Powered by 100% agave

Los Amantes Joven

Los Amantes Joven is a triple-distlled mezcal made with agave Espadin. The additional third distillation gives this mezcal a much more blended approach.

Rating: (8 reviews)
Brand:Los Amantes Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O01X
Mezcalero:Eric Hernandez
Maguey:Espadin
Agave:Angustifolia
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Tlacolula
ABV: 40%
Website: http://www.losamantes.com/
About this mezcal

Los Amantes Joven is triple-distilled with agave Espadin. It has many of the same characteristics as a double-distilled mezcal, but it’s notes are expressed a bit more subtly. It has rich fruit tones and mild smoke that blends nicely with notes of citrus and roasted agave. Its finish is slightly metallic and herbaceous.

Los Amantes Mezcal

The name "Los Amantes" is inspired by the Aztec legend of the goddess Mayahuel who disobeyed her grandmother and gave herself to Quetzalcoatl for love. She paid with her life. After her remains where buried and watered with the tears of Quetzalcoatl, the maguey plant grew, which of course was then used to make mezcal. Los Amantes mezcal is distilled by hand and made 100% of agave Espadin in Tlacolula, Oaxaca. The agave is baked in traditional hornos, milled by tahona, and distilled in copper stills. Los Amantes distillery holds NOM-O01X, meaning that it was the first internationally certified mezcal distillery.

8 reviews

3.06 out of 5


agavebastard

agavebastard

2 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 weeks ago

Good and clear aromas of unlocked agave and soft spices. Without intense smoke.

Taste: vanilla, creamy, spicy. Sort aftertaste and dryness in the mouth.

Firesidesipper

Firesidesipper

23 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Clean and fresh-tasting. I assume this to be the result of the triple distillation. A very subtle mescal, with soft fruit and smoke notes. It’s good, but indistinct. LOT #16 / Bottle 3982

Tequesta

Tequesta

12 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

lot AMJT-18 btl 3642 tasted 01/19 Very nice clean fragrance with a hit of cilantro?…very fresh nose. smooth and creamy mouth feel with very little aftertaste. little to no smoke, great for sipping straight.

StevenR

StevenR

13 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars2 years ago

NOM-O01-X/LOT11/BTL 5390/6000
To be fair I purchase this as a mixer and I would give it 3 stars based on that use.. It acts more like a neutral spirit.. there is not a lot on the nose.. lemon and a slight baked agave scent. The experience in the mouth is very clean with no finish. There are no flaws here.. I would recommend to someone who likes Vodka as a gateway to Mezcal

rsidrys

rsidrys

42 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 years ago

This one actually reminded me a lot of tequila. It had green uncooked agave notes, with some spice. It had a layer of smoke on top of that, but there was also something sterile about it. I would imagine the triple distillation would be the cause.

Not what I look for in a mezcal, but it’s certainly not bad.

JRB

JRB

13 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Los Amantes Joven Mezcal / 80 proof
Tahona milled, copper still, triple distilled. Some spice and agave with an undertone of smoke, and a little funky. This was my first mezcal, and it was probably a good choice for that. However now it seems a bit muted or watered-down (and it is) compared to some better mezcals I’ve tried recently. (Lot 11, bottle 2932/6000)

razorbackmike

razorbackmike

113 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

very tasty.creamy mouthfeel.vanilla,spice and burnt black pepper.some apple and slight citrus.some smoke at the finish.very sooth and full of flavor.subtle.very faint on the nose.gentle sipper.the anejo version is wonderful.

Tyler

Tyler

416 reviews
Rated 1.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Cool bottle. Weird that it is triple distilled. I had the end of a bottle at Louie’s in San Francisco. The flavors have a sour and chemical quality. While soft/smooth with some citrus and subtle vanilla flavors.. there is not much here to enjoy as a sipper. Maybe it is meant to be a mixer.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top