Powered by 100% agave

Madre Mezcal

Madre Mezcal is made at the Garcia Morales Ranch in the rolling hills of the Oaxacan Sierra. The family has been cultivating agave on this land for centuries.

Rating: (16 reviews)
Cost:$$$$
Brand:Madre Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O191X
Mezcalero:Jose Garcia Morales
Agave:Cuishe, Espadin
Distillation:Copper
Style:Ensamble
State:Oaxaca
Town:San Dionisio Ocotepec
ABV:45%
Website:https://madremezcal.com/
About this mezcal

Madre Mezcal is made with 70% agave Espadin and 30% agave Cuixe (Karwinskii) agave. The agaves are roasted in an earthen pit, and fermented with local well-water and wild yeast found in the mountain air. Distillation is done in the family’s aged copper still. Madre has a hint of smoke, with a sweet fragrance. Herbal notes of sage, earth, and minerals appear on the tongue, with a lingering floral finish.

Madre Mezcal

Madre Mezcal is an artisanal Mezcal, made by hand in the hills of San Dionisio, Oaxaca. Produced by Jose Garcia Morales and his family, this blended mezcal is a traditional Zapotec recipe. Jose Garcia Morales and his family, have maintained their Zapotec tradition of Mezcal production, crafting artisanal spirits in small batches, and now offer a unique blended Mezcal called Madre.

16 reviews

3.41 out of 5


tallchad

tallchad

11 reviews
3 weeks ago

Great budget Mezcal. The Cuixe adds some interesting aroma and flavor. Light smoke, melon, green apple. Smooth in the mouth and finish.

Wild Common

Wild Common

5 reviews
4 weeks ago

Seems like a good budget sipper – Smooth nose, hints of laquer. Flavors of popcorn, butter, herbs, citrus. The finish has a spike that warrants the 3 star review. Wish there was 20% more Cuishe ___ 80

t8ke

t8ke

88 reviews
1 month ago

Sweet at first, giving way to pepper and clay. Faint earth, nice charcoal and light ashy body. Lots of delicious pepper with some citrus. Batch 13

Not fancy but solid. I appreciate that I could get a flask of this. It’s fine, there’s nothing wrong with it, but it’s not super outstanding or interesting, either.

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

22 reviews
2 months ago

Light on nose, with a good mix of sweet & smoky at the finish. I think the cuishe gives it a “softer” touch. Lightly briney with some fruitiness. There’s a unique taste from start to finish that is hard for me to confirm…maybe it’s the nail polishy / acetone taste I’ve seen from other comments…It’s something I haven’t tasted before, so am assuming it’s partly from the cuishe mix…also, not sure if that’s yet a good or bad thing. I have a whole bottle so I have until it’s finished to figure this one out….
Lot: 13B/2372

Light on nose, with a good mix of sweet & smoky at the finish. I think the cuishe gives it a “softer” touch. Lightly briney with some fruitiness. There’s a unique taste from start to finish that is hard for me to confirm…maybe it’s the nail polishy / acetone taste I’ve seen from other comments…It’s something I haven’t tasted before, so am assuming it’s partly from the cuishe mix…also, not sure if that’s yet a good or b

Read more
diegoacv

diegoacv

5 reviews
2 months ago

518/007 Eucalyptus and sage on the nose. Bergamot sugar and nail polish. Aroma reminds me of vanilla pound cake. More on the smoky side. Eucalyptus and mint are predominant on the palate. Sweetness is noticeable with hints of tangerine. The espadin brings the citrus and sweetness and the cuishe is noticed through the herbal and medicinal hints. Tasty mezcal that might feel smoky on the first sips, but after the third one, it becomes very enjoyable. Not bad at all for the price.

JDB

JDB

12 reviews
2 months ago

Lo t#13B, bottle 943, Mezcalero Jose Ines Garcia Morales, ABV 45%
Banana, sugarcane, hint of caramel, cuishe is surprisingly mellow in the background yet still present. I do like the blend.

Maryl

Maryl

1 review
2 months ago

I have tried many mezcals :). And besides wanting Covid to be cured want back to Mexico to try more. Yum. This is spicy, good mineralogy on the nose and the blend is a tribute to the mexcalero

Gregg T&T

Gregg T&T

38 reviews
3 months ago

High roast on the nose – citrusy and bright. Espdain is prominent. some heat and spice coming through, ultimately rounded off by the Cuishe.

Rakhal

Rakhal

154 reviews
5 months ago

Creamy but thin in flavor, bitter aftertaste like gentian root, nail polish remover, vanilla, salty, and yeasty.

Ben

Ben

4 reviews
8 months ago

Berry on the nose… very drinkable mezcal. Very slightly floral and creamy. Good balance, good finish. A fun mezcal to start a tasting or party with!

justsomedude

justsomedude

17 reviews
8 months ago

One of my favorite budget mezcals. Pleasantly sweet and agave forward with a bit of smoke. Nose and palate match, finish is medium length and sweet. Nice weight in the mouth and very smooth. Very simple but tasty 78/100

TheAgaveFairy

TheAgaveFairy

82 reviews
8 months ago

10A/3340.
Astringent, white pepper, green plantain, banana leaf. A little glycerin like on the palate and a hot finish.

update: next batch was more kiwi driven, better mouthfeel but still a little hot

Jonny

Jonny

406 reviews
1 year ago

GB 275. A bit astringent but pleasant. Very subtle and light on the nose. Hints of green vegetable aromas but not overpowering. Slight yeasty aromas as well. The palate is slightly salty with notes of green bell peppers, green apples, limestone, and spearmint with a caramel finish. Surprisingly minty overall.

Cortez

Cortez

12 reviews
1 year ago

Surprisingly good! Notes of vanilla and honey sweetness. Earthy but very light. Not the most complex, but honestly for the price point, I think it’s a good entry level mezcal and a good everyday sipper. Tried next to the Nacional 1938 and Union Viejo, and this was my favorite of the three.

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

178 reviews
1 year ago

No burn or bite. Incredibly smooth. The addition of the Cuishe (30%) takes this Espadin heavy mezcal to a deeper, sweeter level. Wisps of smoke throughout and a finish that lingers almost the perfect amount. Wish this was available in Texas… this would be a fantastic everyday sipper.

EDIT: after sitting for a while, there is a strange hardcore mint flavor that comes through that i dont care for. Overall, still good, but def. a little different

Hörky Båmf

Hörky Båmf

18 reviews
2 years ago

868/003, 45% ABV. Nose: agave, dill pickle brine, baking yeast, menthol. Tastes: roasted agave sweetness balanced by a crisp green apple tartness, mint, bell pepper, some chalk or stone, slight salt. More going on than I can adequately describe. Lingering finish with a pleasant heat. Very good.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top