Powered by 100% agave

Lalocura Tobasiche

Lalocura Tobasiche is made by maestro mezcalero Eduardo “Lalo” Angeles, who produces some of the most well-renowned mezcal in all of Oaxaca.

Rating: (12 reviews)
Brand:Lalocura Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O602X
Mezcalero:Eduardo "Lalo" Angeles
Maguey:Tobaziche
Agave:Karwinskii
Distillation:Clay Pot
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Santa Catarina Minas
ABV: 49%
Age of plant: 15-18 years
Website: https://www.mezcallalocura.com/
About this mezcal

Lalocura Tobasiche is made with the maguey Tobasiche, which is a Karwinskii agave with it’s tall slender form. Lalo cooks the agave in an underground pit oven with Encino wood, mashes the cooked agave by hand with wooden mallets, ferments the agave in cypress tubs in the open air for nine days, and double distills this mezcal in small clay pots.

Lalocura Mezcal

Before starting Lalocura in 2014, Eduardo "Lalo" Ángeles spent years working as the fourth generation master mezcalero of his family’s brand Real Minero, where he combined a lifetime of working under his father, the late, great Don Lorenzo with a collegiate degree in agricultural engineering. Many Real Minero bottles from several years ago actually have Eduardo listed alongside his father as the master distiller. Lalocura's clay pot distilled mezcals have built a steady cult following over the last few years. People from around the world show up at the palenque in Santa Catarina Minas each day hoping to spend time listening to Lalo tell stories while they taste the 20+ expressions he has resting in glass at any given time. If you like clay pot distilled mezcal and you like Real Minero, it's highly recommended that you find some Lalocura.

Read about our visit to Lalocura in the blog post A Tour with Oaxacking: Mezcal Lalocura

12 reviews

4.42 out of 5


Juriy

Juriy

22 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 month ago

Smells sweet, a little grassy, feels like dessert in a glass. Can already tell it’s well balanced by smelling. Taste — sweet, chocolaty at first, bitter and minerals after. A bit harsh, chocolate vanilla after taste. Very balanced Lalocura but probably not as good for me as Tobala or Arroqueno. Wish it was oiler, more full bodied.

Still, very balanced, very drinkable. This is a great mezcal as most of this brand is.

jpaquequo

jpaquequo

2 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Very spice forward, I get some cinnamon, clove and then a lot of sweetness, all wrapped in clay. It is a straight forward mezcal, but a very well made one at that. I keep going to this when I’m not in the mood for anything specific. It’s just so easy to drink. Would be 5 stars but it does lack some complexity found in other mezcals I enjoy more, albeit I gravitate towards enjoying them less often.

TheAgaveFairy

TheAgaveFairy

101 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

1oz sample

Very gentle, controlled ABV. Agave sweetness, that swells into minerality / clay on the palate with that vanilla and touches of sage, fading more into cloves, tobacco, a touch of spearmint, and minerals. Most sensations are of sweetness, with a gentle prickle of ethanol. It’s just erring boring, and tbh maybe could use a touch more acid for structure. Solid though!

Wanderingspider

Wanderingspider

32 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Batch is from March 2019

Somewhat hard to pin down. There’s a lot going on.
I get some spice (cinnamon) and a bit of dried earth on the nose.
The palate is big and warm with a light sweetness in balance. It’s got a mineral persistence to it.
Grappa? Sort of plum brandy?
Sort of a 4-4.25
It’s good I like it.

Mansson

Mansson

71 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars6 months ago

Lot L 11 lar 3, distilled 2017. “Lalo” Ángeles made batches for the Sacapalabras label in the past; this batch (with exactly the same number) was bottled also for his own brand Lalocura. I have both versions; this review is from a Sacapalabras bottle. It’s very good, with a plethora of flavours: herbs (rosemary, thyme), coffee and baking spices. I’m a big fan of Lalo’s distillates, but this one is perhaps lacking a bit of sweetness to earn a higher score.

Rorschach

Rorschach

27 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars7 months ago

Oh yeah, good stuff. Resisted the temptation of rubbing it on my chest.

Chris

Chris

40 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars11 months ago

Really solid in all respects. Better than the El J tobasiche IMHO. But if you are thinking Lalo, his Tep is much more complex. The depth in the middle of the Tep extends on the palette. The tobasiche kind of drops out and I would say this is true with other karwinskis. I really like the El J barril but it is a bit flat in the middle too. The exception, so far, is the RM largo made by other members of Lalo’s family about a mile away from his palenque.

NickSanford

NickSanford

23 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

This is my favorite out of the Lalocura line. The first taste I get is a slight blueberry that gets blended with a nice BBQ type of spice that ends with a nice layer of coconut cream on the end of it making it a really delightful layered Tobasiche.

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

212 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Reminds me of the first time I heard Bone Thugs East 1999 album. The first time I had Truth BBQ brisket. The first Texas/Oklahoma game I went to. The first time I saw Jurassic park.

Almost flawless expression of my favorite agave

COak

COak

100 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

January 2019.
I tried this against his father’s RM Largo, one of my favorites, and it’s amazing. It has such a complexity, so full. This is one of Lalo’s backbone Mezcals

Rakhal

Rakhal

198 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lot 09. Excellent Tobaziche!!! Very complex! Thyme, sage, cilantro, coconut milk and clove. Very creamy.

Nic Hnastchenko

Nic Hnastchenko

108 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

First notes are dandilion.

Revisited. Just a completely different profile from what I got the first time around. Very nutty.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top