Powered by 100% agave

Maguey Melate Tobasiche / Barril – Gregorio Hernandez

Maguey Melate Tobasiche / Barril from Gregorio Hernandez was originally released as the September 2021 Mezcalero of the Month Club agave spirit.

Rating: (6 reviews)
Category:Destilado de Agave
Brand:Maguey Melate
Mezcalero:Gregorio Hernández López
Maguey:Barril, Tobaziche
Agave:Karwinskii
Grind:Shredder
Distillation:Refrescador
Style:Ensamble
State:Oaxaca
Town:La Compañía
ABV: 61.3%
Age of plant: 8-11 years
Batch size: Batch GRE-ENS-001: 350 liters
Release year: 2021
Website: https://www.magueymelate.com/, opens in new window

About this destilado de agave

Maguey Melate Tobasiche / Barril from Gregorio Hernandez Lopez was originally released as the September 2021 Mezcalero of the Month Club agave spirit. Maestro Gregorio produced this spirit in the community of La Compañia, Hidalgo with 40% Tobasiche and 60% Barril.

Maguey Melate

Maguey Melate was founded on two ideas: 1) Artisanal agave spirits are amazing and should be shared with the world, and 2) The faster-cheaper economy is a harmful force for people, the environment, and now agave spirits.

They believe if mezcal (and agave spirits) can be understood and appreciated at its full potential, people will show their preference for quality artisanal mezcal that is sustainably and fairly sourced. By raising consumer consciousness on the origins of mezcal and educating enthusiasts on matters of quality and character, informed people will be empowered to ensure the future of mezcal. To do this, they’re reaching a large audience with an impactful message: KEEP MEZCAL ARTISANAL!

Maguey Melate is perhaps most well-known for their Mezcalero of the Month Club, which delivers artisanal small-batch agave spirits directly to the doors of consumers in the US and Mexico. In addition to the monthly spirits, they offer exclusive content and interviews with producers. Single releases are also available in the Maguey Melate shop.

6 reviews

4.42 out of 5

justsomedude

justsomedude

28 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 month ago

Nose: Lemon curd, crème brûlée, pineapple cheesecake with glacé cherries, graham cracker crust and all.
Palate: Tingly, zesty, scintillating, citrusy, lemon peel, lemongrass.
Finish: Refreshing, balanced, citrusy, mouthwatering.
Overall: Knockout stuff, I ordered several extra bottles. A hair short of 5 stars due to the somewhat short finish and lack of complexity. One of the best in the two years I’ve been with the club.

Rakhal

Rakhal

362 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Whoa!!!! This is a monster of a Mezcal!!! So much flavor!!! Pineapple upside down cake, concentrated date syrup, balsamic vinegar with figs, unsweetened cocoa powder, old leather jacket, pomegranate syrup, and dark brown sugar. So good!!!!! I need to visit this Mezcalero for sure!

Azi

Azi

27 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars9 months ago

yuppppp. I’ve said it before and will say it again. High proof agave is where its at. everything is made heavy. heavy white flower, heavy vanilla rugalach, heavy petrichor. some chocolate, maybe some cinnamon. sweet and condensed. Yes, its hotter than most. but man this is a tasty one.

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

156 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars9 months ago

There’s of course a sharp smell and taste that’s customary w/ puntas. Searching between the alcohol forward puntas smell though there is something crisp, sweet, and slightly floral lurking. Peppery, tropical fruity, and overall enjoyable. I can see how some people would be put off by the strong alcohol smell/taste, but I think with some “practice” you can learn to pick out the notes in-between, and once found, those notes seem to be more intensified vs a “normal” mezcal. With that said, not your every day sipper (at least for me) with the 60+ ABV, but very happy to have had this in the Melate box!

There’s of course a sharp smell and taste that’s customary w/ puntas. Searching between the alcohol forward puntas smell though there is something crisp, sweet, and slightly floral lurking. Peppery, tropical fruity, and overall enjoyable. I can see how some people would be put off by the strong alcohol smell/taste, but I think with some “practice” you can learn to pick out the notes in-between, and once found, those notes seem to be more intensified vs a “normal

Read more
GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

358 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars11 months ago

Hot! Both literally (down the gullet) and in how badass this is. Rose hips, orange flower water, key lime, a touch of ancho chilis. Really nice

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

423 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars11 months ago

Batch#: GRE-ENS-001 Bottle#: 817
Nose – Unsurprisingly it smells like legit puntas and you won’t hear any belly-aching from me! Floral sweetness in the vapory goodness. A bit of licorice. Some dark chocolate.

Palate – Like in puntas fashion a big burst of heat and flavor followed by an evaporative effect leaving said flavor more concentrated on the tongue. It’s an awesome effect which is what I love about puntas – you’re getting the essence or “puro” of the batch. Milk chocolate. Turkish delight. Finish is floral and dry. For 61.3% I don’t think it’s too hot but I love puntas. I really like sipping this but have it in measured 1 oz. portions so I don’t get into trouble.

Batch#: GRE-ENS-001 Bottle#: 817
Nose – Unsurprisingly it smells like legit puntas and you won’t hear any belly-aching from me! Floral sweetness in the vapory goodness. A bit of licorice. Some dark chocolate.
Palate – Like in puntas fashion a big burst of heat and flavor followed by an evaporative effect leaving said flavor more concentrated on the tongue. It’s an awesome effect which is what I love about puntas – you’re getting the essence or “puroR

Read more

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top