupreata in Etucuaro, Michoacan which is home to other Michoacan mezcal producers as well. At an elevation of 1,790 meters, the Cupreata Agave are harvested after eight to ten years of growth. The agave piñas are fire roasted in a stone-lined horno using estate sourced white oak. The cooked agave is milled by hand and naturally fermented in open-air  wooden vats before being double distilled in a copper and pinewood Tarascan still. Due to the artisinal nature of this mezcal, the ABV will vary by batch.

La Luna Mezcal

La Luna Mezcal is made in Etucuaro, Michoacan. Tucked away in this mountainous region is the municipality of Villa Madero, which is the home to the Perez Escot family and Destiladora Las Azucenas.  The family has been traditionally crafting mezcal on the same property since 1910 and is currently on their 4th generation of mezcaleros with Isidro Perez Escot training his son Amador at the moment.

Learn more about La Luna Mezcal:

19 reviews

4.03 out of 5


Joseph

Joseph

26 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars4 days ago

Lote P1-05:
Absolutely the best deliciousness to price ratio I’ve ever experienced in a mezcal available for purchase in the US. Bursting with tropical fruity, funky and slightly cheesy flavors. Assuming that batches stay in a similar league as this, I’ll always have a bottle on my shelf.

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

115 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 months ago

Lote 22 (50ml sample)
Great smell – sweet and juicy candy. Taste of cantaloupe, dustiness, and some earth. Slightly abrasive, but the sweet/tangy flavors make up for it. More of a 3.75, which seems like a great value!
Review #105

GeorgePBurdell

GeorgePBurdell

37 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Lot 24

Wrapped tight with minerals, cantaloupe, and juicy fruit gum up front. White pepper comes in late before a finish that goes a bit ashy. A lot going on for a bottle at this price. An extra half star for value

spasta

spasta

22 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars7 months ago

Sweet cantaloupe. One of the best or the best $40 mezcal you can buy in the USA. Highly recommended for newcomers.

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

218 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars8 months ago

Lote: 24, APV: 45.55%

Nose: Peppermint, fruity, light smoke, tad bit funky.

Palate: Peppermint candy, dried pineapple, white pepper with subtle smoke. Slight funk to it. Mineral finish. Great value mezcal!

SoloAgave

SoloAgave

72 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars10 months ago

For the money (generally around $40) this mezcal is one of my favorites. Tropical flavors, cantaloupe, and light smoke (which is good for mezcal haters). Not ideal for Cupreata purists as this is a little light and doesn’t carry the funk that some look for but nonetheless a pleasant bottle to sip on as it lingers in your mouth and doesn’t come across diluted.

jtgomez

jtgomez

1 review
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars10 months ago

Lot 19. 45.16% ABV. One of those mezcales that sticks with you and hangs onto your palate. Total cupreata explosion with fruit candy and sweet/sour agave juice on the aroma and followed up on the sip. Almost legendary.

t8ke

t8ke

144 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Medium mouth feel. Clean and crisp. Ashy smoke, lemon custard, grapefruit starburst candies. Pepper, sweet chemical notes and minerality.

Super unique, lots of complexity and availability to match. I’m a fan.

Cy Bister

Cy Bister

17 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Lovely. Jack-fruit and overripe cantaloupe on the nose. Very sweet taste, the jack-fruit/juicyfruit gum is far more pleasant than it sounds and essentially dominates. There are some very faint peppery/spicy notes that manifest in the back of the mouth/throat and while I would say there’s no real smokey taste , after several sips there is a distinctly ashy aftertaste that begins to accumulate. I like this a lot.

Gregg T&T

Gregg T&T

100 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Nose is full of pine forest, tropical fruit and fresh cut flowers. Palate has medium roast, a bit sweet and tangy with notes of pepper and tobacco. Really enjoyable and accessible Cupreata.

Rakhal

Rakhal

317 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Lot: 14. I love Cupreata Mezcals. This one, although not my favorite, is still quite good. Band-Aid smell but tropical fruit flavors. Juicy Fruit gum, strawberry soda, banana ice cream, pineapple, white pepper, and frangipani flower. Yum.

Van G

Van G

5 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lot 17

Big fruity and floral nose, getting red grape specifically, fantastic. To echo another, definitely give this an open-mouth or copita.

Once sipped, it shifts to tobacco and general caramel/sweetness with the fruit returning for a medium, enjoyable finish.

Haven’t had many Cupreatas or Michoacan-origin mezcales to compare to, but this punches well above its price point in terms of depth and uniqueness. Still, wouldn’t hesitate to use in a Paloma or fruity cocktail.

Lot 17
Big fruity and floral nose, getting red grape specifically, fantastic. To echo another, definitely give this an open-mouth or copita.
Once sipped, it shifts to tobacco and general caramel/sweetness with the fruit returning for a medium, enjoyable finish.
Haven’t had many Cupreatas or Michoacan-origin mezcales to compare to, but this punches well above its price point in terms of depth and uniqueness. Still, wouldn’t hesitate to use in a Paloma or fruity cocktail.

Read more
justsomedude

justsomedude

17 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Showcases agave flavor but lacks complexity. Bright Agave and alcohol on the nose. Agave on the palate with some cucumber and lemon rind. Sweetness doesn’t come til the finish, but finish is strong on alcohol and some agave remains. A tinge of sulfate like bologna lingers throughout. Good for the price. 75/100

Nic Hnastchenko

Nic Hnastchenko

108 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lot 8. Had this bottle a while. Bubblegum, mint, cantaloupe. Very solid for the price.

Patrick

Patrick

39 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Bottle : 1679
Lot : 10
ABV : 49.61
Nose : Strawberries dominate with notes of cherries. Grappa quality.
Taste : Some heat with a numbing effect but no burn. Very different from Oaxacan mezcals. Very fruity.
Finish : soft and fleeting.
Comments : must drink this out of a mezcal copita to open it up. Glencairin glass does not give it justice…

fcrivera22

fcrivera22

1 review
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

A rare cupreata from Michoacán that’s amazingly smooth and flavorful. Exactly what mezcal should be. Remember your geography: Michoacán is a state boarding the state of Jalisco where tequila is made. The crop makes the product and the cupreata agave from Michoacán are unlike anything in the world. This mezcal exemplifies what makes mezcal from Michoacán great. Five stars

Tyler

Tyler

481 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

A lovely agave cupreata mezcal from a really interesting new brand. At 49.5% there is a nice warmth here but zero bite. There are some notes of raisin, dark cherries, shortbread, and a touch of anise. There are some great mezcals coming out of Michoacan and this is one of them! Lot 7.

Hörky Båmf

Hörky Båmf

20 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Lot 6, Bottle 17, 45.22 % ABV. First Michoacan and first Cupreata for me. Nose is apple cider vinegar, apricots, a whiff of strawberry, and rubbing alcohol. Tasting, I get apricots again, a hint of pastis, tropical fruit flavored hard candies, and some sort of fruit/plastic that I can’t find a word for, sharp but not unpleasant. I don’t pick up any smoke. Lingering finish with a sweetness that reminds me of caramelized onions. Weird. I like it. Will definitely seek out more examples of Cupreata for comparison.

Lot 6, Bottle 17, 45.22 % ABV. First Michoacan and first Cupreata for me. Nose is apple cider vinegar, apricots, a whiff of strawberry, and rubbing alcohol. Tasting, I get apricots again, a hint of pastis, tropical fruit flavored hard candies, and some sort of fruit/plastic that I can’t find a word for, sharp but not unpleasant. I don’t pick up any smoke. Lingering finish with a sweetness that reminds me of caramelized onions. Weird. I like it. Will definitely seek out more examples of Cupr

Read more
Jonny

Jonny

523 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Lot 7. ABV of 49.56%. Bottle 591. This mezcal is no slouch. Semi-floral nose with additional aromas of pumpkin spice, apple pie, and cinnamon. It tastes similar to a cross between baked apples and ripe watermelon. Short finish, but I really enjoyed this mezcal. There’s not much mezcal from Michoacan available outside of Mexico and this one is a very good experience.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top