Powered by 100% agave

Maguey Melate Pechuga – Rodrigo Martinez Mendez

Maguey Melate Pechuga from Rodrigo Martinez Mendez is made using Maguey Espadin (Agave Angustifolia) in San Baltazar Guelavila.

Rating: (13 reviews)
Category:Destilado de Agave
Brand:Maguey Melate
Mezcalero:Rodrigo Martínez Méndez
Maguey:Espadin
Agave:Angustifolia
Grind:Tahona
Distillation:Copper
Style:Pechuga
State:Oaxaca
Town:San Baltazar Guélavila
Age of plant: 8 years
Release year: 2020
Website: https://www.magueymelate.com/, opens in new window
About this destilado de agave

Maguey Melate Pechuga from Rodrigo Martinez Mendez was originally released as the November 2020 Mezcalero of the Month Club agave spirit. Rodrigo is a 2nd generation maestro mezcalero, and he is the son of famed maestro mezcalero Gregorio “Don Goyo” Martinez Garcia. He’s been producing since 2013 at their palenque in San Baltazar Guelavila, Oaxaca.

Maguey Melate

Maguey Melate was founded on two ideas: 1) Artisanal agave spirits are amazing and should be shared with the world, and 2) The faster-cheaper economy is a harmful force for people, the environment, and now agave spirits.

They believe if mezcal (and agave spirits) can be understood and appreciated at its full potential, people will show their preference for quality artisanal mezcal that is sustainably and fairly sourced. By raising consumer consciousness on the origins of mezcal and educating enthusiasts on matters of quality and character, informed people will be empowered to ensure the future of mezcal. To do this, they're reaching a large audience with an impactful message: KEEP MEZCAL ARTISANAL!

Maguey Melate is perhaps most well-known for their Mezcalero of the Month Club, which delivers artisanal small-batch agave spirits directly to the doors of consumers in the US and Mexico. In addition to the monthly spirits, they offer exclusive content and interviews with producers. Single releases are also available in the Maguey Melate shop.

13 reviews

3.81 out of 5


donpedro

donpedro

39 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars8 months ago

Aromas are very minty with a little petrol. Flavors of juniper berries, chilli-covered mango, and wine-poached pears, but lacking in balance and depth. Good, not great overall.

Maiapal

Maiapal

7 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars10 months ago

Nose: Rich, banana, overripe fruit, banana bread, cinnamon
Taste: Salty, juicy, hint of lumber and fruit. The ending has a slight bitter note like Campari. While tasty, I personally would have liked to have more fruit follow through on the taste.

t8ke

t8ke

144 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars11 months ago

Medium mouth feel on the palate – rich and buttery texture. Vanilla bean, faint sour fruits, green apple, green onion, faint earth and a touch of soil. Faint ash grows the longer it rests on the palate. Buttery is an excellent descriptor for the sensation on the palate.

hutter

hutter

6 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars11 months ago

Huge jammy tropical fruits on the nose. Grenadine. Hogo funk.

The taste/finish is pretty disjointed from the nose. Spicy. Cinnamon, cloves, spearmint, ash. Pretty wild

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

128 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars11 months ago

Overripe fruit, cranberries, and some nuttiness on the smell. Tropical sweetness with more fruit and raisins on the taste. Also get the classic espadin taste, which is welcoming. Floral and fragrant. I’ve had this bottle open for a few weeks now, and can say that some oxygen helped it a lot. Very good!

il1

il1

12 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars11 months ago

Maybe just not for me?

Huge mango/fruit/tropical, but in a slightly-too-sweet/chemical taste.
Some Mint/toothpaste?
Get no meat/turkey/viscosity whatsoever.

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

317 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars12 months ago

Am I wrong or was this distilled with a turkey breast over the still? Because I get zero turkey…. however… the rest of this is pretty great. Kentucky Colonel Mint, coriander, maybe a little of adobo or plain chipotle type pepper on the finish. Closer to 4.25

Rakhal

Rakhal

317 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars12 months ago

ROD-PEC-002. Big mango flavor, also black licorice, cake frosting, and freshly cut hay. A big minty finish like I just brushed my teeth. A solid Pechuga, I liked the Espadin better before it was Pechugafied though.

Jonny

Jonny

537 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars12 months ago

ROD-PEC-002. Herbal!! Aromas of spearmint, cilantro, and dried sage. Also some black pepper and vanilla on the nose. The palate also has lots of juniper and pepper. There’s almost a gin element to this with the botanical, medicinal flavoring. The meat doesn’t come through for me on this pechuga, neither the fatty viscosity that pulls through on many pechuga mezcales. Still enjoyable though.

tallchad

tallchad

32 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars12 months ago

My first shipment (and first review) from Maguey Melate subscription. I’m very excited. When I saw the picture on the back of the “trading card” included with the shipment I was already in love. Look at all that Fruit!! They describe the process as a “fruity, mezcal stew”. Rad. And very good. This is the best mezcal I have tasted. Aroma is tangy, sweet juicy-fruit. Taste is great but not as sweet as the aroma. Good heat with minimal smoke. Finish is really long with lots of fun flavors as it progresses.

My first shipment (and first review) from Maguey Melate subscription. I’m very excited. When I saw the picture on the back of the “trading card” included with the shipment I was already in love. Look at all that Fruit!! They describe the process as a “fruity, mezcal stew”. Rad. And very good. This is the best mezcal I have tasted. Aroma is tangy, sweet juicy-fruit. Taste is great but not as sweet as the aroma. Good heat with minimal smoke. Finish is really long with lots of fun flavor

Read more
AdrianM

AdrianM

11 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Best Pechuga so far from Melate. I agree with previous reviews on the nose right away getting tons of different fruits. I liked it is not as sweet as it smells. Very enjoyable.

Hörky Båmf

Hörky Båmf

20 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Tons of fruit aroma uncorking the bottle and pouring: banana, pear, mango, peach. First taste I get some black licorice and more of that fruit. Made me think of Sweet Tarts candies. This isn’t particularly sweet though and it’s got an astringent quality leading to a dry finish. I don’t have any previous experience with pechuga. I was expecting meat, broth, and umami type of flavors, but there’s none of that. Main impression is a really good espadin with some pretty wild fruit going on.

Tons of fruit aroma uncorking the bottle and pouring: banana, pear, mango, peach. First taste I get some black licorice and more of that fruit. Made me think of Sweet Tarts candies. This isn’t particularly sweet though and it’s got an astringent quality leading to a dry finish. I don’t have any previous experience with pechuga. I was expecting meat, broth, and umami type of flavors, but there’s none of that. Main impression is a really good espadin with some pretty wild f

Read more
Azi

Azi

25 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Smacked in the face with tropical fruits. overripe pineapple with the skin, bananas. Strawberry, blueberry. without any exaggeration, a fruit smoothie.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top