Powered by 100% agave

Lalocura Tobala

Lalocura Tobala is made by Eduardo “Lalo” Angeles, the son of the late Don Lorenzo of Real Minero. Lalo learned to make mezcal from his father.

Rating: (16 reviews)
Brand:Lalocura Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O602X
Mezcalero:Eduardo "Lalo" Angeles
Maguey:Tobala
Agave:Potatorum
Distillation:Clay Pot
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Santa Catarina Minas
ABV: 49%
Age of plant: 15 years
Website: https://www.mezcallalocura.com/, opens in new window
About this mezcal

Lalocura Tobala is made with maguey Tobala in Santa Catarina Minas, Oaxaca. Lalocura has been available in select areas of Oaxaca for a few years, but it finally became available internationally in July 2018. Eduardo “Lalo” Angeles cooks his maguey Tobala with Encino wood, mashes the cooked agave with mallets, ferments the agave in Mexican Cypress vats, and double distills the mezcal in small clay pots. His operation is small and there are only limited batches of his Tobala available.

Lalocura Mezcal

Before starting Lalocura in 2014, Eduardo "Lalo" Ángeles spent years working as the fourth generation master mezcalero of his family’s brand Real Minero, where he combined a lifetime of working under his father, the late, great Don Lorenzo with a collegiate degree in agricultural engineering. Many Real Minero bottles from several years ago actually have Eduardo listed alongside his father as the master distiller. Lalocura's clay pot distilled mezcals have built a steady cult following over the last few years. People from around the world show up at the palenque in Santa Catarina Minas each day hoping to spend time listening to Lalo tell stories while they taste the 20+ expressions he has resting in glass at any given time. If you like clay pot distilled mezcal and you like Real Minero, it's highly recommended that you find some Lalocura.

Read about our visit to Lalocura in the blog post A Tour with Oaxacking: Mezcal Lalocura

16 reviews

4.53 out of 5


Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

203 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 week ago

Lot: l-07T (Bottle: 884/1304)
Nose – Strawberry Nerds candy. Cheesecake tarts.

Palate – A few seconds of clay, Hawaiian Punch (fruit punch) and blueberry topped cheese cake. Then a blast of black pepper and mint heat (slightly hot for 49%) and yummy smoke. This settles down to a long clay and pine finish with a bbq’d chicken with charred, sweet Bullseye.

aarild

aarild

57 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 month ago

Dried figs, slate and dusty loft aromas with hints of lactic sourness. More dried fruit on the palate, just a hint of the quince/lime flavour I think of as the maguey tobalá signature. Heavy mineral notes, yet balanced, good viscosity. I would, somewhat illogically, rate it higher if it wasn’t a tobalá, but I found the clay pot minerality was masking the great agave specific fruitiness. Please also note that if the price point was not so high, this could be four stars.
Nov. 2019.

Dried figs, slate and dusty loft aromas with hints of lactic sourness. More dried fruit on the palate, just a hint of the quince/lime flavour I think of as the maguey tobalá signature. Heavy mineral notes, yet balanced, good viscosity. I would, somewhat illogically, rate it higher if it wasn’t a tobalá, but I found the clay pot minerality was masking the great agave specific fruitiness. Please also note that if the price point was not so high, this could be four stars.
Nov. 2019.

Read more
ElAgave

ElAgave

34 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars6 months ago

47%abv

Nose – tree bark, cucumber, sweet and fruity
Palate – orange rind, banana, cedar, pine
Finish – minty, pine

edgy4sure

edgy4sure

37 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars6 months ago

Fresh, fruity, smooth – had to tuck this to the back of the cabinet so it’s a little harder to reach for. so damn good!

meserole

meserole

65 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars9 months ago

Grassy, sweet, bright in the mouth, with an effervescent mouth feel almost like sour pop rocks candy. Or maybe I was just drunk after 15 chupitos. Either way, this was my favorite from the many Lalocura varieties I tried at his tasting room in Oaxaca, and if I had any idea that bottles in NYC cost $150+ I would have brought more home!

Juriy

Juriy

23 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars9 months ago

Tried this at a bar in CDMX yesterday and wow, such a nice tobala. Great flavor, not too harsh, pleasant aftertaste. Got that oily taste I like in tobalas.

Rorschach

Rorschach

34 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

My favorite Tobala so far.
Bought at the palenque so no specifics other than May 2017 distillation. 47% abv.

Chris

Chris

40 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Nov 2019 49.1% batch bought in the Benito Juarez mercado. Now this is what other tobalas want to be when they grow up! I’m not getting any of the apples in this batch. The flavor builds and seems to rise right through the sinuses into the brain’s pleasure receptors. Had the Noble Coyote tobala last night – tart grapefruit with a salty, metallic finish. Three stars is generous on that one. Lalo’s 70% Tep 30% tobala is pretty much gone – maybe a couple 250ml bottles here and there. Hope he makes some more soon. Bought Lalo’s Aug 2019 San Martinero and Rey Campero Tobala, which hasn’t been made for a while, but those will have to wait until I’m back in Texas at the end of the week.

Nov 2019 49.1% batch bought in the Benito Juarez mercado. Now this is what other tobalas want to be when they grow up! I’m not getting any of the apples in this batch. The flavor builds and seems to rise right through the sinuses into the brain’s pleasure receptors. Had the Noble Coyote tobala last night – tart grapefruit with a salty, metallic finish. Three stars is generous on that one. Lalo’s 70% Tep 30% tobala is pretty much gone – maybe a couple 250ml bottles h

Read more
NickSanford

NickSanford

23 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

One of my favorite Tobalas instantly on the first taste. First notes I received were the sour apples and the candied tarts. It gives it a very cotton candy type of flavor, but not with the intense sweetness as much which gives it a wonderful subtle sweet flavor that isn’t to overpowering like some other Tobalas. This one is sensational and I had to buy a bottle from Eduardo himself when I visited his Palenque.

kozinnski

kozinnski

14 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Sour apples, tart candy, candied ginger, clay, chalk, raspberries. Super fruity, high toned, and razor sharp.

stigibeu

stigibeu

33 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lot L-07T, bottle 284/1738

N: apple, sour funk, lime, light peach
T: dry, sharp front and very smooth end, slight green pepper/jalapeño, herbaceous, faint smoke. After 20 minutes in the glass, candied mint. Then still later, random taste of BBQ chicken deep into the glass.
F: cracked pepper for days, minimal burn. Very pleasant.
S: 9.39/10. One of my favorites and a great clay pot expression. Worth the cost.

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

273 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Somewhere between 4 and 4.5 stars. Solid tobala, but maybe not worth $180. Pepto, dried berries and wet asphalt. Interesting

Tyler

Tyler

480 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Agree with the other reviewers. Lots of sour apple funk here. Completely unique and organic. Fresh mint. January 2019 batch.

Nic Hnastchenko

Nic Hnastchenko

108 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Another delicious mezcal from Lalo, fruity but not super sweet. Packs a little bit of a punch, which is never a bad thing.

Revisited. Lalo brings out the most random tasting notes for me. On this one, I got Nerd candy.

Jonny

Jonny

523 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Smells like green apples. Very fresh, lively, and bright. Slightly sour on the palate with a bit of clay. Hints of dry caramel, candied dates, and granny smith apples. I totally dig this.

COak

COak

134 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Sour mash smell. Green apple tart. Bright!

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top