Powered by 100% agave

La Luna Cupreata

La Luna Mezcal is made with agave Cupreata in the state of Michoacan, which is known for its rich agriculture and plant life.

Rating: (12 reviews)
Brand:La Luna Mezcal
NOM:NOM-M269C
Mezcalero:Isidro Perez Escot
Agave / Maguey:Cupreata
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Michoacán
Town:Etucuaro
ABV:49%
Age of plant:8-10 years
Website:https://www.lalunamezcal.com/
About this mezcal

La Luna Mezcal is made with agave Cupreata in Etucuaro, Michoacan which is home to other Michoacan mezcal producers as well. At an elevation of 1,790 meters, the Cupreata Agave are harvested after eight to ten years of growth. The agave piñas are fire roasted in a stone-lined horno using estate sourced white oak. The cooked agave is milled by hand and naturally fermented in open-air  wooden vats before being double distilled in a copper and pinewood Tarascan still. Due to the artisinal nature of this mezcal, the ABV will vary by batch.

La Luna Mezcal

La Luna Mezcal is made in Etucuaro, Michoacan. Tucked away in this mountainous region is the municipality of Villa Madero, which is the home to the Perez Escot family and Destiladora Las Azucenas.  The family has been traditionally crafting mezcal on the same property since 1910 and is currently on their 4th generation of mezcaleros with Isidro Perez Escot training his son Amador at the moment.

Learn more about La Luna Mezcal:

12 reviews

3.88 out of 5


t8ke

t8ke

88 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 months ago

Medium mouth feel. Clean and crisp. Ashy smoke, lemon custard, grapefruit starburst candies. Pepper, sweet chemical notes and minerality.

Super unique, lots of complexity and availability to match. I’m a fan.

Cy Bister

Cy Bister

12 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Lovely. Jack-fruit and overripe cantaloupe on the nose. Very sweet taste, the jack-fruit/juicyfruit gum is far more pleasant than it sounds and essentially dominates. There are some very faint peppery/spicy notes that manifest in the back of the mouth/throat and while I would say there’s no real smokey taste , after several sips there is a distinctly ashy aftertaste that begins to accumulate. I like this a lot.

Gregg T&T

Gregg T&T

40 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Nose is full of pine forest, tropical fruit and fresh cut flowers. Palate has medium roast, a bit sweet and tangy with notes of pepper and tobacco. Really enjoyable and accessible Cupreata.

Rakhal

Rakhal

161 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars6 months ago

Lot: 14. I love Cupreata Mezcals. This one, although not my favorite, is still quite good. Band-Aid smell but tropical fruit flavors. Juicy Fruit gum, strawberry soda, banana ice cream, pineapple, white pepper, and frangipani flower. Yum.

Van G

Van G

5 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars8 months ago

Lot 17

Big fruity and floral nose, getting red grape specifically, fantastic. To echo another, definitely give this an open-mouth or copita.

Once sipped, it shifts to tobacco and general caramel/sweetness with the fruit returning for a medium, enjoyable finish.

Haven’t had many Cupreatas or Michoacan-origin mezcales to compare to, but this punches well above its price point in terms of depth and uniqueness. Still, wouldn’t hesitate to use in a Paloma or fruity cocktail.

Lot 17
Big fruity and floral nose, getting red grape specifically, fantastic. To echo another, definitely give this an open-mouth or copita.
Once sipped, it shifts to tobacco and general caramel/sweetness with the fruit returning for a medium, enjoyable finish.
Haven’t had many Cupreatas or Michoacan-origin mezcales to compare to, but this punches well above its price point in terms of depth and uniqueness. Still, wouldn’t hesitate to use in a Paloma or fruity cocktail.

Read more
justsomedude

justsomedude

17 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Showcases agave flavor but lacks complexity. Bright Agave and alcohol on the nose. Agave on the palate with some cucumber and lemon rind. Sweetness doesn’t come til the finish, but finish is strong on alcohol and some agave remains. A tinge of sulfate like bologna lingers throughout. Good for the price. 75/100

Nic Hnastchenko

Nic Hnastchenko

102 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Lot 8. Had this bottle a while. Bubblegum, mint, cantaloupe. Very solid for the price.

Patrick

Patrick

30 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Bottle : 1679
Lot : 10
ABV : 49.61
Nose : Strawberries dominate with notes of cherries. Grappa quality.
Taste : Some heat with a numbing effect but no burn. Very different from Oaxacan mezcals. Very fruity.
Finish : soft and fleeting.
Comments : must drink this out of a mezcal copita to open it up. Glencairin glass does not give it justice…

fcrivera22

fcrivera22

1 review
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

A rare cupreata from Michoacán that’s amazingly smooth and flavorful. Exactly what mezcal should be. Remember your geography: Michoacán is a state boarding the state of Jalisco where tequila is made. The crop makes the product and the cupreata agave from Michoacán are unlike anything in the world. This mezcal exemplifies what makes mezcal from Michoacán great. Five stars

Tyler

Tyler

389 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

A lovely agave cupreata mezcal from a really interesting new brand. At 49.5% there is a nice warmth here but zero bite. There are some notes of raisin, dark cherries, shortbread, and a touch of anise. There are some great mezcals coming out of Michoacan and this is one of them! Lot 7.

Hörky Båmf

Hörky Båmf

18 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lot 6, Bottle 17, 45.22 % ABV. First Michoacan and first Cupreata for me. Nose is apple cider vinegar, apricots, a whiff of strawberry, and rubbing alcohol. Tasting, I get apricots again, a hint of pastis, tropical fruit flavored hard candies, and some sort of fruit/plastic that I can’t find a word for, sharp but not unpleasant. I don’t pick up any smoke. Lingering finish with a sweetness that reminds me of caramelized onions. Weird. I like it. Will definitely seek out more examples of Cupreata for comparison.

Lot 6, Bottle 17, 45.22 % ABV. First Michoacan and first Cupreata for me. Nose is apple cider vinegar, apricots, a whiff of strawberry, and rubbing alcohol. Tasting, I get apricots again, a hint of pastis, tropical fruit flavored hard candies, and some sort of fruit/plastic that I can’t find a word for, sharp but not unpleasant. I don’t pick up any smoke. Lingering finish with a sweetness that reminds me of caramelized onions. Weird. I like it. Will definitely seek out more examples of Cupr

Read more
Jonny

Jonny

416 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lot 7. ABV of 49.56%. Bottle 591. This mezcal is no slouch. Semi-floral nose with additional aromas of pumpkin spice, apple pie, and cinnamon. It tastes similar to a cross between baked apples and ripe watermelon. Short finish, but I really enjoyed this mezcal. There’s not much mezcal from Michoacan available outside of Mexico and this one is a very good experience.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top