Powered by 100% agave

Lalocura Tobasiche

Lalocura Tobasiche is made by maestro mezcalero Eduardo “Lalo” Angeles, who produces some of the most well-renowned mezcal in all of Oaxaca.

Rating: (28 reviews)
Brand:Agave Mixtape, Lalocura Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O602X
Mezcalero:Eduardo "Lalo" Angeles
Maguey:Tobaziche
Agave:Karwinskii
Distillation:Clay Pot
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Santa Catarina Minas
ABV: 49%
Age of plant: 15-18 years
Website: https://www.mezcallalocura.com/, opens in new window

About this mezcal

Lalocura Tobasiche is made with the tall and slender maguey Tobasiche (Agave karwinskii), also called Largo in the same region. Lalo cooks the agave in an underground pit oven with Encino wood, mashes the cooked agave by hand with wooden mallets, ferments the agave in cypress tubs in the open air for nine days, and double distills this mezcal in small clay pots.

The Agave Mixtape vol. 6 release was labeled as Tobasiche de Monte. The Maguey Tobasiche plants used in that batch grew wild in the hills above Lalo’s town of Santa Catarina Minas. It was distilled in January 2019, during the driest time of the year when the plants’ sugars are most concentrated. It is slightly sweeter and carries less of the bitter aftertaste that can be found in other releases of this type.

Agave Mixtape

Agave Mixtape brings the best agave spirits together in one place – your place. Agave Mixtape is a subscription based service. Subscribers receive boxes with three 200ml bottles from three different brands – Lalocura, Mal Bien, and Neta (and maybe a few surprises) – filled with batches picked especially for Agave Mixtape, and not available anywhere else in the USA. Each box includes production notes on the batches, along with links to photos, and virtual tastings with the people behind the brands and the mezcaleros. You can subscribe directly from their website.

Lalocura Mezcal

Before starting Lalocura in 2014, Eduardo “Lalo” Ángeles spent years working as the fourth generation master mezcalero of his family’s brand Real Minero, where he combined a lifetime of working under his father, the late, great Don Lorenzo with a collegiate degree in agricultural engineering. Many Real Minero bottles from several years ago actually have Eduardo listed alongside his father as the master distiller. Lalocura’s clay pot distilled mezcals have built a steady cult following over the last few years. People from around the world show up at the palenque in Santa Catarina Minas each day hoping to spend time listening to Lalo tell stories while they taste the 20+ expressions he has resting in glass at any given time. If you like clay pot distilled mezcal and you like Real Minero, it’s highly recommended that you find some Lalocura.

Read about our visit to Lalocura in the blog post A Tour with Oaxacking: Mezcal Lalocura

 

Lalo of Lalocura talks about the history of tobasiche in Santa Catarina Minas, how the plant varies by region, and what he’s doing to ensure it has a future.

Member rating

4.41 out of 5

28 reviews

GMAD

GMAD

88 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 weeks ago

LOT: Tobasiche 2022-02, 47.02%, BOTTLE NUMBER: 149/533

Nose – Sharp and funky; ginger, spices, tamarind, grass, lemon, damp leaves, with some fresh laundry and wood-shop notes.

Palate – A bright and punchy opening; citrus, white pepper. Then turns earthy and vegetal, with a light smoke; vanilla, raisins, tobacco, leather.

Finish – Mellow and musty, very subdued and rustic; fruit peels, rubber, grape flavor, bbq sauce and charred bbq bits.

Great Mezcal. This tobasiche is savory, not typically my thing but this is really good!

LOT: Tobasiche 2022-02, 47.02%, BOTTLE NUMBER: 149/533
Nose – Sharp and funky; ginger, spices, tamarind, grass, lemon, damp leaves, with some fresh laundry and wood-shop notes.
Palate – A bright and punchy opening; citrus, white pepper. Then turns earthy and vegetal, with a light smoke; vanilla, raisins, tobacco, leather.
Finish – Mellow and musty, very subdued and rustic; fruit peels, rubber, grape flavor, bbq sauce and charred bbq bits.
Great Mezcal. This tobasiche is savory,

Read more
Ben P

Ben P

119 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

This review is for a batch labeled Cultivado en Cerro. ABV is 47%

Nose: fresh grass, mint, green apple, distinct rosemary and sage, petrichor

Palate and Finish: minty green apple, soft lemon juice, wood, green melon rind. Back end is fresh minerality, tons of herbs, ground stone, sage, rosemary, little citrus and pine

Good Lalo as always. This leans more into the herbs than I prefer but still solid. Interestingly less clay influence than I usually see from Lalo

Imperium

Imperium

105 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Nose is clean, green and creamy with maybe a little grape soda.
Palate is soft and creamy mouthfeel that’s to Lalo’s signature clay style. Green, nutty, and smooth. Understandable why it’s so popular.
Surprisingly very spicy finish, like I just bit into a jalapeño. I wasn’t expecting that at all.

sourmonkey

sourmonkey

1 review
Rated 5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

excellent quality. extremely well integrated. super creamy vanilla soft notes. bit herbal minerality from the clay pot. one of the best mezcal’s i’ve ever had. more subtle than most, so not a smoke bomb.

Patrick

Patrick

57 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

December 2019
47.6%
Nose : creamy and fruity. Something herbal..maybe some thyme. A little yeasty.
Taste : thick texture with lots of strawberry. Some clay and a little salty.
Finish : dry, sweet and a sliver of smoke.
High quality stuff with great balance. Drinkablity levels through the roof.

TitoPuenteJrJr

TitoPuenteJrJr

3 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Truly, the best mezcal I’ve ever had. My girlfriend and I spent a whole afternoon visiting the Lalocura palenque, seeing the process and tasting through 12(!!) different expressions with Berenice who works there. Towards the end, Lalo introduced himself and we tasted 4 more that he had in his house. All of the expressions were incredible, but the Tobasiche stood out to both of us as the winner of the day. Lots of tried herbs – oregano, sage, and thyme, along with a bunch of woody flavors. It managed to have a creamy texture that I usually think of with something sweeter, while also being really dry. We bought a bottle, but I already wish we’d gotten 2.

Truly, the best mezcal I’ve ever had. My girlfriend and I spent a whole afternoon visiting the Lalocura palenque, seeing the process and tasting through 12(!!) different expressions with Berenice who works there. Towards the end, Lalo introduced himself and we tasted 4 more that he had in his house. All of the expressions were incredible, but the Tobasiche stood out to both of us as the winner of the day. Lots of tried herbs – oregano, sage, and thyme, along with a bunch of woody fl

Read more
El-Dawg

El-Dawg

215 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

No Lote on this bottle (March 2017 date of distillation).
Tangy, sweet smell – just like I like my clays.
Taste has some real grassy notes (almost like a sotol). Brown sugar, leather. Overall very balanced, with a sweet and smooth finish.
Review #157

Soxfan

Soxfan

18 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Distilled in 2017. Bottle 55/176. Pulled this bottle off the shelf for the first time in years, and glad I did. Lovey, lingering finish covering all your favorite Tobasiche sweet spots. Not sure I’ve tasted a Tobasiche I like more than this.

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

542 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

LOT: D-01-19 Tobasiche
Nose – New kitchen rubber. Sweet bread. Coconut cream.

Palate – Soft and creamy. White pepper heat and tobacco smoke are well balanced. The spicy, sweet and creamy notes remind me of a Thai green coconut curry. The clay really rounds this out. Aftertaste of grilled, salted, buttered corn on the cob and delicious smoke. Solid Lalo!

Tyler

Tyler

651 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Lalocura Tobasiche is a classic Lalo mezcal that you need to try. For me, this is his “signature” mezcal.

April 2020 “de monte” batch – Big juicy fruit aromas. Lots of organic sweet Gushers flavors. Really approachable mezcal. Makes me think of fruit trees or Maguey Tobala notes. The dry woody notes are in the background. 47.1%. 5+ stars.

January 2019 “de monte” Agave Mixtape volume 6 batch (D-01-19) – More clay notes on this batch. Flavors are more aligned with what I think of from clay pot mezcals from Minas. Notes of burnt orange rinds. 48.4%. 4 stars.

FYI if you like Largo from Minas, this is the same plant by a different name so give this a try to compare.

Lalocura Tobasiche is a classic Lalo mezcal that you need to try. For me, this is his “signature” mezcal.
April 2020 “de monte” batch – Big juicy fruit aromas. Lots of organic sweet Gushers flavors. Really approachable mezcal. Makes me think of fruit trees or Maguey Tobala notes. The dry woody notes are in the background. 47.1%. 5+ stars.
January 2019 “de monte” Agave Mixtape volume 6 batch (D-01-19) – More clay notes on this batch. Flavors are mor

Read more
UchidaT

UchidaT

5 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Batch D-01-19, bottle 42/180, distilled by Lalo Ángeles (obviously)

Upon first approach, the nose leans strongly towards aloe vera and other succulents. Immediately thereafter, fresh peat and humid, almost decaying vegetation. Then forest undergrowth, ferns, moss, seaweed, seashells. I’m reminded of my hometown in Mexico after a long, tropical, hot August rain. Clay, flint, quite mineral in fact. Perfect alcohol integration. Cooked agave and a hint of smoke top it all off. Gorgeous.

In the mouth it’s creamy, herbal, still quite reminiscent of succulents. It feels like biting into a piece of sweet, juicy cooked agave. Fresh mint, green leaves and green peppers. The minerality is still very present, along with a deep earthy and vegetal peatiness with little to no smoke. The finish is leafy and has you thinking of maguey long after you’ve finished your glass.

I could give it five stars for the nose alone, which is one, if not the most beautiful nose I’ve encountered in mezcal. I’ve successfully used this bottle to convert my fellow whisky-loving, empty-glass-sniffing friends to the wonders of agave distilates. The palate is delicious but falls slightly short in complexity, so I’ll dock it half a point for the sake of objectivity. It’s a stellar, elegant, close-to-perfection, straightforward mezcal and I wholeheartedly recommend it, but don’t expect anything funky or extravagant. For gentlefolk only.

Batch D-01-19, bottle 42/180, distilled by Lalo Ángeles (obviously)
Upon first approach, the nose leans strongly towards aloe vera and other succulents. Immediately thereafter, fresh peat and humid, almost decaying vegetation. Then forest undergrowth, ferns, moss, seaweed, seashells. I’m reminded of my hometown in Mexico after a long, tropical, hot August rain. Clay, flint, quite mineral in fact. Perfect alcohol integration. Cooked agave and a hint of smoke top it all off. Gorgeous.
In th

Read more
aarild

aarild

153 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Wow. Flint, smoke, dusty loft on the nose. Dry roasted peanuts, coconut. Plum and dark fruits, soon changing into prunes, figues and leather. Stunning.

Gregg T&T

Gregg T&T

100 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

July 2020 46.5% Strawberries and cream on the nose, palate is cilantro, lemongrass, with a spicy finish. Stellar.

meserole

meserole

73 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

This has a very savory smell to it – salted corn on the nose, which made me think it might be close to the its well known Karwinskii sibling, the San Martinero mezcal, but it was in fact quite different. It’s a rich flavor journey like a well-constructed salad: mint, sharp pea greens, corn, and a bit of saltiness. A nearly perfect mezcal yet again from Lalocura.

There were two Lalocura Tobasiches available at the palenque when I visited — so not 100% sure this is the same as the listing, but I purchased a bottle of the Tobasiche Marteño – no lot number, but it was distilled January 2021, at 47% ABV instead of the 49% listed here.

This has a very savory smell to it – salted corn on the nose, which made me think it might be close to the its well known Karwinskii sibling, the San Martinero mezcal, but it was in fact quite different. It’s a rich flavor journey like a well-constructed salad: mint, sharp pea greens, corn, and a bit of saltiness. A nearly perfect mezcal yet again from Lalocura.
There were two Lalocura Tobasiches available at the palenque when I visited — so not 100% sure this is the same as

Read more
Meady

Meady

53 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Lovely creamy texture on the palate. Sweetness hits first – agave with notes of vanilla, chocolate, sage, clove, then evolves to more mineral with a clay backdrop to it all. A nice finish with a touch of mint and spice lingering.
Really hard to ignore this bottle in the cupboard. As others have said, when you’re not sure what you’re in the mood for, this always works. Goes down like a dream.

Brahh

Brahh

11 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Fantastic…for sure 5/5. Strong and elegant at the same time.

Juriy

Juriy

23 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Smells sweet, a little grassy, feels like dessert in a glass. Can already tell it’s well balanced by smelling. Taste — sweet, chocolaty at first, bitter and minerals after. A bit harsh, chocolate vanilla after taste. Very balanced Lalocura but probably not as good for me as Tobala or Arroqueno. Wish it was oiler, more full bodied.

Still, very balanced, very drinkable. This is a great mezcal as most of this brand is.

jpaquequo

jpaquequo

2 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Very spice forward, I get some cinnamon, clove and then a lot of sweetness, all wrapped in clay. It is a straight forward mezcal, but a very well made one at that. I keep going to this when I’m not in the mood for anything specific. It’s just so easy to drink. Would be 5 stars but it does lack some complexity found in other mezcals I enjoy more, albeit I gravitate towards enjoying them less often.

TheAgaveFairy

TheAgaveFairy

169 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

1oz sample

Very gentle, controlled ABV. Agave sweetness, that swells into minerality / clay on the palate with that vanilla and touches of sage, fading more into cloves, tobacco, a touch of spearmint, and minerals. Most sensations are of sweetness, with a gentle prickle of ethanol. It’s just erring boring, and tbh maybe could use a touch more acid for structure. Solid though!

Wanderingspider

Wanderingspider

55 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Batch is from March 2019

Somewhat hard to pin down. There’s a lot going on.
I get some spice (cinnamon) and a bit of dried earth on the nose.
The palate is big and warm with a light sweetness in balance. It’s got a mineral persistence to it.
Grappa? Sort of plum brandy?
Sort of a 4-4.25
It’s good I like it.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top