Powered by 100% agave

Maguey Melate Puntas de Salmiana – Pedro Valdes

Maguey Melate Puntas de Salmiana from Pedro Valdes was originally released as the February 2023 Mezcalero of the Month Club agave spirit.

Rating: (10 reviews)
Category:Destilado de Agave
Brand:Maguey Melate
Mezcalero:Pedro Valdes
Agave:Salmiana
Grind:Tahona
Distillation:Copper
Style:Puntas
State:Guanajuato
Town:San Felipe
ABV: 60%
Age of plant: 10-12 years
Batch size: PED-PUN-001: 300 liters
Release year: 2023
Website: https://www.magueymelate.com/, opens in new window

About this destilado de agave

Maguey Melate Puntas de Salmiana from Pedro Valdes was originally released as the February 2023 Mezcalero of the Month Club agave spirit. Normally and traditionally, Pedro makes and drinks his vino like various other central states – at 25% to 35% ABV. In Mexico, he bottles his spirit at 35%. In the US, he bottles his spirit at 40% to meet certification standards. This special release of puntas is too niche to release to the wider market. It’s a Melate exclusive.

Maguey Melate

Maguey Melate was founded on two ideas: 1) Artisanal agave spirits are amazing and should be shared with the world, and 2) The faster-cheaper economy is a harmful force for people, the environment, and now agave spirits.

They believe if mezcal (and agave spirits) can be understood and appreciated at its full potential, people will show their preference for quality artisanal mezcal that is sustainably and fairly sourced. By raising consumer consciousness on the origins of mezcal and educating enthusiasts on matters of quality and character, informed people will be empowered to ensure the future of mezcal. To do this, they’re reaching a large audience with an impactful message: KEEP MEZCAL ARTISANAL!

Maguey Melate is perhaps most well-known for their Mezcalero of the Month Club, which delivers artisanal small-batch agave spirits directly to the doors of consumers in the US and Mexico. In addition to the monthly spirits, they offer exclusive content and interviews with producers. Single releases are also available in the Maguey Melate shop.

Member rating

4.45 out of 5

10 reviews

jackstraw

jackstraw

30 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars8 months ago

batch: PED-PUN-001
bottle: 484
abv: 60%

stunning —

alien flavors
sulfur, burning plastic
gunpowder
grilled oysters
seaweed, ghost pepper

review #16

Imperium

Imperium

91 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars9 months ago

The nose is 100% Crayola crayons, when you opened a bug box for the first time as a kid.

Palate: Okay, so I’m not saying I ate crayons as a kid but this is the taste. BUT there’s so much more including the lactic green pepper taste of the salmiana.

Okay let’s compare it to Erick’s Pal’Alma. This is 60% compared to his 50%. This is a lot hotter tasting though with significant alcohol burn. The taste isn’t nearly as complex and it’s a LOT drier.

This is fun to have experienced but neither this nor salmiana are something I’ll be drinking for the rest of my life.

The nose is 100% Crayola crayons, when you opened a bug box for the first time as a kid.
Palate: Okay, so I’m not saying I ate crayons as a kid but this is the taste. BUT there’s so much more including the lactic green pepper taste of the salmiana.
Okay let’s compare it to Erick’s Pal’Alma. This is 60% compared to his 50%. This is a lot hotter tasting though with significant alcohol burn. The taste isn’t nearly as complex and it’s a LOT drier.
This is fun to have experienced but

Read more
JDB

JDB

151 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars10 months ago

60% abv, Bottle: 140

Bit of burned rubber on the nose (strange because they use steam not a typical horno with wood), green and velvety. On the palate, lots of that green, salmiana flavor (something between a roasted poblano, green bell pepper, and Anaheim chili), sweet and herbal as well, the sweetness is between a couple spices—ginger and cardamon—think ginger bread or Christmas cookies. The heat is subdued but lingers These puntas are really good and pretty special.

Manning

Manning

24 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars11 months ago

Lot PED-PUN-001. 60% abv.
Aroma: Spicy Aroma with jalapenos, pine, and flamin hot Doritos.
Taste: Super concentrated flavors of peppers, citrus, pine, oyster brine, chocolate covered peppermint, cinnamon and cloves. This wallops you over the head with concentrated peppers and spices. But the oily texture helps prevent the harsh burn expected for a 60% abv Mezcal. It also has the deep umami in the finish that complements the initial sweetness.
Overall: Incredible Mezcal – one of my favorites.
Score: 9.8/10

Lot PED-PUN-001. 60% abv.
Aroma: Spicy Aroma with jalapenos, pine, and flamin hot Doritos.
Taste: Super concentrated flavors of peppers, citrus, pine, oyster brine, chocolate covered peppermint, cinnamon and cloves. This wallops you over the head with concentrated peppers and spices. But the oily texture helps prevent the harsh burn expected for a 60% abv Mezcal. It also has the deep umami in the finish that complements the initial sweetness.
Overall: Incredible Mezcal – one of my favorite

Read more
El-Dawg

El-Dawg

205 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars11 months ago

Wow! Creamy lactic smell with some green notes beneath it. Aromatic and you can tell this one is going to be big. The green on the taste turns to sweet jalapeño peppers and earthiness. Finish comes with some olives and saltiness. As others have said this is a wild ride but in all the best ways. I love the 60% ABV and I could sip this all night.

tallchad

tallchad

99 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars11 months ago

I get excited for the high proof stuff and this one is great! The aroma is bright, warm with topical fruit, mango and over sweetened orang juice. A bit hot on the nose and in the mouth.
The taste is outstanding–like extra spicy Christmas peppermint sticks! There is no smoke at all due to the steam cooking. But I am not missing it. There is no mistaking that this is a strong flavored mezcal and not tequila.
The finish is my favorite part. REALLY long! Sweet heat that lingers with just pure agave as you breathe. Wonderful.
While there is a bit of alcohol heat, this one is complex and fun! I am still trying to find “old hot dog water”. My search continues!

I get excited for the high proof stuff and this one is great! The aroma is bright, warm with topical fruit, mango and over sweetened orang juice. A bit hot on the nose and in the mouth.
The taste is outstanding–like extra spicy Christmas peppermint sticks! There is no smoke at all due to the steam cooking. But I am not missing it. There is no mistaking that this is a strong flavored mezcal and not tequila.
The finish is my favorite part. REALLY long! Sweet heat that lingers with jus

Read more
Rakhal

Rakhal

420 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars12 months ago

WOW!!!!!! I’m completely blown away by this!!! I’ve had a lot of Salmianas in my day, and I never thought I would get a better one than the San Luis Potosí from Almamezcalera but this is better. By far the best Mezcal I’ve had from Guanajuato and the best Mezcal from Agave Salmiana that I’ve ever had. Unfortunately, when you buy Salmiana Mezcals locally they’re normally a very low proof which really hurts the flavor in my opinion. At 60% this absolutely punches you in the face with flavor!! It’s like Salmiana turned up to 11!!! Huge notes of fresh peppermint. Also an herbal sweetness that reminds me of the candy coated fennel seeds you get from Indian restaurants. It’s SPICY!! Jalapeños, bell peppers, and Apple jolly Ranchers. I want 100 liters of this!!!

WOW!!!!!! I’m completely blown away by this!!! I’ve had a lot of Salmianas in my day, and I never thought I would get a better one than the San Luis Potosí from Almamezcalera but this is better. By far the best Mezcal I’ve had from Guanajuato and the best Mezcal from Agave Salmiana that I’ve ever had. Unfortunately, when you buy Salmiana Mezcals locally they’re normally a very low proof which really hurts the flavor in my opinion. At 60% this absolutely punches you in the face with fl

Read more
Jonny

Jonny

696 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars12 months ago

Aromas of horseradish mustard, green olives, celery, limestone, and sea salt. The palate is deeply complex with notes of spicy mustard, oysters, green olive brine, jalapeno, and old hot dog water. This is a wild ride. The heat doesn’t really catch up to it at all. Great spirit. Lot PED-PUN-001

JRock

JRock

5 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars12 months ago

Steamed pinas instead of roasted, a sugar/honey derived from the steam process used to bolster the fermentation, a single distillation…unique in so many ways.

While it has the volatility I expected from a 60abv Puntas, it delivers it in an elegant fashion; heated but not burning. Flavor notes of cherry, a bit of menthol, some minerality and brown sugar. Long lingering flavor finishes that justify taking your time as you experience a veladora of this one. Really enjoyable.

Steamed pinas instead of roasted, a sugar/honey derived from the steam process used to bolster the fermentation, a single distillation…unique in so many ways.
While it has the volatility I expected from a 60abv Puntas, it delivers it in an elegant fashion; heated but not burning. Flavor notes of cherry, a bit of menthol, some minerality and brown sugar. Long lingering flavor finishes that justify taking your time as you experience a veladora of this one. Really enjoyable.

Read more
Azi

Azi

40 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Spicyyyyy. Jalapeño & habanero, slate and limestone, limes, seaweed, oysters, briney. Lots going on and very delicious. high proof, so it’s a sipper, but I wonder if Mezcal works like whisky when adding drops of water? if anyone knows lemme know! will try next time

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top