Powered by 100% agave

Madre Espadin – Cuishe

Madre Espadin – Cuishe is an ensamble that is produced by a few different producers and producing families. Check your bottle for details.

About this mezcal

Madre Mezcal is made with 70% maguey Espadin and 30% maguey Cuishe (agave Karwinskii). The agaves are roasted in an earthen pit, and fermented with local well-water and wild yeast found in the mountain air. Distillation is done in the family’s aged copper still. Madre has a hint of smoke, with a sweet fragrance. Herbal notes of sage, earth, and minerals appear on the tongue, with a lingering floral finish.

Madre Mezcal

Madre Mezcal is a certified Mezcal Artesenal, made by hand in the hills of Oaxaca. Madre Mezcal is produced in small batches by various mezcaleros and their families in different parts of Oaxaca::


  • Jose Ines Garcia Morales and family in San Dionisio

  • The Vasquez family in Miahuatlan

  • Carlos Blas and family in Matatlan


In 2019, Madre Mezcal raised $3 million USD in a Series A funding round led by venture capital studio, Room 9. Their portfolio includes brands such as Jot Coffee, Los Sundays Tequila, and Cleancult.

28 reviews

3.38 out of 5


Wanderingspider

Wanderingspider

46 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Just had about a small amount of this one so I didn’t get a batch or bottle number but I didn’t mind it.
It’s definitely got some fruit up front and a slight cuishe-y funkiness on the finish which was a bit saline and not very long.
Overall it would work for a cocktail but I’d only recommend that if it cost 20% less than what it’s selling for here.

Tyler

Tyler

519 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars7 months ago

Spearmint. Agave. Charred sugar. Bright with a bit of tart spice. Good value. From Jose Garcia Morales. Lot 6B/275.

mezcaleena

mezcaleena

4 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars7 months ago

Great for beginners who are exploring Mezcal. Smooth and sweet finish.

TravelDiningDrinks

TravelDiningDrinks

3 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars8 months ago

I love madre. Light and easy to sip. Affordable. I love their style,presentation too. A great intro into mezcal for a beginner as well.

QkoRuco

QkoRuco

1 review
Rated 3 out of 5 stars9 months ago

Smells faintly of light smoke and a light bite when drinking. There is a sweetly taste to this mezcal, yet leaves an almost citrusy aftertaste. Feels more like an appetizer mezcal that would probably for well in a mixed drink that would give a cocktail a hint of mezcal flavor. Don’t expect anything complex.
Buy the smaller size for the glass flask presentation. Currently using the bottle to store homemade sweet syrups. Inexpensive considering the presentation (glass bottle, linen label, etc.)

Smells faintly of light smoke and a light bite when drinking. There is a sweetly taste to this mezcal, yet leaves an almost citrusy aftertaste. Feels more like an appetizer mezcal that would probably for well in a mixed drink that would give a cocktail a hint of mezcal flavor. Don’t expect anything complex.
Buy the smaller size for the glass flask presentation. Currently using the bottle to store homemade sweet syrups. Inexpensive considering the presentation (glass bottle, linen label, etc.)

Read more
spasta

spasta

22 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars10 months ago

Banana flavor. To light on the alcohol. New batch with cuishe is better but not all that great. Drinkable but not something I would show to a hopeful mezcal explorer

hermosaimports

hermosaimports

1 review
Rated 3 out of 5 stars10 months ago

Searched high and low for this, the brand is excellent, done by Land Boys in Texas. The mezcal was not worth the hype however. Lacked depth, had strong alcohol burn, would use in a cocktail, not as a sipping drink.

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

336 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars11 months ago

Lote: 22/281
Nose: Grassy, Vanilla, mandarin orange.

Palate: Roasted agave sugars balanced really nice with the smoke. Green pepper. Tobacco and brine finish.

I dig it! A solid mezcal for the price.

SoloAgave

SoloAgave

85 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Love the branding and bottle on a bar cart – especially if you can get a 200ml swing top. In terms of price this bottle is also a winner in that it comes in at around $45 and its becoming more common at stores. Bitter, mineral, with some green vegetal notes from the cuishe but I get a lot of acetone.

Bandoleroo

Bandoleroo

9 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Smooth,light not very complex. Decent for budget. I get the cuishe pepper after tones in the end that I enjoyed.

Firesidesipper

Firesidesipper

32 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars1 year ago

An ensemble that is earthy, minerally, sweet, and light on the tongue. A nice sipper and a bargain. Lot 11A / Bottle 1053.

ChiefCactus

ChiefCactus

1 review
Rated 3 out of 5 stars1 year ago

16/1562. Decent overall considering the price. Smoky, dark cherry or raspberry, earthy aromas. Full bodied taste which fades quickly to become a little flat. Almost sweet at first like melon with a smoky finish. I read another reviewer here said “minty” and I definitely agree.

tallchad

tallchad

32 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Great budget Mezcal. The Cuixe adds some interesting aroma and flavor. Light smoke, melon, green apple. Smooth in the mouth and finish.

Wild Common

Wild Common

10 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Seems like a good budget sipper – Smooth nose, hints of laquer. Flavors of popcorn, butter, herbs, citrus. The finish has a spike that warrants the 3 star review. Wish there was 20% more Cuishe ___ 80

t8ke

t8ke

144 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Sweet at first, giving way to pepper and clay. Faint earth, nice charcoal and light ashy body. Lots of delicious pepper with some citrus. Batch 13

Not fancy but solid. I appreciate that I could get a flask of this. It’s fine, there’s nothing wrong with it, but it’s not super outstanding or interesting, either.

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

128 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Light on nose, with a good mix of sweet & smoky at the finish. I think the cuishe gives it a “softer” touch. Lightly briney with some fruitiness. There’s a unique taste from start to finish that is hard for me to confirm…maybe it’s the nail polishy / acetone taste I’ve seen from other comments…It’s something I haven’t tasted before, so am assuming it’s partly from the cuishe mix…also, not sure if that’s yet a good or bad thing. I have a whole bottle so I have until it’s finished to figure this one out….
Lot: 13B/2372

Light on nose, with a good mix of sweet & smoky at the finish. I think the cuishe gives it a “softer” touch. Lightly briney with some fruitiness. There’s a unique taste from start to finish that is hard for me to confirm…maybe it’s the nail polishy / acetone taste I’ve seen from other comments…It’s something I haven’t tasted before, so am assuming it’s partly from the cuishe mix…also, not sure if that’s yet a good or b

Read more
diegoacv

diegoacv

5 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

518/007 Eucalyptus and sage on the nose. Bergamot sugar and nail polish. Aroma reminds me of vanilla pound cake. More on the smoky side. Eucalyptus and mint are predominant on the palate. Sweetness is noticeable with hints of tangerine. The espadin brings the citrus and sweetness and the cuishe is noticed through the herbal and medicinal hints. Tasty mezcal that might feel smoky on the first sips, but after the third one, it becomes very enjoyable. Not bad at all for the price.

JDB

JDB

30 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Lo t#13B, bottle 943, Mezcalero Jose Ines Garcia Morales, ABV 45%
Banana, sugarcane, hint of caramel, cuishe is surprisingly mellow in the background yet still present. I do like the blend.

Maryl

Maryl

1 review
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

I have tried many mezcals :). And besides wanting Covid to be cured want back to Mexico to try more. Yum. This is spicy, good mineralogy on the nose and the blend is a tribute to the mexcalero

Gregg T&T

Gregg T&T

100 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

High roast on the nose – citrusy and bright. Espdain is prominent. some heat and spice coming through, ultimately rounded off by the Cuishe.

Rakhal

Rakhal

317 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Creamy but thin in flavor, bitter aftertaste like gentian root, nail polish remover, vanilla, salty, and yeasty.

Ben

Ben

4 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Berry on the nose… very drinkable mezcal. Very slightly floral and creamy. Good balance, good finish. A fun mezcal to start a tasting or party with!

justsomedude

justsomedude

17 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

One of my favorite budget mezcals. Pleasantly sweet and agave forward with a bit of smoke. Nose and palate match, finish is medium length and sweet. Nice weight in the mouth and very smooth. Very simple but tasty 78/100

TheAgaveFairy

TheAgaveFairy

164 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

10A/3340.
Astringent, white pepper, green plantain, banana leaf. A little glycerin like on the palate and a hot finish.

update: next batch was more kiwi driven, better mouthfeel but still a little hot

Jonny

Jonny

537 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

GB 275. A bit astringent but pleasant. Very subtle and light on the nose. Hints of green vegetable aromas but not overpowering. Slight yeasty aromas as well. The palate is slightly salty with notes of green bell peppers, green apples, limestone, and spearmint with a caramel finish. Surprisingly minty overall.

Cortez

Cortez

12 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Surprisingly good! Notes of vanilla and honey sweetness. Earthy but very light. Not the most complex, but honestly for the price point, I think it’s a good entry level mezcal and a good everyday sipper. Tried next to the Nacional 1938 and Union Viejo, and this was my favorite of the three.

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

317 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

No burn or bite. Incredibly smooth. The addition of the Cuishe (30%) takes this Espadin heavy mezcal to a deeper, sweeter level. Wisps of smoke throughout and a finish that lingers almost the perfect amount. Wish this was available in Texas… this would be a fantastic everyday sipper.

EDIT: after sitting for a while, there is a strange hardcore mint flavor that comes through that i dont care for. Overall, still good, but def. a little different

Hörky Båmf

Hörky Båmf

20 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

868/003, 45% ABV. Nose: agave, dill pickle brine, baking yeast, menthol. Tastes: roasted agave sweetness balanced by a crisp green apple tartness, mint, bell pepper, some chalk or stone, slight salt. More going on than I can adequately describe. Lingering finish with a pleasant heat. Very good.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top