Powered by 100% agave

Lalocura Tobasiche

Lalocura Tobasiche is made by maestro mezcalero Eduardo “Lalo” Angeles, who produces some of the most well-renowned mezcal in all of Oaxaca.

Rating: (20 reviews)
Brand:Agave Mixtape, Lalocura Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O602X
Mezcalero:Eduardo "Lalo" Angeles
Maguey:Tobaziche
Agave:Karwinskii
Distillation:Clay Pot
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Santa Catarina Minas
ABV: 49%
Age of plant: 15-18 years
Website: https://www.mezcallalocura.com/, opens in new window
About this mezcal

Lalocura Tobasiche is made with the tall and slender maguey Tobasiche (Agave karwinskii), also called Largo in the same region. Lalo cooks the agave in an underground pit oven with Encino wood, mashes the cooked agave by hand with wooden mallets, ferments the agave in cypress tubs in the open air for nine days, and double distills this mezcal in small clay pots.

The Agave Mixtape vol. 6 release was labeled as Tobasiche de Monte. The Maguey Tobasiche plants used in that batch grew wild in the hills above Lalo’s town of Santa Catarina Minas. It was distilled in January 2019, during the driest time of the year when the plants’ sugars are most concentrated. It is slightly sweeter and carries less of the bitter aftertaste that can be found in other releases of this type.

Agave Mixtape

Agave Mixtape brings the best agave spirits together in one place - your place. Agave Mixtape is a subscription based service. Subscribers receive boxes with three 200ml bottles from three different brands - Lalocura, Mal Bien, and Neta (and maybe a few surprises) - filled with batches picked especially for Agave Mixtape, and not available anywhere else in the USA. Each box includes production notes on the batches, along with links to photos, and virtual tastings with the people behind the brands and the mezcaleros. You can subscribe directly from their website.

Lalocura Mezcal

Before starting Lalocura in 2014, Eduardo "Lalo" Ángeles spent years working as the fourth generation master mezcalero of his family’s brand Real Minero, where he combined a lifetime of working under his father, the late, great Don Lorenzo with a collegiate degree in agricultural engineering. Many Real Minero bottles from several years ago actually have Eduardo listed alongside his father as the master distiller. Lalocura's clay pot distilled mezcals have built a steady cult following over the last few years. People from around the world show up at the palenque in Santa Catarina Minas each day hoping to spend time listening to Lalo tell stories while they taste the 20+ expressions he has resting in glass at any given time. If you like clay pot distilled mezcal and you like Real Minero, it's highly recommended that you find some Lalocura.

Read about our visit to Lalocura in the blog post A Tour with Oaxacking: Mezcal Lalocura

 

Lalo of Lalocura talks about the history of tobasiche in Santa Catarina Minas, how the plant varies by region, and what he’s doing to ensure it has a future.

20 reviews

4.48 out of 5


Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

292 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 months ago

LOT: D-01-19 Tobasiche
Nose – New kitchen rubber. Sweet bread. Coconut cream.

Palate – Soft and creamy. White pepper heat and tobacco smoke are well balanced. The spicy, sweet and creamy notes remind me of a Thai green coconut curry. The clay really rounds this out. Aftertaste of grilled, salted, buttered corn on the cob and delicious smoke. Solid Lalo!

Tyler

Tyler

503 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 months ago

Lalocura Tobasiche is a classic Lalo mezcal that you need to try. For me, this is his “signature” mezcal.

April 2020 “de monte” batch – Big juicy fruit aromas. Lots of organic sweet Gushers flavors. Really approachable mezcal. Makes me think of fruit trees or Maguey Tobala notes. The dry woody notes are in the background. 47.1%. 5+ stars.

January 2019 “de monte” Agave Mixtape volume 6 batch (D-01-19) – More clay notes on this batch. Flavors are more aligned with what I think of from clay pot mezcals from Minas. Notes of burnt orange rinds. 48.4%. 4 stars.

FYI if you like Largo from Minas, this is the same plant by a different name so give this a try to compare.

Lalocura Tobasiche is a classic Lalo mezcal that you need to try. For me, this is his “signature” mezcal.
April 2020 “de monte” batch – Big juicy fruit aromas. Lots of organic sweet Gushers flavors. Really approachable mezcal. Makes me think of fruit trees or Maguey Tobala notes. The dry woody notes are in the background. 47.1%. 5+ stars.
January 2019 “de monte” Agave Mixtape volume 6 batch (D-01-19) – More clay notes on this batch. Flavors are mor

Read more
UchidaT

UchidaT

5 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Batch D-01-19, bottle 42/180, distilled by Lalo Ángeles (obviously)

Upon first approach, the nose leans strongly towards aloe vera and other succulents. Immediately thereafter, fresh peat and humid, almost decaying vegetation. Then forest undergrowth, ferns, moss, seaweed, seashells. I’m reminded of my hometown in Mexico after a long, tropical, hot August rain. Clay, flint, quite mineral in fact. Perfect alcohol integration. Cooked agave and a hint of smoke top it all off. Gorgeous.

In the mouth it’s creamy, herbal, still quite reminiscent of succulents. It feels like biting into a piece of sweet, juicy cooked agave. Fresh mint, green leaves and green peppers. The minerality is still very present, along with a deep earthy and vegetal peatiness with little to no smoke. The finish is leafy and has you thinking of maguey long after you’ve finished your glass.

I could give it five stars for the nose alone, which is one, if not the most beautiful nose I’ve encountered in mezcal. I’ve successfully used this bottle to convert my fellow whisky-loving, empty-glass-sniffing friends to the wonders of agave distilates. The palate is delicious but falls slightly short in complexity, so I’ll dock it half a point for the sake of objectivity. It’s a stellar, elegant, close-to-perfection, straightforward mezcal and I wholeheartedly recommend it, but don’t expect anything funky or extravagant. For gentlefolk only.

Batch D-01-19, bottle 42/180, distilled by Lalo Ángeles (obviously)
Upon first approach, the nose leans strongly towards aloe vera and other succulents. Immediately thereafter, fresh peat and humid, almost decaying vegetation. Then forest undergrowth, ferns, moss, seaweed, seashells. I’m reminded of my hometown in Mexico after a long, tropical, hot August rain. Clay, flint, quite mineral in fact. Perfect alcohol integration. Cooked agave and a hint of smoke top it all off. Gorgeous.
In th

Read more
aarild

aarild

67 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Wow. Flint, smoke, dusty loft on the nose. Dry roasted peanuts, coconut. Plum and dark fruits, soon changing into prunes, figues and leather. Stunning.

Gregg T&T

Gregg T&T

100 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars6 months ago

July 2020 46.5% Strawberries and cream on the nose, palate is cilantro, lemongrass, with a spicy finish. Stellar.

meserole

meserole

68 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars7 months ago

This has a very savory smell to it – salted corn on the nose, which made me think it might be close to the its well known Karwinskii sibling, the San Martinero mezcal, but it was in fact quite different. It’s a rich flavor journey like a well-constructed salad: mint, sharp pea greens, corn, and a bit of saltiness. A nearly perfect mezcal yet again from Lalocura.

There were two Lalocura Tobasiches available at the palenque when I visited — so not 100% sure this is the same as the listing, but I purchased a bottle of the Tobasiche Marteño – no lot number, but it was distilled January 2021, at 47% ABV instead of the 49% listed here.

This has a very savory smell to it – salted corn on the nose, which made me think it might be close to the its well known Karwinskii sibling, the San Martinero mezcal, but it was in fact quite different. It’s a rich flavor journey like a well-constructed salad: mint, sharp pea greens, corn, and a bit of saltiness. A nearly perfect mezcal yet again from Lalocura.
There were two Lalocura Tobasiches available at the palenque when I visited — so not 100% sure this is the same as

Read more
Meady

Meady

53 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars8 months ago

Lovely creamy texture on the palate. Sweetness hits first – agave with notes of vanilla, chocolate, sage, clove, then evolves to more mineral with a clay backdrop to it all. A nice finish with a touch of mint and spice lingering.
Really hard to ignore this bottle in the cupboard. As others have said, when you’re not sure what you’re in the mood for, this always works. Goes down like a dream.

Brahh

Brahh

11 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars10 months ago

Fantastic…for sure 5/5. Strong and elegant at the same time.

Juriy

Juriy

23 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars11 months ago

Smells sweet, a little grassy, feels like dessert in a glass. Can already tell it’s well balanced by smelling. Taste — sweet, chocolaty at first, bitter and minerals after. A bit harsh, chocolate vanilla after taste. Very balanced Lalocura but probably not as good for me as Tobala or Arroqueno. Wish it was oiler, more full bodied.

Still, very balanced, very drinkable. This is a great mezcal as most of this brand is.

jpaquequo

jpaquequo

2 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Very spice forward, I get some cinnamon, clove and then a lot of sweetness, all wrapped in clay. It is a straight forward mezcal, but a very well made one at that. I keep going to this when I’m not in the mood for anything specific. It’s just so easy to drink. Would be 5 stars but it does lack some complexity found in other mezcals I enjoy more, albeit I gravitate towards enjoying them less often.

TheAgaveFairy

TheAgaveFairy

164 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

1oz sample

Very gentle, controlled ABV. Agave sweetness, that swells into minerality / clay on the palate with that vanilla and touches of sage, fading more into cloves, tobacco, a touch of spearmint, and minerals. Most sensations are of sweetness, with a gentle prickle of ethanol. It’s just erring boring, and tbh maybe could use a touch more acid for structure. Solid though!

Wanderingspider

Wanderingspider

46 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Batch is from March 2019

Somewhat hard to pin down. There’s a lot going on.
I get some spice (cinnamon) and a bit of dried earth on the nose.
The palate is big and warm with a light sweetness in balance. It’s got a mineral persistence to it.
Grappa? Sort of plum brandy?
Sort of a 4-4.25
It’s good I like it.

Mansson

Mansson

71 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Lot L 11 lar 3, distilled 2017. “Lalo” Ángeles made batches for the Sacapalabras label in the past; this batch (with exactly the same number) was bottled also for his own brand Lalocura. I have both versions; this review is from a Sacapalabras bottle. It’s very good, with a plethora of flavours: herbs (rosemary, thyme), coffee and baking spices. I’m a big fan of Lalo’s distillates, but this one is perhaps lacking a bit of sweetness to earn a higher score.

Rorschach

Rorschach

37 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Oh yeah, good stuff. Resisted the temptation of rubbing it on my chest.

Chris

Chris

40 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Really solid in all respects. Better than the El J tobasiche IMHO. But if you are thinking Lalo, his Tep is much more complex. The depth in the middle of the Tep extends on the palette. The tobasiche kind of drops out and I would say this is true with other karwinskis. I really like the El J barril but it is a bit flat in the middle too. The exception, so far, is the RM largo made by other members of Lalo’s family about a mile away from his palenque.

NickSanford

NickSanford

23 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

This is my favorite out of the Lalocura line. The first taste I get is a slight blueberry that gets blended with a nice BBQ type of spice that ends with a nice layer of coconut cream on the end of it making it a really delightful layered Tobasiche.

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

300 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Reminds me of the first time I heard Bone Thugs East 1999 album. The first time I had Truth BBQ brisket. The first Texas/Oklahoma game I went to. The first time I saw Jurassic park.

Almost flawless expression of my favorite agave

COak

COak

136 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

January 2019.
I tried this against his father’s RM Largo, one of my favorites, and it’s amazing. It has such a complexity, so full. This is one of Lalo’s backbone Mezcals

Rakhal

Rakhal

317 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lot 09. Excellent Tobaziche!!! Very complex! Thyme, sage, cilantro, coconut milk and clove. Very creamy.

Nic Hnastchenko

Nic Hnastchenko

108 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

First notes are dandilion.

Revisited. Just a completely different profile from what I got the first time around. Very nutty.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top