Powered by 100% agave

Lalocura San Martinero

Lalocura San Martinero is made in Santa Catarina Minas, which is home to some of the most talented clay-pot distillers in all of Mexico.

About this mezcal

Lalocura San Martinero is made with a Karwinskii agave that is locally referred to as San Martinero. The agave is a larger, thicker sub-species of Karwinskii that can also be called Barril in other communities. A similar Karwinskii is also called Sanmartin in Ejutla, which is not terribly far from Santa Catarina Minas, where Lalocura is made. Maestro mezcalero Eduardo Angeles cooks his agave with Encino wood. He mashes the cooked agave by hand with wooden mallets, ferments the agave in open-air cypress vats for twelve days, and double distills this mezcal in small clay pots.

Lalocura Mezcal

Before starting Lalocura in 2014, Eduardo "Lalo" Ángeles spent years working as the fourth generation master mezcalero of his family’s brand Real Minero, where he combined a lifetime of working under his father, the late, great Don Lorenzo with a collegiate degree in agricultural engineering. Many Real Minero bottles from several years ago actually have Eduardo listed alongside his father as the master distiller. Lalocura's clay pot distilled mezcals have built a steady cult following over the last few years. People from around the world show up at the palenque in Santa Catarina Minas each day hoping to spend time listening to Lalo tell stories while they taste the 20+ expressions he has resting in glass at any given time. If you like clay pot distilled mezcal and you like Real Minero, it's highly recommended that you find some Lalocura.

Read about our visit to Lalocura in the blog post A Tour with Oaxacking: Mezcal Lalocura

18 reviews

4.64 out of 5

PedroDLHR

PedroDLHR

9 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 weeks ago

I got to try this mezcal on Saturday, and it was a big surprise. I immediately captured the chocolate, berry, and other fruity aromas. There are some rear clay notes. It has very complex layers of flavors which are present from start to the very end. It was really good experience.

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

369 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Nose – Chocolate cake batter. Olive oil. Blooming lavender.

Palate – A 5 star restaurant chocolate mousse whipped with clay. This stuff is so good that I had to pause, waiting for my eyes to roll back, take in a bit of air and prolong every precious millisecond.

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

134 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 months ago

2017 Distillation, 47.1% ABV
Clay, strawberry fruit rollup smell. Tase is delicate & not overpowering. Lots of fruit, clay is balanced & smooth & tangy. 4.25
Review #117

TheAgaveFairy

TheAgaveFairy

164 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Nose: Baked sweet breads with nuts in it – nearly banana bread. Mixed berries, yeast, some gentle yogurt / sour cream. Parfait! More ashy grassy starchy karwinskii character now. Keeps evolving. Toasted peppercorns, cinnamon, walnuts.

Palate: Dark, earthy, menacing clay karwinskii with leather and tobacco on top of the baked starches and nuts and maybe hint of banana bread. Parfait appears closer to the finish before it fades furthest on vanilla, white chocolate, banana leaf, ash.

Thoughts: Much more dark than the other two, more classic. I wanna try this next to the Vago Barril en Barro! Just a touch peppery and ashy.

Nose: Baked sweet breads with nuts in it – nearly banana bread. Mixed berries, yeast, some gentle yogurt / sour cream. Parfait! More ashy grassy starchy karwinskii character now. Keeps evolving. Toasted peppercorns, cinnamon, walnuts.
Palate: Dark, earthy, menacing clay karwinskii with leather and tobacco on top of the baked starches and nuts and maybe hint of banana bread. Parfait appears closer to the finish before it fades furthest on vanilla, white chocolate, banana leaf, ash.
Thoughts: Mu

Read more
aarild

aarild

71 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars6 months ago

No batch unfortunately.
Smells of slate and wet, fresh wood, faint aroma of dried flowers — something between lavender and chamomile. Mineral on the palate at first, leather and nutty. At first you think it is something barrel aged but it quickly changes to sweet French praline, lemon succade, fading with leather and something you have never had on your tongue before, only smelled in an old antiquity store. Otherworldly

meserole

meserole

71 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars9 months ago

Very salty, and I admit being influenced by other reviewers but I do have to co-sign the soy sauce comparison. There is a borderline seafood brine to this, but it’s so incredibly smooth and unique it’s hard to believe this is a 48% abv spirit.

Perhaps not my “desert island” companion, but I can’t help but commend a singular bottle that would stand out in a tasting among dozens.

Purchased a bottle from the palenque, distilled December 2020, no lot number.

Very salty, and I admit being influenced by other reviewers but I do have to co-sign the soy sauce comparison. There is a borderline seafood brine to this, but it’s so incredibly smooth and unique it’s hard to believe this is a 48% abv spirit.
Perhaps not my “desert island” companion, but I can’t help but commend a singular bottle that would stand out in a tasting among dozens.
Purchased a bottle from the palenque, distilled December 2020, no lot number.

Read more
Juriy

Juriy

23 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

This one is definitely more on a mineral side, immediately salty. Not oily, not sweet, not bitter, tastes almost like… Worcestershire sauce? 🙂 Agree with others on having those soy sauce notes. Good pairing for the oysters?

Might be my least favorite Lalocura.

Meady

Meady

53 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Complex. Magical. Faultless.

Brahh

Brahh

11 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

One of my favorites of lalocura

kozinnski

kozinnski

14 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Creamy, berries, mint, nuts, forest floor, graphite, eucalyptus. Deeply complex, just incredible.

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

323 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Yeah, i dunno if I really get the love for this one. Not what i was hoping initially…. muddled flavors and an alcohol burn that is unpleasant. Need to revisit before I write anymore. The flavors/smell are great, but cant give this five stars. 4.25/5

Soxfan

Soxfan

17 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

It has now been well over a year since one of my trusted spirits merchants urged me to try Lalocura’s offerings. After overcoming my resistance to their aggressive pricing, there has been no turning back. Without exception, these mezcals are extraordinary. That said, choosing my favorite was easy. This San Martinero is truly amazing, from nose to finish. Rich, complex, and deeply satisfying. I actually purchased a second bottle, with no reservations about the expenditure. Magic in a bottle and definitely splurge-worthy. 2017 distillation. 47.1% ABV. Bottle 20/1536.

It has now been well over a year since one of my trusted spirits merchants urged me to try Lalocura’s offerings. After overcoming my resistance to their aggressive pricing, there has been no turning back. Without exception, these mezcals are extraordinary. That said, choosing my favorite was easy. This San Martinero is truly amazing, from nose to finish. Rich, complex, and deeply satisfying. I actually purchased a second bottle, with no reservations about the expenditure. Magic in a bottle

Read more
Rakhal

Rakhal

317 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Lot 13. Wow! Creamy and delicious!! Like stepping into a cool adobe house in the desert. Very earthy with notes of marzipan and ginger. I can’t wait to try all of these!

Tyler

Tyler

528 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Whoa! Lots of clay and soy sauce on the initial taste. Somewhat viscous. Sugar syrup and blueberries. Green beans and eucalyptus. Delicious.

Jonny

Jonny

537 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

The nose is full of peanut oil, cashews, and lavender. The palate is full roots, and wet leaves, and wet wood. This has big wet, dark flavors, like old logs that have been laying in the woods for years. It’s like a wet fall day. Amazing!

razorbackmike

razorbackmike

127 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

BEAUTIFUL!this is the first of this brand i have tried.very expensive but i found out where my money went on the first sip.outstanding and it seems that a strong berry flavor is a common thread with this line after i read the reviews.it is soft-candy with strawberry and blueberry notes.no harshness.full flavor from start to finish and the taste lingers for a moment.it doesnt have the earth tones that are the usual for a karwinski.no smoke that i could detect.very fruity with some clay.this was also my first sanmartin.a true treat !

BEAUTIFUL!this is the first of this brand i have tried.very expensive but i found out where my money went on the first sip.outstanding and it seems that a strong berry flavor is a common thread with this line after i read the reviews.it is soft-candy with strawberry and blueberry notes.no harshness.full flavor from start to finish and the taste lingers for a moment.it doesnt have the earth tones that are the usual for a karwinski.no smoke that i could detect.very fruity with some clay.this was a

Read more
thamthong

thamthong

47 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

2017, 47.1% abv. first barril. gorgeous and full. the aromas are that of a shaded river bank, vegetal sweetness, big high tone fruits. vivid karwinskii deliciousness. faint clay on the finish. priced a bit aggressively but this is damn fine mezcal. 4.5 stars.

Squashplayer

Squashplayer

34 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Wow! This is nice! Sweet and minty but not overstated. Lots of tropical fruit flavors that are hard for me to individually characterize. Faint clay notes in the background. So smooth and it goes down almost too easy. Be on the lookout for this new release in the US.
Production 2017. ABV:47.1

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top