Powered by 100% agave

Maguey Melate Espadilla/ Tobala – Federico Valentín Alva Ibáñez

Maguey Melate Espadilla & Tobala is made by Don Federico Valentín Alva Ibáñez, who has been producing mezcal for over 80 years.

Rating: (7 reviews)
Category:Destilado de Agave
Brand:Maguey Melate
Mezcalero:Federico Valentín Alva Ibáñez
Agave / Maguey:Tobala
Grind:Shredder
Distillation:Copper
Style:Blend
State:Puebla
ABV:46.7%
Age of plant:10 years
Release year:2020
Website:https://www.magueymelate.com/
About this destilado de agave

Maguey Melate Espadilla & Tobala from Federico Valentín Alva Ibáñez was originally released as the June 2020 Mezcalero of the Month Club agave spirit. This is the first ensamble featured in the club, however this ensamble was a result of spirits being mixed post-distillation. Don Fede is by far the oldest mezcalero featured to date. At the time of this release in June 2020, he’s 95 years old.

Maguey Melate

Maguey Melate was founded on two ideas: 1) Artisanal agave spirits are amazing and should be shared with the world, and 2) The faster-cheaper economy is a harmful force for people, the environment, and now agave spirits.

They believe if mezcal (and agave spirits) can be understood and appreciated at its full potential, people will show their preference for quality artisanal mezcal that is sustainably and fairly sourced. By raising consumer consciousness on the origins of mezcal and educating enthusiasts on matters of quality and character, informed people will be empowered to ensure the future of mezcal. To do this, they're reaching a large audience with an impactful message: KEEP MEZCAL ARTISANAL!

Maguey Melate is perhaps most well-known for their Mezcalero of the Month Club, which delivers artisanal small-batch agave spirits directly to the doors of consumers in the US and Mexico. In addition to the monthly spirits, they offer exclusive content and interviews with producers. Single releases are also available in the Maguey Melate shop.

7 reviews

4.43 out of 5


Maiapal

Maiapal

2 reviews
4 weeks ago

Nose: Creamy
Taste: Nice hint of smoke with some sweetness. You get a well rounded sip with a bit of sharpness in the middle. The finish is medium. Not a top tier, but a very firm, well rounded drinker. I look forward to seeing how it evolves as I try more.

BuffPhysics

BuffPhysics

9 reviews
4 weeks ago

Mezcal Review #6 – Maguey Melate Ensemble (June 2020 Club Pick)

Agave: 50% Tobala, 50% Espadilla (a.k.a. Mexicano Verde)

Mezcalero: Federico Valentin Alva Ibanez (Don Fede)

Region: San Nicolas Huajuapan, Puebla

Still Type: Copper Pot

46.7% ABV

Additional Info: Made by a 95-year-old mezcalero and coolest human being alive, this ensemble was put together to temper some of the intensity of a batch of espadilla with a gentler batch of tobala. This batch is interesting for a lot of reasons, but I’m mostly excited that it has given me an excuse to talk about the effects of air in open bottles, something which I have noticed is a lot more intense in mezcal than in other spirits. So, this review will be broken into two pieces – notes and a score for my first pour from the bottle, and the same after it had been open for a few days. Let’s dive in!

First pour

Nose: Herbal (mint and eucalyptus) and butterscotch. Some minerality, think of hot mountain rocks. Grows more intense with time, heading towards nail polish remover (though not unpleasantly so). Lime and orange blossom. Smells a bit like a good Thai restaurant and a lot like a west coast IPA.

Taste: Umm…this is strange. Nothing? Some sweetness, a bit like cotton candy. But that’s really it. Very odd after the pretty intense nose.

Finish: Here we go, the complexity is back. Seawater and smoke, reminds me of Ardbeg 10. Some anise as well, very nice.

Notes: Great nose and finish, but the non-existent palate is holding it back.

Score: 6/10

Several Days Later

Nose: Still very herbal, actually more so now. Again mint and eucalyptus, as well as strong fruity hops. Still in IPA territory.

Taste: There we go, much better. Tons of fruit – strawberries, raspberries, pineapple, lime. Also sweet tarts and cotton candy. Excellent.

Finish: Still coastal and islay-ish, but now with a pretty prominent spearmint note as well.

Notes: Air can work wonders. I certainly won’t claim it to be an absolute law of mezcal, but in my experience open bottles only get better – very much the opposite of scotch/brandy/bourbon/rum, which I feel tend to fade with oxygen.

Score: 8/10

1 | Disgusting | So bad I poured it out.

2 | Poor | I wouldn’t consume by choice.

3 | Bad | Multiple flaws.

4 | Sub-par | Not bad, but better exists.

5 | Good | Good, just fine.

6 | Very Good | A cut above.

7 | Great | Well above average

8 | Excellent | Really quite exceptional.

9 | Incredible | An all time favorite

10 | Perfect | Perfect

Next Up: Banhez Ensemble

Mezcal Review #6 – Maguey Melate Ensemble (June 2020 Club Pick)
Agave: 50% Tobala, 50% Espadilla (a.k.a. Mexicano Verde)
Mezcalero: Federico Valentin Alva Ibanez (Don Fede)
Region: San Nicolas Huajuapan, Puebla
Still Type: Copper Pot
46.7% ABV
Additional Info: Made by a 95-year-old mezcalero and coolest human being alive, this ensemble was put together to temper some of the intensity of a batch of espadilla with a gentler batch of tobala. This batch is interesting for a lot of reasons, but I

Read more
stigibeu

stigibeu

27 reviews
1 month ago

That aroma! Fruity pear and pepper, cheese funk. Apple cider vinegar. Reminds of some pala alma puebla espadillas. Really unlike anything I’ve had from Oaxaca. Sweetness on the nose and palate. Pretty smooth and balanced mouthfeel. Very small pop of chocolate the further you go, almond/grain/earth too. Sharp finish and not very long to me. Nose is the star of the show here. Really impressive.

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

179 reviews
1 month ago

Somewhere between 4.5 and 4.75. Other than Berta’s Mexicano, this may be a new favorite from MM. Sandalwood and oak on the nose, herbs and grain with some orange zest. Olive oil thickness. Wonderful!!!!

Rakhal

Rakhal

154 reviews
1 month ago

Oh yeah, 95 year old Mezcalero Don Fede knows his stuff. My first impression was how clean this is, no flaws. This one is very tropical, it reminds me of a beach in Thailand. Pineapple, Mango, Plumeria flower, Jackfruit, Fresh Spearmint, Sea salt, Vanilla bean. Complex and delicious!

SwatSaladin

SwatSaladin

9 reviews
1 month ago

Batch Number FED-ENS-001

I’m picking up some lactic influence on the nose, as well as a light and fruity sweetness, akin to honeydew. Also getting some green spearmint, and occasionally decomposing mango or lemon warhead. On the palate, I get really prominent cracked black pepper and green herbal notes. Tropical fruit notes, anise, and mint make a reappearance as well. Pretty intense, and complex! The lactic component is feint, and makes a return on the finish, which is long, smoky, and evolving. There is distinct anise, as well as a lemon custard note that adds additional sweetness and brightness.

I really, really love this mezcal. It’s predominantly “green”—herbal and peppery. The cast of supporting flavors adds a ton of complexity, and is constantly evolving. The palate and finish are intense, and make for an electrifying drinking experience. The finish tapers off into being quite bitter (at least to my palate), and is really the only thing holding it back from a perfect score.

Batch Number FED-ENS-001
I’m picking up some lactic influence on the nose, as well as a light and fruity sweetness, akin to honeydew. Also getting some green spearmint, and occasionally decomposing mango or lemon warhead. On the palate, I get really prominent cracked black pepper and green herbal notes. Tropical fruit notes, anise, and mint make a reappearance as well. Pretty intense, and complex! The lactic component is feint, and makes a return on the finish, which is long, smoky, and evolvi

Read more
El-Dawg

El-Dawg

24 reviews
1 month ago

Bottle 01 (and first review, hah). This is really good. The sweetness from the Tobala pairs excellent with the Mexicano/Espadilla. Sweetness on nose (and throughout), w/ some bananas & buttery notes. Lighter than I normally prefer, but still very well balanced with a great strong, smoky, and a bit minty, finish. Simply put, I have really enjoyed sipping this one the last few days.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top