Powered by 100% agave

Maguey Melate Inaequidens – Jose Rafael

Maguey Melate Inaequidens from Jose Rafael Garcia Fernandez was originally released as the July 2023 Mezcalero of the Month Club agave spirit.

Rating: (9 reviews)
Category:Destilado de Agave
Brand:Maguey Melate
Mezcalero:Jose Rafael Garcia Fernandez
Maguey:Alto
Agave:Inaequidens
Grind:Hand
Distillation:Filipino
Style:Aged in Glass
State:Michoacán
Town:Rio de Parras
ABV: 48.8%
Age of plant: 10 years
Batch size: RAF-INA-001: 2 batches of 150 liters
Release year: 2023
Website: https://www.magueymelate.com/, opens in new window

About this destilado de agave

Maguey Melate Inaequidens from Jose Rafael Garcia Fernandez was originally released as the July 2023 Mezcalero of the Month Club agave spirit. This batch of Inaequidens is a mix of cultivated and wild agaves. It was produced in 2016 and aged in glass for 7 years before bottling.

Maguey Melate

Maguey Melate was founded on two ideas: 1) Artisanal agave spirits are amazing and should be shared with the world, and 2) The faster-cheaper economy is a harmful force for people, the environment, and now agave spirits.

They believe if mezcal (and agave spirits) can be understood and appreciated at its full potential, people will show their preference for quality artisanal mezcal that is sustainably and fairly sourced. By raising consumer consciousness on the origins of mezcal and educating enthusiasts on matters of quality and character, informed people will be empowered to ensure the future of mezcal. To do this, they’re reaching a large audience with an impactful message: KEEP MEZCAL ARTISANAL!

Maguey Melate is perhaps most well-known for their Mezcalero of the Month Club, which delivers artisanal small-batch agave spirits directly to the doors of consumers in the US and Mexico. In addition to the monthly spirits, they offer exclusive content and interviews with producers. Single releases are also available in the Maguey Melate shop.

Member rating

4 out of 5

9 reviews

JDB

JDB

154 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 months ago

48.8% abv, Bottle 744, Batch#RAF-INA-001

Love these mezcals aged in glass for multiple years. Flavors are very rounded: celery bitters, menthol, cucumber and pickle juice, graham cracker, rosemary, cooked greens, not as lactic as other inaequidens, clove and allspice, butter-like mouthfeel, gingerbread. One of my favorites from MM this year, and that is saying something because each offering was of very high quality.

Jam

Jam

140 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Review #78: The nose is full of watermelon, raspberry, sweet tarts, brine, salt, and chalk. The palate holds lots of minerals, more juicy watermelon, mossy, musty, oysters, earthy, lemon juice, moderate acidity.

I’m a fan of inaequidens and this is a fun showcase of it. It has those juicy fruits to it but the brine on this really adds some complexity. I was not expecting it to actually taste like oysters but it really does, it has that soft sweetness, salt, and mild fishiness to it that i find very fun. I agree with others that it is a bit on the soft side, but the delicate flavors have a lot of room to shine here without anything being too overwhelming

Review #78: The nose is full of watermelon, raspberry, sweet tarts, brine, salt, and chalk. The palate holds lots of minerals, more juicy watermelon, mossy, musty, oysters, earthy, lemon juice, moderate acidity.
I’m a fan of inaequidens and this is a fun showcase of it. It has those juicy fruits to it but the brine on this really adds some complexity. I was not expecting it to actually taste like oysters but it really does, it has that soft sweetness, salt, and mild fishiness to it that i

Read more
tallchad

tallchad

99 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Of the two Inaquidens for the last MM delivery, I liked this one more. I am liking the mezcal from Michoacan more and more. This was very balanced and nice to sip.
The aroma is ok with some good earth and fresh mint and thyme.
The taste is a little hot, slight brine and overall good.
The finish is medium in duration but good.

bpCLT

bpCLT

87 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars6 months ago

Nose: sweet citrus icing and cream, slightly limey. As it sits a bit longer I get some hints of wet soil and dead leaves.

Palate and Finish: Front of the palate is tangerine, honey covered lemons, tart apple, as it moves to the finish the sweet gives way to tart and brine, like pickled citrus, key lime pie, the mouthfeel becomes leathery and tobacco. The finish is long and while the leathery texture I find so common in Inaequidens is definitely there it fades to more citrus, honey, and a light stoney mineral profile. There’s a slightly grassy vegetal undertone as well.

Awesome stuff and really well integrated. It’s just so sippable with these dominant citrus icing notes.

Nose: sweet citrus icing and cream, slightly limey. As it sits a bit longer I get some hints of wet soil and dead leaves.
Palate and Finish: Front of the palate is tangerine, honey covered lemons, tart apple, as it moves to the finish the sweet gives way to tart and brine, like pickled citrus, key lime pie, the mouthfeel becomes leathery and tobacco. The finish is long and while the leathery texture I find so common in Inaequidens is definitely there it fades to more citrus, honey, and a light

Read more
El-Dawg

El-Dawg

205 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars7 months ago

Light and candy sweet smell. Some overripe bananas. Sweet tarts. Butterscotch. Classic alto funkiness though, which I know some people don’t like. A subdued alto, probably from the aging. But an oily and enjoyable taste. Really an all day / session mezcal!

Manning

Manning

24 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars7 months ago

Batch RAF-INA-001
abv: 48.8%
Nose: very soft floral aroma with some tree bark and wet soil in the background. Very muted overall.
Taste: very sweet flavor with green apples, vanilla, sauteed greens, peppercorns, raspberry macaroons (the french kind, not the coconut). I feel like the age in glass has really mellowed out the flavors but also added a nice complexity and makes it really easy to drink.
Overall: So complex and fantastic 9.1/10

Jonny

Jonny

696 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars7 months ago

Aromas of oysters, sea salt, chalky minerals, and pencil eraser. The palate is soft and sweet. Tasting notes of Juicy Fruit gum, peach cobbler, baklava, and a bit of salt. Considering this was aged for 7 years, it’s still quite present with a little heat. I’m really enjoying this mezcal a lot.

Imperium

Imperium

92 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars8 months ago

This one is hands down better than the unaged one from Raul.

The nose is rainwater on cement, watermelon rind pickle and chalk.

The palate is sweet, bursting with Juicy Fruit gum flavors and general greenness.

There’s another one, with gusano in it that adds another layer of complexity as well, but it was only released in a 100ml bottle.

Rakhal

Rakhal

420 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars8 months ago

This one is really soft and delicate and subtle. I would’ve liked to have tried this one before it aged in glass for seven years. It might be a little too soft for me, I do like it though. To me it tastes like apples and flowers with a peppery salty finish. Vanilla Bean, Fuji apple, apple jolly ranchers, jasmine flower, dryer sheets, tarragon, white pepper, and table salt. Tasty.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top