Powered by 100% agave

Madre Espadin – Cuishe

Madre Espadin - Cuishe is an ensamble that is produced by a few different producers and producing families. Check your bottle for details.

About this mezcal

Madre Mezcal is made with 70% maguey Espadin and 30% maguey Cuishe (agave Karwinskii). The agaves are roasted in an earthen pit, and fermented with local well-water and wild yeast found in the mountain air. Distillation is done in the family’s aged copper still. Madre has a hint of smoke, with a sweet fragrance. Herbal notes of sage, earth, and minerals appear on the tongue, with a lingering floral finish.

Madre Mezcal

Madre Mezcal is a certified Mezcal Artesenal, made by hand in the hills of Oaxaca. Madre Mezcal is produced in small batches by various mezcaleros and their families in different parts of Oaxaca::

  • Jose Ines Garcia Morales and family in San Dionisio
  • The Vasquez family in Miahuatlan
  • Carlos Blas and family in Matatlan

In 2019, Madre Mezcal raised $3 million USD in a Series A funding round led by venture capital studio, Room 9. Their portfolio includes brands such as Jot Coffee, Los Sundays Tequila, and Cleancult.

Member rating

3.32 out of 5

39 reviews

GMAD

GMAD

77 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars3 months ago

RD-80, 45%, 200ml

Nose – Light, mellow, and tangy. Gluestick, cinnamon, barbecue sauce, a bit of cheese, and something citrusy to round it out.

Palate – Spicy and bittersweet. Smoky tobacco, cacao nibs, super-dark chocolate, black pepper, and an overall gingery taste to it.

Finish – Smoky and savory; Black Forest ham.

It’s okay, but I didn’t really enjoy it. Leans savory. I love the look of the bottle though.

Imperium

Imperium

99 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars9 months ago

A very solid mezcal for the price. Strikes that balance and is so affordable this could be a daily drinker or mixer.

darrenaustin

darrenaustin

13 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars12 months ago

A touch rough on the first sip then mellows out a bit but retains some spiciness. A little bitter for my taste and not a lot of terroir. Okay overall.

Chad W.

Chad W.

11 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Lot # RD-47

Nose is bright and fresh lemon and a clean somewhat sweet grass

Taste was a lot like the nose with bright and earthy flavors like citrus, soapstone and sweet grass. More smokey than most Cuishes because of the Espadin which I really enjoyed with this Ensamble. Had a notably thinner mouthful and finished with mild smoke and more earthy notes.

Jori

Jori

52 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

A lotta campfire smoke on the nose, a sourdough, Pulque fermentation. Vegetal and floral. But nothing specific.
A smoky boy! Warms up the body instantly! Not a lot of booze on the palate. Estados Unidos Apple Pie and Cinnamon.
A classic Ensemble. If this was aged in glass for a few years, I think it’d round out beautifully. All the notes of Classic Espadin I first fell in love with Mezcal for… just a little ‘edgy’
For the price point? I’ll buy every time I see it! But I don’t rate based on price anymore

A lotta campfire smoke on the nose, a sourdough, Pulque fermentation. Vegetal and floral. But nothing specific.
A smoky boy! Warms up the body instantly! Not a lot of booze on the palate. Estados Unidos Apple Pie and Cinnamon.
A classic Ensemble. If this was aged in glass for a few years, I think it’d round out beautifully. All the notes of Classic Espadin I first fell in love with Mezcal for… just a little ‘edgy’
For the price point? I’ll buy every time I see it! But I don’t rate ba

Read more
Mezcal Mike

Mezcal Mike

29 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Lot RD-54, 45%

I’m a fan. Great blend. More bourbon, tobacco, fresh mint. A great, reasonably priced finish. Lacks some subtlety but a nice sip for sure.

Azi

Azi

40 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lot BT-35
Quite good and classic, especially for the availability. Vanilla, classic green notes, a distant pineapple

Threesunspots

Threesunspots

4 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lot RD-51
An every day mezcal for the broad masses I think. Doesn´t say much on the nose but still have some peppery finish that I like. Feels little like the goodies have been lost somewere on the way. Think the 45% ABV saves the day as taste carrier. Well much more out there to try.

meserole

meserole

73 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Light smoke, banana, vanilla, a bit more alcoholic in flavor perhaps than it ought to be, with familiar roasted sugars of espadin with just a hint of vegetal cuishe slipping into the mix. A good choice among the more well-distributed mezcals you’ll find in a more conventional liquor store — I would reach for this in lieu of Vida, but not before the similarly priced Bozal ensamble. Extra half star for value.

Jonathan Lockwood

Jonathan Lockwood

13 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 years ago

I live in Mexico, but bought a 200 ml bottle of it at Whole Foods while visiting my daughter in LA. I tried it during the same trip where I also bought a bottle of Bozal Espadin/Barril/Mexicano. I’ll say that I liked this a good amount better than the Bozal.

Only $17.99 for a small bottle? Not bad at all, and I definitely tasted the character of the Cuixe. It’s not amazing, but when outside of Mexico and with limited options? It’s not bad–especially for the price.

I live in Mexico, but bought a 200 ml bottle of it at Whole Foods while visiting my daughter in LA. I tried it during the same trip where I also bought a bottle of Bozal Espadin/Barril/Mexicano. I’ll say that I liked this a good amount better than the Bozal.
Only $17.99 for a small bottle? Not bad at all, and I definitely tasted the character of the Cuixe. It’s not amazing, but when outside of Mexico and with limited options? It’s not bad–especially for the price.

Read more
Americana Kyle

Americana Kyle

60 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Spicy astringency, some smoke on the nose. A nice blend that is versatile as a sipper or a mixer for a fair price.

Wanderingspider

Wanderingspider

55 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Just had about a small amount of this one so I didn’t get a batch or bottle number but I didn’t mind it.
It’s definitely got some fruit up front and a slight cuishe-y funkiness on the finish which was a bit saline and not very long.
Overall it would work for a cocktail but I’d only recommend that if it cost 20% less than what it’s selling for here.

Tyler

Tyler

647 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Spearmint. Agave. Charred sugar. Bright with a bit of tart spice. Good value. From Jose Garcia Morales. Lot 6B/275.

mezcaleena

mezcaleena

4 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Great for beginners who are exploring Mezcal. Smooth and sweet finish.

TravelDiningDrinks

TravelDiningDrinks

3 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

I love madre. Light and easy to sip. Affordable. I love their style,presentation too. A great intro into mezcal for a beginner as well.

QkoRuco

QkoRuco

1 review
Rated 3 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Smells faintly of light smoke and a light bite when drinking. There is a sweetly taste to this mezcal, yet leaves an almost citrusy aftertaste. Feels more like an appetizer mezcal that would probably for well in a mixed drink that would give a cocktail a hint of mezcal flavor. Don’t expect anything complex.
Buy the smaller size for the glass flask presentation. Currently using the bottle to store homemade sweet syrups. Inexpensive considering the presentation (glass bottle, linen label, etc.)

Smells faintly of light smoke and a light bite when drinking. There is a sweetly taste to this mezcal, yet leaves an almost citrusy aftertaste. Feels more like an appetizer mezcal that would probably for well in a mixed drink that would give a cocktail a hint of mezcal flavor. Don’t expect anything complex.
Buy the smaller size for the glass flask presentation. Currently using the bottle to store homemade sweet syrups. Inexpensive considering the presentation (glass bottle, linen label, etc.)

Read more
spasta

spasta

22 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Banana flavor. To light on the alcohol. New batch with cuishe is better but not all that great. Drinkable but not something I would show to a hopeful mezcal explorer

hermosaimports

hermosaimports

1 review
Rated 3 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Searched high and low for this, the brand is excellent, done by Land Boys in Texas. The mezcal was not worth the hype however. Lacked depth, had strong alcohol burn, would use in a cocktail, not as a sipping drink.

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

542 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Lote: 22/281
Nose: Grassy, Vanilla, mandarin orange.

Palate: Roasted agave sugars balanced really nice with the smoke. Green pepper. Tobacco and brine finish.

I dig it! A solid mezcal for the price.

SoloAgave

SoloAgave

86 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Love the branding and bottle on a bar cart – especially if you can get a 200ml swing top. In terms of price this bottle is also a winner in that it comes in at around $45 and its becoming more common at stores. Bitter, mineral, with some green vegetal notes from the cuishe but I get a lot of acetone.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top